9.1/10
Excellent
based on 271 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Fatima D.
    Fatima D.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Great service, food was good.

  2. Alina T.
    Alina T.
    • one review
    10/10

    The service was excellent. Everyone was smiley and friendly to us. Also, the food we ordered was really tasty. We will totally come back for a dinner

  3. Kaylene T.
    Kaylene T.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Tried three different dishes plus dessert and they were all superb. Fresh and tasty!

  4. OLIVIER M.
    OLIVIER M.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Great place with great food and live music (DJ, singer, clarinet...) I’ll definitely return next time I’m in Amsterdam.

  5. Kinga W.
    Kinga W.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    I had a late dinner with my friend . We had drinks and full dinner. We found it very expensive , but quality was very good, at least that. We were served by the young man, who was a bit stressed cause couldn't explain much in English ( like what's exactly the meal of the day). The whole experience was very good anyways.

  6. Marcello c.
    Marcello c.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Very nice restaurant! Good food, very friendly service and great music. A place to dine!

  7. Esther W.
    Esther W.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Really good food in a lovely restaurant. Great ambience. Service was ‘relaxed’ which was fine for our group as we weren’t in a rush. Great location too overlooking Rembrandt Square

  8. Vincenzo P.
    Vincenzo P.
    • 113 reviews
    10/10

    10/10

  9. Michael S.
    Michael S.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    Food was not great. Steak had very little flavor and was overcooked. There was very little Rice with the curry and the curry had little flavor. Fine place to sit and have a drink, but plenty of better options in Amsterdam to eat.

  10. Michelle C.
    Michelle C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    A reservation for my nephew and girlfriend....they sent a photograph of Birthday shots and said the restaurant was stunning and food amazing. They absolutely loved it, Thank You # definitely one to recommend ????

  11. Aleksandar A.
    Aleksandar A.
    • 3 reviews
    4/10

    Кухня ????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

  12. Aleksey K.
    Aleksey K.
    • one review
    10/10

    This is best restaurant in AMS.

  13. Michelle V.
    Michelle V.
    • one review
    8/10

    Food is ok, the menu is quite limited and service is rather slow. The atmosphere of the place is quite nice though, would be prefect for drinks only

    Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn

    Beste Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Iens. We appreciate the negative and positive remarks about our restaurant. It makes the team happy that you at least enjoyed our atmosphere. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the city. Kind regards, Team Van Rijn

  14. Hendrik K.
    Hendrik K.
    • 3 reviews
    5/10

    Food was OK. Athmosphere as well. The service was really poor (long waiting time & not really interested)

    Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn

    Dear Hendrik, Thank you for visiting us and leaving your review at Iens. We regret we could not meet your expectations regarding the service, therefore your feedback will be shared with Team Van Rijn. Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Team Van Rijn

  15. Adam m.
    Adam m.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great service exceptional food and really nice place to be

    Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn

    Dear Adam mccabe, Thank you taking the time to leave this lovely review. It makes the whole team very happy that you enjoyed the food and restaurant. We hope to welcome you soon again. Kind regards, Team Van Rijn

  16. Julia N.
    Julia N.
    • one review
    10/10

    its our third time in Amsterdam and its the best place in the city! Very,very tasty!! Chief is a genius!! must visit in Amsterdam!! I reccomend 6 dishes set to try every peace of art in this place

  17. Miryam A.
    Miryam A.
    • 20 reviews
    8.5/10

    The food was delicious and the ambiance of the place was really enjoyable (with dj and live music). However, the service was far from what i expected. They made us wait a very long time to serve the dishes, weren't very attentive with us and had to ask multiple times to the server for something before they actually brought it to us. Its a shame that with the amazing food they have the experience is made worse with the service.

    Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn

    Dear Miryam, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for sharing your feedback with us. Team Van Rijn has a top priority of providing our guests with an enjoyable and unique dining experience, so we are very sorry to learn we were not able to meet your expectations. Nevertheless we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Team Van Rijn

  18. Hajrija N.
    Hajrija N.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Superb food, atmosphere, ambience, very professional staff, really cannot fault it in any way 11 out of 10 rating. Highly recommend!!!

    Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn

    Dear Hajrija N., Thank you for leaving this lovely review. It makes the whole team very happy that you left satisfied and smiling. We hope you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city. Kind regards, Team Van Rijn

  19. Dafna S.
    Dafna S.
    • 4 reviews
    6/10

    Nice place, kinda seems touristy but the food was decent. Service was a little slow and it took about 40 minutes to get what we ordered.

    Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn

    Dear Dafna S., Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments are highly valued and we will use your feedback to improve our services where possible. Nevertheless we hope to welcome you back at Van Rijn. Kind regards, Team Van Rijn

  20. Emma M.
    Emma M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Excellent service and main courses, wasn’t too keen on the starter. Would come back.

