Back

Reviews - L'Atelier de Joël Robuchon Etoile

9.3/10

Excellent

based on 1559 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Stephane C.
    Stephane C.
    • 20 reviews
    10/10

    Parfait

  2. Laurent L.
    Laurent L.
    • one review
    7/10

    I was bit disappointed by our visit at l'atelier. We are a couple from London and have done quite a few 2 star Michelin restaurants in London before, in fact we celebrated a birthday at the London Atelier de Joel Robuchon 2 years ago, and thought we would commemorate our passage in France by going to the Paris one. So most of our disappointment comes from the difference of customer service between the 2 branches. We arrived on time for our booking and were asked to sit in a waiting area, we had to wait about 20minutes without being attended to: no one came asking if we wanted to order a drink during that time.... meanwhile, we saw other customers (couples as well) coming after us but being seated before us.... In London as a comparison they offered us 2 glass of champagne on the house as we were delayed in getting to our table. Once seated, we are being asked to look at the menus online, and after looking at it for 15minutes we were told that the english version is outdated and they were no longer doing that menu. After looking at the official printed english menu we had to wait another 20minutes to get our order taken, even though we were called our waiter over several times. So for a booking that was meant for 8pm, we had our order taken at 9pm... We go for the gastronomic menu with 7 courses. Overall dinner goes fine, and we enjoy it, even though we were overall more impressed by the London menu we had 2 years ago. Several times during the course our plates were laid in front of us, with no explanation of what it was... when my girlfriend queried, the gentleman said that 'it should be a surprise and he would tell us after' which we found quite rude and obnoxious. Here comes desserts time, and now we are being asked to rush and eat and finish our desserts because midnight is coming (after they left us waiting for 1 hour before to take our order) and they have to close because of lockdown. The cherry on the cake comes after that: 2 years ago in London, the restaurant offered us a small extra cake for the birthday of my girlfriend, so we were expecting something similar here. Instead, we got the check and I had to personally ask if anything would be made. The waiter then has the nerve to tell us that it is planned and that they always do it like this, and that the cook is preparing it as we speak...We gave the benefit of the doubt, to see coming the exact same dessert that we had as part of our gastronomic menu....That was such a joke.. Lastly, we were not the only ones who felt their customer service was severely lacking. The couple next to us were also not impressed and actually had an argument with the waiter, who aggressively argued his points on why he felt he had nothing wrong. I wouldn't expect this level of service and complete unapologetic behaviour in a normal restaurant let alone a 2 Michelin starred establishment. Safe to say we would not visit not recommend this establishment to anyone.

  3. Sandrine g.
    Sandrine g.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    L’excellence de l’entrée au dessert. A faire sans hésiter.

  4. Thomas W.
    Thomas W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great restaurant with a special atmosphere and fantastic cuisine. Highly recommend the vegetarian menu. Also, a wonderful wine collection.

  5. Nelly g.
    Nelly g.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Très belle table et très accessible.

  6. Andrew H.
    Andrew H.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    Great for the value

  7. Philippe s.
    Philippe s.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent

  8. Cindy G.
    Cindy G.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant is FANTASTIC! Reservations recommended. First the address is 133 Ave des Champs-Elysees. Trick, when you arrive the restaurant you walk into (LE Drugstore) is NOT what you want. Walk past this restaurant, through the upscale drugstore/market and you will see within the store a staircase with a large floor mat with the name of this restaurant on it. You will need to walk down a lovely wide spiral stair case into the restaurant. We sat at the counter overlooking the open kitchen. The food was amazing. Service was incredible. The menu is only in French and they read the menu to us in English. Every dish ordered was fantastic. I am a lover of Foie Gras and Black truffles…. If you enjoy this type of food you will love the restaurant.

  9. Guillaume A.
    Guillaume A.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic experience

  10. Candy T.
    Candy T.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    I had my very pleasant experiences before with robuchon in the world. As I was staying in Paris, I wanted to give myself a really good pamper by booking this restaurant. My booking was at 8:30. But we weren’t seated until 9:30 because they said we were the second round. We were strongly discouraged from having any of the tasting menu. So we ordered an entree and a main course each with glasses of wine. Things were alright and the other guests seemed to be really entertained at first. However the service turned so bad after what it appeared us to be some important guest arrived at 11pm. Every waiter/waitress and the sommelier were trying their best to get the important guests’ attention. We were completely transparent to the waiter/waitress after the important guests arrived. We asked for the dessert menu but none was provided. Whilst it is not a must, but no petite four or the usual gift for ladies were provided (and these were provided to all the other guests we saw in the restaurant). I don’t know if it was because we do not speak french or because we were Asian. But this kind of restaurant do not deserve to be associated with the name of robuchon. It is a shame and we would ask anyone who do not speak french to not to go to such a horrible restaurant

  11. Jennifer L.
    Jennifer L.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Could improve the mains in set lunch. It was quite well but slightly lower than my expect. Overall it was well, and we really enjoy the Brie in the cheese plate. Thanks for the warm hospitality.

  12. Frédéric C.
    Frédéric C.
    • 27 reviews
    8/10

    Always a pleasure to come to l'Atelier. Very good food. The lunch menu offers good value for money. Staff was quite disappointing not friendly as usual and paying little attention to us.

  13. Alexander B.
    Alexander B.
    • 13 reviews
    9.5/10

    Our third visit over the last six months. Excellent food, as usual. It's worth mentioning that the caviar mini-dish was strange - too fishy, if you expect the taste of caviar, you will be disappointed, as I was. Excellent service, as usual. Very expensive, as usual. Still highly recommended.

