Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Insider Good for groups

Reviews - La Luna Bistro

9.6/10
1021
320 Rathdowne Street, 3054 Carlton North (VIC)See map

Average price A$95

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Already 28 bookings today 🔥

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Already 28 bookings today 🔥
Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

9.6/10
Excellent1021 reviews
9.7/10

Food

9.6/10

Service

9.3/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Danielle G.
    Danielle G.

    October 1, 20221 review

    10/10

    Our evening here was amazing. Greeted by Adrian himself, attentive wait staff, delicious food. Been many times before, and will definitely go again in the future.

  • Judy C.
    Judy C.

    September 28, 20221 review

    10/10

    My first time at La Luna was the most amazing experience. The food was sensational. The wait staff were phenomenal & so attentive. We were lucky enough to have Adrian Richardson dine on the next table & chat to us. He was super friendly. Can't wait to go back.

  • Pina M.
    Pina M.

    September 24, 20223 reviews

    10/10

    absolutely wonderful sevice the food was beautiful

  • Glenn T.
    Glenn T.

    September 17, 20221 review

    4.5/10

    The Garlic king prawn entree had very small prawns and could never be regarded as king prawns. The antipasto entree was so basic, i could have made it better myself.. The allocated one piece of bread was so small for five people. The french fries tasted like those from Mc Donald's, The Tiramisu Desert had no taste and was obviously not made at the restaurant, The cuppucino's coffee had no coffee, but all milk.. The table should have a table cloth if the restaurant is regarded as fine dinning,.

  • Jenni S.
    Jenni S.

    September 16, 20221 review

    10/10

    Excellent food & service, great suggestions by our waiter, perfect blend of attention and space to enjoy the food. The oysters were simply outstanding and the char on the porterhouse was mouth wateringly good!! Great atmosphere, although the lighting could be just a little brighter to make reading the menu a little easier :-)

  • Tina P.
    Tina P.

    September 16, 20224 reviews

    10/10

    Amazing meals in all courses. Loved my fillet Mignon, and ricotta dough us withemon curd. Little noisy so made it hard to hear others at table of 5. Bit brighter lighting to enjoy seeing our meals would have been good. Staff lovely, professional and friendly.

  • Angela P.
    Angela P.

    September 3, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    We have visited La Luna many times, but due to Covid haven’t been for a while. So glad the food is still great, as was the service. We really enjoyed the garlic prawns, octopus, lamb pie, & homemade sausages for starters & the lady serving brought us more bread to soak up all the sauces, yum. Mains of rib eye, pork roll and gnocchi were delicious. To finish off the apple tart tartin, chocolate fondant ant crème brûlée were totally moorish. Will definitely come back

  • Debbie F.
    Debbie F.

    August 31, 20221 review

    10/10

    Took my sister for a special birthday meal..delicious food, staff fantastic...loved all of the three courses we managed to fit in! Will be back!

  • Sarah J.
    Sarah J.

    August 26, 20221 review

    8.5/10

    Delicious food but quite ordinary. Price not justified. Rushed us out at end due to other bookings. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Wouldn’t go back.

  • ROGER F.
    ROGER F.

    August 20, 20221 review

    10/10

    Everything was great. Had a fantastic night. We are booking in 2 weeks time to have a lovely meal again. We had a nice chat with Adrian.

  • Colin R.
    Colin R.

    August 13, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Just when I was getting so jaded about overpriced, poor quality food and substandard service I stumbled upon La Luna. Apart from maybe a little bit dark in the downstairs dining area (at lunchtime) and a low doorway into the toilets La Luna is a real gem.

  • Ben C.
    Ben C.

    July 27, 20221 review

    10/10

    One of my favourite restaurants in Melbourne. Great choice of food, amazingly cooked steak. I also love their entree selection, the prawns are insane! Also service is always great.

  • Wesley G.
    Wesley G.

    July 20, 20221 review

    10/10

    Always love the artichoke and the gnocchi, service staff are very funny and sweet Bar staff are also phenomenal, and the blueberry from the mezze dessert was my favourite <3

  • Patricia M.
    Patricia M.

    July 16, 20228 reviews

    7.5/10

    Bit disappointing. I had booked weeks ago for a table for 6, two of my guests couldn’t make it due to covid so we ended up with a table by the door/toilets. It was freezing. Though I asked for a different table and tables were free we couldn’t be accommodated. Bizarrely cutlery given with dessert was a spoon only. We were chasing our desserts round the plate. Tarte tatin impossible to cut with just a spoon (a fork was provided on request). Don’t know if there was a fork shortage. Food however was fantastic as usual.

  • Simon F.
    Simon F.

    July 16, 20221 review

    10/10

    This restaurant is the best. The food is incredible and the staff are warm friendly and accommodating. My wife and i both said its one of the best restaurants we have ever been too.

  • Robyn D.
    Robyn D.

    July 9, 20221 review

    10/10

    La Luna was everything that I had imagined. Although a little on the expensive side - for 4 people it worked out to $100 per head give or take a few dollars. But service and food was superb - most enjoyable - this booking was 3 time lucky as i had booked two previously but was cut down by COVID.

  • Josh L.
    Josh L.

    July 7, 20221 review

    10/10

    This restaurant rules O.K. …………………………………………………………………………………………..

  • Jacque G.
    Jacque G.

    July 5, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Had a lovely meal, wait staff were absolutely charming and helpful. I would highly recommend the restaurant to my friends and family who are visiting Melbourne.

  • Wes M.
    Wes M.

