8.4/10
Very good
based on 549 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Martina P.
    Martina P.
    • 17 reviews
    10/10

    Great concept and quality! The service was attentive, with a genuine attention to the customer. The atmosphere was warm and chill. The mise en place was a bit pretentious - cutlery for each of three dishes. If the goal is sustainability, even cutting on small things like this can reinforce the restaurant concept.

  2. Luca R.
    Luca R.
    • 17 reviews
    9/10

    Food was great as well as atmosphere and welcoming. Also awesome is the idea of not wasting the food. However, for lunch choices are pretty limited.

  3. Tamara L.
    Tamara L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Perfect Everything. Specially the waiter

  4. Ariane M.
    Ariane M.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    A good restaurant very good quality price. Service really really slow .....more than 3 hours for a menu (4 plates).

  5. Bert S.
    Bert S.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Prijzig concept

  6. Caroline C.
    Caroline C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Excellent food and lovely atmosphere. Thought their aim of reducing food waste ingenuous and inciteful. Wine and beers fab too! Only drawbacks were slowish service and could’ve done with a bit more on each plate.

    Instock Amsterdam

    Dear Caroline, Thank you for your review and your support to reduce food waste at Instock! We will definitely take your feedback into consideration. I hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam, Utrecht or Den Haag. Kind regards, Dorien van Remmen - Assistant Restaurantmanager

  7. Katy B.
    Katy B.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    We loved the atmosphere and the restaurant is so beautiful. A gorgeous band was playing the most delightful 1920s jazz music - perfect! Unfortunately the night we were there they also had a big event in the next room - that meant our food took SO long to make, so we were there from 19:30 until 10:00, waiting for ages between each course, which wasn't great since the food was really small in size and very quick to eat. The portion sizes were SO tiny and two our of our group of three were so hungry afterwards still - would be good to make the portion sizes bigger and also serve some bread for people, particularly when the waiting time is so long. The food was delicious though and we loved the concept, a lot of vegetarian options and some creative and carefully considered dishes, so hoping that with a few improvements it will be a wonderful place to eat.

    Instock Amsterdam

    Dear Katy, Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback and we will definitely look into the improvement points. I'm sorry to hear that you had to wait so long for your food. Glad that the band entertained you with their beautiful music! They play every Saturday evening, so come by another time to enjoy their music. Thanks again and have a good day! Kind regards, Dorien van Remmen - Assistant Restaurantmanager

  8. Carolina b.
    Carolina b.
    • one review
    10/10

    loved it! ....................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  9. David D.
    David D.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  10. Javier G.
    Javier G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really good quality on the food and super friendly service. Also super happy with the concept of saving food and make something amazing out of it, definitely coming back to try the new menu.

    Instock Amsterdam

    Hi Javier, thank you so much for your review and we would love to welcome you again and surprise you with our new menu!

  11. Robin V.
    Robin V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Top!

    Instock Amsterdam

    Bedankt voor je recensie!

  12. Ziv A.
    Ziv A.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Special Concept. The dishes are invested in their visibility. We ordered a few small portions and shared some. We did not find dishes suitable for children.

    Instock Amsterdam

    Hi Ziv, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked the food. You can always ask us if you would like some food more suitable for your children. Hope to see you again some day!

  13. Michal F.
    Michal F.
    • one review
    9/10

    The service was great and the place is really nicely designed/decorated. The food did exactly not blow my mind but it didn't disappoint either and I do appreciate the concept of rescuing the food that would otherwise go to waste. The overall experience was very very pleasant.

    Instock Amsterdam

    Thank you for your feedback and we would love to see you back soon! ps. we have a new menu and the food will not disappoint you at all!

  14. kelai d.
    kelai d.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious and thoroughly explained! I hope Instock sets a trend for more restaurants around the world. Food waste is absurd!

  15. leentje m.
    leentje m.
    • one review
    10/10

    Opvallend aardige gemotiveerde bediening!

    Instock Amsterdam

    Bedankt voor je lieve woorden!! We werken allemaal met veel liefde aan minder voedselverspilling!

  16. Chiara C.
    Chiara C.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    The idea of this restaurant is very nice but they should pay much more attention to the service. After our appetizer we waited one hour for the main dish... when we asked the waitress about it she was surprised even if there were just four tables to look after! We can accept a mistake but at the end we ordered a coffee and after 15 minutes we had to order it again... and the waitress didn’t seem to feel responsible for this second mistakes! The food is good but the service has to be taken more seriously!

  17. Anna M.
    Anna M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Love the concept. Menu really tasty and creative. My only negative experience for the meal is that the meat was quite hard in the main course, but the combination of flavours accompanying that meat was really creative and well thought. Service was really good when we came for dinner. We have visited the restaurant before for lunch and service was really slow. So i am confused there. I would be put out by this but decided to give it another try for dinner and did not regret it. So maybe something to think about improving.

