Register my restaurant
Help


French Traditional

Reviews - La Terrasse

8.4/10
679
7 Rue Victor Hugo, 37400 Amboise
French
Average price €30

La Terrasse

Find a table

Book for free

🔥 Already 4 bookings today

Reviews

8.4/10
Very good679 reviews
8.3/10

Food

8.7/10

Service

8.5/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Linda M.1 review

    June 11, 2024

    10/10

    The menu was in french and english, our waitress was lovely, the food was delicious, the setting great & it was easy to book online

  • Julie P.1 review

    May 7, 2024

    6/10

    The restaurant was recommended to us by our Airbnb host and was highly rated on Google. I think we might have just had a odd bad dinner there. We both ordered the lamb shank, mine was really tender and fell off the bone, but my husband's portion was very tough and looked undercooked. The flavors were ok, not really our personal taste, but we wanted to be adventurous and try new things. The onion soup was delicious and the bread was very good. They were not able to serve the dessert that we were really looking forward to having (brioche). We were both a bit disappointed, but as I mentioned, I think it was maybe not what most people experience. The staff was busy and running between upstairs seating and the main ground floor. They were very responsive when flagged down for our needs. If we had more days there, I would give it another chance.

  • Vladimir M.1 review

    April 21, 2024

    2.5/10

    I am not recommend it for american tourists. The restaurant has very unorganized menu with dishes, plus, not sharing ingredients of the dish (due to allergies) saying not understand English. Also, you will wait for a check very long and when you get it, you need to walk to pay by the bar. This restaurant needs to hire a real professional, who can create a menu, with allergies listed, also, teach their stuff ro explain, when question is asked.

  • Mitch A.4 reviews

    April 2, 2024

    4.5/10

    Service was good. They should be ashamed to serve that food. Everything that was ordered was really very bad. Onion soup was basically pile of onions with hardly any broth, no bread and a small, overly hard Parmesan crisp. Flavorless. The bavette was unseasoned and tough and the frites it came with were inedible as they were so undercooked they were soggy with cooking oil. Nasty. To top it off, the chocolate mousse was appalling and nothing that should come out of any kitchen let alone a French kitchen. It was basically whipped cream with a little bit of cocoa powder mixed in. Completely unsweetened so it was this odd flavor of cream and bittersweet chocolate. I graduated with a degree in pastry arts - I know what mousse is and it is not the abomination they served. Most of the food was left untouched. Spend your dining budget somewhere else. This is really very, very bad.

  • EDGAR V.8 reviews

    April 2, 2024

    6/10

    The location of the restaurant is good in Amboise. The food is mediocre, nothing I would recommend but ok if you need to eat. We had the fish special and some caramelized cauliflower. The French onion soup was fairly poor. The ambiance was ok until a couple with a large dog was seated a few tables down, we got to eat with the sound of a dog lapping up water (this was inside on the 1st floor).

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Joanna S.1 review

    October 5, 2023

    5.5/10

    We were first to arrive at the resturant. We had eaten our entree well before anyone else had ordered. Mains were slow and rhen we waited and waited as others who had arrived well after us ordered and recieved there desert. We coulnt not get the serving stafff attention. Were were eventually given a single menu and informed this were now very busy. Others still got served. After 2 hours and watching others recieve their desert we paid and left. We asked if we had done somthing wrong but just got a shrug. Pitty we had been really Looking foward to dining here.

  • Declan C.2 reviews

    September 4, 2023

    7/10

    Great location , Understaffed when we ate - but staff who were working tried their utmost to give a good service! Drinks offering was mediocre.. food very average . Would not return unfortunately.

  • DAVID R.1 review

    September 7, 2023

    10/10

    So good we're going back tonight.

  • Angelique T.7 reviews

    August 26, 2023

    10/10

    Great food and friendly service!

  • Marianna B.5 reviews

    August 1, 2023

    5.5/10

    Every place has its off days. But I was really surprised to read positive reviews here about the service. We had a booking. No one was downstairs to meet us. We waited for a while. Went up and a water asked us to go down again so that he could check if we indeed had a reservation. Once checked, he sent us up. Another waitress asked us to go wait down again. Really messy. Once seated, we waited for 25 min for someone to take our order. The staff did not know the ingredients in some of the dishes and had to check. The food came quickly after that. But the service was really weird: a waiter brought us water glasses which he set on the table upside down (rim down); after the entrée, the waitress simply took our used cutlery and dumped it on the table to be used for the next course. If asked, I would have chosen to reuse the same cutlery: why waste water? But I was not asked and putting used cutlery on the table surface was really unhygienic. We waited for our bill for 20 min and in the end paid at the cashier on our way out. Perhaps this is customary but no one explained when we asked for the bill and noone came to check on us while we waited even though the place was nearly empty by then. This did not seem to be language related as I speak French. The food was ok and prices - reasonable. Too bad about the service.

  • Elisa K.15 reviews

    June 25, 2023

    10/10

    Only in Amboise for a day. Glad found this restaurant on Fork and made a Sunday lunch booking before arrival. On the main street with restaurants under the castle but what sets this apart was the lovely roof terrace, especially on a sweltering weekend. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Went for set menu and the sea bream main was delicious and light

  • Fiona S.1 review

    June 3, 2023

    10/10

    First ate at this restaurant in 2003 with a group of musicians competing in the French Open brass band competition. We booked every year until 2016, only missing 2009 due to a baby arrival! First class service and food every single time. This year, we didn’t compete in the competition but 9 of us travelled for the weekend and booked the restaurant as usual. It didn’t disappoint. We are planning to compete next year and will book to eat here with our group.

