Back

Reviews - l'Ours Blanc

9.5/10

Excellent

based on 265 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Jerry C.
    Jerry C.
    • 25 reviews
    10/10

    superb food every single time we go

  2. Michael C.
    Michael C.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Very nice, warm and welcoming small restaurant. Food was excellent although the cod was a little bland. Server was perfect as she explained each menu item and answered our questions. This a small venue in which we enjoyed short conversations with our fellow diners - some native Parisians some travelers.

  3. Jerry C.
    Jerry C.
    • 25 reviews
    10/10

    Restaurant is very small, but the service is excellent and the food is always, always, always terrific. I've been here at least 10 times over the last three years and it's been superb every time.

  4. Robert c.
    Robert c.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    A very small restaurant but the owner Pierre meets you at the door, welcomes you into his restaurant, explains is menu. All dishes based on freshly sourced in season produce. He then goes and cooks it for you. His wine list is excellent and is picked by Pierre to compliment his food. We had a delightful night and enjoyed the meal.

  5. Andy P.
    Andy P.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful food and really great service, all in a very relaxed atmosphere. Could not have asked for more. Thank you!

  6. Sara B.
    Sara B.
    • one review
    10/10

    The restaurant was quaint and welcoming. The chef and his staff were friendly, kind, and made my mother and I feel rifht at home. Service and atmosphere aside, the food was by far the best part! The duck and potatoes practically melt in your mouth. Positively delicious!

  7. Sandra S.
    Sandra S.
    • 16 reviews
    9.5/10

    Our last evening in Paris after a month, we dined at the charmingly small and friendly L’Ours Blanc. The food was wonderful, desserts to die for (strawberry pavlova), great duck confit, and absolutely great service and warmth. The chef- owner spoke to everyone and our server was excellent. A great finish to our stay.

  8. Thierry C.
    Thierry C.
    • 48 reviews
    9/10

    Gustativement excellent. Dommage que l’extreme promiscuité de tables gène l’intimite des conversations.

  9. Peter L.
    Peter L.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    A great find in the Marais! Only a few tables but wonderful, fresh food that changes with whatever is available at the market. Highly recommended. And wonderful service, too.

  10. Herbert D.
    Herbert D.
    • one review
    10/10

    A wonderful small restaurant on a side street in Le Marais district. Very close walking to/from the Pompidou Center. The menu (all organic) changes every two weeks and the food and service were wonderful. The waitress spoke perfect English but this is not a tourist restaurant. The food was delicious and with the small eating area, the ambiance was very personable. In fact, the chef came out to meet us at the end. We thouroughly enjoyed our dinner and highly recommend if you want to get away from the tourist scene. But get reservations to guarantee a table.

  11. Fran c.
    Fran c.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Intimate, charming restaurant. Small menu with excellent choices. Delicious experience in every way! Delightful server, smart and very lovely.

  12. Hilary H.
    Hilary H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Server was very kind and translated everything on the menu in English to us. Food was tasty and bread was delicious. Nice wine selections.

  13. Gregory M.
    Gregory M.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    This was an amazing and quaint little restaurant. It was a super experience although really really tight. This didn't bother me or my wife, but if you want "your own table" this may not be the place for you. If you are a foodie and looking for a lovely dishes while in Paris and don't care if you have to sit closely with others then I would highly recommend. The food was amazing and the people around us were so nice it just made for a very local experience.

  14. William G.
    William G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Truly a gem. Everything was perfect. Our server was prompt, kind and knowledgeable. The food was amazing. This is a small place on a funky side street in the Marais. The owner Pierre takes care with every ingredient.

  15. Nina r.
    Nina r.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    The food was excellent. There were 5 of us, cousins from various countries on a reunion holiday. Each course was better than the last. The flavors and ingredients were inventive and classic at the same time. We were just sorry we didn’t find L’our Blanc earlier in our holiday so we could return. We had a lovely conversation with the chef at the end of the evening, and he was extremely gracious, as well as creative. Our server was a true professional. Her linguistic abilities and willingness to explain the menu were a great assistance to we English speakers. I have celiac, and the bulk of the menu was gluten-free. I will definitely be back and highly recommend it to all.

  16. Philippa B.
    Philippa B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic meal, and great service. We loved it!

  17. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fabulous food. Great vibe. Intimate space but really friendly in a chilled and understated way. My fifth day in Paris and this was the best meal by far. I loved the delicate combinations of flavours.

  18. Alister S.
    Alister S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful intimate meal as ever. Love Pierre and the team ????

