Back

Reviews - Kaai 13

8.7/10

Fabulous

based on 410 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Helena S.
    Helena S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Good fresh food and friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere. Limited choice on the menu but vegetarian options included.

  2. Margaret S.
    Margaret S.
    • 0 reviews
    9.5/10

    Quality of the food was excellent, although the range was a bit limited; and as we took advantage of the 50% discount through booking on line, the price was very reasonable. It was cold, wet Monday evening in Covid times and we were almost the only customers, but it was cosy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommended.

  3. Barbara A.
    Barbara A.
    • 8 reviews
    7/10

    The staff was very welcoming let me chose a table by the water and brought blankets. It took a while to get the food delivered and the starters were a bit disappointing, but overall pleasant atmosphere.

  4. R. B.
    R. B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    What a nice and cozy restaurant next to the waterfront! The number of items on the menu were a bit limited but still more than sufficient for us to choose from. The food was very good as was the service from the staff. The host Mr J. was so kind to explain more about the history of the area and things to see. We will definitely come back soon.

  5. Johandeiens v.
    Johandeiens v.
    • 6 reviews
    6/10

    Wat eenvoudig

  6. Jeroen V.
    Jeroen V.
    • 10 reviews
    8.5/10

    Prima buiten gegeten! Bediening was oplettend! Prima burger!

  7. Hangyeol Y.
    Hangyeol Y.
    • one review
    10/10

    I am happy to have discovered this little gem in my neighborhood. The staff was very friendly and the dishes were tasty and nicely presented. The atmosphere is relaxing and cozy too. Thank you !

  8. Anastassia M.
    Anastassia M.
    • 16 reviews
    7/10

    It’s quite a cute place on a busy canal neighbouring lots of other bars and cafes. The food was good but also quite boring, the menu is pretty standard. Quite expensive for what you get

  9. Barbara A.
    Barbara A.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    Very nice staff and accommodating. We could seat by the water. Th eplace is very nice and food is quite good too. I am coming back in a few days with other friends.

  10. Alain W.
    Alain W.
    • 12 reviews
    8/10

    Very friendly staff. Menu is rather limited, but the dishes were presented nicely and the food was good. They serve also some of the Belgian better beer brands.

  11. Richard B.
    Richard B.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Welcome and service excellent. They took their time to explain the menu and especially gave giid advice fir the wine. Great cocktails and special coffee. Ewe will be back!

  12. Sonia S.
    Sonia S.
    • 20 reviews
    7/10

    This is one of our neighborhood favorites. Service is always professional & friendly. So we were a bit disappointed when we came for our first Post Covid quarantine restaurant visit - my husband was happy with this trio fish starter (EXCELLENT) and his Diamant steak (GREAT!) But my (sliptong) fish was a factory produced re-warmed from frozen disappointment, accompanied with 2 wedges of lemon and potatoes (always VERY GOOD). Should have taken the (veggie) burger.

  13. E. N.
    E. N.
    • 29 reviews
    8/10

    De "Vistrio" (voorgerecht) was fantastisch! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  14. Mike v.
    Mike v.
    • 27 reviews
    10/10

    Great place. Wonderful menu with a lot of vegetarian/vegan dishes. Staff is really friendly and knowledgeable. Will definitely recommend this place.

  15. Seong Hwan K.
    Seong Hwan K.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    was a nice atmosphere! the waiteress at my table was really kind and helpful when it came to choosing menus for the night. :)

  16. Sonia S.
    Sonia S.
    • 20 reviews
    10/10

    this restaurant is our local favorite with delicious meat, fish, and tasty vegetarian dishes. In good weather it's ideal for sitting on the quai-side viewing passing boats.

  17. Wen Yang L.
    Wen Yang L.
    • 48 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious cosy spot by the canals! Would come again. Today I enjoyed the chefs special which was a rolled pork dish. Delicious ????

  18. Zuzanna L.
    Zuzanna L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great service, delicious food and amazing atmosphere!

  19. Arjan O.
    Arjan O.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    This was a once only visit. One dish: vegetarian lasagna was tasty, yet the other dish Beef Burguignon (on the menu) we were told was Beet Burguignon and turned out a total misser: just a few cooked beets on a bed of lentils! Dessert were not fresh and certainly not tasty either!

  20. Metin O.
    Metin O.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    That was perfect environment with waitress effort. We all enjoy our entry as well as our mains which steak, chicken, beef and veggie burger

  21. Sue R.
    Sue R.
    • 28 reviews
    9/10

    Very friendly and attentive!

  22. Sonia S.
    Sonia S.
    • 20 reviews
    8/10

    First time we ate lunch here (usually dinner) and again it was wonderful, warm, friendly, with great unique tasty dishes. Our guest has an acute hearing sensitivity and when we asked if the music volume could be turned down, it was no problem. Such service is really appreciated when you want to have a conversation with out impediments.

  23. Demetris G.
    Demetris G.
    • 12 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly staff, excellent food and nice setting. It is a small restaurant in front of the canal. It offers a few dishes buy they are well cooked and presented. I had the sole and I definitely recommend it. It took half an hour between starter and main dish but since we were not in an harry this have us time to enjoy our talk and beers.

  24. Joana M.
    Joana M.
    • 18 reviews
    9.5/10

    Loved loved this place and the food! The veggie burger was amazing!!