  • Brian T.1 review

    May 21, 2023

    5.5/10

    Sadly l feel it necessary to leave a low rating on this restaurant. We ordered a main course as we intended to have a Dessert also ordering Water and a Bottle of Wine, the meal was on the table within five minutes and was so obviously pre cooked/prepared the Burger at €19.00 was so fatty and the fries were wilted and soggy and to top it all though we asked where the drinks were on being served the meal the water came but they turned up with the wine when we had almost finished the meal so we sent it back too late. There was no staff to ask about the wine and on paying the maitre de took payment expecting me to complain which was pointless but he didn’t even apologise. Poor show from a restaurant promoting itself as a bit upmarket.

  • Melanie H.2 reviews

    December 26, 2022

    10/10

    Restaurant’s ambiance was nice and waiting staff very helpful and friendly. Food was lovely and although it was a limited / small selection it was sufficiently varied and very enjoyable. Really good wine selection including one of my favourites.

  • Ken D.1 review

    October 30, 2022

    10/10

    We were greeted with a cheerful receptionist with a spider drawn on her cheek in celebration of Halloween. The restaurant had fun Halloween decorations. Our server was quite helpful despite our minimal French and her basic English. Service was fast. Everyone in our party of 4 enjoyed all the dishes we ordered. The foie gras for the table was excellent. The vegetarian salad was the best salad we have had in our 12 days in France—more variety of vegetables than we got elsewhere and a lovely dressing. It was big enough for a meal for one of our party and definitely worth splitting for those having another course. The fish and lamb shank were both excellent. The chocolate mouse and the chocolate puff pastry were superb. The ambiance is more casual and this appeared to be a popular spot for locals. The prices were moderate and the menu included casual fare such as burgers. We would definitely recommend it for a good dinner after a day of sight-seeing.

  • Marie J.2 reviews

    October 8, 2022

    9/10

    We were very well received at La Terrace, the staff is friendly, speaks respectable English and is very responsive. We were sad to have to sit indoors, but that is where “large” parties were placed. The terrace is upstairs and quite lovely… the dining room indoors is unremarkable tho the ancient stone walls are impressive. Everyone enjoyed their meal - 7/7 people being happy is great! Our choices ranged from the Terrace Burger to the Pork Belly to the fish of the day. Truly well prepared with care and beautiful presentation all around. The profiteroles are an impressive dessert and very good… definitely order those as the quality is far superior to many. And the coffee is very good too… an unusual occurrence in France. All in all: am excellent experience. We would each return if given the opportunity. Merci à l’équipe pour un excellent repas et un très bon moment!

  • Keith H.1 review

    September 24, 2022

    9.5/10

    We made a short notice booking for a group of 12 as everywhere else in Amboise appears to be full. We were not disappointed! Good food with very attentive service. Would highly recommend.

  • Ahmed s.157 reviews

    September 24, 2022

    8.5/10

    Very good service and menu

  • Reid P.1 review

    September 17, 2022

    8/10

    The room was very comfortable and service was very efficient. We had 3 plates of the day and a La,b shank which was very tasty. Did not indulge in the desserts so cannot comment. Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Cecilia Ines F.3 reviews

    September 15, 2022

    10/10

    Loved thé ambiance in a terrasse in a beautiful night!

  • Patricia G.8 reviews

    September 9, 2022

    9.5/10

    Very nice meal in a lovely setting. The restaurant was full, but they had saved a nice table by the window so it was good that we had reserved ahead. The menu traditionel was just as shown on the app, well prepared and satisfying. The deserts were amazing! If you like deserts, this is the place to go in Amboise.

  • Jessica R.8 reviews

    August 10, 2022

    10/10

    Really excellent cuisine in a beautiful setting. Polite, accommodating and knowledgeable waitstaff. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the Loire Valley.

  • Gemma L.1 review

    July 21, 2022

    4.5/10

    Despite booking and receiving email and text confirmation, they claimed not to have received our booking. Our waitress was patronising and abrupt and our food was cold. We felt like second class citizens as English visitors and would certainly not return.

  • David H.4 reviews

    July 2, 2022

    8.5/10

    The food was very good. The service was friendly and efficient. The restaurant is attractive and the setting of the terrace is impressive. The overall experience would have felt elegant if the serving staff were dressed more professionally. Nice to have a kids menu.

  • Edward M.8 reviews

    June 17, 2022

    6.5/10

    Our food was fine. This is not a place for great food but acceptable food. Our server was very good. Our table on the terrace was comfortable setting.

  • Ellen C.35 reviews

    May 28, 2022

    8.5/10

    The location is wonderful. The service was good. The food was tasty, however the fries were very soggy. The entrecôte was well cooked, medium just as we wanted. The chevre sauce was a bit on the bland side. The profiteroles for dessert were wonderful as they should be.

  • Amanda S.4 reviews

    May 23, 2022

    10/10

    Lovely stone building with excellent authentic French food. In reviews, I read there was a burger on the menu, so I worried it was bad American food for tourists. It was a Monday night and lots of restaurants in Amboise are closed and La Terrasse was the only reservation I could get, so I gave it a chance. It was great food and wine. The staff was small and very busy since all tables were full, but they were still professional and helpful. It was a chilly, rainy night, so we sat indoors, but the atmosphere was warm and lively. I highly recommend La Terrasse.

  • Scott t.21 reviews

    May 10, 2022

    6/10

    This is a bustling middle of the road restaurant fairly priced and average food in a decent setting. Good for a casual meal but not going to overwhelm you.

  • Kiriaki S.7 reviews

    March 25, 2022

    7.5/10

    Family friendly food, nice staff.

  • Summer C.1 review

    February 18, 2022

    8.5/10

    Food was delicious we had the lamb and burger

Tripadvisor reviews

326 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.