Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - La Récréation

9.6/10
382
Le Bourg, 46250 Les Arques
French
Average price €49

La Récréation

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.6/10
Excellent382 reviews
9.7/10

Food

9.6/10

Service

9.6/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Very short waiting time
Quiet
  • David R.1 review

    April 19, 2024

    10/10

    La Recreation is such a wonderful experience on all counts.....service, food, wine selection and ambiance. There were four of us at lunch and we all had different entrees and plats and desserts....lots of "wow" moments after every first taste. And then after leaving, the walk around this little village and visiting the museum and church is a perfect ending.

  • SIMON W.8 reviews

    April 2, 2024

    9.5/10

    The latest of many visits to this popular restaurant. We first went in 2004, and although the ownership has changed since then, the current management have continued to keep to the high standards set. Particularly good to see that soup is still served with every meal, in line with tradition at that venue. Highly recommended.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Robin j.9 reviews

    March 15, 2024

    10/10

    Twice in two weeks on a short visit to the Lot with all the other options available says a lot.........

  • Robin j.9 reviews

    March 9, 2024

    10/10

    I can't remember how long ago we first went here but it must be 20 plus years. The staff are always welcoming and attentive, The food is always excellent and just a little bit different. On this visit we were inside the building and the same standards are maintained (although I'm really looking forward to summer and the outside dining ). All in all la recreation in all its iterations over the years has never let me down. Highly recommended.

  • Megan S.7 reviews

    September 17, 2023

    10/10

    For our anniversary lunch we choose la recreation as it is always amazing food, fantastic service . We were not disappointed as everything lived up to its reputation. Well worth a visit.

    review_preview

    See 7 photos

  • Joy D.1 review

    August 17, 2023

    10/10

    Beautiful terrace and excellent food. The service was impeccable.

  • Elizabeth R.6 reviews

    August 1, 2023

    10/10

    We’ve been coming to La Recreation for about ten years and it never disappoints, in fact it seems to be getting even better. The service last night was outstanding, the food was firstclass. And there’s always a new wine or bubbly to try.

  • Robin j.9 reviews

    July 30, 2023

    10/10

    Well I'm back again. We were here on opening night many years ago.. must be close on thirty years to be precise. It's changed a bit over the years but on every visit it has remained a must do.. The food is always good, the service is always good. It's a little bit of constant joy to us.

  • Patricia P.1 review

    June 11, 2023

    10/10

    After a lifetime of work-related and fun travel, both my husband and I regard this as one of our favourite restaurants anywhere. Entering the gates of La Rec always means entering a space where food matters, where's it's calm and friendly, and where everyone who works there is welcoming and cares about diners' experience. I first discovered La Rec when, catching a flight to Toulouse from Heathrow, I picked up From Here You Can't See Paris : Seasons of a French Village and Its Restaurant. The book is a delight, but dining at La Recreation is better.

  • Elizabeth R.6 reviews

    April 29, 2023

    10/10

    We have been coming here for almost 20 years and have never been disappointed. This week’s visit surpassed all other visits. Excellent food, presentation and service

  • William S.1 review

    April 14, 2023

    10/10

    My girlfriend and I loved our meal. The service and ambience were wonderful. I had not eaten there for 10 years and the new owner has done a spectacular job. The wine also was excellent and the choices sufficient. We give La Recreation a 10. My first introduction to the restaurant was in about 2008 and Michael Saunders wrote about it in the book You Cannot See Paris from Here. Thé husband and wife previous owners put it on the map with Michael who apparently still eats there! My English friends in the area also loved it and so hope they still love it. Its price fixed 45 Euro menu is excellent! Bon appétit! Bill and CC from Monflanquin and San Francisco

  • Megan S.7 reviews

    April 9, 2023

    10/10

    Our first visit this year to the restaurant and as usual it doesn’t disappoint. The food was outstanding, especially the scallops in butter sauce. The ambiance is fantastic, the staff amazing and the service was first class. A must visit restaurant 10/10

  • Janet F.4 reviews

    October 18, 2022

    10/10

    Good food with a choice of set menus or a la carte. Good outside space for dining. Staff were friendly and efficient. Would definitely go back when in the area again.

  • Vanessa C.1 review

    September 30, 2022

    9.5/10

    Excellent meal, every course was delicious. We highly recommend it and we will be returning!

  • Julian L.4 reviews

    September 2, 2022

    10/10

    This restaurant has great outside seating in the garden which added to the atmosphere as the evening darkened and the lights came on. The food was really well presented and the flavours and combinations went perfectly together. Can’t recommend this restaurant highly enough other than to say we will be going back again - soon.

  • Stephen A.5 reviews

    September 2, 2022

    10/10

    Once again a truly memorable experience at this wonderful, unique restaurant (our first visit since before the pandemic). Superb food quality based on creative, imaginative and subtle cuisine coupled with excellent, unhurried service in a beautiful and relaxing location.