    Kitchen & Bar Van Rijn

    Dear Emma, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Iens. It makes the whole team very happy when our hard work pays off, and our guests leave satisfied and smiling. We are looking forward to your next visit to Van Rijn. With kind regards, Team Van Rijn

  21. Richard S.
    Richard S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Fun restaurant, great food and drink. Very good live music and DJ. Great location on Rembrandtplein. Will definitely return for another meal next time we're in Amsterdam.

  22. James S.
    James S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great cocktails and atmosphere

  23. Susie F.
    Susie F.
    • one review
    10/10

    The atmosphere and wait staff are impeccable. The food was beautifully and artfully presented and tasted even better. Our group of 7 were so happy with this meal.

  24. Maartje d.
    Maartje d.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    I went to Bar van Rijn with my family on a Friday night. It was busy but the service was really good. My mom is glutenfree (not by choice) and it was no problem at all. This is almost a miracle in Amsterdam. The atmosphere is modern but warm. The food is good and they have really nice drinks. I am from Amsterdam and I like that there aren't many tourists here but a lot of locals. I absolutely love it and would advice other locals to visit bar van Rijn.

  25. Yuri F.
    Yuri F.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food was good, we really enjoyed it both the salmon and the duck but you charged me 4 euros for fries that never made it to the table...also please do something about that entrance door: it is really not pleasant for those sitting near by.

  26. Rhea A.
    Rhea A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Chose Van Rijn when other reservations fell through for our last night in Amsterdam. It turned out to be the best choice! We showed up early (8 pm on a Saturday night) and hung out at the bar for an hour. Things were slow and they had a DJ (Jazzy Derek) playing a mellow mix of 90's hip hop and R&B. He also interspersed live ad libs on keyboard (even had a saxophonist join him) over instrumentals which was a nice twist. Cocktail service was slower than expected with an empty restaurant, but i suspect its just a different vibe than the bar scenes i'm used to in the US. all the servers were very courteous and otherwise attentive. The food was quite good. we enjoyed the shrimp appetizer and it was freshly prepared and a good starter. We then got the surf and turf and hangar steak w/ parsnip puree and beetroot. They cooked the steak perfectly (one of the ways i can tell a restaurant is worth its salt) and the sides were just as tasty as the protein. as the evening went on, things picked up as patrons started showing up for what would eventually turn into a club/lounge after midnight. We were never rushed and thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Usually places as poshly decorated will let the food suffer, relying on drinks to carry things. Not so here. Glad to have dined at Van Rijn and would recommend it!

  27. Ed J.
    Ed J.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Very rare large restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam with an ultra high ceiling and amazing art on the walls. Food is not the best in Amsterdam but everything on the menu was very good. Wait staff is prompt and makes many rounds.

  28. Elektra K.
    Elektra K.
    • 7 reviews
    6.5/10

    Food was ok but found a hair in my main and starters didn't rise to the expectations. Generally good atmosphere but not as lively as expected, prices high considerably to what you get in return. Toilets require more attention.

  29. Betty C.
    Betty C.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    It’s a great place to go. The food is amazing. The atmosphere is amazing.

  30. Janis G.
    Janis G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, they were keen to explain matters when we needed help. Food was very good value along with an excellent atmosphere.

  31. Mathias B.
    Mathias B.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    You are i the touristic place of Amsterdam. The place is very "American", the food is good but nothing special. I would say price is high for the taste. I had Entrecote Veal, interesting, and Dame Blanche with an interesting point of view but no subtility in taste. Do not misunderstand, it is not a bad place or bad Kitchen, you pay for the DJ and the place more than the food.

  32. Lee B.
    Lee B.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delightfully friendly

  33. Gianni L.
    Gianni L.
    • one review
    3/10

    Overage quality, ridiculous small portions and very high prices. I ordered a "steak" and I got 3 small slices of beaf, in total probably 40 gr. With 2 potatos duchess for the price of 24 euros.

  34. Alexandre L.
    Alexandre L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Very nice restaurant to go after sky lounge to enjoy a nice evening ! The food is great and the service is great! The revisited dame Blanche is to be tried !

  35. Michael B.
    Michael B.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Love this international place, the looks and feeling from NYC and London or Hong Kong style places. I would love to see more places like this in Amsterdam Have been eating here already a couple of times and have noticed that the quality of the services is improving all the time. It seems that the manager and or owners are working hard on this, as the quality of service can be really bad in Amsterdam. The menu is changing quite often and that makes me come back to the place. BTW just for a drink on Friday night is also cool. Will be back soon.