Back

Reviews - Houdt van Eten

8.7/10

Fabulous

based on 731 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Geechuen L.
    Geechuen L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Very fine dining for surprisingly little money. This restaurant punches way above its weight for the budget that you’ll spend. The 5 course surprise menu was nicely balanced with fish and meat dishes (flexible if necessary), perfectly presented by a very capable and friendly staff and matched with very original wines. Compliments to the sommelier who managed to serve wines that we’ve never tasted before. A genuine thank you for this great experience! Highly recommended. We’d eat there two days in row if it weren’t for their closing day. Respect and keep on the great work.

  2. Jean V.
    Jean V.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Very nice meal!

  3. Philippe V.
    Philippe V.
    • 4 reviews
    7.5/10

    Original taste combination, cosy atmosphere, service could be more customer oriented

  4. Diana R.
    Diana R.
    • one review
    5/10

    We waited 45 minutes before someone took our order to be told that the first course we ordered was no longer available. The food when it arrived was good but the whole meal was very expensive

  5. Johanna S.
    Johanna S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious food, friendly stuff and good wine. Everything you need for a perfect evening. We were late for the reservation and they were totally flexible, def a plus point.

  6. AC W.
    AC W.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Staff was very friendly and welcoming (and helpful)! The food was great, very tasty & well prepared and good value for money. The wine was very good but my husband would’ve liked it if there was a better beer menu. Also, the restaurant is situated in the city centre but it’s not a top location for a restaurant in my opinion. All in all: I would certainly recommend this restaurant due to good food & friendliness of staff!

  7. Nicola K.
    Nicola K.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a wonderful evening with excellent Food. The Service was extraordinary!!!

  8. Doris F.
    Doris F.
    • one review
    8/10

    We shared a sampler of the appetizers and desserts and each had our own main dish. All the desserts were exceptional, the appetizers more of a range (though the housemade bread and butter are worth being a course all by themselves). The one of us who chose the veal loin found it beautifully prepared and presented but somewhat bland; the one who chose the plaice found it as hoped. Choices of wine by the glass were limited but solid and reasonably priced, and the bartender made excellent recommendations for pairing them with the food. Total cost was 102 EU with two cocktails, four glasses of wine and an after-dinner coffee drink. We considered this quite reasonable. The quality was better than the average bistro but not exceptional.

  9. Surjit S.
    Surjit S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The meal and service was very good and also value for money, one small oversight was that our drinks order was not taken before ordering our meals.

  10. Bogdan D.
    Bogdan D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent dinner in a nice atmosphere . Very nice and polite personnel.

  11. Francesco B.
    Francesco B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food in a very nice atmosphere. Very good and friendly service from the moment of the reservation. I will definitely be back.

  12. Alena F.
    Alena F.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Really nice food, really nice service. Our waiter was friendly and helped especially with the wine. They announced that the food will take a bit longer (due to a busy day), but it was still there very fast. Will definitely come back soon!

  13. Anton C.
    Anton C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly service, and we were there early so it was quiet. The restaurant ambiance is very nice with a relaxed atmosphere and professional service. The food presentation was attractive and elegant with lots of clear, contrasting tastes.

  14. Jennifer J.
    Jennifer J.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    A really great restaurant. Great service. Great food. Busy on a Monday evening which shows how good it is.

  15. Poul W.
    Poul W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very good restaurant. served fantastic food and provided a great service... You should really give your self this experience....

  16. Ivey w.
    Ivey w.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved the service, very knowledgeable staff, delicious food.

  17. Jemmy s.
    Jemmy s.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Just perfect .food and very good service 100% perfect .ty

  18. Tono d.
    Tono d.
    • one review
    7/10

    Muy bien

  19. Liia V.
    Liia V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Heel goed!!

  20. Jennifer K.
    Jennifer K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Knowledgeable servers and excellent service. Each dish was a delight. Could not ask for a better experience.

  21. Barbara Iwona W.
    Barbara Iwona W.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    It was amazing how the team tried and managed to fulfill our complicated request due to multiple allergies and protein restrictions. They prepared great food being able to satisfy our needs. They confirmed that they can prepare this special meals during next days.

  22. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    A great restaurant with a nice atmosphere and fantastic food. I really enjoyed the season veggies and the combination of flavors!

  23. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    7/10

    Good food, but a little bit too loud

  24. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Perfect service and mood l. People are nice and helpful. Though there's no English menu which is a trouble for foreigners, waitress there can help to translate. Food is awesome and lovely. But foods are served slowly.

  25. Robert S.
    Robert S.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    I had the 4 course set menu. I especially enjoyed the trio of fish, the tenderloin (superbly cooked) and the cheese board- this had a set of cheeses laid out from mild to strong from left to right with accompaniments. This was very thoughtful and an excellent idea. I had dry white wine with the meal as that's always my preference. Service was polite and attentive without being intrusive. The restaurant was quiet when I arrived at 6 but got quite busy as I left. A most enjoyable dining experience, highly recommended.