    Instock Amsterdam

    Thank you for the feedback. Good to hear we suprised you with our creative cooking, and we will looking into the struggle with the meat. Thank you for your honesty and kind words.

  18. Sarah B.
    Sarah B.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Everything was good although the soup was wonderful. The main meat meal was very nice but the veggie option not so interesting.

    Instock Amsterdam

    Thank you for the review. With the christmass menu we serve awesome piccalilly croquettes as vegetarian option. We keep improving every day!

  19. Lore G.
    Lore G.
    • one review
    2/10

    This was one of the most disappointing experience I had with a restaurant in a long time. The food is overpriced and far from exceptional. We waited almost 1/2 hour for our main dish. The all concept of the restaurant - rescuing food - then translated for me into a hipster exploitation of environmental concerns. Reall a shame

    Instock Amsterdam

    I am so sorry to hear that your experience with Instock wasn't what you expected! Of course this is not what we want to achieve. We cook with a lot of passion and everything in our menu is homemade. Please come in contact with us, so we can talk about a solution for a better experience next time! You can send us an email to amsterdam@instock.nl or make a phonecall to our restaurant. Team Instock

  20. Anna V.
    Anna V.
    • one review
    10/10

    It's awesome! Great atmosphere, nice waiters, dishes are tasting and goodlooking. Perfect for an ethically romantic night out but it seems good for a friends' meal too

    Instock Amsterdam

    Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you again. Maybe soon for breakfast or lunch? Did you knew we have in all three of our restaurant a private area you can hire for business events, private dinning, celebrations and more?

  21. JUNENG Z.
    JUNENG Z.
    • one review
    10/10

    The restaurant is so nice. Nice people, nice dishes , nice ideas if making most of wasted food materials into délions and nice live music. A wonderful diner !

    Instock Amsterdam

    And nice words, thank you for the review. Hope to welcome you again at one of our Instock's. The Hague,Utrecht and Amsterdam are open 7 days a week!

  22. Paul S.
    Paul S.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    In Stock is a fun restaurant with a good message. We have never had a bad meal there keeping in mind the price/quality ratio. Of course you have to be an easy eater as there is only one 4 course menu in the evening which is different every day. The staff are always friendly . Congratulations on reaching the 300.000 kgs of food saved!

    Instock Amsterdam

    Hi Paul Smith, Thank you very much for your enthusiasm, both for the beers in the afternoon as for your visit for dinner later that evening! We hope to see you back soon. Maybe in Utrecht? Then you've seen us all ;-) Team Instock

  23. John-Paul S.
    John-Paul S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great concept! The food is lovely. Very creative, tasteful and healthy! Have a glass of the saved cava.

    Instock Amsterdam

    Hi John, It was a pleasure to have you as our guest! We hope to see you soon. Best, Team Instock

  24. Lindsay B.
    Lindsay B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Food was delicious and creative. Services was friendly and swift. I've already recommended it to friends. Lovely experience!

  25. Fiona S.
    Fiona S.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    I decided to dine in Instock upon the recommendation from my friend. As I have guests coming from Singapore, I though Instock offers a different dining concept that is not yet available there by using surplus ingredients from nearby supermarkets. Instock requires a reservation for dinner. I made a reservation through their website for 4 at 1800. I arrive and was seated promptly. I was then served with bread and olive oil. When we were ready to order, the waiter came to explain the menu to us. I had the 4-course dinner which was ~27euro. Out of the 4 course, I enjoyed the starter the most. The soup was so flavorful I could only wish I had more of it. My guests had a lot of questions about the concept of the restaurant and also about what is on our plate. Every single staff member that we manage to stop and question were truly accommodating and answered our questions patiently. I thought it was very good service. Overall a good dining experience with prompt and attentive service.

    Instock Amsterdam

    Dear Fiona, Thank you for the kind words and great to hear that we were able to raise more awareness for food waste, even internationally! We enjoy explaining all the ins and outs we know about the subject, so that more people can spread the word. Thank you for rescuing food with us and hope to see you again. Kind regards, Team Instock

  26. Sunny D.
    Sunny D.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    this week menu is lovely and delicious! We had clear tomato soup as starter and pizza with lekkerbek topping as main course. The broth is so clear, you wouldnt think it is tomato soup, but the taste is super yummy and tomatoey! The pizza has perfect doe, even better than some pizzeria out there. Highly recommended!

    Instock Amsterdam

    Dear Sunny, Nice you where with us to celebrate your partners birthday! Hope we made it a small party for you as well;). Hope to see you soon again! Kind regards, Team Instock

  27. Sophia C.
    Sophia C.
    • 32 reviews
    9/10

    Very nice. We booked through la fourchette and were very week received. The courses were generous and very tasty, reasonable price and excellent service. A nice discovery in Amsterdam. Will definitely return next trip !