  14. Frédéric C.
    Frédéric C.
    • 27 reviews
    9.5/10

    Always very good food at l’Atelier. You can’t be disappointed.

  15. Eric E.
    Eric E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Everything we had hoped it would be. Friendly and attentive service who helped us English speakers understand the menu. Wine pairings were terrific. Open kitchen was fun to watch. Would go again next time we visit Paris.

  16. Paulo A.
    Paulo A.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Just wonderful

  17. Whitney O.
    Whitney O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic! Great ambiance and amazing food. Staff was on point! Will be back.

  18. Samia A.
    Samia A.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    Parfait

  19. Rob v.
    Rob v.
    • 9 reviews
    8/10

    Food was good, but everything is highly over-priced. No idea why this restaurant has such a big reputation, comparing to many other restaurants all over the world there was nothing special, it is just good and too expensive.

  20. Ilan H.
    Ilan H.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Extremely expensive

  21. Guillaume C.
    Guillaume C.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Top

  22. Alexander B.
    Alexander B.
    • 13 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food is stunning in every aspect - taste, presentation, sophistication. The service is second to none. Excellent wine list. The menu is a bit confusing, and the sitting at the bar is unusual. Very expensive, but worth it.

  23. Peter a.
    Peter a.
    • one review
    7/10

    Sterile atmosphere with pushy but friendly wait staff. Restaurant entrance through a backstreet door into the basement of a department store, welcomed by a foosball table in the waiting area?!? Wait staff recommend ordering way too much astronomically priced food, which is delivered in a rushed way. They highlight the Entrecôte which was properly cooked but as tough as old boots. Clearly catering to and preying-on the tourist market, this restaurant is a discredit to the chef and the Michelin Star rating system.

  24. Pearl S.
    Pearl S.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Very friendly servers and good food. I will come back again :)

  25. Dave B.
    Dave B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The staff was welcoming and made the meal entertaining for a single diner at the bar

  26. Diana L.
    Diana L.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent MICHELIN Star lunch. This is my 2nd time here for lunch; service and food were flawless and excellent. I’m not sure why some reviewers said they received lousy service and food portions weren’t adequate. It’s 2 out of 2 for me. 2 thumbs up.

  27. Frozen A.
    Frozen A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very nice service to some english only speaking people, they are ready and willing to make suggestions, and serve you to the best of their ability.

  28. Haeyun L.
    Haeyun L.
    • one review
    6/10

    Every dish itself was superb. However fine dining is not all about food. The way the staff served us was not pleasant at all. It looked like they wanted us to leave as soon as possible. Strangely, check was the only thing that did not arrive early enough.

  29. Dori F.
    Dori F.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great experience. We will be back

  30. Janet L.
    Janet L.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    If you are looking for fine dining options, there are lots more to choose within Paris. The price is considerably high given we were offered to sit in front of the kitchen. Portion is small given its price. But the food is delicious.

  31. Charles B.
    Charles B.
    • one review
    10/10

    We were seated at the chef’s counter which allowed us to view the preparation of the marvelous food we enjoyed. Service was excellent and dishes were artistic and delicious. We plan to return on our next trip to Paris.

  32. Rod S.
    Rod S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The service was amazing, the executive chef came to our table and greeted my wife and I. He sent over a couple of appetizers for us. The food was excellent and delicious! Highly recommend it when in Paris!

  33. Kah On Y.
    Kah On Y.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Nothing to disappoint, the food was simply great! The staff was excellent in explaining & recommendations were all good. There was a long list of starters & we picked a raw fish plate, the langoustine with black truffles (ravioli), and the avocado.. All amazing. For our mains, the quail was very tasty albeit a rather small plate, the pasta with white truffles amazing, and the sole was huge and well done. The soufflé didn't disappoint and with passion fruit sorbet, it certainly helped (!) especially after the highly buttered mash potato (or rather the potato flavored butter).

  34. Andrew C.
    Andrew C.
    • one review
    10/10

    amazing place and fun watching the chefs do their thing

  35. Lennart H.
    Lennart H.
    • 66 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent fine dining establishment. High quality food. Beautifully presented; small works of art. Go for the tasting menu and get the full experience of the chef’s skills. The bar seating is not for everyone, but it gives you a direct view into the kitchen, so you can follow all the action.going on. The decor is modern in black and red colours. Like any Atelier around the world. The most surprising thing is the location in the basement of a drugstore. A pretty nice one, though. I can highly recommend this restaurant.

  36. Eddie H.
    Eddie H.
    • one review
    10/10

    We celebrated my birthday here - and it was exactly the experience we were craving! It was my parents first time in Paris and they wanted to have a Michelin dining experience. This place delivered! The chef Thierry Karakachian, was incredibly in tune with his kitchen and it was exciting to have a front row seat to it. Honestly, the next time I got back to a restaurant of this quality I would love to be able to watch the kitchen work. Unfortunately, it probably won’t be as fun as watching Thierry and his staff. Going to a restaurant of this quality and getting to laugh and interact with the staff at such a high level, including the chef, was such a treat. Thanks for making our visit to Paris an Unforgettable one.

  37. Kris l.
    Kris l.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Very good atmosphere with very good food abd excellent service. They gave good recommendations and were very helpful with translating some items on the menu to english. Highly recommend!

  38. Alican K.
    Alican K.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious food experience and good service . Could be said as a bit overpriced but overall no regrets. I’d definitely recommend anyone visiting Paris.

  39. Steven S.
    Steven S.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    The starter was tasteless and the main course was so small that it was difficult to find on the plate. The experience was saved to a certain extent by the attentive service, but it is plainly overrated and overpriced.

  40. Mitch C.
    Mitch C.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Yep. If you have the money then go. Great experience.