  26. Linda O.
    Linda O.
    • 5 reviews
    8.75/10

    Visited and took advantage of the Dinner Deal offer - which was really a good bargain; 3-course meal at less than €30 per person. will be keen to come back to try their other menu.

  27. Martina M.
    Martina M.
    • 36 reviews
    8.75/10

    We enjoyed the surprise menu with matching wines. Excellent food...especially the mushroom soup and the fish dish. The matching wines were well described. The service was very good and there was just the right amount of time between each course. Very good price for the quality of food and service. A very enjoyable meal. Highly recommended.

  28. Amy N.
    Amy N.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Food was excellent! Especially recommend the Duck for main and the cheese board. Service was to such a high standard, very attentive. I would recommend to others.

  29. Jakob M.
    Jakob M.
    • 10 reviews
    9.5/10

    This restaurant was part of the Iens dinner deal and I have read so many positive reviews about it that I chose this for our party of 4. We had booked an early reservation at 17.45. As it was still sunny and relatively warm we chose to have our initial drinks outside on the street pavement terrace. We were helped by a very friendly and attentive waiter. We immediately felt at home. One of us ordered a jenever (Dutch gin) and is was poured in just perfectly. We complimented him with that. After we had halfway finished our drinks we decided to go indoors as 2 felt an empty stomach and no food was a bit too bad for our own sake. Later it turned out that one of us, the one who made the reservation (me!) turned sick just prior to going to the restaurant. That was a shame as it would spoil his night out and I missed out on a lot of delicious treats I could tell. I managed to eat some of amuse and the starters plate and then had to run outside, just in time to help mother nature playing tricks with me. I felt sorry for having to do this outdoors, but I did not venture to run to the toilet restroom. All the things I had eaten and drunk that afternoon came out, brrr. Fortunately the waitress who came outside didn't mind cleaning it for me, which was very reassuring. I spent the rest of the evening, 3 and half hours, outdoors to get some fresh air. So this review comes mainly from the info I was given by my 3 table mates. We immediately felt we would have a good and tasty time here. All the waiters were so friendly and attentive. One of us, me, had made known in advance he was allergic to a few things and that was immediately solved, and I got a few other things for my amuse and starters plate. All the things that were on that plate we absolutely delicious and beautifully presented on the plate. The combination of multiple tastes were a joyous treat to our palates. We were served the most refined bread with it, soft and with very fine herbs and herbal butter. I didn't make it to the soup, which also would have been re-adjusted to my allergy. What a joy and delight to see this is not at all a problem. The rose we drank was delicious, so was the jenever and beers. My tablemates came outdoors every now and then to tell me how far they were progressing and how fine everything was. Whatever they got came with an explanation of what ingredients were in it and with the main course how to best eat it, as far as the taste of the ingredients is concerned. The staff was very attentive, although it was a packed house, all tables were occupied. 4 people even sat outside. It was obvious this is a succesfull restaurant, and satisfied customers come back to those places. My tablemates told me that the cold tomato soup (Gazpacho) was very tasty and included shrimps and added to it were toast, tomato slices, melted cheese and fried bacon. The main course was a lasagna which also had many ingredients and was served with sorts of beans and 2 rolls of meat with goat cheese . 3 of us thought they needed fries with it, but found out that was totally unneccesary, so they didn't. Te dessert plate consisted of 6 desserts, cocos ice, cream cake, an orange pudding, chocolate mousse, bits of strawberry. Everything was just delicious. As I was still sitting outside they decided to skip the coffee and licquour. A very special night out in many ways. We will definitely come back real soon! Because one of us had hardly eaten anything we got a deduction of 10 euros and the dessert for him were put in a doggy bag. We came here through Iens, who had a special offer: 4 course meal from 59,95 for 29,95, so half the price, so they claimed. But we saw that a 4 course meal normally would have been just 39.95. A strange way of luring people into a deal. Even that original price would have been more than worth the price, if one can afford it, that is. I would highly recommend this place, nevertheless. It has the right atmosphere and superb quality. the kitchen people deserve a round of applause. This was a tasty night out!

  30. Mariana G.
    Mariana G.
    • 5 reviews
    7.75/10

    I like very much coming to this place. It's relatively new so sometimes staff seems unexperienced, but they are very friendly and welcoming (including very friendly owner). The menu is very nice and the meals are tasty and nicely presented. The choice of vines is good. I've been here several times and will be back for sure. One improvement point: sometimes it takes too long for staff to take notice of the guests (e.g. bringing menu's, drinks or check in the end), especially on busy nights.