Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - Kanchhi

8.5/10
125
11 Broad Street, PE9 1PG Stamford
Nepalese
Average price £30

Get up to 30% off

Conditions may apply

Kanchhi

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.5/10
Fabulous125 reviews
8.7/10

Food

8.3/10

Service

8.4/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Oliver H.1 review

    July 18, 2024

    10/10

    Brilliant food, brilliant food, brilliant service, brilliant place, mints with the bill and not bad price

  • Stephanie C.1 review

    July 16, 2024

    10/10

    Delicious food. Charming servers. Lovely dining experience.

  • Jessica L.1 review

    July 16, 2024

    10/10

    Absolutely love this restaurant. We discovered it a few months ago and life 45 minutes away, but regularly do the drive as the food is just divine. The service from the staff is impeccable, they are lovely and attentive. Portion sizes are amazing and the price of all the items on their menu as super reasonable. Highly recommend, it’s become our new favourite!

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Gareth C.2 reviews

    June 27, 2024

    10/10

    Great atmosphere, amazing food and friendly staff

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Justine L.2 reviews

    June 8, 2024

    7/10

    Very hot and noisy atmosphere, My meal was spicier than I thought it would be. Very nice friendly staff.

  • Josh R.1 review

    June 8, 2024

    9.5/10

    Beautiful food excellently priced, would definatley recommend to anyone

  • Martin R.2 reviews

    May 14, 2024

    10/10

    Very attentive and welcoming staff, quick service, food was lovely, portions generous, would recommend.

  • Sue C.2 reviews

    May 11, 2024

    10/10

    Staff were very friendly made us welcome as soon as we entered food was delicious we shall definitely go again

  • Simon G.1 review

    April 30, 2024

    8.5/10

    Superb food; we have now been three times between us and really enjoyed all the dishes that we have tried so far - we hope to work our way right through the menu!!! The initial service is good and attentive, with the starters and mains delivered promptly. But then they are rather laid-back/relaxed and seem to forget that you might like to have a dessert or coffee - or even pay the bill!!!

  • Stephen F.1 review

    April 27, 2024

    10/10

    First time in a Nepalese restaurant, but it won’t be the last after eating at Kanchhi. We were completely lost for words at the excellence of the restaurant. The food, the service, the ambience were all perfect. We walked home grinning from ear to ear in absolute satisfaction at having eaten well and enjoyed the whole experience. A restaurant to remember, and we can’t wait to visit Stamford again to have another opportunity to dine there.

  • Sonny E.1 review

    May 4, 2024

    10/10

    From the moment you walk in to the moment you walk out you are treated like you are the only people in the world and the food is exceptional

  • Linda S.1 review

    April 10, 2024

    9.5/10

    The food at Kancchi was very tasty and offered some different options to the usual Indian restaurant. It was quite busy the night we went, so the service was a little bit slow at times but not so that we felt forgotten. The staff themselves were very polite and professional; it was just that there were only two of them as far as we could see so they were busy. The only problem was that we had a discount offer on our reservation and that was at first missed off the bill. It was sorted out though when we queried it.

  • Diane M.1 review

    April 3, 2024

    9.5/10

    Delicious food and interesting slightly unusual cuisine.

  • Colin T.1 review

    March 27, 2024

    10/10

    World class food and service 🤩

  • Conor C.1 review

    March 26, 2024

    10/10

    Visited Karrachi (formerly known as 1848...) a few times over the years but this is first visit since change of ownership. Everything is as superb - great food, great portion size, lovely place with attentive and smiley service. Even with the discount on food (would have expected a little less to each portion), the servings were fantastic. Definitely worth visiting: fighting for top spot (in the Peterborough/Stamford Area), with 1498 Spice, for best Asian restaurant.

  • Aah D.1 review

    March 22, 2024

    8.5/10

    Great service, quick to serve and really good quality.

  • Gareth C.2 reviews

    March 17, 2024

    10/10

    A really friendly and calm environment. The food was top rate too. Will return. Nothing to fault.

  • Simon M J.2 reviews

    March 6, 2024

    9.5/10

    Excellent food and charming service. If you order too much they will package it up beautifully for you to enjoy all over again!

  • Isabel R.1 review

    March 5, 2024

    10/10

    Wonderful restaurant, beautiful interior and very accommodating staff. Food was delicious and beautifully presented, we will be back.

  • Anthony J.1 review

    February 14, 2024

    7.5/10

    Nice restaurant but with limited menu. The food we had was very nice, full of flavour. More Nepalese than Indian but would definitely recommend giving it a try.

  • Josh T.1 review

    February 13, 2024

    9/10

    Great food, friendly staff, good prices. Really recommend this resturant

  • Stephen H.2 reviews

    February 10, 2024

    8/10

    The service was very good and welcoming, the kofta and meat balls were a little dry, but wouldn't put us visiting again. The Lamb Beriyani was excellent.

