Back

Reviews - Il Ritrovo

8.6/10

Fabulous

based on 192 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Henry N.
    Henry N.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We visited here for our final night in Positano (the shuttle bus stops right beside the restaurant). The food was excellent - and plentiful! It was quiet (though it was a Sunday night), but a lovely atmosphere and view out over the sea. Would highly recommend.

  2. Andy J.
    Andy J.
    • 10 reviews
    6.5/10

    Mainly went to this restaurant due to family recommendation. Enjoyed some of the rustic plates and wine selection but atmosphere and location not top dollar. Also disappointing deserts given that this is a food selling outlet during day. Bag of bread also stale. Please do better!

  3. Alessandro c.
    Alessandro c.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Ottima location

  4. Tomaso S.
    Tomaso S.
    • 30 reviews
    10/10

    Serata perfetta!

  5. Gill B.
    Gill B.
    • 19 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious authentic and fresh Italian cuisine in great location with friendly staff. Small white wine and Chili flakes given as a complimentary gift which was a lovely gesture

  6. Peter K.
    Peter K.
    • one review
    10/10

    IT WAS PERFECT!! I could enjoy ALL of seafood in this restaurant. free shuttle service was also nice. if you guys want to, you would better ask your hotel manager to book this service.

  7. Kathleen C.
    Kathleen C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful meal and experience. Shuttle service was a bonus. Wish it hadn’t been dark so we could have enjoyed the view.

  8. Larry g.
    Larry g.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    The food was excellent but the service lacked especially toward the end of our meal. It took a long time to clear our dinner plates, a long time to order dessert, and a while for the bill to come. The little extras like the bruschetta before dinner, the lemon sorbet after dinner, and the packet of spaghetti sauce to take home is lovely, but I appreciate good service in a restaurant.

  9. Lana B.
    Lana B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Love this place

  10. Elizabeth  S.
    Elizabeth S.
    • one review
    10/10

    This is a busy, fabulous restaurant that graciously accepted my reservation the day of. It’s the best meal I’ve had in the 10 days I’ve been in Italy! I started with the eggplant parmigiana, which I normally wouldn’t have ordered, but it’s a local specialty and it was incredible. For dinner, I had the grilled seabass with a local lemon sauce, also absolutely delicious! For dessert, I had the sorbet in fruit, with homemade cookies! Yum! Be sure to call them and arrange a ride to the restaurant, which is way on the top of the mountain above Positano. This is a free service to/from the Center of Positano. Lastly, my entire meal was 50 euros, I didn’t have wine, but I did have a cappuccino with dessert. A very fair price for the meal, the ambiance and the setting!

  11. Sarah T.
    Sarah T.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great staff who speak excellent English. Accommodating to my vegan diet. Stunning views and delicious food! Our local hotel owner says it is his favorite restaurant in the area!

  12. Kate S.
    Kate S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Well worth travelling just outside Positano for. The staff couldn’t do enough for us and the food was absolutely amazing

  13. Ezra O.
    Ezra O.
    • one review
    10/10

    A perfect experience. We had the Burrata, the Pasta with Sausage, the Sea Bass, and the Texan beef, plus the chocolate souffle for dessert. Every dish was better than the last, and the waiters were all so kind and helpful! Thank you for helping make a perfect birthday. We will be back!

  14. Allison K.
    Allison K.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Amazing restaurant!! The service was great and the food incredible. The free shuttle service was a great treat as the restaurant is not in Positano. The only negative I have was there was not much of a view as I would think. We had dinner around 8pm so it was dark outside and you really couldn’t see anything.

  15. Adrian J.
    Adrian J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very efficient shuttle service that picks you up from outside your hotel. The staff take great care and attention in how they talk you through the dishes and wine lists while making sure you are well looked after. The locally sourced food was simply excellent and to top it all the atmosphere was beautiful. We couldn’t recommend it enough.

  16. Courtney K.
    Courtney K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic restaurant - very peaceful with beautiful views. Food was delicious, big servings and the wine list was outstanding. Would highly recommend!

  17. Olivia P.
    Olivia P.
    • one review
    10/10

    They have a shuttle service which was fantastic and was able to pick us up from Nocelle to take us to Montepurso. The food was also fantastic and so was the service & setting. Would highly recommend.

  18. Carlos P.
    Carlos P.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely dinner with amazing views. The food was amazing and they also had some unexpected details that made our last dinner in Montepertuso unforgettable.

  19. VINCENT D.
    VINCENT D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Outstanding food and service

  20. Alex S.
    Alex S.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    I think there has been a change in the kitchen. The food we had was really poorly executed. The fish was fishy and not fresh. The steak was significantly over cooked. Given all the great reviews I think something must have happened in the kitchen that caused all this. The service was also very disconnected which I think was a product of the kitchen. Try any restaurant in town or La Tagliata which is near here and fantastic (the best meal we had in Italy) rather than this.

  21. Helen M.
    Helen M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This is a lovely restaurant in a superb setting high above Positano. The walk up was very testing so definitely book the shuttle service. Once there it was sublime. Our party enjoyed the complimentary bruschetta, followed by octopus, eggplant parmigiana, and mozzarella with tomatoes... all delicious. Followed by pasta and saucisson and salmon served with mashed potatoes. Our waiter was very knowledgeable regarding the wine and chose a very reasonable but excellent wine to accompany our meal. Dessert was a selection of cookies as we were all too full to enjoy anything more substantial. Service, food, setting all perfect. Would love to return. The McDermott family.

