Back

Reviews - La Nuova Grotta

8.2/10

Very good

based on 762 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Marco O.
    Marco O.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    The atmosphere was really nice, waiters were welcoming and friendly. We didn’t wait a lot for food to arrive and the food itself was great. Would definitely recommend this place.

  2. Michaela G.
    Michaela G.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food was really good, we ordered risotto Nero do sepia and spaghetti Nero do sepia (very good portion sizes also). The staff are very friendly, and the restaurants is very nicely done up.

  3. Anne K.
    Anne K.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    The pasta was delicious - we enjoyed pasta Alfredo and Tortellini. The scampi were from the freezer - as indicated in the menu - so we’d go for something fresh next time. Overall, we enjoyed the evening.

  4. Guido T.
    Guido T.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great food, very fresh fish and very good value for money!

  5. Hyoin B.
    Hyoin B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Was nice dinner and not that clouded! So we could enjoy calm dinner! The food was nice and service was perfect!

  6. Luisella g.
    Luisella g.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Una bella cena..... E una bella atmosfera..... Da ritornarci....

  7. Michael  f.
    Michael f.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    It was fresh and good food. We all satisfied

  8. James r.
    James r.
    • 4 reviews
    5/10

    Well, the food was straight forward comfort Venetian Italian. Better than most. Not bad at all. But the service was insulting. Apparently, the owner or friend or relative of the owner was entertaining his own large party whilst we were there and failed to check in on the poor patrons trying to get served. It was a disappointing scene. Too many choices in Venice particularly during slow January to stand for poor service and not inexpensive food. We told our hotel and colleagues to skip this joint and to not recommend it.

  9. Sue Anne C.
    Sue Anne C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Had the lovely Venetian marinated sardines. So good >< the Sea Bream was perfection too. Really lovely service. Was a happy customer!

  10. Leu F.
    Leu F.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Very good dishes, quick service. Two halls with different looks and mood. Toilets are upstairs.

  11. Jose D.
    Jose D.
    • 15 reviews
    9/10

    Muy buena comida

  12. Donatella n.
    Donatella n.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Ottima scelta

  13. M.ariano l.
    M.ariano l.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Really good food and great services. I had been positive impressed. I suggest if you are in Venice and want to have good pasta and steak. Central area and easy to gen in there

  14. Sam m.
    Sam m.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Such a nice place with beautiful decoration next to the San Marco square. The staffs are very nice and gentle. The sea food super fresh and delicious.one of the top restaurants in Venice. Definitely will go back and highly recommended

  15. Filipe F.
    Filipe F.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Had a great time there! Food was excellent and the staff was super friendly! We had a delicious pasta with fresh seafood and one of the best carbonaras that we have had in Italy, for sure. We didn’t skip the aperol Spritz either. The room was confortable with a chill background music. It is decorared in a venezian style with an exhibition of wines. However, what caught my attention the most was the ceilling lamp which is amazing! Make sure you go there.

  16. Federico G.
    Federico G.
    • 40 reviews
    9/10

    Very nice restaurant close to San Marco area. Vast offer of food both meat and seafood. The service is good and prices are in line with city standards. Highly recommended!

  17. Liane S.
    Liane S.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Nice and warm welcome, Very good food, we will come again!

  18. Bram V.
    Bram V.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    A great choice! In venice, especially here near san marco, its not so easy to find good quality traditional venetian food. For our last night out, I'm glad we went here. All our dishes were very tasty and well prepared. I had pulpo, sardina saor, lobster and clam spagetti, so dishes that can dissapoint when not cooked properly, and they were spot on. The service is very friendly, fast and not hasted. Nice that there is a choice between a cozy taverna and a posh tablecloth room in the same place with the same menu. We will come here again at the next opportunity.

  19. Leonid A.
    Leonid A.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Comfortable and quiet place, great seefood and service

  20. Greg B.
    Greg B.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    We had a wonderful evening. Our server was friendly and made excellent recommendations. The seafood there is top choice. This is a great restaurant and reasonably priced.

  21. Michael. g.
    Michael. g.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    This place is AWESOME. Mike is great and takes care of everything. Highly recommend the carbonara and the soar. Mixed fried fish is great , lightly fried, nice.

  22. Michael. g.
    Michael. g.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Hidden gem, try the soar sardines!!!!

  23. Larry F.
    Larry F.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food was delicious. The service a little slow

  24. Dominic B.
    Dominic B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Par excellence, the best I have encountered in Venice, staff are wonderful esp head waiter. Food quality outstanding each dish delicious, fresh & filling. €130 for a two course a la carte for 4 people inc 1 bottle of Prosecco. Also cheaper set menus with lots to choose from.

  25. Marta S.
    Marta S.
    • 104 reviews
    10/10

    Love it! ❤️

  26. Russell s.
    Russell s.
    • 15 reviews
    5.5/10

    Their was non stop in and out of waiters taking rubbish and general discomfort during our meal in an otherwise peaceful restraunt. The pizza was good and so was the gnocchi. Felt a bit second class as from booking via the fork and tried to upsell a bit. Worth it with tye discount

  27. Davit M.
    Davit M.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent location and tasty food. Quite an extensive list of items to choose from. The portions are very generous. Our waiter was excellent and very entertaining. The interior is a bit too “cheesy” with small fountain inside the restaurant and rather cheeky lighting.

  28. Abraham J.
    Abraham J.
    • 12 reviews
    6.5/10

    Normales

  29. Joseph S.
    Joseph S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and service.

  30. Gleb T.
    Gleb T.
    • 8 reviews
    5/10

    Nice food , but strange waiters ... could do everything to get more tips ...

  31. Tom V.
    Tom V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service by Alberto. He recommended the baked flounder and it was delicious!

  32. Alexey S.
    Alexey S.
    • one review
    6/10

    Too slowly kitchen to be here again.

  33. Sandra G.
    Sandra G.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    excellent grilled fish platter. good service with a prosecco offered as a starter.

  34. Brigitte t.
    Brigitte t.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Correct sans plus .

  35. Sara E.
    Sara E.
    • 16 reviews
    8/10

    tutto e' andato bene.

  36. Guillaume L.
    Guillaume L.
    • one review
    10/10

    A wonderful place to eat ! we took the pasta Alfredo and the frito misto and it was delicious. the waiters are truly nice. super night we recommand

  37. Zhao e.
    Zhao e.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and service!

  38. Rachel C.
    Rachel C.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a fantastic evening, the atmosphere, food and staff were all amazing! Definitely would recommend :)

  39. Yun V.
    Yun V.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    C’était super bon!!!

  40. Xiaoer L.
    Xiaoer L.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The location is good, the staff can speak french and they are very helpful. we really enjoyed meal and will recommwnd this place. my friend said that it was the biggest salad in here life! amd there is a possibility to eat for vegans highly recommended!