  • Michael M.1 review

    December 27, 2023

    10/10

    These guys continue to do a great job as they deliver delicious and unique meals, friendly customer service and a fun atmosphere. They deserve more credit for bringing new flavours and dishes to Stamford from Nepal that never fail to delight.

  • Mark S.1 review

    December 23, 2023

    10/10

    DOGS BOLLOCKS!! AMAZING!

  • Anita F.1 review

    December 14, 2023

    5/10

    Service and wait for food was bad . They did have a big party of 20 or so in but there were only 2/3 tables outside of that and we had over 2 hour wait for our mains. Every time we chased were told 2 minutes and nothing came we sat down at 7.15 and did not get our food till 9.40:by then we weren’t really hungry. They did give us a round of drinks to compensate and some extra starters but we didn’t want that we just wanted our mains. Even to pay we had to go to bar . Food was nice but when it did come was lukewarm . Staff didn’t seem to care either and no apology. So much better when it was 8848 . Shan’t go back.

  • Nicola C.1 review

    December 9, 2023

    10/10

    After being let down by another restaurant near by we called the Kanchhi on a hope that they would be able to accommodate our large group of 7 people. They were very happy to accept us even after 8pm. We instantly felt welcome and the service and food were worth the last minute change of plan. Will definitely go back. If you like your food with a bit of a kick like myself this restaurant will not disappoint. I chose the chilli fish starter and the curry goat for main with a chilli garlic naan which was delicious. Thank you Kanchhi team for rescuing the night.

  • Ben D.

    Ben D.2 reviews

    December 8, 2023

    9.5/10

    Lovely food and very pleasant and helpful staff. There were only two staff working and we were a large party, so getting there attention at times was frustrating.

  • Maisie D.2 reviews

    December 3, 2023

    10/10

    A fabulous visit with family this evening. The most fantastic service and wonderful, tasty food - all very reasonably priced. Thank you!

  • Lewis N.1 review

    November 18, 2023

    4/10

    Maybe we just called it a bad time 1830 on a Saturday, however, service was slow, no menus or drinks until I chased somebody after 20 minutes, first food finally served after 45 minutes and mains after one hour 15. The cassava starter was truly awful, the lamb was possible, however, the slow service poor food and raucous table next to us gave no redemption.

  • Michael P.2 reviews

    November 8, 2023

    10/10

    Very friendly and of a high quality.

  • Philip M.1 review

    October 26, 2023

    10/10

    Very friendly staff. Delicious food. Would definitely visit again.

  • Mariam B.7 reviews

    October 19, 2023

    5/10

    Really poor quality food. Curries very mild despite having 2 chillies next to it, lamb wasn’t soft but very tough and in general just very creamy bland curries. Wouldn’t go back sadly

  • jacqui h.1 review

    October 21, 2023

    2.5/10

    The table layout for couples is not the best. The service was very slow with very little interaction from staff. The food was awful. Goat curry was so tough we couldn't eat it and the sauce was a watery, tasteless tomato soup. Such a waste of a night out when Stamford has so many great restaurants to choose from.

  • Angus B.1 review

    October 14, 2023

    4/10

    The welcome and staff attention were very good. A restaurant we have been many times before and have always enjoyed the tasty food. Unfortunately on this occasion the taste of the food was very bland. We both had different chicken curries and were both bland, it was if the chef had forgotten to add any of the spices. Very disappointed

  • Chris P.1 review

    October 7, 2023

    10/10

    Lovely curry, great ambiance, friendly staff

  • TRACEY W.1 review

    September 29, 2023

    9/10

    Excellent food, however service very slow, arrived at 7.30 ordered two courses and didn't get our 2nd course until 10pm! Drink orders slow as well, they did apologise and say that had a large booking in.

  • Chris J.1 review

    September 23, 2023

    5.5/10

    Food was amazing but waited almost 2 hours for our order. No updates from staff or apologies just looks of bewilderment whenever we asked where our food was. Lots of angry people complaining and leaving without paying. Food was delicious but severely disappointed with the service!

  • Jaqui C.1 review

    September 22, 2023

    10/10

    This restaurant was only chosen because of closeness to the theatre but what a find!! This is the best Indian food we have eaten in the UK. My husband works and travels to Hyderabad and has eaten many traditional dishes. It is expensive but each dish including the rice was unique and exceptional in the depth of flavour. Some interesting and unusual combinations that will keep us busy for some time... we plan to go often!!!

  • Nigel M.1 review

    September 14, 2023

    7/10

    great food but asked them to add 10% tip to the bill and they failed to say that it was already added so ended up giving 20% , a £30 tip ! won't be going back unfortunately for that reason alone

  • Jess W.1 review

    July 28, 2023

    2/10

    Waited so long for our food, came out all separate, is not saucy just pieces of meat.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

167 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.