Back

Reviews La Gattabuia

8.9/10

Fabulous

based on 1602 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Andrea  G.
    Andrea G.
    • one review
    8/10

    Ottimi tonnarelli cacio e pepe

  2. Emanuel D.
    Emanuel D.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    Una garanzia!

  3. Katie L.
    Katie L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This place has incredible food and they are courteous and patient with customers who speak other languages. Absolutely recommend!! Very cool atmosphere as well

  4. AMIR A.
    AMIR A.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This is a restaurant that I returned to as had enjoyed it the previous times I had been. I took three friends who are all well versed in good places to eat in Rome. They all agreed that this little restaurant is a gem. The clientele is a mix of locals and a few lucky visitors who may have found it on line. The service is friendly from the moment you walk in. The food is superb. The starters include an amazing melanzane parmigiana and Fiore da zuca that are some of the best I have eaten in Rome. The pasta dishes are certainly good but if you are a meat eater then the filleto gorgonzola is a must not miss dish. Will certainly be going back again and again and again....

  5. AMIR A.
    AMIR A.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent food and great service.

  6. Emily  H.
    Emily H.
    • one review
    5/10

    The restaurant is very tucked away which gave us expectation it would be a local delight. First negative tip is that the only have an English menu; locals clearly aren’t coming here. Annoyed by fruit flies (in January??) we ordered only starters. The fried courgette flower includes cheese and anchovy (neither mentioned on the menu. The cheese planner (£12) requires you to also order the bread starter (£3.00). Dishes were fine but not wonderful, atmosphere was severely lacking.

    La Gattabuia

    Hello there are many things not true in your review! Obviously we also have menus in Italian, but to foreigners we give a menu entirely in English.Our customers are for 80% Roman citizens!!Also in the description of zucchini flower are listed the ingredients: mozzarella cheese and anchovies Guys,sometimes is better to try to speak and ask at the waiters if you have some question to do!

  7. Annie P.
    Annie P.
    • 11 reviews
    5/10

    Lovely restaurant and great atmosphere, but the food didn't stand out, there are way better restaurants in Rome. Service was pretty slow.

  8. Magali B.
    Magali B.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    The food is very good and traditional but the place is quite noisy. The staff was very busy and felt it at some point but has been quite nice to help us to get a cab on a crazy rainy busy night.

  9. Silje H.
    Silje H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great restaurant! Lovely atmosphere, and exeptional food. The carbonara is probably the best in Rome. Will return next time we're in Rome.

  10. Adriana I.
    Adriana I.
    • 14 reviews
    9/10

    Sempre una conferma. Cucina romana ottima!

  11. EDUARDO B.
    EDUARDO B.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a great time with a group of 10. The staff was amazing, food spectacular and the ambiance was perfect. They advised us on what to get and we got to experience an authentic Italian place. We hope to come back soon.

  12. Philip T.
    Philip T.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent pasta dishes and server was happy to let us share a dish. Service very accommodating and overall great value for money. Good wine recommendations too. Try the Gattabuia mixed appetiser selection.

  13. Estefania D.
    Estefania D.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Fantastic food, super friendly waiters and a really lively atmosphere! We arrived at 8 and by 9pm it was full, so book in advance. Recommend the cacio e pepe pasta!

  14. Stefano p.
    Stefano p.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    Tipica cucina romana

  15. Aliona S.
    Aliona S.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    Love this place! Waiters speak French and English, the food is amazing, cozy terrace, good for a romantic night out or for a family dinner!

  16. Luciano Tommaso p.
    Luciano Tommaso p.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Buon menù romano

  17. Elpidio C.
    Elpidio C.
    • 4 reviews
    7/10

    Matriciana e cacio e pepe ottimi

  18. Bradford  L.
    Bradford L.
    • one review
    9/10

    The food is incredible

  19. Ken B.
    Ken B.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Good location and nice ambience!

  20. Paolo  G.
    Paolo G.
    • one review
    8/10

    Nulla da dire, come me l'aspettavo.

  21. Konrad A.
    Konrad A.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Not really tasting... we ordered pasta, because the side dishes (contorni) were not inviting (french fries...) - however, these were not home made and their taste was simply poor. Young team - no traditional kitchen. Not worthy.

  22. Carl G.
    Carl G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beautiful evening

  23. Sheldon L.
    Sheldon L.
    • 7 reviews
    8/10

    Good food Large portions

  24. Lauren C.
    Lauren C.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Love going to this place and always at the top of my recommendation list for my visitors. Consistently great food (authentically Roman but sometimes with an innovative twist) and good service. Please never change!

  25. Rita B.
    Rita B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Just had a great experience and fantastic food. The place was buzzing and very busy. With queues waiting. So, it goes to show the reputation they have. I would highly recommend the restaurant, for both food and prices. Thanks to the great staff too

  26. Mauro b.
    Mauro b.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Cena fra amici atmosfera conviviale siamo stati bene

  27. Inna D.
    Inna D.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    awesome!

  28. Claudia A.
    Claudia A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and wonderful service!

  29. Luigi m.
    Luigi m.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Fa-vo-lo-so !!!!!

  30. Mariangela I.
    Mariangela I.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    The app gave me the possibility just to reserve for 1 person or for 12 person, we were just 2 person but it wasn`t a problem for the restaurant.

  31. Stephen B.
    Stephen B.
    • one review
    10/10

    The gem in Rome. Great food at a good price.

  32. Damien H.
    Damien H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Service was a little slow, but to be fair the restaurant was pretty busy. Food was worth waiting for though!

  33. Barbara F.
    Barbara F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Il top!

  34. Susan S.
    Susan S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious food with wonderful service.

  35. Samuela C.
    Samuela C.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Buono, ma niente di speciale

  36. Caterina C.
    Caterina C.
    • 45 reviews
    9/10

    Antipasti sfiziosi e gattamburger super

  37. Joonas E.
    Joonas E.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    I had high hopes for this restaurant after reading a couple of blog posts and the reviews. We arrived there right on time when our reservations was. Unfortunately, it was also the same time when the restaurant opened so everyone was in a hurry when we arrived and our presence was ignored surprisingly long before we were asked to wait where we where. We got to our table 10 minutes later. After that the service was fast and nice enough until we tried to order the dessert and after that the check. The food was ok: the tastes where there but I had expected better and this experience ranked as the 2nd weakest dinner during our this year's week-long trip to Rome. When we left, we got tired of waiting and paid at the register.

  38. Massimiliano D.
    Massimiliano D.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Sempre una conferma

  39. Gaye C.
    Gaye C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful family restaurant, comfortable setting, good food and warm service.Thank you.

  40. Charlotte M.
    Charlotte M.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    We had a wonderful evening. The staff was very nice, gave good suggestions on the food and wine. The food was great. Highly recommended.