Back

Reviews - La Table Cave du Château

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 433 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Caelia C.
    Caelia C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Three of us sat at an outside table and the waiter whisked away the glass at my setting saying someone had touched it. He spoke good English. The food choice was excellantt, beautifully presented and very tasty. The lunch menu was also very good value and the setting delightful.

  2. Daniela Carmen O.
    Daniela Carmen O.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Gourmet food, excellent display of the dishes, very pleasant servers.

  3. Nelson J.
    Nelson J.
    • one review
    6/10

    Beautiful setting and atmosphere. Three of us had the daily menu with a flank steak that was a pretty bad cut of meat. Too much gristle and fat. Other courses were ok, but not great. Thus our meals were way overpriced. Not sure we’ll go back.

  4. Jon V.
    Jon V.
    • one review
    7/10

    Though the food was presented with valour from the kitchen it lacked the depth that also matched the atmosphere. Sat in idilic lands in the south of France the food should lead the palette to the terroirs of the region, the fine aromatics, the notes of hot vines. Instead butter and under salting coat the mouth and fill the nose with nothing more than hot dry air.

  5. JOO OK L.
    JOO OK L.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    From service, ambience to food, everything was perfect. Will seriously consider visiting the region again just in order to eat here.

  6. Paul O.
    Paul O.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Very good food and lovely setting. Great value set menu. Would definitely recommend it for a relaxed evening out. There is a shop selling wine and other local products which is worth a visit too.

  7. Corinda C.
    Corinda C.
    • one review
    10/10

    I love the calm atmosphere of this restaurant in perfect surroundings. The food is always good, and the staff are welcoming. It's also extremely good value.

  8. Sharon R.
    Sharon R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This is my favourite place to dine of anywhere I’ve ever been. The food never disappoints in taste and presentation is always perfect. The service is friendly and relaxed, yet to a high standard. As for the setting, either on the terrasse in summer or by the fire in winter I think it’s hard to beat. Génial!

  9. Mathilde v.
    Mathilde v.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Super nice and relaxed restaurant with wonderfull staff! Food is really good and sophisticated and the price and quality of the food is very good! Also, there is a small kids play area and they have a kids menu and high chairs... this restaurant is definitely nice for parents and kids!

  10. Sharon R.
    Sharon R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Consistently excellent food and service. Beautiful setting for a meal. My absolute favourite in Carcassonne

  11. Manon A.
    Manon A.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    A ne pas manquer !

  12. Fernando F.
    Fernando F.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Lugar excelente. Trato muy amable.

  13. Leonor C.
    Leonor C.
    • one review
    9/10

    We stopped here on our way to Carcassonne. Lovely place with good food and with a fair price. We chose the menu with wine choices by soumelier and loved them all. Best of all, wonderful and affordable wines at the lovely boutique!

  14. Lynn R.
    Lynn R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The restaurant was quiet due to the time of the year, but still enough people for some ambiance outside. Food was superb and well priced/ well presented!

  15. TAMAR U.
    TAMAR U.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent food with good service. Glass of wine included with the meal was great although would have been good if there was an alternative drink offered for children/teenagers/non - drinkers.

  16. Patricia C.
    Patricia C.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    I have eaten here before and always find the food and service to be excellent, tonight being no different. Food was delicious and service superb I would recommend this restaurant

  17. James Y.
    James Y.
    • one review
    10/10

    Superb

  18. Jill M.
    Jill M.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    We had a first-class lunch on the terrace. There is a 2 course or 3 course menu with a choice of at last half a dozen starters, mains and desserts (with or without appropriate accompanying wines). The service was attentive and courteous. After we had finished, we visited the adjoining Chateau Pennautier wine shop where we tasted half a dozen wines. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience. We have even booked to go back for lunch next week!

  19. Jackie W.
    Jackie W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely restaurant had great lunch & dinner during my holiday.

  20. MARGARET P.
    MARGARET P.
    • 6 reviews
    6.5/10

    We had booked a table, waitress said none available outside, there was, she just needed to move an umbrella. She disappeared so we sorted it ourselves. Other waitress pleasant. It seemed to be understaffed for the numbers of customers. Wer have eaten there many times and are generally satisfied. However as its becoming more popular perhaps they need more staff?

  21. Roger B.
    Roger B.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    Comparatively short menu and wines only available from their own vineyards, that said we had a very acceptable bottle of red. Food well prepared and presented, service was good without being intrusive.

  22. Lawrence N.
    Lawrence N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Love this restaurant. Fabulous food, attentive service and lovely wine

  23. Anthony P.
    Anthony P.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent quality and choice. Well presented and tasty, we will visit again soon!

  24. Robert b.
    Robert b.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great 3 course lunch with wine on a beautiful day.

  25. Eva S.
    Eva S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Perfecto y agradable

  26. Patricia C.
    Patricia C.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and service in lovely setting

  27. Julian C.
    Julian C.
    • one review
    10/10

    A very pleasant meal! Great food and service.

  28. Marcus O.
    Marcus O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Nice location not far from where we were staying in Pennautier, so we could walk there. Had a 7-month old baby in our party but he was accommodated without any problems. We had the 3 course menu (at lunchtime) which included a glass of wine each and was very reasonably priced. The service was paced nicely with friendly staff and delicious food, presented beautifully. Followed this up with a tasting (which was very professionally done,) and discounted as we had eaten in their restaurant. Couldn’t help buying some. An extremely pleasant experience and highly recommended.

  29. Albert W.
    Albert W.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    Good effort, good prices, very good wines from the owners vineyards. Could do better with more personnel and a more refined chef. To be recommended all the same.

  30. Berendina N.
    Berendina N.
    • 11 reviews
    9.5/10

    Lovely setting outside; food was very good and the wines of course were excellent. The only thing I don’t like isn’t the restaurant’s fault - I HATE people smoking at outside tables. But it isn’t against the law here. Lovely staff, lovely food. I would go again.

  31. BARBARA D.
    BARBARA D.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    good ambience, good food, good value

  32. Michael W.
    Michael W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent par tous.

  33. Debra S.
    Debra S.
    • one review
    9/10

    Good place for a reasonably priced, relaxing lunch. The staff were friendly and helpful the whole way through. The only negative was the length of time we waited for the bill.

  34. Patricia C.
    Patricia C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Very enjoyable food and lovely wine. We will come again. Thank you

  35. fabrice f.
    fabrice f.
    • one review
    10/10

    restaurant sympa

  36. Carin O.
    Carin O.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Fantastic food, beautifully plated . French cuisine at its best.

  37. PIER ERIC R.
    PIER ERIC R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent

  38. Sebastian G.
    Sebastian G.
    • one review
    10/10

    La Table cave du Chateau turned out to be so much more than expected. Pictures don't do justice to the beautiful setting...a large stone building with wooden beams, a big fire in the fireplace (this was in winter), and the space was filled with light! Service was exceptionally attentive, and the food was among the best we had in France. The restaurant is a short and easy drive (10 minutes max) just outside the city of Carcassonne. Because it is the restaurant of a winery, they also had a beautiful shop next door where we were able to buy some of the wines we had during dinner. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  39. Patricia C.
    Patricia C.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely restaurant in a beautiful setting

  40. MARGARET P.
    MARGARET P.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Went with husband and two friends. We all enjoyed it very much. We are confused about our Yums? Margaret Power