Back

Reviews - India Roti Room

8.4/10

Very good

based on 479 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Gyles H.
    Gyles H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Had a delightful meal here on a weekend celebrating our anniversary. It’s a little walk or train/tram/bike ride from the Centre. It was during the Corona virus so quite quiet for a Friday night. There are no poppadoms on the menu but they DO have poppadoms - they’re free. And maybe the low point of the meal as I’ve had better. But the buttered chicken and the Lamb Karahi were fabulous. Spicy, fragrant and beautifully balanced. And the garlic naan bread was so good it made my wife cry. Lovely friendly service rounded an enjoyable meal off. Highly recommended. This is as good as the top-rated Indian restaurant in Amsterdam as far as the food goes, but is better-priced and has a more ‘family run restaurant’ feel than ‘fine dining’. And that is not a criticism. Highly recommend.

  2. Layla E.
    Layla E.
    • 13 reviews
    7.5/10

    Check your receipt before leaving.

  3. Lucy S.
    Lucy S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food, great service and value for money. The tables were well spaced unlike other establishments that have as many tables as possible. Both waiters were very attentive, without encroaching on the atmosphere of the table. Would definitely visit again if in town

  4. Retna W.
    Retna W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Love this place and the service they know how to make authentic Indian the way Indian people know and love. With service with a huge smile ???? always love coming here

  5. Cristiano N.
    Cristiano N.
    • 52 reviews
    10/10

    ottimo

  6. Maurice K.
    Maurice K.
    • one review
    4/10

    Het eten was abominabel en de bediening ongeïnteresseerd..

  7. Rahul H.
    Rahul H.
    • 11 reviews
    8/10

    Samosas are delicious. Great discounts. Thank you.

  8. David W.
    David W.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    This is a great restaurant and has amazing staff. Really good authentic Indian food. I can highly recommend it. The tandoori dishes are to die for and extremely succulent. Papadams are free to start the meal. Curries are well crafted and are complimented with delicious rice. Go hot is my recommendation. It is a bit out of the way but that is made up for in quality of food and value for money. This is also not a problem if your hotel is near the Amstel area. Go to this place and you won’t be disappointed

  9. Thomas Valsø S.
    Thomas Valsø S.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    Tried The Fork summer discount - didn't happen. The food is ok but nothing more ????

  10. Tham S.
    Tham S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Good service. Highly recommended.

  11. Arpit J.
    Arpit J.
    • one review
    10/10

    It is the best indian food i tasted in my europe trip (rome, paris and amsterdam). Speciality in indian tea (chai), dal makhni, channa masala and super soft butter naan. This place took me back to India. Kudos to the chef.

  12. Oriol P.
    Oriol P.
    • 7 reviews
    2/10

    Reservation was confirmed but when we arrived they stated It was too full and that we should have reserved earlier. The person in charge did not give any option to come back later or take away or anything. Rude service and dissapointing. Not recommendable

  13. Rebecca E.
    Rebecca E.
    • 20 reviews
    6/10

    Nice enough food, don't think I would have liked to have paid full price! But good for the deal.

  14. F P.
    F P.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Food was authentic and good, prices maybe slightly high but we got a discount in the end so it was okay. Staff was friendly, even if slightly inattentive at times

  15. Omri G.
    Omri G.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    The food was delicious, but the service was below all criticism, it took the waiter more than half an hour to take an order from us, then the order arrived at intervals.

  16. Arie H.
    Arie H.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Really enthusiastic staff. Nice place to have some authentic Indian food. And they have Kingfisher!

  17. Iris B.
    Iris B.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious food and friendly staff!

  18. Skylar S.
    Skylar S.
    • 7 reviews
    7.5/10

    It was a nice restaurant, the staff was friendly and welcoming. They were happy to explain any questions we had. They offered some papadum and various sauces when we sat down. The butter chicken was very good but we were not a huge fan of the vegetable korma. I would come back!

  19. Hina B.
    Hina B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Good food with good service. Hospitable staff and nice ambience. Commutable location. I would highly recommend it. 4 stars.

