Back

Reviews - Laura Ashley The Tea Room - Solihull

8.1/10

Very good

based on 98 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Annette P.
    Annette P.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    This was my third visit. Love the furnishings but unfortunately due to Covid was not as enjoyable. Hazard markings on the carpet , fewer visitors so less atmosphere but biggest criticism would be that on the other occasions I felt there was a better selection. There were not enough savouries and too many sweet treats. I felt that the selection was being filled out with scones as there were 4 for 2 people on top of a lot of other sweets. Also other times I have been approached and asked if they could bring more sandwiches. Still a delightful place and would go again in normal times.

  2. Prabjot F.
    Prabjot F.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Staff were welcoming. Food was disappointing to say the least - best thing about the afternoon tea were the scones. The sandwiches were unfortunately not great - cucumber sandwich was soggy and inedible, egg mayonnaise barely had any filling. As for desserts were dry and stale unfortunately. Experience didn’t live up to expectations

  3. Julie B.
    Julie B.
    • one review
    7/10

    Was seated straight away serviced quickly but was not offered extra tea or if we were enjoying the food

  4. Nimit S.
    Nimit S.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    We were expecting a lot more, the decor was very standard. The food was disappointing, very average food and something I could have made at home taste wise. Staff were friendly but overall did not live up to my expectations.

  5. Ahmad J.
    Ahmad J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent

  6. Anna k.
    Anna k.
    • one review
    5/10

    We had a wait of at least half a hour after the pots of tea arrived for the scones, although we were told that there was a delay. Considering that the table was booked well in advance good preparation was lacking. However, the worst issue was when one of the guests received a badly broken scone, I did not say anything at the time as to not draw attention in the restaurant..... whichever member of staff thought it was ok definitely needs more training.

  7. Alison W.
    Alison W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful service as per usual! Its the best afternoon tea i have ever been too! Superb value for money. My only negative is that there seemed to only be one girl based in the restaurant and there were bookings and walk ins and she seemed a little stretched at times as she was predominately on her own?, she did have another girl helping occasionally. But fabulous as always xx

  8. Claire W.
    Claire W.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    I booked afternoon tea for my mother as a Christmas gift after finding this tea room and details of a festive afternoon tea online. The tea room decor is beautiful and the table settings were very festive. It is very easy to find. The afternoon tea was lovely,the food was delicious and was presented very well. The only criticism of the whole afternoon was the staff who sadly were not very attentive, we had to chase them to ask for drinks and our teas and there was not a friendly welcome or departure. We genuinely enjoyed the afternoon but this took a shine off what could have been perfect.

  9. Geraldine S.
    Geraldine S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The tea room was exactly what I was expecting - so perfectly Laura Ashley - the decor, the ambience, the furniture, the china. FABULOUS! The staff were very pleasant, smart, courteous and very attentive but not instrusive. I took my mother and two sisters for the festive prosecco afternoon tea. We enjoyed our visit immensely. The sandwiches, warm scones, beautifully delicate minature cakes, the tea and of course the prosecco were all sublime and a wonderful treat. Thank you for an absolutely fabulous afternoon. 10/10

  10. Tara W.
    Tara W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fab food, service and atmosphere

  11. Mark H.
    Mark H.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    I took my Mum as a birthday treat for brunch and booked a table for 10am. The food was excellent and the staff very polite and courteous. My only criticism would be that our drinks, breakfast tea and hot chocolate, came almost instantly and there was a reasonable wait for the food. This meant that by the time the food had arrived we had either finished our drink or it had gone cold. The wait for the food was not excessive, at least we knew it was being prepared to order, it would just have been nice if the drinks had arrived closer in time to the food.

  12. Jennie H.
    Jennie H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent. pretty dining area, delicious food, coffee and tea plentiful . Friendly, attentive staff. Will definitely visit again.

  13. Vivien H.
    Vivien H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very very nice ,every thing was first class that includes the very pleasant young waitress's thankyou.

  14. Judith P.
    Judith P.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    My friends and i went here for a birthday treat afternoon tea . We were greeted by a warm welcome The waitress were very efficient and nothing was to much trouble I would recommend this tearoom and will certainly be returning.

  15. Jaspal K.
    Jaspal K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service from start to finish! We had the Vegan afternoon along with a few light bites and everything was delicious, the staff were very helpful and we'll definitely be coming back!

  16. Alex T.
    Alex T.
    • one review
    5.25/10

    It was ok but service was incredibly slow and bread on sandwiches was a little stale. Even once our food was served which was nearly an hour after we arrived, nobody came to ask us if we needed or wanted anything else.

  17. Alison W.
    Alison W.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Good quality afternoon tea

  18. Lorraine H.
    Lorraine H.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a lovely afternoon tea, good selection of sweet and savoury very good service by all staff,what was not eaten was boxed to take home which was a lovely.

  19. Annette D.
    Annette D.
    • one review
    10/10

    I took my elderly parents for Afternoon tea & we had a wonderful time. The food was superb, & there was no problem in replacing the meat based sandwich with a vegetarian option. Both parents loved the cakes & pastries & both ate more than I expected them to! The staff were extremely attentive & very pleasant. Hope to return in the near future.

