Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - Langton's at Cooper's Hill

8/10
131
Englefield Green, TW20 0LJ Egham
British
Average price £30

Langton's at Cooper's Hill

Find a table

Book for free

🔥 Already 5 bookings today

Reviews

8/10
Very good131 reviews
7.9/10

Food

8.1/10

Service

8.3/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Lynn J.2 reviews

    June 18, 2024

    9/10

    Beautiful surroundings and attentive staff, no rushing and good value for money - will be back to sample the evening menu or perhaps the Sunday roast. A great find !

  • Shirley W.1 review

    May 23, 2024

    8/10

    Lovely place for gathering with friends

  • Derek Y.14 reviews

    May 6, 2024

    9.5/10

    Excellent afternoon tea in a lovely surrounding.

  • Gavin M.29 reviews

    April 18, 2024

    8/10

    Beautiful place. Portions big. Lovely cooked very tasty. Reasonable prices.

  • Carolyn S.2 reviews

    March 9, 2024

    2.5/10

    Very disappointed we had been before and it was fantastic. This time the sandwiches had been made and left and were dry and stale. The scones did not seem homemade were small and you now only got 1 each. The cakes looked supermarket brought and they were served broken and smashed. We waited for service and had to ask to get service throughout the afternoon. The bubbly was not even half a glass and it was watered down with soda water. Very poor.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • David H.1 review

    February 14, 2024

    10/10

    A wonderful experience in every way. lovely venue, lovely food, lovely staff.

  • Anne M.1 review

    January 31, 2024

    7.5/10

    A good meal reasonably priced in lovely surroundings. Service was a little slow due to only one waitress bring on her own over a particularly busy lunchtime. The food was good but the menu is too limited to return often.

  • Steven G.1 review

    January 19, 2024

    7.5/10

    Our first visit to Langtons. Impressive location, building and classy dining area. Some confusion with our online booking for the Bottomless Afternoon Tea, eventually resolved. Food and drink (Prosecco) quality enjoyable but not the quality the setting deserves. Not too busy so expected a more attentive service level. Very quiet, Fri afternoon ! Elderly residents expected and seemed to provide most of the restaurants custom. Overall, a lovely venue which could offer so much more to external customers if that’s what Langtons really want. Will try the Sunday Lunch.

  • Irene H.2 reviews

    January 19, 2024

    8.5/10

    We are never disappointed when we visit Langtons - a little known gem in wonderful surroundings . We had a friend with us who had never been before and she was delighted. The food is always good and not expensive. The service was a bit slow but otherwise an enjoyable lunch.

  • Venetia F.1 review

    January 1, 2024

    8/10

    The sandwich portion was quite little for 4 pax and no refill offer for anything including the teas and coffees. Presentation was alright not great.

  • vinita s.1 review

    December 29, 2023

    3/10

    Went for a Christmas afternoon tea at the Langton’s at Cooper’s Hill on the 29th of December.. It was meant to be a special treat and a memorable experience of a traditional afternoon tea for my guests from overseas….. but it turned out to be an experience in most abysmal hospitality and an absolutely poor excuse for tea food by any standard. The food was brought and dumped on our table, with no explanation. I had to visit the front desk to check if someone could come over and let us know which sandwich was which ( since we weren’t certain which were the meat sandwiches and as we had informed the manager at the time of booking and again a day before our arrival that we had a vegetarian in our group ).. we were then told by the server curtly that there were no special sandwiches provided for the vegetarian guest and that was all that there was. We were served two shot glasses of something which we didn’t know what they were, so we then asked about that and were informed it was a sample of eggnog to be shared amongst the 4 of us! If the hotel is that hard up for food, perhaps they should not host an afternoon tea at all , but certainly not insult guests by serving such meagre portions … The afternoon tea sweet treats included two tarts which were halved to be shared amongst us four, mashed up chocolate indiscriminate something and four mini macroons heaped one on top of the other … a terrible presentation of a what ought to be a classy afternoon tea, Dried up ,tasteless sandwiches( except for ham and mustard ones which made our eyes water!). I am disgusted at how the hotel hosted the afternoon tea, appalled at the audacity to charge us a special Christmas rate ( 119.80/£ for the four of us) and the poor service that was offered. I could go on on more on how there was no place to keep the tea strainers after we poured tea into the cups and so we tried balancing the strainers on the side of the cups on the saucers, because to ask for an extra plate to keep the strainers, I would have needed to once again go to the front desk! When I sent a mail informing the hotel about this shabby treatment and shoddy tea service , I was offered a 25% discount on the next visit and a complimentary bottle of wine/ prosecco ( we are teetotallers.. so that is meaningless to us!)..,…!!!! But despite that, it would be very interesting to know how many people after paying for such a pathetic afternoon tea and poor hospitality would feel like a repeat visit to this hotel for a 25% discount! It’s obvious Langdon’s at Cooper’s Hill doesn’t feel obligated to provide for services paid or guest satisfaction. Such a pathetic show ! Wish we had gone elsewhere.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Samuel W.1 review

