Register my restaurant
Help

Reviews - Himalayan Kitchen

9.2/10
494
Ten Katestraat 45h, 1053 BX Amsterdam
Nepalese
Average price €29

Get up to 30% off

Conditions may apply

Himalayan Kitchen

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.2/10
Excellent494 reviews
9.3/10

Food

9.4/10

Service

8.7/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Iris V.

    Iris V.8 reviews

    March 26, 2024

    10/10

    Absolute gem, delicious Indian food and friendly waiters. I’ve been to a many Indian restaurants in Amsterdam and this one is definitely one of my favorites.

  • Lhuna Q.

    Lhuna Q.8 reviews

    March 16, 2024

    9.5/10

    Serve was so friendly, the food so fresh and delicious. It’s a must for good homemade food

  • Trenten H.6 reviews

    January 6, 2024

    9.5/10

    Solid vegetarian dinner with local beers!

  • Jennie Z.9 reviews

    December 3, 2023

    10/10

    Nice boss

  • Sadek A.13 reviews

    December 8, 2023

    10/10

    Was very delicious food !

  • Alexandros A.1 review

    December 7, 2023

    10/10

    Amazing food and very polite people. Absolutely top in Amsterdam!

  • Linda B.

    Linda B.32 reviews

    November 17, 2023

    6.5/10

    The place is very small. It's an ok place to go to. The food is nice but I've had better Indianfood. The portion off rice I got was way bigger than the curry. It's not bad. With a discount it's ok to visit but I would't necesarily recommend it.

  • Soufian E.

    Soufian E.3 reviews

    August 5, 2023

    10/10

    Great food. Nice and cozy ambiance. Kind staff.

  • Matthew A.6 reviews

    July 22, 2023

    9.5/10

    Great food, good service. Will for sure return

  • Antonella P.

    Antonella P.1 review

    July 19, 2023

    9/10

    This is a nice and quiet low key restaurant with excellent service an very good food. The ambience is chill and intimate. 100% recommend! Don’t forget to indicate how spicy you prefer your dishes!

  • Piyush s.8 reviews

    April 30, 2023

    7/10

    The starters chicken lollipop and momos were okay but the main course as suggested by them i.e panner jalfrezi was one could expect also the Naan was not the regular one but moreover it was cooked may be oven.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Gokce I.6 reviews

    April 11, 2023

    4.5/10

    I was truly disappointed by the taste of lamb which I have eaten it. Rice was cold when they served it. And i do not think restaurant applied 30% discount. I do not think i will ever book this place again.

  • Massimo L.

    Massimo L.166 reviews

    March 31, 2023

    10/10

    Truly excellent service, staff is super kind and even offered a bottle of wine to the table...excellent food from northern India...we were a group of ten and the owner did his best to accommodate us last minute. I recommend.

  • Gautam M.

    Gautam M.14 reviews

    February 23, 2023

    9.5/10

    Very tasty Indian and Nepalese food, served by friendly hostess

  • Ricardo L.46 reviews

    February 22, 2023

    10/10

    Very tasteful food with a myriad of flavours. Family owned restaurant focused on good quality. Dish number 16 (ghorka) deserves a Michelin star.

  • Anna V.2 reviews

    February 14, 2023

    10/10

    Very intimate restaurant, and the food is always amazing. The waitress who served us on Valentine's was very sweet, and the food she recommended was flavorful and delicious. I highly recommend the lassi and mo:mo dumplings

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Amber A.

    Amber A.6 reviews

    February 12, 2023

    10/10

    Everything was incredible! I had the momo dumplings and the chef specialty soup with the Indian beer. The food was delicious and the service impeccable. I did have a communication issue with the reservation but it was quickly resolved. 10/10 would recommend

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

    Himalayan KitchenOwner

    Dear Amber, We are really grateful and appreciate you taking the time to share your rating with us. Thank you! Have a good day!

  • Mauro Floriano d.5 reviews

    February 3, 2023

    10/10

    Really nice food! Definitely will return

  • Robert m.1 review

    January 24, 2023

    6.5/10

    It was okay . If you been in india a few time then you realize the food is Indian for Dutch ,(way less spices , and not spicy enough for me ) . Plus we didn’t get the discount ! not a problem but certainly not nice , so if the discount is important for you make sure to remind them in advance.

    Himalayan KitchenOwner

    Dear Robert, Thank you so much for your feedback, this means a lot to us. As it is mentioned in the menu you have to let us know how spicy you want and about the discount, there is not all the customers booked a table with a discount so we do not know unless you mentioned it to one of our colleagues. We would love to serve you next time with a discount if you mention it beforehand and take care of the spicy level of the meal. Anyway, thanks for your feedback. Have a great day.

