Back

Reviews - Il Vagone

8.7/10

Fabulous

based on 233 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Hugo a.
    Hugo a.
    • 20 reviews
    10/10

    Some dishes are Michelin star worthy like the calamari. The boss is super friendly, love the vibe. Great food! Will return for sure!!

  2. Jorge F.
    Jorge F.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    We went to Venice for a gastronomical trip and this restaurant was the best representative of its category. Fair prizes, outstanding quality and a great service. I have tasted many tiramisus, and here there is one of the bests I have ever had, a true traditional Tiramisu. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone in Venice.

  3. Joan H.
    Joan H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Claudio was excellent!! Amazing food!!

  4. Jay S.
    Jay S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    My wife, 2 boys (8 & 12 yrs old), and I were staying in the Cannareggio district, so I looked at Trip Advisor and found this place as the top pick. A good choice!!! Food was very good, as was the service, and prices were fair (not a bargain but not ridiculous). All of us enjoyed our meals and the wine was fantastic. If you are staying in this area (or a reasonable distance from the train station), definitely worth checking this place out.

  5. LEONA L.
    LEONA L.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Restaurant was fine. Plane decor but staff was friendly. Problem was with the prices in the menu. They were more than twice the published prices in the website! Total bait and switch. Very expensive for what you got. Totally not worth it.

  6. Erik C.
    Erik C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Really good . The owner is very nice and recommend us good choice to taste. A must to try in Venice.

  7. Andrew K.
    Andrew K.
    • one review
    10/10

    This was a very welcome respite from the very busy Venice. Set in a surprisingly quiet street next to the train station. The gentleman serving tables was very nice, spoke perfect English, and brought everything as ordered. The food was really good, as was the atmosphere. I am really pleased we made reservations here. Well worth it.

  8. Angel C.
    Angel C.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    We ordered seafood spaghetti and seafood risotto, both taste good.

  9. Jane L.
    Jane L.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food, it’s a must in Venice!

  10. Jen s.
    Jen s.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Very authentic traditional Venetian restaurant - very nice being away from the tourist restaurants that populate all of the calle's. Only restaurant of all experienced (even with a $400 meal for 3!) in 5 day stay that had true Italian crusty bread, very welcoming atmosphere, traditional menu - different from the same ones you see posted along the streets, friendliness of local staff - and Claudio!!! Truly felt a part of the Venice neighborhood and to a tourist. A great night for our last stay and will be back next visit.

  11. Lucia R.
    Lucia R.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Location molto bella

  12. Marina K.
    Marina K.
    • 8 reviews
    7/10

    Really stands out for the great service, but the rest is quite average

  13. Adam A.
    Adam A.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Quality food, friendly staff, and a somewhat quiet setting. A good variety of fish and meat on the menu, as well as vegetarian choices.

  14. William Y.
    William Y.
    • one review
    10/10

    Claudio was an outstanding representative of the restaurant. Everything was terrific.

  15. Elvira H.
    Elvira H.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Estupendo!

  16. Dan Y.
    Dan Y.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Very tasty!

  17. Gerry G.
    Gerry G.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great welcome by very friendly staff. Full of chat and banter. Our hotel discouraged us from going here as they described it as a student type place. There were a lot of students eating there but we enjoyed it as well. The black cuttlefish was suberb.

  18. Nuala M.
    Nuala M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    A wonderful welcome and wonderful food at Il Vagone. There was a good choice of dishes and everything we ordered was beautifully prepared and presented. Staff were very pleasant and professional. This was our 3rd trip to Venice but our 1st visit to Il Vagone but we’ll be back when we next get the chance!

  19. Elisa O.
    Elisa O.
    • 8 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food was ok but absolutely not worth the price.

  20. Qwz1996 Q.
    Qwz1996 Q.
    • one review
    8/10

    it is nice with the tirramisu. the ink spegetti is not as expected, a little salty.

  21. Catherine T.
    Catherine T.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a fantastic find. Amazing friendly service and the best food we have eaten in Venice. We could not recommend it more highly. A wonderful evening and we will certainly be recommending this restaurant to all of our friends..

  22. Patryk N.
    Patryk N.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Service was very friendly. Best I’ve had in Venice.

