Register my restaurant
Help


French

Reviews - La Buissonnière

9.1/10
368
10 Rue Neuve, 62100 Calais
French
Average price €33

La Buissonnière

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.1/10
Excellent369 reviews
9.1/10

Food

9.4/10

Service

9.1/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Very short waiting time
Quiet
  • Gill W.7 reviews

    May 27, 2024

    10/10

    Superb lunch. Warm welcome and everything was delightful. We had crab and soup poissons for starters and confit of duck cooked like a croquettes and chips and Rick had monkfish and rice, bith completely delicious. Dessert was pistachio and raspberry cheesecake and apple frangipane and calvados, fabulous. We had an excellent red Sancerre. All excellent value and a perfect slow speed to relish the food. I have to say, gaving been to Calais for the first time today, there is nothing to interest us to return, except this lovely restaurant.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Pierre S.4 reviews

    May 22, 2024

    10/10

    Chose to our accomodation, we booked for 7 pm. Not surprisingly we were the first customers and benefitted from the undivided attention of the owner and maitre d' hotel. The atmospheres of the place was enhanced by an authentic Belle Epoque decor..The various tasting menus were all excellent and the wine recommandation perfect. An absolutely enjoyable experience

  • Anita B.5 reviews

    January 13, 2024

    10/10

    Brilliant menu and outstanding service. Well worth a detour..

  • Carlos d.1 review

    October 13, 2023

    10/10

    Just excellent .. lovely hosts.. superb fine dining.. great atmosphere.. extremely accommodating when we turned up late Friday night due to train delay.. we will definitely return to try other menu dishes

  • Peter A.1 review

    September 2, 2023

    10/10

    My wife, son and I were treated to a gastronomic treat. Our French is minimal, however, every course was both clearly explained to us, and delicious. It was no more and no less than a splendid french culinary experience, that we will always talk about in warm terms as our best meal of the trip.

  • Lieve H.

    Lieve H.4 reviews

    August 17, 2023

    10/10

    This was a great experience. The food was sublime!! The service up to a high standard. I was alone and I saw that they had one of my favorite wines. I ordered a bottle and was able to take the rest home with me. Very nice!

  • Manav C.15 reviews

    July 7, 2023

    10/10

    Beautiful interior, and the food was served with style and the plating design was really well done.

  • Mark I.1 review

    June 22, 2023

    8.5/10

    Old fashioned/traditional starched linen etc but very good service. The lamb main course was excellent, foi gras starter was straight from the fridge and too cold.

  • Stephen T.1 review

    May 26, 2023

    10/10

    We stopped for lunch on our way back from Champagne. The menu was super value and the food was beautifully presented. Excellent service from friendly hosts. We will go back whenever we have an opportunity.

  • Sue M.1 review

    May 12, 2023

    10/10

    Lovely restaurant with great food and service. Always our choice when we pass through Calais. They are also happy if you bring a dog. Warmly recommended.

  • Dawn L.1 review

    April 20, 2023

    10/10

    Wonderful food and service. Owner could not have been more attentive. Food was delicious and beautifully presented.. A gem of a find! We will be back!

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Elaine T.1 review

    February 13, 2023

    10/10

    It was delicious and absolutely value for money!

  • Paul J.2 reviews

    November 22, 2022

    10/10

    Found this restaurant on Trip advisor with lots lo good feedback so booked a meal to be part of our day trip to Calais. What a find! Lovely food and really friendly staff. Happy to help us with our struggle to pick from the French menu, served at a perfect pace and excellence delivered. We will return.

  • Hang L.2 reviews

    August 11, 2022

    10/10

    Excellent food and service

  • Andrew R.1 review

    September 12, 2022

    10/10

    Fabulous French experience, and a perfect final stop before getting Le Shuttle home to UK

  • Daniele S.29 reviews

    August 8, 2022

    2/10

    Very rude people. They don't speak English, only French. They tried to scam us and cancelled our reservation after we had left so that we couldn't get the Yums. Had to contact the customer service and show proof of payment. Very unprofessional.

  • Duncan S.1 review

    July 15, 2022

    10/10

    This is my number one place to eat in Calais. Classic old school French restaurant with an excellent kitchen. The menu, ambiance and wine list all contribute to a wonderful experience. Good range of single malts too.

  • Sharon T.2 reviews

    July 9, 2022

    10/10

    For the weekend, we drove via the Eurotunnel to Calais to eat French food in France. We chose La Buissonière for 2 of 3 meals out because it was rated #1 out of the 119 restaurants in Calais. We were delighted with the restaurant's French charm, the attention given to us by the owner Caroline (who was waiting for our arrival at the door!) and the fabulous food delivered so graciously. I don't think we've ever enjoyed a meal as much! It was relaxing, delicious and we felt so welcome and tended to. Can't wait to go back!

    review_preview

    See 6 photos

  • Rinaldo B.1 review

    June 20, 2022

    10/10

    Classic French restaurant food quality is very good and so is service. A diamond in Calais.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Jan M.3 reviews

    June 3, 2022

    9.5/10

    Better than this a traditional French rests cannot be. Killer were the crepes freshly served at the table.