  • Angela G.1 review

    August 27, 2022

    10/10

    Have visited this restaurant for years always a special evening in our holiday food service and ambience fantastic

  • Rebecca K.2 reviews

    August 22, 2022

    10/10

    Just as good as I remember from 30 years ago! Had a fantastic meal and would thoroughly recommend. Mercy beaucoup for a wonderful meal, we will be coming back! X

  • Evan C.3 reviews

    August 9, 2022

    9.5/10

    Lovely food in comfortable and friendly restaurant.

  • Catherine S.2 reviews

    July 1, 2022

    10/10

    A family group of 7 were made to feel very welcome. The food was fabulous and they even managed to adjust a menu to accommodate someone lactose intolerant, without a fuss. Overall a very special evening in a beautiful setting.

  • Mario S.1 review

    June 28, 2022

    10/10

    Very nice location with fine food and good Selection of wines

  • Beth B.3 reviews

    June 21, 2022

    10/10

    Unexpectedly excellent and memorable meal

  • Luke S.2 reviews

    June 18, 2022

    10/10

    Fantastic food in a stunning location. It was our meal of the holiday!

  • Robin j.9 reviews

    June 12, 2022

    10/10

    We were there the day it first opened and we've been going there for more years than I wish to think about. Food has always been good or above. The service suits me well. Not too overbearing but attentive when needed. The only outside noise is really the scream of the swifts flying above. They're dog friendly for those with pooches. Probably my favourite restaurant in The LOT.

  • Megan S.7 reviews

    May 1, 2022

    10/10

    A beautiful restaurant with friendly hosts. We dine regularly at this restaurant and have never had a bad experience. The food is consistently excellent with unusual and thoughtful combinations. Special note was the lamb dish and the lemon dessert. A very special restaurant that we will definitely visit again.

  • SIMON W.8 reviews

    October 2, 2021

    9.5/10

    We had not been here for 15 months, but were pleased to find that the food and service were as good as ever. The only real change was that the majority of the clientele was French. Glad to see these places still operating at a good level.

    review_preview

    See 4 photos

  • Julian L.4 reviews

    September 27, 2021

    10/10

    This is our favourite restaurant in Lot. Superb food, perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. The staff are always friendly and attentive. The outdoor setting in the courtyard is very relaxing and enjoyable. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the area as being well worth visiting. You will not regret it !

  • Phil R.2 reviews

    August 14, 2021

    9.5/10

    Very relaxing , courtyard dining

  • Russell I.33 reviews

    July 31, 2021

    9.5/10

    Delicious food and quick, friendly service. The mushroom veloute' was excellent. A bit too cool and rainy to sit in the lovely garden, but maybe next time!

  • Megan S.7 reviews

    July 16, 2021

    10/10

    Amazing food. Lovely atmosphere and attentive staff. We will return.

  • Lesley H.4 reviews

    September 25, 2020

    9.5/10

    First time inside as the weather has changed and autumn has arrived. Food as fab as ever. Staff amazing. Room is lovely but the lights are very bright. The ambience in the courtyard during the summer is wonderful with the twinkly lights and soft lighting. Think I would prefer the dining room lighting to be less bright. Other than that it is one of my fave local restaurants.

  • Jordan E.2 reviews

    September 15, 2020

    10/10

    Love this restaurant. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Atmosphere is really pleasant and relaxed. Food is incredible (and amazing value!) I think this is our 5th time here (second time in 2 weeks) and it never fails to disappoint.

  • Lesley H.4 reviews

    September 8, 2020

    10/10

    4th time here. Fabulous food and ambience. Our new favourite place to visit. Merci to the equipe. ????????????

  • Rob C.1 review

    August 29, 2020

    10/10

    First time we have been to la Recreation for many years but so glad we made the trip. Staff were welcoming and efficient, food was excellent from start to finish and well priced for the quality - we will definitely return.

  • SIMON W.8 reviews

    September 17, 2019

    10/10

    As usual, an excellent evening with good food and service.

  • Martin L.2 reviews

    June 30, 2019

    10/10

    Excellent. Full. Everything went smoothly, as usual. A very professional team.

  • - -1 review

    September 15, 2018

    10/10

    Ludvick was a great host and very under,standing with our limited French , His detailed descriptions of the various dishes made it a challenge to choose ,but they were all exquisite, We shall be back , Rachel was delightful as our server .

  • - -1 review

    August 4, 2018

    10/10

    This is a beautiful, stylish yet relaxed setting in which to savour the flavours of the region. The staff are very welcoming and clearly passionate about their customers experience. Worth every euro!

  • - -1 review

    June 3, 2018

    10/10

    Wonderful food in glorious setting

  • Roger H.1 review

    May 8, 2018

    10/10

    Delicious food in a lovely venue, served by charming and attentive staff. It's comparatively expensive, but worth it.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

418 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.