Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Reviews - Le Bistro Volney

9.5/10
1191
38 Rue Saint-Georges, 35000 RennesSee map

Average price €33

Formule Carte €28

Reservation

Find a table

MENU

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

9.5/10
Excellent1191 reviews
9.6/10

Food

9.6/10

Service

9.3/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Camille C.
    Camille C.

    September 18, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Excellente cuisine et service de qualité !

  • Aleksandra K.
    Aleksandra K.

    September 15, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Brilliant!

  • Jean-Pierre Y.
    Jean-Pierre Y.

    September 1, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent food and very nice ambiance. Hosts are very friendly and helpful. Menu has daily specials and to be honest I wanted to try all dishes as they were all very tempting Has a great evening. Thank you so much to the team for a such wonderful meal and pleasant evening Will definitely come back

  • Neil M.
    Neil M.

    August 14, 20221 review

    10/10

    Excellent small restaurant, v friendly service, food top quality (and we have had many high-end / expensive meals), liked the tasting of a couple of wine variants before selecting which glass to have with each course. Excellent value. Book ahead!

  • Christian H.
    Christian H.

    August 6, 20221 review

    10/10

    EXCELLENT ET ORIGINAL

  • Philip H.
    Philip H.

    May 30, 20221 review

    10/10

    A superb restaurant with really interesting menu choices. The menu is not extensive but the choices are all delicious, and each course has a daily special. They have a menu in English and the team also speak it. Great choice!

  • Michael K.
    Michael K.

    May 8, 20221 review

    9/10

    We were happy to find anything on a Sunday, and were so delighted with this little gem. Very tiny, and the outside tables were noisy owing to the place across the street, but the food on the small menu was just outstanding — starting with an unexpected amuse bouche of asparagus crème. And the woman who served us (and did everything else short of the cooking) was delightful.

  • Sally W.
    Sally W.

    May 2, 202224 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent service and a lovely lunch at this small, friendly restaurant.

  • Alain C.

    April 3, 20221 review

    10/10

    Très bien, félicitations au cuisinier et service très sympathique

  • Camille B.
    Camille B.

    December 11, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Toujours un réel plaisir !

  • Robin H.

    September 13, 20211 review

    10/10

    super

  • Johanna T.

    September 9, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Superbe ! Service excellent aux petits soins et délicieux plats

  • Catherine L.

    August 29, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    Très bon produits Très bons conseils pour la carte On a adoré

  • Karim B.

    August 26, 20211 review

    9/10

    Très bonne cuisine, bon service, intérieur sympa

  • Frederic L.

    August 23, 20215 reviews

    10/10

    Cuisine excellent et accueil particulièrement sympathique

  • Guillaume R.
    Guillaume R.

    August 5, 20207 reviews

    9.5/10

    Short menu, local food, great dishes and great service. Highly recommended.

  • Christopher And Anna S.
    Christopher And Anna S.

    July 25, 20202 reviews

    9/10

    Great restaurant...quality throughout, but not pretentious! A delightful meal. Beautiful location amongst the old Breton houses. A wonderful evening, and great memories.

  • Kaio F.
    Kaio F.

    November 3, 20191 review

    10/10

    It was perfect, second time i come here with my girlfriend and it's still a good experience !

  • Greg t.

    October 21, 20195 reviews

    7.5/10

    Bistro food prepared with some interesting accents and flavours. Not nouvelle. Wines better than average. Appears to be popular with locals and families.

  • Michael C.

    October 13, 20191 review

    8/10

    The service was exceptional, the atmosphere warm and inviting and our dinner was pure joy. We felt very welcome. We should have discovered this gem on previous travels to Renne.

  • Luc B.
    Luc B.

    September 22, 20193 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent starter. Good advices. Porc plate accompanied by an amber beer. I'm very satisfied to have discovered this exclusive place in a touristical area.

  • Aurelie G.
    Aurelie G.

    July 8, 201913 reviews

    9/10

    Great food, good daily changing menu options. Only point of improvement is the service: we waited quite long on our food and they forgot our drinks.

  • Joan D.
    Joan D.

    June 14, 20193 reviews

    10/10

    Tiny place but lovely atmosphere and food.

  • Stephen B.

    May 31, 20191 review

    9/10

    A wonderful atmosphere dining outside watching life pass by. The dishes were all very tasty, I would prefer more vegetables on the plate with the main course, but the French seem to regard vegetables as an adjunct, rather than an important component of a dish. Dessert particularly delicious, a creation of fresh strawberries, baked apple and crunchy bits! House wine excellent too, and service very friendly.

  • - -

    May 27, 20191 review

    10/10

    Fabulous restaurant! Briiliant atmosphere and the food was exquisite. The Foie Gras was exceptional. Thoroughly deserves its excellent rating. We'll be back!

  • Alan R F.
    Alan R F.

    May 26, 201996 reviews

    8.5/10

    Very fine bistro cooking, friendly welcome, energetic service and a very fair value. We appreciate that they are working hard on a Sunday when many other places are closed. Extensive wine list for a small place too.

  • David G.

    May 15, 20193 reviews

    10/10

    Very friendly service and excellent food. You order only from the formule, but there are diverse choices. Prices are moderate (for France). I would be happy to go again!

  • - -

    April 27, 20191 review

    9.5/10

    Un délice

  • Walter K.
    Walter K.

    April 24, 201916 reviews

    9/10

    Sans apprêt

  • - -

    April 22, 20191 review

    10/10

    Très bien

  • Joan B.

    October 8, 20181 review

    10/10

    The smoked duck appetizer and the Valhrona chocolate dessert are absolutely amazing dishes. The staff could not have been more welcoming. We LOVED it!

  • - -

    September 27, 20181 review

    10/10

    A nice, cozy bistro. Really tasty dish, excellent value for money. The woman who served was kind and friendly. We were relaxed and really enjoy the meal and wine!

  • Angelo C.
    Angelo C.

    September 16, 2018159 reviews

    8.5/10

    Very good food and superb service, BUT we had to wait 1:30 hours for the food... a bit disappointing...

  • Pascal R.

    September 10, 20182 reviews

    9.5/10

    Très bien, je recommande !

  • Sue E.

    September 8, 20182 reviews

    8.5/10

    We had a table outside the restaurant and the atmosphere was very good. Food was lovely, and service excellent. Would definitely recommend.

  • - -

    September 2, 20181 review

    10/10

    Très bon restaurant !

  • - -

    August 22, 20181 review

    10/10

    A lovely little restaurant that serves delightful food. Would recommend wholeheartedly.

  • MANUELA D.

    August 18, 20181 review

    9/10

    Bon repas.

  • Henrietta F.

    August 13, 20181 review

    7.5/10

    Excellent food and wine, I would happily recommend to friends. But be prepared to wait a little for the service.

  • - -
    - -

    July 28, 20184 reviews

    10/10

    The food was delicious and the staff were excellent.

Tripadvisor reviews

511 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation