Back

Reviews - La Maison B .BAYEUX.

8.2/10

Very good

based on 336 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Theodor B.
    Theodor B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    I enjoyed it. The atmosphere evokes USA dinners but the music is French, oldies but goldies, for those that like the style. The food was fresh and prepared very well. We were with three and we took fish, prawns and scallops. The desert was also excellent, Normand pie and chocolate cake. There were also very decent appetizers and a glass of Calvados on the house. It is not cheap but very good price quality ratio.

  2. Marie H.
    Marie H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Restaurant de qualité.

  3. Marie H.
    Marie H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Restaurant à recommander.

  4. Alexis B.
    Alexis B.
    • 13 reviews
    8.5/10

    TB, sympa.

  5. Wendy P.
    Wendy P.
    • one review
    10/10

    The atmosphere was quaint ànd the staff was welcoming and spoke English. The food was excellent and we ended our meal with the famous Calvados. We will go back during this trip in Bayeux for sure!

  6. Balerie S.
    Balerie S.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Very tasty food, and comfortable room.

  7. Anne P.
    Anne P.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    It was an odd experience. The owner/maitre d’ was very much the center of attention. The service was not. We did not expect Rapper’s Delight to be blasted toward the end of our dinner.

  8. Jeremy P.
    Jeremy P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food quality dining at an extremely fair price really enjoyed the evening.

  9. Gregoire B.
    Gregoire B.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Tres bon

  10. Tom K.
    Tom K.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Four of us went on Sunday, Bastille Day as it was one of the few places that was open and would take an advanced bulking. The food was very good from starters to dessert. There was confusion in the kitchen and with the wait staff that led to two mains being delivered to our table and then removed as they were for another table. The wine pours of the house wines were unbelievably generous, at lease eight ounce. On the downside, the Aperol Spitz, while substantial, was one of the worst ever. Almost all Aperol, little soda and no Prosecco which is critical to the formula in France.

  11. Benjamin H.
    Benjamin H.
    • one review
    6/10

    I rated the food at a five because I did not get the opportunity to taste it and felt that it was unfair to rate it poorly. However, I recommend that you either shut off the option to make a reservation after 16:00 because you “don’t check after 4:00PM” or just always check. My party and I were shocked by the lack of accommodation, especially due to the fact that it was due to your lack of attention. We brought our business elsewhere and had a wonderful evening, spent a good amount of money and left our waitress a well-deserved tip.

  12. Heather R.
    Heather R.
    • one review
    9/10

    Food was exceptional and reasonably priced, but what really made our evening was the personable, welcoming and playful attitude of the server who truly made us feel at home. Aside from serving us with style and yes the food was amazing (scallops with wild mushrooms was a hit, veal and filet mignon divine, and prawns delicious) what made the biggest impression was how within an hour we were conversing with strangers nearby, singing along with the table across from us, and it truly felt like home. You can eat great food at most places but you don’t always feel at home the way we did here. It was a memorable dining experience as they invited us to sing and play their piano and we ended up singing along with our table next to us. Thank you to the friendly and gracious serving staff at La Maison Blanche for being our home away from home tonight while traveling. We will be sure to visit when we are back! If you’re looking for a meal that goes beyond great food then welcome home to La Maison Blanche!

  13. Catherine C.
    Catherine C.
    • one review
    10/10

    The atmosphere was so convivial and positive. The owner/manager clearly enjoys his business and the clientele!

  14. Gail W.
    Gail W.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Bayeux is a busy restaurant town but we were able to make a reservation 24 hour pre. Worth a stop.

  15. Stephanie T.
    Stephanie T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Just perfect!!!

  16. Carine T.
    Carine T.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Friendly Service.

  17. Pat H.
    Pat H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The food was an incredible, the service made us was the best ! Would highly recommend this restaurant. Fun atmosphere with piano playing from staff and guests.

  18. Joanne H.
    Joanne H.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing seafood and helpful staff. You need to visit this restaurant!!!

  19. Steve B.
    Steve B.
    • 19 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and service Normandy style! The head waiter was very engaging and entertaining and made our evening a true delight. The food was first rate!

  20. Emily H.
    Emily H.
    • one review
    5/10

    Not accommodating for children (no children’s menu), but the staff was very kind to my children. Four of five dishes were a miss, but my husband enjoyed the lamb. The decor was a lot: black lights, shelves full of bottles, and lots of shiny red pleather. Meal was much too expensive for quality of food.

  21. Maryann F.
    Maryann F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent restaurant, funny staff and quick service. We had only one question, Why is it called White house when it is all red inside?

  22. Maureen M.
    Maureen M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Best restaurant we went to in Bayeux. Service was perhaps the best in a month long trip to France. This restaurant should be rated much more highly than it appears to be.

  23. Robert P.
    Robert P.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Wine was okay but not great. Husband ordered cod but received veal and no one came back to check on our meals. I ordered veal chop but it was not thick or what I expected. The appetizer provided complimentary was tasty though.

  24. Virginia L.
    Virginia L.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    My husband and I enjoyed dinner here for our last night in Bayeux. Atmosphere was warm, cozy and elegant. My husband had bisque and I had the foie gras...the foie gras was delicious and melted in your mouth. I didn't care for the bisque, probably because I'm used to the sweeter bisque served in our region, but my husband really enjoyed it. The veal and scallop dishes for dinner were perfectly cooked and seasoned. Chocolate cake and creme brule were good, and they brought us Calvados to try, which was a very kind gesture. The service was very prompt and courteous.

  25. George P.
    George P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This was the most amazing experience we had during our entire ten day trip in France and The Netherlands! Yadwig, the owner, was absolutely amazing!!! We enjoyed the singing, piano playing and sharing drinks at the table with him and the guests seated next to us. We left feeling like we had just made life long friends!! I hope we can come back again soon!!!

  26. Yvo J.
    Yvo J.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    Super entertainment with great live piano and synthesizer music.

  27. Laurel B.
    Laurel B.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    The staff are charming yet efficient and very accommodating. They take a moment to joke, are happy to take special requests. The menu is not large but if what we had is an indication, all nicely prepared. We had scallops with a delicate sauce served with very tasty yellow beans. I am certain there was much butter involved. Limited wine list but decent prices and our Viognier was excellent. The “gourmet coffee” dessert was fun to share and we had our first Calvados on the house. Thanks, MB, for a lovely first night in Bayeux.

  28. Debbi B.
    Debbi B.
    • one review
    10/10

    The restaurant was in a very convenient location. The service was excellent. In addition to the reasonably priced three course meal, they brought a complimentary starter first, plus complimentary apple brandy with the check. They accommodated gluten free needs with substitutions.

  29. Lisa S.
    Lisa S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great atmosphere and friendly staff.

  30. Karlee H.
    Karlee H.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a time we had at La Maison Blanche!!! The owner is extremely giving, entertaining, and the service was phenomenal. Throughout the night I was able to play a duet with him on the piano, and the food was fantastic!!! Will recommend this establishment over and over again. When I asked the owner “is this your restaurant?” He responded with “no, it is my home.” He has such passion for this place, and it was an honor to dine here!

    La Maison B .BAYEUX.

    merci PRINCESSE ! tu rayonne comme le soleil, et tu distribue le bonheur autour de toi , tu respire l'amour, tes doigts de fée qui pianottent, j'adore! je t'embrasse; dommage que tu sois deja partie ! JEAN

  31. Paul S.
    Paul S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very pleasant atmosphere friendly staff.

  32. Arwen V.
    Arwen V.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    The atmosphere is quirky, and the owner has a playful, wry sense of humor, but we found these elements to be wonderful assets to Le Maison Blanche rather than detractors. We mentioned to the owner that we wanted to try absinthe for the first time, and he brought over a bottle and did a couple of shots with us, to our delight! The food was delicious and authentically French. I enjoyed trying Bouillabaisse for the first time. If you can go with the flow and want to have a fun, delicious dinner, you'll have a great time.

  33. James M.
    James M.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Place was hot and no outdoor seating. Dishes were presented well but essentially the same sauces with different foods. Lack of attention was apparent. Somewhat mediocre in retrospect . Calvados ice cream was a bust!.

  34. David A.
    David A.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious dinner. We had bouillabaisse and salmon. Both were excellent. Chocolate fondant dessert was fantastic and they gave us after dinner calvados. Would definitely return!

  35. Kim G.
    Kim G.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    A very fun and entertaining evening! Excellent seafood,desserts and great background music. Entertaining host who will deliver a nice surprise to you at the end of your meal if you play along with his 'shtick'.

  36. Beth H.
    Beth H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious meal and gracious, friendly service!

  37. Austin W.
    Austin W.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We were seated immediately and the service was quick and pleasant. We had the house made fois gras and it was some of the best I ever had. We both had the Sole and it was perfect. Lovely almond, apple tort and they brought us some Calvados (famous regional apple brandy) to top off the meal. Highest recommendation.

  38. ELLIOTT H.
    ELLIOTT H.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    Fun place to dine. Very engaging and unique proprietor. Food was mix of very good and mediocre. Sole was very good, scallops were metallic. Fondant was excellent.

  39. Jill B.
    Jill B.
    • one review
    7/10

    The food was fine but not spectacular as we had come to expect in Paris and the Normandy Region. The server was entertaining and we chatted with some nice folks at the next table so it made the visit much better. We really wanted the food to be better. Just needed it have proper seasoning, even just salt.

  40. William B.
    William B.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    It is a great place with great food. The atmosphere has it.