Back

Reviews - Het Prentenkabinet

9.1/10

Excellent

based on 821 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Nelly S.
    Nelly S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and nice service, highly recommended! We enjoyed sitting in the garden a lot, quiet and relaxed on a warm day. An amuse was a pleasant touch to the meal.

  2. Nicole v.
    Nicole v.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Very good as always. Will definitely come back. They handled corona great. Beautiful ambience in the centre if Leiden. Staff is always very friendly

  3. Louco E.
    Louco E.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Scratch Arrangement ook dit jaar weer uitstekend!

  4. Joke M.
    Joke M.
    • 20 reviews
    9/10

    Very kind staff!!

  5. • one review
    10/10

    Excellent restaurant, worth the visit. Meals and staff very good. We will come back for sure. ///////////////////////////////////////////

  6. Heather M.
    Heather M.
    • 4 reviews
    6.5/10

    We booked for Christmas lunch. We asked for a children’s menu for our 8yr old but it was the adults meal with a bit of fish slapped on top! The dessert, a cheesecake was unpalatable and very heavy. The three adults on our table are all sugar adults addicts but it’s was like a brick! The starter of salmon was delicious though. Usually the food here is fabulous, but we were a little disappointed.

  7. Florence L.
    Florence L.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Staff are really friendly, food and the price are acceptable for fine dining, only thing is the menu is a bit limited, overall is an good experience.

  8. Tina H.
    Tina H.
    • 2 reviews
    4.5/10

    A big disappointment! Had lunch with friends and ordered the 12 uurtje. Soup was good , but the long plate was brought with cured meats, little salads ec. It looked nice but taste was mediocre!! We were pretty much the only ones in the place. Now I know why!! The server looked astonished when I asked for some plates to eat off of. we ended up eating the whole meal from our bread plates. No need to return..which is a pity because the front room looks so nice and it is a great location!!! Jammer!!!!

  9. Teresa L.
    Teresa L.
    • 11 reviews
    9.5/10

    Beautiful, classy place. Great atmosphere.

  10. Heinz N.
    Heinz N.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent food, good price with 30 % discount.

  11. Shirley Z.
    Shirley Z.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Good restaurant. Tasty food, price ok. Service can be better. Waiting time is a bit long. We come with family including kids and we had a nice dinner there.

  12. Oksana K.
    Oksana K.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Extremely small portions of pretentious food. All meats were good, but not excellent. I have expected more as it was said to be one of the best restaurants in Leiden. We would not come back though.

  13. Anthony  H.
    Anthony H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We came here for our wedding anniversary and were very happy with everything. The service was great, just the right amount of time between courses, friendly and professional. The food was delicious and the atmosphere gezellig.

  14. J.M. v.
    J.M. v.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Alles was prima

  15. Heather M.
    Heather M.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Delightful setting and beautiful food. First visit for many years, but the high standard remains. One slight moan, the service was a little slow, but it was very busy. We will be back.

  16. Fiona P.
    Fiona P.
    • 49 reviews
    9/10

    Very attentive service, very nice atmosphere. The food was nice, very "old school" but at the same time modern and fresh dishes. Beautiful, rustic interior without being stuffy. A lovely evening.

  17. Louise R.
    Louise R.
    • one review
    8/10

    Heelijk lunch.

  18. I S.
    I S.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Prima

  19. Howard A.
    Howard A.
    • one review
    4/10

    Restaurant service was cold and impersonal and I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone . Decor was stark and generally uninviting.

    Het PrentenkabinetHet Prentenkabinet

    Next time go somewhere else !! If you give a 2 for furnishing then go to the MC Team Prentenkabinet

  20. Julie h.
    Julie h.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We had a brilliant time.

  21. Thijs S.
    Thijs S.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Zeer goed restaurant, fantastische service. Menu kaart wat abstract.

  22. Linda M.
    Linda M.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a team dinner here and the food was lovely, service was great, atmosphere was fantastic, would highly recomend it for such an event. Linda

  23. Kathryn R.
    Kathryn R.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    The food simply wasn't that good. We had the lunch plate for two. While presentation was lovely, and the duck terrine was quite tasty, the fish soup was flavorless, the beef with hazelnuts had the wrong texture, and the relish with the golden raisins was not very good at all.

  24. • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Het Prentenkabinet is our favourite place in Leiden to eat out in style! Having been to different rooms, the front one (windows to the square, massive fireplace, large bar) is definitely the most impressive one. The food is generally delicious and nicely presented. The portions are generous - you will feel full after three courses! We particularly love the limoncello/prosecco/vodka sorbet, hope it never disappears from the menu.

  25. Nancy K.
    Nancy K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Het eten was heel goed. En de bediening was ook goed!

  26. - -.
    - -.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    "...................................."..........................................................................................

  27. Craig D.
    Craig D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent quality food, innovative arrangement of dishes. Excellent quality of Service and decor - one of the best in Leiden - if not the best.

  28. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    10/10

    In één woord geweldig!

  29. Joanna L.
    Joanna L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Surely number 1 restaurant in Leiden! this was out 3rd time in Prentenkabinet, and there with be the 4th, 5th ... we were very happy with the food and wine combination - all very tasty and all dishes going well together.

  30. Elizabeth C.
    Elizabeth C.
    • 5 reviews
    8.25/10

    The Prentenkabinet is a lovely restaurant situated in a beautifully historic part of Leiden. The service at this restaurant is very formal, but not a bad thing. The waiters are gracious, but not over friendly and do not both you much besides for filling up your glass and telling you what you are served. The food here is of a very high quality and the cook is very skilled in technique. Also, the wine choice here are very daring. They must have an excellent sommelier at this resturant as the wines fit perfectly with the dishes. To be honest, this is not to say that I found every wine I had there delicious, as I found some far too 'controversial' for a wine menu. However, they fit excellently with the dishes and really complimented the different flavours I experienced adding an extra dimension to the food. The decor can be described as 'historic' however, if you are going on a busy night is is more than likely you will be sat in one of the inner rooms which are windowless. I find this makes the restaurant rather stuffy and feeling a bit claustrophobic, while really you have plenty of space with a nice decor. I would head to the Pretenkabinet if you are in Leiden, but make sure you get a nice table to compliment the delicious food you will be eating :).