  • Phillip A.1 review

    April 14, 2022

    10/10

    Absolutely lovely dinner, with friendly service and an elegant atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Wendy G.13 reviews

    February 16, 2022

    6.5/10

    Very quaint restaurant. Friendly service. In our opinion the food and wine were overpriced. We travel for work all over France and have a lot to compare with. We try to go to traditional French Food and ambience. Food was not very remarkable and taste of most dishes fairly bland. We were disappointed

  • Carol B.1 review

    August 11, 2021

    2.5/10

    I can't believe the reviews for this restaurant! The food was absolutely awful! We chose this restaurant because of the numerous positive reviews on-line. We can only assume that the chef had left without notice!

  • Anna R.3 reviews

    August 24, 2021

    10/10

    We visited this restaurant a few years ago and tonight it was just as good! The staff couldn’t be more helpful and welcoming and the food was excellent. We loved the amuse bouche and the quality of the ingredients is just fab.

  • Richard G.3 reviews

    August 12, 2020

    10/10

    Fabulous food, beautifully served by excellent hosts. First time back in a few years. A really enjoyable and good value meal.

  • David K.1 review

    February 27, 2020

    10/10

    The service was spectacular and the food was too! Highly recommend this restaurant and would definitely return.

  • - -1 review

    February 19, 2020

    10/10

    What a wonderful restaurant! We all loved it! We came for lunch with our two children and everyone was happy with the excellent food and we appreciated the generous and warm welcome! We will definitely return!

  • Pam J.1 review

    October 28, 2019

    10/10

    Our favourite restaurant in Calais. Consistently great food and ambiance. Highly recommended. We have been eaten here since 1992 and love the warm welcome.

  • Jill H.1 review

    October 18, 2019

    10/10

    This restaurant is a real gem - its exceptional Regency style decor sets it apart from the mundane and its cuisine doesn’t disappoint. We first visited it some 20 years ago and enjoyed lovely traditional french food - the menu has now been updated with a more modern selection but the cuisine is still outstanding. It is not the cheapest restaurant in Calais but certainly it could be the best.

  • - -1 review

    September 7, 2019

    10/10

    What a wonderful place. Booked here after reading the reviews on TA for lunch during a day trip from Kent on our Wedding Anniversary. Great food, lovely host and an amazing traditional place. We were running late, but we called and were told "don't worry, we are open all day. Please take your time". Nothing was too much trouble and the food was fantastic. We will be back next time we are in France.

  • - -1 review

    September 5, 2019

    10/10

    For an absolute beginner to a restaurant in a non-English speaking country, this was a most pleasant experience. The host and server, Caroline, was very gracious and helpful to assist me in understanding the menu, pouring the wine, bringing additional items complimentary, and yes, in English! The food was sensational! Highly recommended, and stays open when most restaurants close after lunch hours.

  • John J.23 reviews

    June 15, 2019

    8.5/10

    Pleasant welcome. My canette was slightly over cooked, but that was probably my fault for ordering it medium. The rest of the meal was just right.

  • Yousif R.7 reviews

    May 7, 2019

    6.5/10

    This restaurant offers very average standard of food, which is disappointing considering it has received very high reviews, which clearly are inaccurate!!!

  • - -1 review

    May 6, 2019

    5/10

    My husband has Turbot and my daughter and I had a Dover Sole which was completely tasteless the starters we had escargo was tasteless also. the woman in the red and black floral coat was overpowering to say the least!! It is far to expensive and I would never recommend that restaurant or even go to the place again. The food and the waitress service was completely NAFF!!!

  • Maggie S.3 reviews

    April 19, 2019

    9.5/10

    The restaurant was very quiet as it was 2:30. It is hard to find places open at this time and so this is a real find! Service was excellent and the food was amazing. The set menu is good value although the drinks were on the expensive side. We will be back!

  • - -1 review

    April 18, 2019

    9.5/10

    We had the €17.50 set menu + a dessert and thought every single dish was excellent. Even the vegetarian food was exciting and delicious, which is certainly not a given in France. The kids enjoyed their kids meals too. Would highly recommend it. Leave a bit of space for dessert as they were also very different and yummy. Enjoyed the slightly old fashioned decor. Service was gracious and prompt. Just 10 mins drive from the Eurostar, the perfect start or end to any trip to France.

  • - -1 review

    April 8, 2019

    2/10

    Went to this restaurant after reading the trip advisor reviews and found it very disappointing. Definitely not vegetarian friendly as advertised. Only one veg dish available; red burger with warm soggy chips. Madame could have been more thoughtful and friendly, did not wash her hands after blowing her nose. House wine mediocre and expensive. Tuna was the other dish we had which was ok but overall would not recommend this establishment.

  • Billy B.93 reviews

    March 25, 2019

    10/10

    Very good

  • - -1 review

    February 27, 2019

    10/10

    Beautiful restaurant ,wonderful service and translation as our French is poor Been coming here for nearly 20 years ,whenever we pass through on our way to the Eurotunnel ,and have never been disappointed. Still owned and run by the same wonderful family If you are passing through Calais book a meal here you will not be disappointed

  • Nanda M.2 reviews

    February 18, 2019

    9/10

    Lovely tasty food and stylish decor thank you

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

1979 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.