  22. Daniela S.
    Daniela S.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    We went there for lunch.... we decided to get exercise and walk, was a hard hike but so worth it . We got the grilled octopus to start, probably one of my favorite restaurants on this trip. Setting was beautiful, service and the food amazing.

  23. Sean G.
    Sean G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great meal in a fun atmosphere. Enrico the sommelier makes great drinks as well. A bit out of the way but they have a shuttle and worth the trip!

  24. Scott P.
    Scott P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great view of the town and coastline below. It was a treat to come up the mountain for dinner. The food was really tasty and the wine we were suggested was great. The menu was labelled with allergy information which was great, as my wife has an allergy to Scallops and mussels. The only possible criticism I would have is that it seemed some tables were given free Lemoncello and others were not. Not a big deal, but it should be kept consistent.

  25. Melissa H.
    Melissa H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was sublime (cheese and salami, ravioli, sausage and smoked cheese pasta), service was impeccable, free shuttle bus an added bonus, setting was outstanding.

  26. Maria G.
    Maria G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and service too. We got picked up and dropped off and we were also late but the driver waited for us. He was extremely patient and pleasant. He was not only a driver but also guiding us about the area as well. As for food , it was perfect!!! Right down to the pleasant surprise of a lemon ice drink. Delicious!!!

  27. Holly B.
    Holly B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Everything was wonderful, the view, service, food and atmosphere! We will definitely be telling our friends to come dine here! Grilled octopus and Greek Salad were delicious as was the panacotta!

  28. Caren H.
    Caren H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    If you email them, they’ll send a shuttle to get you in Positano. And they’ll bring you back. This was great! The view is amazing, the service is excellent, and the food was delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant for a break from the craziness of Positano. It’s peaceful and has a wonderful atmosphere.

  29. Aric B.
    Aric B.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Really good fresh food with an amazing selection of wine and a very helpful wine expert on hand to help pick the right wine with the food. Great place!

  30. Tania B.
    Tania B.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was amazing and the view spectacular. They sent for a shuttle to pick us up at our hotel for free. Every aspect of the meal was delicious and exceptionally done. There’s a reason this restaurant is so highly regarded. Definitely worth a visit.

  31. Smita C.
    Smita C.
    • one review
    5/10

    The good quality was good. I did request a table by the window and did not get one. There was one ravld by the window sitting empty for most of the time we were there bout they told us it was reserved before we made our reservation. When we were about done our dinner the people at that table got there so I feel we could have been seated there. Also, my husband ordered an appetizer that we were all going to share. The waiter did not understand this. He brought out all our dinners and my husband appetizer at the same time. My husbands dinner came out much later when we were almost finish with our dinners. Also, we were given bread after our dinners arrived. The timing of the whole meal was just really off.

  32. Жанна Р.
    Жанна Р.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    it would be nice to get limoncello as a compliment))))

  33. Catherine M.
    Catherine M.
    • one review
    10/10

    This place is perfect to eat since we were staying nearby. The food is always great and they give little gift to bring hone at the end if your meal. It is decently priced compared to other places in Positano. The only thing is they did nit seem to have my reservation done via Trip advisor but they accommodated us anyways very quickky. Anything on the menu is great!

  34. Linda W.
    Linda W.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    A little too long waiting time for service initially and between courses. We enjoyed a delicious meal.

  35. Suzanne m.
    Suzanne m.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The restaurant is absolutely Beautiful!!! Best grilled octopus ever had! Pastas so fresh and delicious. Highly recommend.

  36. Ruth H.
    Ruth H.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    We were greeted by the owner a d had a table with a great view. The service, sommelier and food all great. If I have one comment it would be I would have liked a glass of wine/drink while going through the menu. Otherwise perfect!

  37. Amy G.
    Amy G.
    • one review
    9/10

    We loved visiting this restaurant! The atmosphere was beautiful, simple, and relaxing. There is a great view available of the coast, but we are there after sundown. The pasta was cooked perfectly, and throughout the entire meal, each course felt perfectly fresh. The service was personal and welcoming, and the sommelier pointed us in a direction of a very interesting new wine that we both loved. Added bonus - They offered fresh tomato bruschetta, and lemon ices on the house, and sent us home with a bottle of their house wine. I definitely recommend!

  38. Timothy A.
    Timothy A.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a tasty lunch for four people. Pasta and seafood. Delicious. Service was efficient and friendly.

  39. Aaron J.
    Aaron J.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Overall underwhelming. Service was a mess, drinks came after our starter as only one member of staff was able to take drink orders. Our parmigiana starter was cold but tasty. My steak was raw so had to be sent back and on its return my partner had already finished her main so I ate alone. My steak was under seasoned but cooked well second time around. We were on our honeymoon so it was a very disappointing evening and we could tell surrounding tables were also unhappy, predominantly with service.

  40. Ben T.
    Ben T.
    • one review
    6/10

    We had high expectations due to the amazing TripAdvisor reviews but were let down by the frustrating service (our food arrived before we were allowed to order wine, due to their insistence that every table could only order wine from the one sommelier). The food & wine was good but not outstanding, especially as it was luke warm, and definitely not worth the €120 we paid for 2x primi dishes, a couple of glasses of wine & dessert.