Hosokawa Restaurant

Max Euweplein 22 1017 Amsterdam Netherlands Map
Average price €40.00
9,1 /10
254 reviews
138 reviews

Restaurant prices

Average à la carte price
€40.00
(average à la carte price based on a two-course meal excluding drinks)
Prices and menu can change. Those prices don't take into account any promotion and are VAT included.

How to get to the restaurant Hosokawa Restaurant

How to get there?

  • Car park Parking lot & Paid parking in the neighborhood

Opening time

Monday
- Lunch 12:00 - 15:00
- Dinner 18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday Closed
Wednesday untill Sunday
- Lunch 12:00 - 15:00
- Dinner 18:00 - 22:00

Services

Excellent
9,1 /10
Only clients who have dined at the restaurant, after booking on TheFork, can leave their opinion.
  • 10
    21
  • 9
    84
  • 8
    91
  • 7
    37
  • < 7
    21
Food
9,4
Service
9
Setting
8,5
Value for price
Correct
Noise level
Quiet
Waiting time
Fast
16/254 reviews
Dan P.
Explorer
(3 reviews)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 16 Oct 2017
Awesomeness - we will be back!
Tina W.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 17 Sep 2017
Great food and the service is excellent!
Restaurant
Dear Tina,

Thank you very much for the amazing review, we are so glad that everything is to your wishes.
We hope to welcome you soon again.

Best regards,

Team Hosokawa
Ståle Vegard O.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
8,5 /10
Food
8
Service
8
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 25 Jul 2017
A find! We had 4 inside-out makis, 3 nigiris, wakame and beans and some tempura scampi, everything tasted awesome and the waitress was really nice! The drinks, especially the sakejito and sakerinha was perfectly mixed with just beautifull balance of flavors! ☺️
Max D.
Explorer
(2 reviews)
Average Rating
9 /10
Food
8
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 16 Jun 2017
Service perfect as always and great food for a good price!
Sonny L.
Explorer
(2 reviews)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 16 Jun 2017
Great food with great service. We ate a 5 course teppanyaki menu and weren't disappointed. Nice atmosphere and excellent service.
Jeroen P.
Explorer
(2 reviews)
Average Rating
9 /10
Food
10
Service
8
Setting
8
  • Meal date : 6 May 2017
We, a family of 4 with 2 older children, really enjoyed the quality of the food and the spectacular preparation of the meal in front of us at one of the teppanyaki tables in the restaurant.
Nicholas H.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
5 /10
Food
6
Service
4
Setting
4
  • Meal date : 16 Jan 2017
Service was slow. Food was Okay. But Price quality did not match. For just a bit more you can eat at Okura which is much better!
Emanuela C.
Explorer
(4 reviews)
Average Rating
9,8 /10
Food
10
Service
9
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 23 Apr 2016
my favorite Japanese restaurant in Amsterdam.
Fish is delicious and melts in your mouth. meat is also tasty.
The service is slow but friendly. Staff Not too knowledgeable about sake yet but it is improving.overall a great place to enjoy Japanese food.
Kina A.
Explorer
(2 reviews)
Average Rating
9,8 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
9
  • Meal date : 3 Dec 2015
An evening at Hosokawa is a truly luxurious and appetizing experience. The design is modern and comfortable, with Teppanyaki iron tables strategically placed in the big room worked by chefs that seriously know what they are doing. The atmosphere is quiet and inviting to any type of occasion. The food was not only beautifully introduced by our kind and attentive hosts, it was also utterly delicious and graciously presented. We went with the AH Restaurant actie and there was a fix menu that included raw fish, that I don't particularly like. Our host was attentive enough to notice that and came to offer me an alternatieve menu which was superb. A full ten to this restaurant, its staff and the delicious food. We enjoyed our dinner very much and we will surely come back for a Teppanyaki experience.
Andytaste .
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
5 /10
Food
6
Service
1
Setting
7
  • Meal date : 18 Sep 2015
If you want freedom for choosing your own dishes, have decent service and good food for such a price, then this restaurant is certainly not the best choice for you to go to. Therefore, I strongly do not recommend this restaurant for several reasons.
First of all, we were not warmly welcomed at all upon arrival. Especially when one of the hostess was approaching us and asked who made the reservation with quiet an attitude. Once we were seated, she was very rude and trying to force us to choose for one same menu. It is just ridiculous that we do not have the freedom to choose a la carte and it is just very unprofessional for a hostess to do that. The excuse for that is because the restaurant is fully booked and they are very busy, so it will be easier for the chef to make the orders if we all choose one menu. It turns out that the restaurant was not even 3/4 seated. Moreover, she also tries to convince us by telling us that it will take a long time for the orders to arrive if we all order different items. We do not mind to wait at all, because we just want to enjoy our night and have good food. Furthermore, if we want the food to arrive quickly we would have went to a fastfood restaurant.
Secondly, when the food arrived, it was surprisingly not up to level. The rice of the nigiri were way to dry. The only thing that was decent is the sashimi that was served after. Moreover, we needed to ask not twice but thrice for where our Ebi tempura roll was. It is just preposterous that this kind of restaurant has such a low standard of service.
Finally, on the way out, they were not really pleased to give back our jackets. They didn't even said goodbye or thank you.
Nevertheless, this restaurant is very low value for money. For such a price, we can find way better quality.
Restaurant
Dear Andy,
I am very sorry to hear that you had such dreadful experience within our restaurant. It was certainly not our intention that we limit your freedom in choice, however since your party is ten guests large we wanted to make sure that everybody would have a great experience during the entire dinner.
The reason why we advised to have a fixed menu is so that all guests in your party will have a dish during the various courses, in our restaurant we follow a Japanese-style cuisine order where appetizers, sashimi, sushi, grilled dishes, steamed dishes are served separately. There for to avoid that certain guests will be dining and others will be watching is to choose a fixed menu or let us provide you with a menu option that will include all your wishes. The restaurant itself was that day full, a full restaurant with us doesn’t necessarily mean that all seats are taken.
Regarding the service, please accept our apologies, since this indeed not acceptable, we always are trying our best to provide all our guests a wonderful and courteous service. Our assistant manager did ask if everything was to your wishes, she received no complaints from the group contact person. Hopefully if someday you do choose our restaurant again as your dining destination we will make sure that we will provide you the correct service that is to our standards.