    July 1, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Service was great our waitress Mia was very good. The food was beautiful and fresh, Flavours blended well together. I had the porthouse streak medium rare was cooked perfect my partner had the gnocchi brilliant. Overall very pleasant night at reasonable price. Maybe one comment We saw Adrain in the front of the restaurant would have been nice for him to say a quick hi to people.

  • Todd S.
    Todd S.

    June 28, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    One of Melbourne's best restaurants. 3rd visit and can't wait to go back! Excellent menu, each dish perfectly presented. Wonerful, unobtrusive staff

  • Kaylene W.
    Kaylene W.

    June 25, 20221 review

    10/10

    Never been disappointed with food of service Will continue to go back

  • Antonella P.
    Antonella P.

    June 18, 20221 review

    10/10

    Our dining experience at La Luna was an amazing one. The food was absolutely delicious and the service equally as good. We also had the fantastic opportunity to chat with the owner Adrian Richardson who was so welcoming and friendly. A highly recommended restaurant to dine at.

  • Ashley N.
    Ashley N.

    June 18, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Could not fault the service or food, both were exceptional. Food was cooked to perfection. The restaurant timed the food perfectly, and everyone got their food at the same time. Service was warm and friendly. Thank you to the team at La Luna Bistro for making it a wonderful night.

  • Eliza H.
    Eliza H.

    June 11, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Cosy, welcoming ambience. Charming and gracious staff. Incredible food! Delicious. We'll be back without a shadow of a doubt. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Ken s.
    Ken s.

    June 10, 20221 review

    9/10

    My main course was incorrect, but was a dearer cut than I ordered so no complaint. Corkage at $35 per bottle is excessive. Reasonable for the first bottle but not for each!

  • Assunta B.
    Assunta B.

    May 28, 20221 review

    10/10

    We celebrated our son’s 30th birthday with a family dinner at La Luna. We enjoyed a wonderful time. We ere greeted so warmly upon arrival, our waitress was extremely friendly and guided us accordingly. The drinks and meal were absolutely spot on. Every sip and mouthful to die for. I would highly recommend La Luna if you’re looking for great night out.

  • Malcolm W.
    Malcolm W.

    May 28, 20221 review

    10/10

    Great food and atmosphere. Service at just the right level, although at first a little fast to get the order and in. Tne food was really nice and we enjoyed the evening.

  • Jodie S.
    Jodie S.

    May 28, 20221 review

    10/10

    Every course from entree to dessert was delicious!! Highly recommend Steak Tartare. Also had a lovely chat and took a selfie with the owner himself Adrian Richardson

  • Christine F.
    Christine F.

    May 27, 20221 review

    10/10

    La Luna enjoys a great reputation for fabulous meat dishes; steak, duck and pork. The mains did not disappoint. The real surprise were the delicious desserts. What a hit! We will be back,

  • Craig m.
    Craig m.

    May 21, 20221 review

    10/10

    Been going for years never disappoints, Adrian was at the door tonight always nice to say hello

  • Olivia S.
    Olivia S.

    May 21, 20221 review

    10/10

    We had dinner with 2 kids under 4. They were very quick with the kids meal. The service was above excellent for the waitress for our table. She was so beyond attentive to make sure that our kids are happy.

  • Kamran A.
    Kamran A.

    May 17, 20221 review

    10/10

    Very good atmosphere, food was delicious. Value for matching to the best! Been there couple of times and never disappointed. Keep up the great work!

  • Tatiana M.
    Tatiana M.

    May 14, 20221 review

    10/10

    Was the best meat I have had ever tried ! Wow I’m impressed!!! I love it ! My friends had a really good time, thanks for the little piece of cake and the candle! Was a really nice surprise

  • Jenny L.
    Jenny L.

    May 13, 20221 review

    10/10

    Such a lovely night! Excellent food. Lovely warm atmosphere - the staff obviously enjoy working there. An absolute pleasure to be there. We will remember this place when we have something special to celebrate.

  • Rochelle D.
    Rochelle D.

    May 7, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    We were welcomed at the door by the owner and the terrific service continued from there. Our table was comfortable and the ambience and choice of music perfect for a cool evening. Food was fabulous as always and as we were celebrating our daughter’s birthday, even the dessert came with a sparkler and birthday wishes. Our genuine, caring and proficient waitress just topped off a lovely evening together, thank you. Highly recommend and we will be back!

  • Gabrielle F.
    Gabrielle F.

    May 3, 20221 review

    10/10

    Richo's aged meats still a standout, and the prawn starter a taste sensation The staff are knowledgable and attentive. Whether it's two or thirty of you, a great night out

  • Claire S.

    April 29, 20221 review

    10/10

    I haven’t been to la Luna since before covid. It really struck me this time how comfortable it is to be in the hands of professionals. Seamless. And the food as it has always been, was great.

  • Jenny H.
    Jenny H.

    April 14, 20223 reviews

    9.5/10

    Outstanding food, great service. Just uncomfortable chairs, but worth if for a few hours. Best desserts in Melbourne and the steak was magnificent.

  • Belinda F.

    April 12, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    We visit every time we are over from Perth - which has not been often in the past three years! Food and service is always exceptional. And after 12 years of dining at La Luna Bistro, we finally managed to meet the legend that is Adrian Richardson. He was just as charming as his restaurant. 10/10 every time. Thanks to his fabulous staff!

  • Michal C.

    April 9, 20221 review

    7.5/10

    The service at this restaurant was quite good, although when I booked I did mention food requirements which were not considered by the wait staff. The food was nice but not good value and overpriced. The lighting was almost non existent, we were virtually eating in the dark.

Tripadvisor reviews

373 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation