Back

Reviews John Dory visrestaurant

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 398 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Giel K.
    Giel K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    John Dory is an excellent restaurant, as a guest you feel really welcome. Water and bread, appetizers and sweets with coffee are all free of charge. Something I always get when dining in a good restaurant in Paris but in Amsterdam rarely. The chef is great, the food close to a Michelin star and the staff is very professional. Very good value for money and a very nice place to go to.

  2. Alberto D.
    Alberto D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent.

  3. Denis C.
    Denis C.
    • one review
    8/10

    The food tasted fresh, the combinations were inventive, if not all very successful to our taste (sauce a bit distracting/overpowering on a dish, for an otherwise excellent fish and combination), service was friendly and attentive, staff were all knowledgeable about the food (not a given in restaurants these days), pity that when guests make a bit of an effort to dress up (not often the case in this city), the waitress and waiter were wearing jeans. A restaurant experience is foremost about good, quality food (and you certainly get it in this place), but "softer" aspects do play a role as well, especially when the cheapest menu starts at 48 euros...

  4. Sergio O.
    Sergio O.
    • 8 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious food with surprisingly good combinations. Huge variety of wines and excellent service.

  5. Werner  s.
    Werner s.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    As we expected, for multiple times =perfect!

    John Dory visrestaurant

    Hi, Thank you for your nice review. We hope to welcome you once again. Best regards, Arjan & Laura and team John Dory

  6. Claudia B.
    Claudia B.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    We ordered the surprise menu. Amazing food and wonderful service. Very surprising tastes and wonderful combinations. Also the vegetarian was amazing. I loved it.

  7. Hayel  a.
    Hayel a.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very cozy restaurant and extremely welcoming staff. The service was fantastic, the food amazing. The restaurant offers a surprise menu and they also have extra options like Dutch caviar or Oysters. We chose the oysters, which were magnificent, followed by 6 courses (5 fish and 1 dessert) with wine pairing. A truly wonderful experience.

  8. Dimitry S.
    Dimitry S.
    • 6 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent food and service. Very positive overall experience. They could surely improve on kitchen's ventilation, since the smell was too strong on the ground floor.

  9. Loraine T.
    Loraine T.
    • 15 reviews
    9.5/10

    Spectacular food. Imaginative and beautifully presented. Choice of set menus from 4 to 8 plates is very nice to cater to smaller to larger appetites. Nice, friendly staff and setting.

  10. Julie c.
    Julie c.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fabulous restaurant for a meal with friends. Small and cosy with a rustic look but the food is far from rustic!! It is top end cooking with really delicate presentation and intense flavour. We choose a 6-course menu which is just about right if you are hungry. You will think the portions are very small, but they are very filling as you move along the courses!!! Great service and a good choice of wines. The waiter was very knowledgable and made sure we were enjoying our evening. Not pricey for the level of cuisine on offer. Also catered very well for one of our party who does not enjoy chilli or other spices. Her food was cooked separately. Well worth a visit!!

  11. Ron T.
    Ron T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    THis is a great restaurant that deserves more attention form the international food interests. Along with a very creative kitchen, they staff made it a wonderful evening.

  12. Wim B.
    Wim B.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    John Dory is truly amazing and definitely one of the best restaurants in Amsterdam. The food but also the service was impeccable! Can highly recommend to anyone

  13. Caroline G.
    Caroline G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really interesting setting - easy to reach on the Metro. We chose the 4 course chefs menu - with a local Dutch wine. Each dish was beautifully presented and the tastes were on point! Service was excellent and friendly. If you like your seafood, and you enjoy letting someone surprise you, go!

  14. Andrew C.
    Andrew C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and service. We had the four course meal with extra oysters to start. Great place, built for appreciating foodies. Good wine list. Hint- ask for an upstairs table.

  15. Bart d.
    Bart d.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Very nice place kind people perfect service.

  16. Lorraine C.
    Lorraine C.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Good.

  17. Ashley A.
    Ashley A.
    • one review
    10/10

    One word... AMAZING

  18. Kevin M.
    Kevin M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent food. Very creative. Beautifully prepared.

  19. David H.
    David H.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Doing a good job of working on their first Michelin star

  20. Elizabeth B.
    Elizabeth B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing, interesting food, very good value.

  21. Susan K.
    Susan K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wow and wow. This restaurant deserves every 5 star rating. The service, food, presentation and ambiance where wonderful. This restaurant can rival Any other of its kind. Food was fresh and delicious, presentation was top notch. We ordered the 4 course. Plenty of food ! We did not leave hungry. A not to be missed experience in Amsterdam!!!

  22. Minnie T.
    Minnie T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Enjoyed the dinner so so much!

  23. Allan M.
    Allan M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Nice atmosphere. Good service. Average food but well presented Some of the fish was bland but complemented by good veg and inventive combinations of tastes. Worth the visit!

  24. Maria P.
    Maria P.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This restaurant should have at least one Michelin star for the food they serve. We had a 6 course dinner and each course was to die for.

  25. Barbara J.
    Barbara J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Quirky idea - chef chooses what you are going to eat, once allergies etc have been discussed. Every course - we chose 4, but you could go for 8- was delicious and beautifully presented. A bit knocked sideways by the price, but worth it for a special meal.

  26. Robert S.
    Robert S.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Surprise menu good fun and mostly delicious, only dish that disappointed was the strawberry sauce paired with the mackerel tartare ... wine list unnecessarily expensive

  27. Werner  s.
    Werner s.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Huge thanks for a excellent evening!

  28. Ian M.
    Ian M.
    • one review
    5/10

    The balance between customer and restaurant is wrong. When we arrived we were told that we were lucky because we had the last reservation. Two more couples arrived after us and were told the same thing. There was little effort made to make us feel welcome.

  29. ELAINE P.
    ELAINE P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    An amazing meal. The combination of ingredients coupled with the presentation was first class cuisine. Infusion of herbs, greens and spices from many cooking cultures was a treat for the senses. The mushroom ice cream for dessert was fantastic. Each dish was a work of art and displayed the creativity and culinary intellect of the chef.

  30. Bas v.
    Bas v.
    • 34 reviews
    9.5/10

    Top

  31. Eugene S.
    Eugene S.
    • one review
    10/10

    I had the 8-course menu. Everything, everything was near flawless - ok, flawless! But the dessert, omg, in my almost 50 years’ existence, I have never tasted something more spectacular... foie gras, chicken skin, porcini mushroom ice cream, squirts of I think salted caramel... it was out of this world and deserved a standing ovation! Splendid, from start to finish!

  32. Asaf B.
    Asaf B.
    • one review
    10/10

    The place is amazing, the food is prefection The service was on the spot.. Very good resterunt I recomend

  33. Debra K.
    Debra K.
    • one review
    10/10

    We loved the surprises all evening! Everyone was helpful, the food was delicious, and we left happy and full. Thanks for a memorable experience!

  34. Herwig S.
    Herwig S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Again very delicious.

  35. Charles P.
    Charles P.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Exceptional yet unpretentious cooking, focuses on seafood. One of our favourite restaurants in Amsterdam

  36. Zsolt S.
    Zsolt S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Not cheap but the food is amazing

  37. Antonio L.
    Antonio L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Every dish of the fixed menu was incredible. My wife and I enjoyed everything about the 6 course menu, including the amazing desserts. Very recommended!

  38. Guy s.
    Guy s.
    • 13 reviews
    9.5/10

    This all fish restaurant offers just a range of "surprise menus" of 4, 6 or 8 courses. Provision is made for those who cannot eat shellfish. Each dish was a delightful dainty and original surprise with clever combinations of fish and herbs etc. I had six course and my wife had four and we shared the intermediate courses. It was certainly enough. WE drank an excellent Riesling - dry and fresh .The staff were helpful and friendly and precise. I n short it was a real delight.

  39. Ann K.
    Ann K.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Super gegeten en de bediening was heel goed, tot ziens!

  40. Valentina T.
    Valentina T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Nice place and amazing food. You leave yourself in the hands of the chef that proposes a menu according to the freshness of ingredients. The degustation formula is perfect to enjoy all the delicious ideas coming from the chef and it's cool to have a surprise every time they bring you a new dish. Everything was delicious and the presentation of the dishes was awesome. Definitely worth the price and strongly suggested if you are in Amsterdam and you love fresh fish served in a modern and sophisticated way. They'd deserve a Michelin star.