Register my restaurant
Help


INSIDERSpanish Trendy

Reviews - La Cocina del Principal

9.3/10
228
Fernando el Católico, 13, 50680 Sos Del Rey Catolico
Spanish
Average price €40

La Cocina del Principal

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.3/10
Excellent228 reviews
9.4/10

Food

9.4/10

Service

9.1/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Very quiet
  • Michael S.1 review

    March 1, 2024

    10/10

    If you are lucky enough to find yourself in Sos Del Rey, this restaurant is a must. Everything about this place is superb. Located in a medieval cellar the ambience is really cool. On top of that the food is outstanding. I had the best duck dish I’ve had in a very long time . Also, the fois gras was outstanding. On top of that, the owner is a really friendly and helpful guy. I only wish this place was closer to home. I would eat there every night.

  • Helen I.1 review

    November 8, 2023

    10/10

    Great dinner last night. The lamb was amazing, with impeccable service. Thank you for a great evening.

  • Chris B.1 review

    October 5, 2023

    5.5/10

    We were the only diners for an hour until another couple arrived. Food mediocre and over priced in comparison with other restaurants similar quality.

  • Bert D.

    Bert D.1 review

    July 4, 2023

    9.5/10

    Very good food and superb place to dine

  • Peter I.2 reviews

    June 13, 2023

    10/10

    All good. The entrees were too restrictive with too little choice

  • leighton g.

    leighton g.2 reviews

    June 2, 2023

    9/10

    Excellent food we would definitely go back

  • David M.1 review

    May 14, 2023

    10/10

    The proprietor was very welcoming and helpful. Food was was presented and good quality. We enjoyed the whole evening and go again if we lived nearby.

  • Mario S.1 review

    January 27, 2023

    10/10

    Great restaurant with excellent cuisine. Prime selected products by Ricardo the owner elaborated by his team using slow cooking and charcoal grill. Lamb and pork cooked ancient style. Tasteful offering of fresh vegetables grilled with charcoal fire. Castle style dining space with views over the mountains. Real experience overall and very much worth visiting.

  • Helen S.9 reviews

    September 24, 2022

    10/10

    Had a delicious lunch here. The vegetables were seasoned and grilled to perfection. My veal tail was so tender it fell off the bone and was melt in the mouth. Lovely host, too.

  • Pierre L.11 reviews

    September 13, 2022

    9/10

    Excellent food but very pricey

  • Danny B.2 reviews

    July 8, 2022

    9.5/10

    The restaurant is one of the best kept secrets : (1) the medieval town Sos del Rey Catolico, (2) the hotel (El Perron) and (3) La Cocina del Principal. Excellent local kitchen in a magnificent setting for very democratic prices. Also for vegetarian visitors. We enjoyed the meal a lot.

  • Paula V.

    Paula V.5 reviews

    April 16, 2022

    9.5/10

    The place was really nice, great service and food. We were just a bit surprised because the only option available to book was a table for 2 ppl at 13.30 and there was no one at the restaurant when we arrived. It's too early to have lunch in Spain at that time on Saturday. Being the only 2 people in a restaurant feels a bit weird. There were just 2 more tables occupied during that time when it was supposed to be fully booked.

  • David M.1 review

    December 2, 2021

    10/10

    We were travelling from southern Spain and stopping in Sos for the evening. It was freezing outside - but Alfonso gave us a warm welcome; it was winter, so we had the freedom of the restaurant. We were presented with a simple but delicious sounding menu. Both the food and wine were lovely, all set on an ancient but beautifully presented room. A great evening and we highly recommend La Cocina del Principal.

  • Rosemary R.1 review

    November 23, 2021

    10/10

    The restaurant, downstairs in a area with natural stone walls, had good atmosphere even though we were the only people dining, (out of season and mid-week). The cooking was excellent, and the dishes as described on the English menu. The service was friendly and informative, altogether excellent.

  • Kelly L.1 review

    July 13, 2021

    10/10

    We are visiting Spain from the US (Oregon) and found this restaurant via the internet and hoped for a nice meal. Well, we had a great meal!! Very unexpected from a small quaint place in northern Spain. The owner was very friendly and he did all the waiting and beverage service himself. His kitchen staff was only known by a dumb waiter in the small bar. Whoever it was knew how to prepare and grill a steak perfectly. Also the mushroom ravioli was very flavorful and light. For desert, The creme brûlée and flakey pastry w cream filling topped w chocolate sauce was amazing. I highly recommend it restaurant. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

  • Donna B.

    Donna B.3 reviews

    May 30, 2021

    9.5/10

    The food was amazing. The staff were very attentive and friendly and the venue is unique. Highly recommend a visit to anyone looking for good local food.

Tripadvisor reviews

566 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.