  28. - -.
    - -.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Super concept! Eten was lekker. Voor mijn partner te kleine porties. Bediening snel, vrolijk en vriendelijk. Ruimte wel zeer rumoerig kon soms m'n partner of de serveerster niet verstaan

    Instock Amsterdam

    Beste Saskiahoing, Bedankt voor jullie feedback! We hebben snel wat gedaan aan de rumoerigheid en hopen dat je snel weer langskomt om de betere akoestiek te ervaren, samen met ons diner van geredde producten. Tot snel, Team Instock

  29. Dane H.
    Dane H.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    A little bit of a wait for he first course. But after that things flowed very smoothly. Lovely service, delicious food and beautiful house red.

    Instock Amsterdam

    Thanks for your feedback, Dane Harney. We hope to have the opportunity to let you see we will be quicker on serving the first course next time. Thank you for rescue food with us. Best regards, Team Instock

  30. Ellen R.
    Ellen R.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    With not quite spectacular ingredients we had a very good meal, that showes the skills of the coock. The desert was excellent! Very nice place, very friendly staff. The prices are higher than I expected but the goal is very worth spending the money.

    Instock Amsterdam

    Beste Ellen, The ingredients we daily rescue are every time different, hope to be able to surprise you next time with a totally different menu. Good to hear it was worth the 27,50 euro for a four course menu with our goal in mind: Reduce food waste.Thank you for helping us with that goal and hope to see you again. Best regards, Team Instock

  31. Yang Z.
    Yang Z.
    • 4 reviews
    6.5/10

    The concept of the restaurant is creative although not everyone will think it is an advantage, the atmosphere and interior are comfortable. However regrettably, I found a hair on my food plate towards the end of my consumption. I made a complaint and the reactions from the waiter/waitress could be more apologetic. Me and my friend were compensated with a free coffee/tea, but service team should make this noticeable to the kitchen.

  32. Sunny D.
    Sunny D.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Great food like usual! The dessert with orange is my favourite, what a brilliant way of using the fruit to its full potential. Literally nothing is wasted. The waiting staffs are lovely.

  33. Anne D.
    Anne D.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Creative food, good vibe and friendly staff. The large terrasse in this quiet street was a nice plus: great dinner, we'll sure come back!

    Instock Amsterdam

    Hi Dumoula, Thanks for your feedback. Hope te see you soon @ Instock! Regards, Sarah team Instock

  34. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The story behind Instock is totally inspirational. The service is not as good as the story though. I wish someone had the vision in South Africa to try the same.

    Instock Amsterdam

    Hi Ezibfarming, Wat fijn dat ons verhaal inspirerend is en jammer dat we dit met onze service niet hebben kunnen waarmaken. Hopelijk geef je ons nog een kans zodat wij je een échte Instock beleving kunnen laten beleven! Groet Sarah - Team Instock

  35. Lisa F.
    Lisa F.
    • 3 reviews
    9.25/10

    great food and very friendly service! I'm really behind the concept of reducing food waste and this restaurant is doing a great job in providing delicious "rescued" food in a creative way. heel gezellig en echt lekker! :)

    Instock Amsterdam

    Hi Lisa, Dankjewel voor je feedback. Mede door jouw bezoek aan ons restaurant hebben we weer voedsel kunnen redden, fijn dat je er was! Groet Sarah - Team Instock

  36. David B.
    David B.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Super food and service, very good vegetarian options. The dishes are very imaginative and innovatively presented. I would definitely recommend the restaurant!

    Instock Amsterdam

    HI David, Thanks for this possitive feedback :) Hopefully we can welcome you soon! Gr Sarah - Team Instock

  37. Sunny D.
    Sunny D.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    What a great concept to save food and wonderful skill to turn waste food into beautiful three course meal! The bun with pull pork is super yummy, I could ask for another one. Each portion is just right, not too much, to leave you craving for more. All together the meal is very well balanced and fulfilled. What also makes me so enthusiastic about the food here is the amount of fresh vegetable and fresh fruit, which is lacking in most of restaurants. Of course there is vegetarian option as well. The restaurant has a really nice atmosphere and staffs are very friendly and attentive. Definitely will come back :).

    Instock Amsterdam

    HI Sunny, Thank you for this positive comment :) and hope to welcome you soon at restaurant Instock! Gr Sarah - team Instock

  38. Sarah G.
    Sarah G.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    only bad point ... it took 1 hour to be served and some "bites" were a bit cold the food and the place is very good the service is also very kind

    Instock Amsterdam

    Hoi Sarah! Wat een mooie cijfers, goed te lezen! Hopelijk tot ziens. Groet, Team Instock.

  39. Line L.
    Line L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic concept! The food was delicious, the atmosphere was cosy, and most importantly, the staff was super friendly and nice!

  40. AlexandraA
    AlexandraA
    • 3 reviews
    8.75/10

    Delicious food and very friendly staff! Love the concept! I will definitely come back and share this place with friends.