  23. Kelsey V.
    Kelsey V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really lovely restaurant with a great selection of well priced items coupled with excellent service! I was super worried it would have been a problem to find an open restaurant on Christmas Day for lunch, there were plenty but I highly recommend this one. Everything is so authentic! Thank you for a great Christmas lunch :)

  24. Frank P.
    Frank P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great food and wine. Very friendly and efficient service.Will definitely return

  25. Virginia O.
    Virginia O.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Todo muy rico

  26. Y.vonne G.
    Y.vonne G.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    We really enjoyed our dinner at Il Vagone and would happily return! We were drawn to the place by online reviews and a desire to dine outside the tourist area of Venice. The menu is expansive enough for seafood and meat lovers to both enjoy the selection. Between 3 adults, we tasted multiple starters, first and second plates, plus different desserts. I will admit that we are seafood lovers so the choices were heavy in that area, but one of our second places was veal with lemon sauce, and it was delicious as well. Everyone cleaned their plates! The house wine was a surprisingly good value. Our server was attentive, professional, and helpful. You can tell he gives the job his best effort. At the end of our meal, the chef came out from the kitchen to chat with us. Such a welcoming place!

  27. Kyle A.
    Kyle A.
    • 38 reviews
    3.5/10

    Il Vagone is just ok. We booked our table of 4 with the -50% offer. The food was overall not great. The seafood was overcooked. The pasta was edible but not that great. When we were ready to leave the restaurant the service staff gave us our check and told us that we receive the 50% off on only our food and not the 2 euro per-person cover charge or the 10% service fee(which is not correct). to say something positive about Il Vagone the wine was great and the service was alright. I would not recommend to anyone a dinner at Il Vagone.

  28. Michael B.
    Michael B.
    • one review
    10/10

    The welcome at Il Vagone was excellent! The guys who run this restaurant are pretty darn charming, that's for sure! The food was great so this all added up wonderful meal.

  29. Anthony A.
    Anthony A.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent Reception and Food

  30. Peter M.
    Peter M.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    Very small portions, high price!

  31. Hui Hui L.
    Hui Hui L.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Today was definitely a challenging time for the restaurant as it flooded in Venice yet they still persevered. Kudos to their spirit.

  32. Leeona i.
    Leeona i.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Very nice food and good service but had better quality food and better service and atmosphere for similar price. Good.. not amazing.

  33. Marion F.
    Marion F.
    • one review
    5/10

    Food quite pleasant but we ordered roast potatoes and a tomato salad because we thought there was nothing coming with food..the food arrived with chips and salad..why didn’t they say that that came too

  34. Erika I.
    Erika I.
    • 7 reviews
    6.5/10

    Great service and presentation of the plates, but the dishes weren’t so tasty and the fish didn’t seem fresh.

  35. Adam T.
    Adam T.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Good value! We had a 50% deal and they honoured it without us having to ask! Friendly and food good standard.

  36. Adam J.
    Adam J.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was lovey and the small no frills restaraunt was a great spot to enjoy an intimate dinner. The service was just right and the maitre d was spot on with his recommendations and honesty. Lovely wine and great dessert, couldn’t fault it.

  37. Kristina C.
    Kristina C.
    • one review
    5/10

    Decided to try this place based on the positive reviews. Made reservations and we were seated and greeted right away which was nice. The restaurant was empty, maybe 4 tables dining while we were there, however we waited almost 40 minutes to receive our food after we ordered. The food was mediocre at best, not much flavor, and the seafood did not seem fresh. I found fish bones in my pasta but my pasta was just spaghetti and mussels so not sure where the fish bones came from? Some of the dishes were not hot so I'm not sure if they had been sitting out for awhile. The only thing I could think of is maybe they were having staffing issues the night we went but either way it was not what I expected after reading the reviews and would not recommend.

  38. Krzysztof K.
    Krzysztof K.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    The service was very kind???? the prices were quite high but probably it is typical in Venice. But food was good, we ordered lasagne and spaghetti vongole and we were satisfied ????

  39. Dan S.
    Dan S.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Lovely, clean and comfortable interior room. Food was very good and the service was excellent!

  40. Zhou q.
    Zhou q.
    • one review
    10/10

    good service and good food. Really near to the train station and you should not miss this restaurant.