    December 23, 2023

    9/10

    Super welcoming and accommodating staff, lovely venue in a lovely area. The food was nice, very rich though!

  • Karen B.1 review

    December 13, 2023

    4.5/10

    Lovely staff but have to say food very disappointing.

  • Stacey k.1 review

    December 9, 2023

    6.5/10

    We were shown to our table on forst arrival tablecloth had brown staines on it and so do the napkin.we was then told that the table was not set up for afternoon teas qas then asked to move tables to which we did. Sat on the table that was then set up for afternoon tea to find the same problem again stained table cloth. Waited 45 mins for pur afternoon tea to arrive and when it did come sandwiches felt that were made earlier as the bread.edges were slightly hard .

  • Sam E.1 review

    October 27, 2023

    4/10

    Lonely surroundings but a problem from start to finish Took over 10 minutes to find a parking space as most were allocated to owner bays . Taken to a table that was set for lunch not afternoon tea had to wait for the table to be changed while we sat there . Even then we had to ask for knives and napkins . We were told that they were of course expecting us for afternoon tea yet this took 50 minutes to be bought out!!!! ??? No explanation of the cakes , no offer to upgrade to adding a glass of something . We felt the staff were very absent on that day , there were only 3 tables being used at the time we were booked so I dread to think how they cope when it’s busier ? Overall a very disappointing visit one that we sadly won’t be repeating

  • Lynn J.6 reviews

    October 8, 2023

    7/10

    Lovely building. Staff pleasant. Actual food mediocre

  • Sergio P.1 review

    August 28, 2023

    9/10

    There’s always a but, though. Did not receive a drop of sparkling wine as part of my deal. We had messaged in advanced saying that it was my daughter’s 21st. Not even a happy birthday. Quite disappointing really.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Margaret W.2 reviews

    August 6, 2023

    8.5/10

    Food was good apart from the nut roast which was disappointing. Service and ambiance good

  • Chris H.1 review

    August 8, 2023

    7.5/10

    This is a lovely venue and we enjoyed our meal, but we were almost the only people there and I was very disappointed that despite ringing ahead to request something for the friend whose birthday we were celebrating. I had discussed with them that she was gluten and dairy free. I appreciate those restrictions are a challenge, but despite reminding the staff when I arrived and they acknowledged it, nothing was produced and no communication until I asked when the bill was presented, when they just said they couldn't do anything. We were not offered tea or coffee either. These spoilt the experience.

  • Jessica F.1 review

    August 5, 2023

    10/10

    Lovely afternoon for our afternoon tea. Lily outr waitress made it extra special and gave amazing service

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Mary H.1 review

    August 2, 2023

    8/10

    After driving up and down Coopers Lane we had to phone reception to ask directions, to be told it was behind the closed gates. Had Afternoon Cream Tea, was very disappointed with the sandwich and cake selection after seeing the menu on the web site. Scones were delicious and the service was good.

  • Jeanette W.1 review

    May 28, 2023

    10/10

    This was an excellent experience, with charming efficient staff, first class food and a lovely restaurant with beautiful pictures, furniture and table linen. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and will certainly visit again.

  • Tracey H.1 review

    May 11, 2023

    9.5/10

    Another lovely meal at Langton's. We were very pleased with all the choices on the menu and the wine. Lovely to meet with friends in the lounge to enjoy a G+T before dinner.

  • Tracey H.1 review

    April 2, 2023

    9/10

    Langton’s a a best kept secret to enjoy with friends and family who will really appreciate how special it is. I can’t wait to go again. Beautiful location, very welcoming staff and well priced food.

