Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

This restaurant is not bookable on TheFork.

Here are some alternatives you might enjoy:

Loading interface...
Loading interface...
Loading interface...
Loading interface...

African

Reviews - Jambo Jambo

93 Glebe Point Rd, 2037 Glebe (NSW)See map

Average price A$35

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Cannot be reserved on TheFork

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Cameron G.
    Cameron G.

    June 10, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Delicious food, cosy environment, friendly staff.

  • Rod M.
    Rod M.

    June 5, 202123 reviews

    10/10

    Very different and extremely tasty food. Great atmosphere and the most attentive staff. Overall a fantastic family evening.

  • Andrew Ko
    Andrew Ko

    May 8, 202164 reviews

    7.5/10

    Very interesting food and culture to experience. The host greeted everyone warmly and explained the dishes. Nice decor inside. This restaurant is fairly expensive and the food a little oily.

  • Min P.

    May 8, 202110 reviews

    9.5/10

    Wonderful food, even better service, you feel like you are eating a meal with friends. This has been in my neighbourhood for ages and now I know what all the fuss is about. Thank you!

  • Sharron X.

    April 29, 20215 reviews

    9/10

    The portions are massive, the atmosphere and decor are homely but lively. We had a fun experience!

  • Rod M.
    Rod M.

    April 24, 202123 reviews

    10/10

    Food was amazingly delicious and different in presentation. Loved the experience, something different and welcoming. Loved the night.

  • Rob H.
    Rob H.

    April 23, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Jambo Jambo has the best Ethiopian food I have tasted anywhere in the world. Joseph is an incredibly dedicated chef & restauranteur - the food is amazing, so delicious, varied & plentiful & he catered for our vegetarians & our omnivores very well. We keep coming back - it’s such a treat!

  • Lisa N.
    Lisa N.

    April 20, 202126 reviews

    10/10

    The restaurant was absolutely incredible. The food was impeccable and service was on point too. Thanks for a great night team - everyone really enjoyed themselves!

  • Amanda R.

    April 7, 20211 review

    10/10

    We love this restaurant and are happy to travel across town to it. The food style is fun, always fresh and tasty and the service is attentive. We have never been disappointed! Thank you Jambo Jambo!

  • Tanya D.

    March 6, 202120 reviews

    9.5/10

    Interesting, delicious food, great for sharing.

  • Jill B.
    Jill B.

    March 5, 20213 reviews

    10/10

    Joseph and his team are so incredibly hospitable. When you come to eat here they make you feel like your part of the family. If you’ve never tried Ethiopian food before please give it a go. I’ve been eating it for more than half of my life and seen my fair share of places come and go. Jambo Jambo is a well established, respected restaurant with delicious food. They can prepare meat, vegetarian and vegan dishes. The bread, injera, is naturally gluten free as it’s made from teff (non wheat) flour. They offer a wide variety of lentil and vegetable dishes, chicken, beef and lamb. Afterwards treat yourself to a beautifully smooth black coffee made from a single origin Ethiopian coffee bean that Joseph roasts fresh in his pan. You’ll thoroughly enjoy your dining experience at Jambo Jambo.

  • Neil L.

    February 7, 20211 review

    10/10

    Great food, great host and excellent service. One of our top 3 restaurants in Sydney as food is unique with flavours that are very different to any other cuisine.

  • Thay J.

    January 2, 20212 reviews

    8/10

    Delicious food with vegan options available, mostly beans and purees with different flavours. Good service with instructions on how to eat African food

  • Naomi H.

    December 17, 20201 review

    8/10

    I enjoyed sharing a meal with my little group and eating from a common plate and trying something new. The staff were attentive even with multiple groups booked.

  • Melissa W.

    December 15, 20201 review

    10/10

    THIS LITTLE RESTAURANT IS ONE OF A KIND. THE SERVICE WAS SUPERB. THE LY TOOK THE TIME TO EXPLAIN WHAT EACH DISH WAS AND HOW TO BEST EAT IT. THE SERVINGS WERE VERY GENEROUS AND DELICIOUS. WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK!

  • Edith L.

    December 4, 20208 reviews

    9.5/10

    Generous amount of food and tasty too. The owner is very nice and tries his best to look after every table. Loves his passion of sharing his food culture with us.

  • Lauranne B.

    November 28, 20201 review

    10/10

    Great restaurant with great food! We were a fairly large group and everyone had a great time, we loved the combination and vegan platters, great value!

  • Garry J.

    November 4, 20201 review

    10/10

    Loved it. We had the Platter for two washed down with a few brandy and beers. Definitely will be going again infact may become a weekly tradition.

  • Anthony P.
    Anthony P.

    October 31, 20204 reviews

    10/10

    Amazing service. The owner was there and I felt he was very passionate about the food that was being dished out. We said that we are meat people and that we will have all meats. He surprised us by having an extra vege meat as well which was very nice of him. The food was delicious and as expected tasted like Indian - but definitely a must try

  • Scott P.