  19. Wendy W.
    Wendy W.
    • 17 reviews
    6.5/10

    The positive reviews on La Fourchette made us hope for so much more. Entrees were good, if a little plain. Mine was smoked salmon with sesame seeds and my husband had asparagus. My main was hake--a tasteless lump of fish over an oily bed of red pepper with an odd cracker on top. My husband's veal was more successful. Bread was an afterthought. I am afraid we will not go back. On this one, the reviews are way better than the food.

  20. - -.
    - -.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely spectacular from beginning to end. Beautiful cooking with superb sense of seasoning. Wonderful cartw de vins. My new favorite restaurant au Marais. Cannot wait to return on our next trip to Paris!

  21. Cheryl R.
    Cheryl R.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great experience and a delightful server. She was very pleasant and went to great lengths to explain things in English if we needed it. The room is very small, so maybe not for claustrophobics, but everything else was top rate. I would not hesitate to recommend this highly two friends. The food was excellent!

  22. Diane T.
    Diane T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved this tiny restaurant. Lovely fresh food cooked to perfection and a friendly atmosphere. Apart from us only Parisian regulars which is always a great sign.

  23. Rebecca W.
    Rebecca W.
    • 57 reviews
    10/10

    Food was excellent. We had the divine carrot soup and shared a wonderful creme brûlée. Our entrees were lamb and pork and were cooked to perfection. Service was good.

  24. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Lovely, thoughtful food with plenty of interesting flavours. Friendly service and great value wines.

  25. Peter M.
    Peter M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Pierre (owner and periodically chef) and Benjamin as primary chef could not have been more hospitable. We were received warmly and treated to #1 or #2 of the best meals that we have had in our week long stay in Paris. It's a small restaurant (use La Fourchette app to book a table) as tables fill quickly if you prefer to dine Parisian-style -- late. They use only meats from small French farms and organic produce likewise grown in France and it's evident that they have respect for their precious ingredients to present them as a delightful and playful modern French cuisine. Items on the menu change every 3 weeks. We look forward to coming back on our next trip to Paris. We hope that you will enjoy your meal as much as we did. Thank you, Pierre and Benjamin.

  26. Reto B.
    Reto B.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    Was nice, the steak wasn't that breathtaking :-)

  27. - -.
    - -.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Truly our favorite meal while in Paris. The chef and pastry chef are the only two staff in the restaurant. A very intimate space. The food was superb. The veal cooked perfectly. The desserts were equally yummy, with us, unable to make a decision ordering both. The chef was kind enough us to show me the work area as I was fascinated by how fabulous his food was given the tiny space. An amazing experience. Better than 2-3star Michelin and less fussy and stuffy.

  28. Louis R.
    Louis R.
    • 28 reviews
    8.5/10

    Un restaurant simple, avec une carte épurée et efficace. Bon repas mais un peu cher ...

  29. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    This is a lovely and cozy restaurant to have dinner with your family or friend. Food was excellent and wines were fine. We had other group of people which sit right next to us and that made me a bit hard to talk with my friends. Since the place is very small, it would not be a good to have a very quiet romantic chats. I recommend this restaurant for a dinner with family and friends!

  30. Vivienne L.
    Vivienne L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Marvelous!

  31. Caroline P.
    Caroline P.
    • 28 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great place for a catch up with friends. The recommendations are very good. And if you have a chance you should try the fondant. It is to die for.

  32. Xin W.
    Xin W.
    • 7 reviews
    4.5/10

    The food is so so. The waiter seems to be more enthusiastic with his French clients. Unfortunately, I am asian.

  33. Marijo M.
    Marijo M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Super......

  34. Nicolas t.
    Nicolas t.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Seated in a quiet lane near Pompidou, the restaurant doesn't impress from the outside. The space is small, with less than 20 seats available, which makes it kind of an intimate kitchen. The owner is a very friendly person who loves to share his passion about ingredients and food.The food was delicious and the menu made of seasonal products. I had a Fine tart of sardine and tomato for a starter and beef for an entrée. My wife had a pollock. Both were nicely cooked. The oganic Rosé I ordered was nice too. 从外边看来,餐厅不怎么样。餐厅蛮小,只能坐20个人最多,所以气氛很特别,有点像去人家吃个饭。老板也很热情,很像和您分享他对食品的喜爱。所有食品都是从独立有机厂家进货的。 菜单每三周就换。都使用时令农产品。味道很好吃。如果您去pompidou参观,或者在Le Marais散步,值得去享受。

  35. Andrew R.
    Andrew R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Tremendously good dinner. Excellent service. Imaginative use of in season ingredients and the chef's direction. A visiter.

  36. Aari L.
    Aari L.
    • 20 reviews
    8.5/10

    A cosy place with fresh French food, nice surprise that many ingredients were "bio". Staff spoke excellent English (and probably some more languages).