  • Miranda Y.8 reviews

    April 1, 2023

    9/10

    Had afternoon tea here today. Lovely place , quiet and luxurious in an old restored building in beautiful grounds. Will go back again sometime in warmer weather for another tea and a walk around the property. Great service and decent food at a pretty reasonable price. They also provided me ( a coeliac) with a gluten free tea , which was a treat !

  • Hilmus A.1 review

    February 14, 2023

    7.5/10

    This restaurant and food was amazing, but maybe is was not the right plays for our romantic valentine night out, we really expected a romantic candle light dinner but it was not so unfortunately, we drove all the way from Bristol for this. it also took about 15 to 20 minutes to get someone's attention to have another glass of wine. We think there should be a better settings and service Valentine's evening.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Catherine H.1 review

    January 14, 2023

    9/10

    The staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The food was fantastic, there was plenty of top ups of the tea and coffee. The room was quiet in terms of numbers of people except for one large party but this gave us the opportunity to talk easily. Really enjoyed our visit

  • R M2 reviews

    January 4, 2023

    10/10

    A truly wonderful lunch! Delectable food, perfect ambiance and impeccable service. Will be returning very soon and frequently.

  • Chris M.1 review

    December 17, 2022

    10/10

    Brilliant... the place, the surroundings, the place settings, the food, the staff, the service all simply brilliant, 5 stars, highly recommended.

  • Dawn B.1 review

    November 20, 2022

    7/10

    They need a lot more car parking, took a long time to get parking. When we got to our table at 14.40 we had to wait 30 minutes for starters. After that service was good until we asked for coffees. Another long wait as they had run out of cups. The waiter called Ethan was very good and very apologetic about everything, we were charged only for the food. Such a shame as this was booked for my Mums birthday and our first visit to Langtons. Dawn Beasley

  • Dave R.99 reviews

    October 22, 2022

    10/10

    Very nice lunch with good quality food with a warm and friendly service.

  • Victoria J.2 reviews

    October 7, 2022

    10/10

    Langton's is REALLY lovely. The setting, the decor, the ambiance, the food, the service. The whole experience was perfect. This is my third visit and I shall be coming back. Each time I bring new friends and they are amazed at how lovely it is. Such a great discovery.

  • Fungai Z.1 review

    October 1, 2022

    10/10

    Planned a bridal shower afternoon tea and the experience was AMAZING!!! The sandwiches and cakes were scrumptious with a variety of hot drinks to suit everyone's tastes and preferences. The ambience was peaceful and relaxed. The staff were very attentive and accommodating.

  • Alan H.5 reviews

    September 6, 2022

    10/10

    Fabulous eating experience at Langtons. Staff really attentive, and the food was exceptional. The prices are very reasonable. for a Restaurant of this quality. Highly Recommended!

  • Julie W.3 reviews

    July 30, 2022

    10/10

    Thank you to all at Cooper's Hill who gave us such an enjoyable evening. We received a very warm welcome and enjoyed drinks on the terrace before our meal. All dishes were beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The standard of customer service that we experienced was extremely high. We were well looked after and will be returning soon.

  • Karen P.1 review

    July 21, 2022

    10/10

    The champagne afternoon tea was delicious and beautifully presented. Worth the visit!

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Clive B.1 review

    July 1, 2022

    10/10

    This place was exceptional. Can't fault it in any way. The service, food and surroundings were first class. we will certainly visit again soon. Would recommend to any future customer.

  • Karen D.1 review

    June 22, 2022

    4.5/10

    Dined here this evening with a table of four to celebrate an 80th Birthday celebration . What a beautiful setting awaits when you drive in. Sadly from there our whole experience can only be described as a disaster . We waited twenty minutes at a table before we had to look for Staff to order a drink . Another one hour ten minutes before we received any food . Only two puddings arrived and once again after ten minutes we chased Staff to locate the other two ! Never again shall we return .

  • Craig P.1 review

    April 15, 2022

    10/10

    Staff very attentive and the food was fantastic. Came to see as husband at college in the late 1970s early 1980s. Will be back.

  • Elizabeth W.1 review

    April 13, 2022

    9/10

    We had a delicious lunch today. Service great as was wine and food. Needs to be marketed better. An unknown gem. Very stylish restuarant wonderful patio and surroundings, but needs a bit more atmosphere.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

46 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.