  20. Hamlin L.
    Hamlin L.
    • 79 reviews
    8/10

    Freshly cooked Indian with good naan breads, pilau rice, tender lamb. I asked for extra hot and hot some fresh chills on the top of the curry.

  21. Annalisa P.
    Annalisa P.
    • 12 reviews
    9.5/10

    Absolutely beautiful! Good food and atmosphere!

  22. Gitanjeli K.
    Gitanjeli K.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Ambience was lovely. Food: Our starter and lamb curry were delicious! The mixed tandoori platter we ordered was over salted for our taste though. Could just be a preference element. Service: This was more on the slow side. I would suggest agreeing on a process, for example: assign one waiter per few tables and make sure that this waiter takes full responsibility for helping those few tables. We had 3 different waiters helping us and that created a lot of confusion, we had to remind them about our drinks, to bring us new forks and knives and to bring us the dessert menu. Food took a while to come out. Would be nice to give us an estimate of how long the food will be so as to manage our expectations. Also, maybe it's good to take notes of the orders as our waiter forgot what we had ordered. He came back to check in with us so we appreciated that. Friendliness: Super friendly owner!

  23. Malina V.
    Malina V.
    • one review
    10/10

    We were celebrating a birthday, and they came with a cake and candles. It was very nice, the food was great, and we enjoyed our time there. Big thank you.

  24. Roshan M.
    Roshan M.
    • 7 reviews
    2/10

    Very Very bad experience. Horrible service

  25. Safi K.
    Safi K.
    • 9 reviews
    8/10

    Food was good, but the food colour can be reduced.

  26. Nicky L.
    Nicky L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Good food, nice people

  27. Heemin k.
    Heemin k.
    • one review
    10/10

    We made a reservation but the first waiter said just sit down. doesnot matter. We were confused by him since he didn't explained further. but in the end they gave us around 2~30% discount from total amount. Other than this, the food was very much and very satisfying. Very nice authentic indian restaurant! Not appropriate for business dinner due to a bit lousy interior and service, but for friends/family/couple meals, it's perfect if you were looking for nice Indian food!

  28. Hanna M.
    Hanna M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very friendly staff. Great atmosphere, and the food is delicious. Thank you!

  29. Laurel D.
    Laurel D.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Delicious meal and friendly service. Unfortunately a group of 12 arrived just before us so service was quite slow, but the food was worth waiting for.

  30. Mohammed T.
    Mohammed T.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Good food and nice staff at a good location for a walk after eating ????

  31. Joyce a.
    Joyce a.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Prima tent

  32. Gabriele S.
    Gabriele S.
    • 16 reviews
    9/10

    Great place! Food was great and in good amounts (all of us struggled to finish their plates and someone could not). The owner was very considerate in suggesting us which dishes to order and he was very welcoming. We had to wait a little bit for our food but considering that we ordered a lot of different stuff which came in very tasty, the wait was totally worth it. The bill was reasonable. Recommended!

  33. Maxime g.
    Maxime g.
    • 6 reviews
    8/10

    Un très bon resto Indien que je recommande

  34. Matias S.
    Matias S.
    • 74 reviews
    8.5/10

    Really good food but they have different prices on The Fork versus the menu in real life

  35. leila n.
    leila n.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food and excellent service

  36. Sara M.
    Sara M.
    • 55 reviews
    7.5/10

    Very good indian food, nice restaurant. Unfortunately we had to ask for the 30% off, but we didn't get the right discont anyway.

  37. Gillian E.
    Gillian E.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    We enjoyed a lovely meal at the Indian Roti Room this evening. Our food was delicious and the service was very friendly. I'd definitely recommend this restaurant which was conveniently located near the metro.

  38. Adriana V.
    Adriana V.
    • 11 reviews
    9/10

    The food was really good and the owner was very friendly.

  39. Eduardo N.
    Eduardo N.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great indian food, with very nice service! Try the cheese naan, it's prepared in a lovely way!

  40. - -.
    - -.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Good taste, nice service and affordable pricing.