  • Marina C.11 reviews

    December 29, 2022

    10/10

    Absolutely amazing! The peeple, the food and the humble decor makes it such a special place! Dishes are full of colors and taste, will bring joy to your heart as well!

    Himalayan KitchenOwner

    Dear Marina, Thank you so much for your warm words. We appreciate you sharing your review with the community and with us.

  • Nina O.1 review

    December 31, 2022

    10/10

    Himalayan Kitchen is truly a hidden gem! We went there for New Year's Eve without knowing what to expect, and what a surprise! The food was incredible, the service was kind, and the ambience was very cosy. We couldn't have asked for anything better. Truly the highlight of our night.

    Himalayan KitchenOwner

    Dear Nina, We appreciate you taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. Thank you so much.

  • Mehedi Hassan Sagor M.

    Mehedi Hassan Sagor M.3 reviews

    December 27, 2022

    10/10

    Food is so delicious & food is cheaper. Chef ????‍???? is best❤️❤️. Best chef in Amsterdam. Gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood

    Himalayan KitchenOwner

    Dear Mehedi, Our day was made by this review.

  • Soufian E.

    Soufian E.3 reviews

    December 8, 2022

    10/10

    Nice food. Kind people.

  • Subhash R.2 reviews

    November 19, 2022

    9/10

    One of the best momo in town. The food was very good . We asked for extra spicy and it is what we ordered.

  • Darren S16 reviews

    October 29, 2022

    10/10

    Excellent food! Tasted very authentic. I have been to several Indian restaurants in Amsterdam and this is one of the best! Highly recommend the madras. Will come back!

    Himalayan KitchenOwner

    Hi Darren! Thanks for taking the to post this! We really appreciate it. See you soon!

  • Heron L.

    Heron L.1 review

    August 24, 2022

    5.5/10

    The restaurant is well located and nice. The Momos are the highlight and a must-have on the menu. Unfortunately, the main dishes were not up to bar - definetely not worth a 9.1. They were just ok. The main problem, though, is that we were overcharged twice... the first time we asked it to be corrected and then we were given a 20% discount instead of 30%... which is really dissapointining and frustrating.

  • Saskia A.17 reviews

    April 12, 2022

    8/10

    Excellent service and good food, only the traditional Himalayan bbq lamb was a bit disappointing. The meat was dry and chewy and the accompanying veg curry wasn't salted. The pakora and the chick pea curry were delicious.

  • Mattia L.2 reviews

    March 30, 2022

    10/10

    Amazing food and staff

  • Amable E.1 review

    March 12, 2022

    10/10

    Best Himalayan restaurant in town. Absolutely recommended! The service, drinks and food exceeded expectations and we are definitely returning. Thanks!

  • Ghislaine D.

    Ghislaine D.17 reviews

    March 4, 2022

    7.5/10

    Very nice food in a cozy and warm ambiance. But be careful, if you don't like spicy food, this place is not the right one. Also, the waitresses are not fast or efficient. We ordered drinks, got the first one directly and the second one 10 minutes later...

  • Vincenzo M.11 reviews

    August 2, 2020

    10/10

    Amazing nepalese and indian food. Great service. The restaurant is located in a very nice neighborhood of Amsterdam. The staff make you feel comfortable.

  • Ieke Van L.13 reviews

    March 6, 2020

    10/10

    Just like you’re back in Nepal for the night. Amazing!

  • Shel D.28 reviews

    February 28, 2020

    6/10

    The setting is on the plain and simple side, and we had mixed feelings about the cuisine. We ordered the mixed tandoori grill (which was tasty) and the shrimp vindaloo (which was rather disappointing as it did not have much depth/flavor). On the other hand, our waitress was attentive and sweet, so we really appreciated that.

  • Sergio O.28 reviews

    January 31, 2020

    9/10

    Delicious food in a cosy atmosphere

  • Ruben P.8 reviews

    January 25, 2020

    10/10

    Friendly service, authentic cuisine.

  • Mireia F.47 reviews

    December 14, 2019

    6.5/10

    The food was good but we had to wait almost an hour to get it... the waiter was nice and the place is ok.

  • Lisa B.

    Lisa B.3 reviews

    September 8, 2019

    10/10

    Great food, really recommended!

  • Dovelyn M.4 reviews

    July 12, 2019

    10/10

    A family restaurant with laid back staff and excellent food!

  • - -1 review

    June 30, 2019

    8/10

    Dishes were really small, smaller than regular kids' dishes

  • - -2 reviews

    June 22, 2019

    10/10

    Delicious food cooked from scratch.. So you can tell the cook just how you like your curry???? Lovely service, clean& quaint. Definitely coming back! Ps. Try the "himalyan mo-mo" it's scrummy! Superb

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

195 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.