Back

Reviews Izakaya Tanuki Amsterdam

8.7/10

Fabulous

based on 543 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Nikki L.
    Nikki L.
    • 11 reviews
    9/10

    Service is excellent! Food is great, just the Karage chicken I ordered is a bit too dry. But overall everything is superb!

  2. Ing C.
    Ing C.
    • 19 reviews
    8/10

    Goed

  3. YUKI K.
    YUKI K.
    • 16 reviews
    5/10

    I used to visit this place a lot but the service is now really bad. Especially when you are Japanese this is bad. The staff who served us she really spoke no Dutch and maybe a little english. The food is alright. But for the price there are much better Japanese Restaurants in Amsterdam and The Hague. So one of my last time i visited this restaurant. My friend asked for a little bit of mayonaise extra for the chicken and they will charge you 60ct extra for it. That’s really bad especially for the high price they charge . The sushi rolls are ok but not really special. AllThe food is ok but the service is so bad so i prefer nicer places.

  4. Lawin H.
    Lawin H.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    Friendly staff, good service, sushi was tasty and the sushi sets were nice. Furthermore the location above was very calm and vibe full. Drinks might be at least a bit bigger. Some meals might be improved for example the eel with hot rice. It was more like a plate with hot rice and a plain sauce. Furthermore some eel and ginger, which was a suprising combination.

  5. Bart D.
    Bart D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great place to have some delicious japanese food! I will come back for sure!

  6. Wataru M.
    Wataru M.
    • one review
    9/10

    My kids really love your foods !!

  7. Marc M.
    Marc M.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Toptent

  8. Hiromi K.
    Hiromi K.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The food was good the price was decent. However we had made reservation for 7 but the seat was only ready for 6 which was a bit of disappointment.

  9. • one review
    6/10

    The table is really small that could not fit all the dishes. Sake was really weak and it feels like a mixture of real sake and water.

  10. Ryvo O.
    Ryvo O.
    • one review
    10/10

    great food and nice atmosphere

  11. Rob v.
    Rob v.
    • 11 reviews
    7.5/10

    Lekkere bento box. Voldeed prima!

  12. Suzanne K.
    Suzanne K.
    • 10 reviews
    5.5/10

    The servers were hurried and didn’t speak a lot of English or Dutch. The quality of the food was ok, but the taste wasn’t great. Don’t think I would go back again.

  13. Kiki H.
    Kiki H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Always delicious dishes, excellent service and no waiting time. The best "gioza" ever and don't miss the "dragon roll". Our "go to" restaurant for a casual dinner out.

  14. Boterkoek j.
    Boterkoek j.
    • 58 reviews
    8/10

    Satisfied about the food and location.

  15. Roos G.
    Roos G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Was top! We zaten boven, bediening was echt goed!

  16. Jasper v.
    Jasper v.
    • one review
    9/10

    Hshsh

  17. Tomoko K.
    Tomoko K.
    • 209 reviews
    8/10

    Very friendly people

  18. Gideon E.
    Gideon E.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Simple sushi perfect for afternoon lunch. Always great quality for the price.

  19. Hans R.
    Hans R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    One of the best

  20. Stefan D.
    Stefan D.
    • one review
    4/10

    there was no menu at the table, nobody offered us a menu. I had to get up and go all the way to the entrance to get a menu.; nobody comes to ask you what you want to drink or eat. Again, you have to get up and go catch a waiter / waitress to order something. So service that should be there is inexistent. By the way, “Tanuki” is a Japanese name associated with excellent service, (I lived 14 years in Japan). It is a shame to use “Tanuki” name for a restaurant where there is no service. Food was OK but the miso soup was just a watery mix with no taste. There was no tempura in the udon just some flakes ... You can google “tempura udon” just to see what it should look like. Again, using “tempura udon” name for something so different is unfair for the real stuff and also misleading for clients. This misleading is really a problem as it really is a fraud. A different name should definitely be used instead.

  21. Robila K.
    Robila K.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Modern restaurant, excellent service & the service was perfect, friendly, efficient. Will come back.

  22. Martijn H.
    Martijn H.
    • 33 reviews
    8.5/10

    We had a nice business lunch here with our team. Staff is friendly but some of them don’t speak Dutch. Not a big issue, but leads to some interesting conversations. The food came out quick, we mostly had sushi. The sushi was fresh and for € 20 you get 20 pieces of mixt sushi, no bet deal! Definitely worth a visit! Surroundings are not special; a shopping mall. But all reflects in a reasonable price!

  23. Rustam A.
    Rustam A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Hele lekkere sushi's en de keuze is fantastisch: hamachi, hirame, suzuki, you name it. De beste sushi in de regio in zijn klasse.

  24. Dara A.
    Dara A.
    • 38 reviews
    9.5/10

    Order three things... two dishes came out in 10 minutes. Ate and finished those dishes and the third dish still hadnt arrived. Waited 20 more minutes then asked about the third dish, and they said it was coming. Waited 20 more minutes and dish still hasn’t come out... had to cancel the dish and leave.

  25. Anita R.
    Anita R.
    • one review
    9/10

    My daughter and I went out to dinner and we absolutely loved it. I love the variety of sushi that they have and the house wine was also wonderful. I would strongly recommend the udon noodles-delicious !

  26. IKUMA K.
    IKUMA K.
    • one review
    8/10

    great

  27. Atsushi H.
    Atsushi H.
    • one review
    8/10

    We have enjoyed our lunch.The waiter's woman was a very kind response. The meal was also delicious. I want to use it again. It is another comment. I deal with specially tasty sake in the Netherlands. Can not you try it at the shop?

  28. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    10/10

    The quality of the food was extremely high, the salmon and tuna were very fresh! The price was also reasonable...and the waiters and waitresses were super sweet and helpful! Thank you!!

  29. Glenn R.
    Glenn R.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Food was of poor quality compared to many other Sushi/ Sashimi restaurants. Especially the lamb chop was very bad: too much fat and little meat, Tables are too small and to close to each other. In total a dissapointing experience.

  30. Martin G.
    Martin G.
    • one review
    10/10

    As usual great food, great service and great atmosphere. I would recommend this restaurant to anybody. We have been coming to Tanuki in Amstelveen since they opened and now the new place is great too.

  31. Irina v.
    Irina v.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Great food and service, looks like a popular place.

  32. M D.
    M D.
    • 18 reviews
    8/10

    Small cozy place with nice food

  33. M D.
    M D.
    • 18 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great food... so so service

  34. M D.
    M D.
    • 18 reviews
    9/10

    Nice place, was a recommendation of friends of ours. It is their favourite place ever....

  35. Go I.
    Go I.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    As always, excellent food and friendly service! The food is authentic and their menu offers great selection of meat, vegetables, and fish, Tanuki is good for everyone!

  36. Astrid S.
    Astrid S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lekker gegeten, erg aardige bediening

  37. Cindy Y.
    Cindy Y.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious, fresh sushi and friendly staff. What more can you ask for!

  38. Smadar S.
    Smadar S.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Nice fresh food, kind staff and nice atmosphere

  39. Rosa A.
    Rosa A.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Tanuki is very successfull for years however nie they convert this location into a BBQ table location and in my opinion is loosing his Japanese grill house authenticity. Now it reminds me of a Korean barbecue place but with a Japanese menu. The food is still good.

  40. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    6/10

    The bad service made the "dining experience" in this restaurant an unpleasant one. The expat Japanese community may continue to come as the decor and passable food may be reminiscent of home but as locals we would not return nor recommend it. Tanuki used to be fun and the service good...what happened?