  20. Celia H.
    Celia H.
    • one review
    9/10

    A lovely treat. We were given afternoon tea as a gift from friends and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Pleasant room and a delightful young lady to look after you. After you’ve made your choice of tea/coffee and jam your afternoon tea experience begins. Well presented 3 tier cake stand with sandwiches, scones and cakes. We managed to eat the first two tiers and we were given the cakes, etc in a smart box to take home. Totally beaten! Will certainly go again.

  21. Sandra E.
    Sandra E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Second visit here. As lovely as ever. Staff so welcoming and friendly. Coffee top up at no extra charge, always a bonus. Another round of sandwiches if required. Well presented and freshly made. Delightful surroundings.

  22. Helena W.
    Helena W.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    We booked 2 vegan afternoon teas. We were seated immediately on arrival and staff were attentive. The food was lovely. The vegan scones, cakes and mixed roast vegetable sandwiches were delicious. The tearoom is decorated beautifully with good layout.

  23. Sanj S.
    Sanj S.
    • one review
    10/10

    I had such a lovely afternoon at the laura Ashley tearoom. The ambience, staff and tea was to die for. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience.

  24. Shirley L.
    Shirley L.
    • one review
    9/10

    Beautiful setting, the room was bright and airy with lovely fixtures and fittings. Maybe one more finger sandwich each would have been nice, there were three each, on average afternoon teas you usually have at least four each. The scones were really tasty and it was nice to have two plain and two with fruit. We were given two pots of jam and one pot of cream, I feel this should have been the opposite, two pots of cream and one pot of jam. We didn’t even use one pot of jam between us but had to ask for more cream. That was not a big issue because the cream was brought to us with no questions asked. We did purchase two glasses of prosseco which I thought was expensive. Twelve pounds seemed a little extortionate when it’s only £6 for a bottle. On the whole we enjoyed the afternoon but not sure that I would revisit because £20 each is very expensive when you can pay £19 for two at Valerie patisserie. The afternoon tea is amazing and there is a huge variety of drinks included with as many refills as you like.

  25. Eleanor O.
    Eleanor O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely afternoon tea. Friendly helpful staff

  26. Marian S.
    Marian S.
    • one review
    10/10

    A very calm and relaxing venue. Excellent food and service.

  27. Lois C.
    Lois C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Although we made a late booking of4.30pm and my daughter was delayed on her journey from Cambridge,we were not rushed,staff were very attentive.A most enjoyable accession.Thank you.

  28. Jane R.
    Jane R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely light airy room, very nicely decorated. Waitress attentive and friendly without being intrusive. Good variety of sandwiches, plenty of choice for those who are vegetarian, lovely scones and attractive selection of cakes offered. This was a very pleasant experience for my friends and I to indulge in tempting offerings to celebrate my 70th birthday.

  29. Dorothy B.
    Dorothy B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fabulous afternoon tea. Served beautifully on lovely china tea service with tea served in individual teapots. Beautifully decorated room. Food was delicious- and we were able to order more sandwiches and tea. Service was great - very well looked after. Very polite and courteous. A thoroughly fabulous afternoon. Thank you.

  30. Tim D.
    Tim D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Such a good experience! The tea room was very pretty, with welcoming staff, exceptional afternoon tea with plenty of food! I already want to go back.

  31. Mary M.
    Mary M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely visit. Friendly staff. Delighted with our afternoon tea

  32. Sarah b.
    Sarah b.
    • one review
    10/10

    A lovely, calm ambience and setting to share afternoon tea with friends.

  33. Julie S.
    Julie S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely, booked it for my mother’s 75th Birthday, she thoroughly enjoyed it, service was wonderful.

  34. Tracy E.
    Tracy E.
    • one review
    10/10

    The afternoon tea was lovely. Sandwiches and scones were refillable as was the tea and coffee. There was no rush and we were able to sit and chat while enjoying the food. Would definitely recommend afternoon tea. The staff were polite, efficient and friendly.

  35. Elaine H.
    Elaine H.
    • one review
    10/10

    This is the second time I've experienced the afternoon tea here and it was yet another fantastic experience! Beautiful setting, lovely atmosphere, great service and of course, delicious food!

  36. Pooja P.
    Pooja P.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Waitresses were really lovely. Food was good, way too much- left a scone each- we were also informed that sandwiches and scones were re-fillable but absolutely not needed. Service was a bit slow when a group turned up after us

  37. Helen B.
    Helen B.
    • one review
    10/10

    All the food was very tasty and excellent

  38. Jane H.
    Jane H.
    • one review
    8/10

    Very pleasant experience

  39. Sue m.
    Sue m.
    • one review
    10/10

    very enjoyable. The food was lovely and the staff very attentive. I particularly enjoyed the crayfish and the prosseco was delicious. It was a very calm and relaxed atmosphere

  40. Shazia R.
    Shazia R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great atmosphere and decor, it felt very quiet and tranquil and peaceful. Service was great as well as the food and tea, cutlery used matches the theme and the food produced was very yummy! It served our purposes and set a high standard. Fantastic time and experience, would highly recommend.