  25. Ryan A.
    Ryan A.
    • 28 reviews
    9/10

    Really welcoming staff, there was a miscommunication with our reservation but they were still very helpful and accommodating. Great food, great atmosphere, and great wine! Highly recommended!

  26. Melissa d.
    Melissa d.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    The staff was very friendly, the food was excellent, we loved the atmosphere and to top it off, the price was very reasonable (especially with the TheFork discount). Definitely recommend!

  27. Kaz V.
    Kaz V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Cosy restaurant in a nice street in The Hague. Welcoming staff and great flavors. Our dinner felt like a treat.

  28. Robert W.
    Robert W.
    • one review
    8/10

    Food was very good but the service was even better! We were allowed to taste and compare different wines with our main course as if we were in a fine dining establishment, but the waiters were at the same time friendly, casual and frank as if we were eating in a bistro. We will definitely be coming back here!

  29. Noemi U.
    Noemi U.
    • 20 reviews
    8.5/10

    The dishes are well balanced and really tasty but portion sizes are quite small in my opinion. Location is romantic and cozy.

  30. Rick V.
    Rick V.
    • 23 reviews
    8/10

    Great food, good quality, nice dishes, excellent taste. Liked the Iberisch and the crème brulee. Good location near the water, nicely decorated inside. Good and friendly service. Good wine, although we sometimes had to wait a bit long for the drinks. We will come back!

  31. Sonia S.
    Sonia S.
    • 20 reviews
    9.5/10

    We celebrated our daughter's birthday here with family (and dogs) and loved the casual, friendly atmosphere. The weather was a bit fresh and people were enjoying the outdoor service as well. We ordered the steaks, dorade, and burger with extra fries and savored everything. When sister-in-law chef gives a thumbs up, it passed the test!

  32. Jen P.
    Jen P.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    I usually don't write reviews. But this experience was very disappointing. We had to wait for more than 1.5hours for our main course. When we asked the waitress when the food will be ready, her answer was "Why? Are you in a rush? If so, then you should have said earlier". Well, if we knew it would take that long to prepare our food in an empty restaurant, we wouldn't even order at the first place. The same waitress refused to serve us tap water, while we already ordered rounds of cocktails and wine. She was also quite unpleasant during payment. Not sure what her problem was. The manager and the other two waiter+waitress who served us were quite friendly. Our group ordered both appetizer and main course. The food was ok. Not great, but not too bad either. Except that they don't serve any sauce for the squid rings and the ribeye came out very well done while we specifically requested medium-rare. Cozy little restaurant. We would have been regular customers and promote the place to our networks, if it's not for the very rude waitress who ruined our evening.

  33. Daniël K.
    Daniël K.
    • one review
    7/10

    Okay so at first I wanted to give less stars but I was a little more convinced throughout the night. The food is fine I think, I personally thought there was a huge butter taste to every side dish there was to my main course which I very much dislike, also the ratio to meat/sidedishes was off to me (TOO much meat in comparison, just a huge protein intake). My SO's burger was amazing and we both agreed that was worth coming back for. Service was okay at first, better later; I was not given my complete order and our waiter profoundly excused both himself and the kitchen, which was a nice gesture. The ladies who brought us drinks and dessert seemed kinda new? Forgot straws, saw multiple tables getting orders which were meant for other tables. The nuisance; we ordered through the Fork, which made our dinner ridiculously cheap (50% off our food excluding drinks) and I would feel very bad for rating this place badly, it's not a bad restaurant! It's maybe just not my style of food. Ambience; a-ma-zing, we sat outside at the water but when I looked inside I almost regretted it, great terrace and beautiful garden. Worth your time!

  34. Alan R.
    Alan R.
    • 6 reviews
    4.5/10

    We really wanted to like this restaurant, because of its setting but also because of the impressive reviews. Unfortunately, the service was really terrible (the staff seemed nice — it's nothing personal). We wanted a relaxing evening away from everything, and got the feeling we were in a culinary school during the students' first service ever with the manager occasionally overseeing them, not really concerned about their lack of experience, not really caring we had to suffer the consequences and not really making up for the continuous mistakes :(

  35. Elise F.
    Elise F.
    • 17 reviews
    7.5/10

    We went during the Summer discount; the weather was pleasant and we sat next to the canal, very nice. The food was good quality, good value for money and well prepared. We’ll go again I’m sure.

  36. Christoph J.
    Christoph J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food and Service. New restaurant with a nice atmosphere. You can sit in and outside with view on the canal.

  37. Chloé B.
    Chloé B.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    We had a great evening with really nice meals, friendly staff & lovely surroundings. I strongly recommend it!

  38. Sebastian R.
    Sebastian R.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Food is tasty and the restaurant has a really nice terrace and garden.

  39. Maria P.
    Maria P.
    • 23 reviews
    10/10

    Very good food, excellent space, nice service

  40. Sonia S.
    Sonia S.
    • 20 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic restaurant, simple and tastefully decorated, located in historic center. The menu has selections of beef, chicken, fish & vegetarian for each course. Each dish is well prepared, presented and tasty! The prices are very reasonable. Mondays feature oysters and a free glass of prosecco. Seasonal specials like white asperagus also done to perfection according to friends coincidentally there too. Creme brulée with tonka beans was heavenly. Will definitely go back.