    October 25, 20201 review

    10/10

    Beautiful atmosphere great Ethiopian food.

  • Matt D.
    Matt D.

    October 13, 20201 review

    10/10

    Fantastic food, we had the large sharing meal and everything we chose was great. If you haven't tried Ethopian food I'd definitely recommend starting out here.

  • Narina M.
    Narina M.

    September 25, 202019 reviews

    10/10

    Amazing Ethiopian cuisine in a comfortable and welcoming setting. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Can not fault.

  • Sasu H.
    Sasu H.

    September 19, 20201 review

    10/10

    Such attentive and personalised service by Joseph and his crew. The food itself, of course, was amazing and unique. Highly recommended, 10/10.

  • Vanessa H.
    Vanessa H.

    September 11, 20202 reviews

    10/10

    Such a good restaurant in terms of delicious food, stellar service and welcoming atmosphere. I feel like I am being welcomed into someones home when I dine here.

  • Lynda S.
    Lynda S.

    September 10, 20201 review

    10/10

    From the moment we stepped in we were treated so well. The vegan dishes were scrumptious. Large exquisite servings and great staff and host. Will definately be going back

  • Rob H.
    Rob H.

    August 27, 20202 reviews

    10/10

    Jambo Jambo has the best Ethiopean food I have eaten- and i have tried Ethiopean in Africa, USA, Canada and Europe. Joseph is welcoming and makes everyone feel like family and then produces unbelievably delicious food with delicate spices and rich flavours. Have been returning repeatedly and bringing new friends to the experience ever since we discovered this gem a few years ago. Simply fabulous

  • Sean B.
    Sean B.

    August 20, 20201 review

    10/10

    I have been eating here since its humble beginnings in Crows Nest and the food is still amazing! Best value. There is nothing like this anywhere else in Sydney!

  • Pete C.
    Pete C.

    August 20, 20203 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent meal of assorted meat and vegetarian dishes on succulent injera. Standouts are the goat key wat, lamb timbu, all of the entrees, the delicious honey, the super lemon ice cream and smoothest freshly roasted coffee (along with the best host and staff). What more could you say? A special glass of excellent red :)

  • Anita H.
    Anita H.

    July 26, 20207 reviews

    9.5/10

    Food was great, staff were attentive to our needs and to help understand the menu better. Highly recommend on getting the platter as opposed to ordering seperate dishes. More than enough food

  • Brigid F.
    Brigid F.

    July 25, 20201 review

    10/10

    Delicious food and very filling! We will be coming back

  • Ronald T.
    Ronald T.

    July 19, 20203 reviews

    10/10

    Absolutely wonderful! One of a kind experience that you have to try at least once. Very attentive and helpful service from the warm owner, made us feel welcomed. Me, personally, loved the Ethiopian beer, very recommended. Goat and lamb didn't smell at all, great use of spices. Some people might prefer rice or normal bread instead of injera because of the unusual taste, but it's all part of the food's culture and history. ????????

  • Baozhing T.
    Baozhing T.

    July 18, 20201 review

    10/10

    The food was delicious and portions were incredibly generous! We felt very welcome and it was like dining in a friend’s home. We’ll definitely be back!

  • Ben G.
    Ben G.

    July 17, 20201 review

    10/10

    Amazing food, great atmosphere and brilliant host. Definitely going back, had a brilliant time. The goat was amazing and so was the coffee, really enjoyed the evening

  • Sally P.
    Sally P.

    July 17, 20207 reviews

    9/10

    Great and fun food!

  • Fiona Hyojin K.
    Fiona Hyojin K.

    June 28, 20202 reviews

    10/10

    The staff were very attentive Good food, atmosphere. It was really great to experience African food in a such an authentic setting Highly recommended

  • Holly F.
    Holly F.

    June 25, 20201 review

    10/10

    Amazing food with so many different flavours, lovely wine, and excellent service ! I will definitely be back with my friends asap! Thank you Jambo jambo

  • Garry Lu
    Garry Lu

    June 24, 20201 review

    10/10

    Words simply don't do it justice. The flavours are out of this world. I've never been more satisfied with a dining experience. Try it out and prepare to loosen your belt.

  • Jessica G.
    Jessica G.

    June 24, 20201 review

    10/10

    Great food and hospitality. Can't recommend it enough. Great staff and authentic service. It was our second visit in 4 days! We will be back. Thankyou

  • Alesi E.
    Alesi E.

    June 21, 20206 reviews

    9/10

    Very friendly and welcoming with delicious food!

  • Graham R.
    Graham R.

    June 20, 202012 reviews

    9.5/10

    This restaurant started in 2012 on the Lower North Shore and move to Glebe. FIts in well with the style of Glebe. The tasty food seems authentic and the staff are friendly, but were overworked on the night we went. The goat dish was the best of the ones we tried. Would definitely come back.

Tripadvisor reviews

25 Tripadvisor Reviews

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.