Best regards, Chef Hosokawa & Team
Rania C.
Explorer
(3 reviews)
Average Rating
8,8 /10
Food
8
Service
10
Setting
9
  • Meal date : 4 Sep 2015
We went with the AH restaurantactie. The food in our fixed menu was good (especially the meat!) but it was not something special. The service was really really good and we also liked the decor. We will definitely go again, but next time we will try something more exciting :)
Telma R.
Conqueror
(7 reviews)
Average Rating
7,8 /10
Food
8
Service
8
Setting
7
  • Meal date : 3 Aug 2015
I think everything was very good. The only problem was the entrance was being renovated and there were a few things still to be finished, but nothing else to point out. It was a good experience and I intend to go there again.
Camila V.
Foodie
(23 reviews)
Average Rating
9,5 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
8
  • Meal date : 19 Feb 2015
The decor "only" received an 8 because on the night we went it was practically empty so it made this big restaurant feel very cold. Luckily the food & service quality were excellent, nothing to fault.

It is unfortunate that many people do not understand the art of sushi to spot a master at work. I recommend you watch the documentary Jiro Dreams of Sushi and then go back to Hosokawa to appreciate how true to this art sushi master Hiromichi Hosokawa is. I have had a hard time searching for amazing sushi in the Netherlands, the type Japan is famous for. Even Yamazato at Okura Hotel was a disappointment at a recent visit. I am happy to have finally found the best sushi in Holland at Hosokawa - can't believe it's been there for over 20 years. Before he opened his own restaurant 20 years ago he was master chef at the Okura hotel - also for 20 years! The food here is cooked and prepared to perfection and the quality is so fresh. This is a place to take your time. Food here is made with love and every ingredient has the perfect cut and perfect balance to make your dish exceptional. The robata grill is great, but again, have patience - this is the art of slow-grilling. The chicken we ordered at the start of the meal arrived towards the end, one and a half hour/two hours later: we followed every step of the grilling process while we enjoyed the sushi and sashimi --- sat at the sushi bar (the best seat of the house in my opinion) the skewers were placed on the grill and grilled slowly to perfection. The robata chef constantly looking over it. The taste was delicious. The sushi and sashimi were so fresh and tasteful, presented so elegantly. We had the six kind of sashimi, which came with red tuna, tuna belly, turbot & octopus. The Ebi Tempura maki was so good we had to order a second round. Wagyu Soboromaki was very good as was the Maguro. They also have Teppanyaki tables and soon they will open a sake bar! They deserve to have more people enjoy their meals, that place should be packed every night! And sure - it is slightly more expensive than other Japanese restaurants but it's not comparable at all. I have vowed to only eat sushi here from now on as nothing else comes close.

The service was great, lovely waitress, host and waiter. Be respectful of the Japanese culture and you will have nothing but admiration in return. Many people don't realise that it is a big offence to play around with your chopsticks, leave them standing up in a bowl of rice, pass food to a friend using your own chopsticks, asking for extra wasabi, asking the master chef for another drink, and the list goes on. It's just not done...

Remember, this is a true Japanese restaurant with a master sushi chef who will wow you so be patient and respectful, sit back and enjoy.
Pieter jan N.
Explorer
(2 reviews)
Average Rating
8 /10
Food
8
Service
8
Setting
8
  • Meal date : 28 Dec 2014
Good Urban restaurant. could be in New York city, London or Amsterdam. Nice mix of visitors, also Asians which is a good sign for food quality. Smooth friendly service. The Shrimp Tempura is delicious.
Alessandro B.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
7 /10
Food
7
Service
7
Setting
7
  • Meal date : 4 Oct 2014
The food was good, although the dinnerdeal menu was rather limited - we took the sushi and robota menu and it sounded that the sushi dish was intended to be as small and cheap as possible.
Not that I really complain, but that does not sound a smart way to promote a place.
However, the quality of the food was quite high.
Qooqoo .
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
6,3 /10
Food
6
Service
6
Setting
7
  • Meal date : 12 Sep 2014
Reading all the positive reviews, I expected more of this place. We were a group of 20 people, which seemingly was too much for them to handle. The staff was polite and friendly, but service was rather slow and lacking attention. We had a fixed menu, but all warm dishes came to table only luke warm. Tempura wasn't crispy at all and miso soup was rather tasteless. They wouldn't be able to serve everyone at the same time, like we had 2 ppl waiting for their desserts for more than 10 minutes while everyone else were almost done. Even coffee and tea took more than 20 min to arrive.
I don't think I will go there again.
We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience possible. Please also note that your data is held by La Fourchette SAS. If you want to know more, including the settings available to you, please read our cookie policy and our privacy policy. By clicking any link or navigating our site, you agree to these policies and uses of cookies.