Back

Reviews Le Café de Mars

9.4/10

Excellent

based on 749 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Olga R.
    Olga R.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was absolutely delicious and the crew was really nice and helpful. The 4 of us all chose different things to eat, and each of them was perfect. I definitely recommend the place!

  2. Lizzie F.
    Lizzie F.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent service and food as ever. Love how tasty the chef makes the veggie options and I’m not vegetarian! Nice 50cl of vino to accompany. Sleepy cat at the door sooooo cute. Thanks guys, see you again soon!

  3. Anna P.
    Anna P.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    The food at Cafe de Mars is excellent. Amazing soups - the best in Paris. And the service is wonderful - friendly and straightforward. I particularly love the peaceful summer terrace.

  4. Steven Z.
    Steven Z.
    • 22 reviews
    10/10

    Simply the best restaurant Rive Gauche

  5. Justin T.
    Justin T.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The restaurant is very good, the service is very friendly, and the food was sublime. I recommend the steak. The restaurant is 10 minutes away from the Eifel Tower. This restaurant is definitely recommended.

  6. Lizzie F.
    Lizzie F.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Great food & service as ever!

  7. Denise P.
    Denise P.
    • one review
    9/10

    There was a very convivial atmosphere and we were welcomed and seated very quickly. The food was good, and portion sizes perfect. Would particularly recommend the salted caramel tart with walnut. All round a very enjoyable experience.

  8. Lizzie F.
    Lizzie F.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely small resto, food and service excellent!

  9. Robin  L.
    Robin L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Cozy bistro with delicious food and warm friendly service. Loved the banana caramel ice cream and Mousse!

  10. Peter F.
    Peter F.
    • 15 reviews
    9.5/10

    We live in the neighborhood and enjoy coming here for its inventive cuisine, friendly staff and relaxed ambiance. Small menu but excellent value for money.

  11. Olga J.
    Olga J.
    • 145 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very international - chef is korean - foo dis french with korean touch - staff and customers are from all over the world. Great food !

  12. Shannon G.
    Shannon G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Le Café de Mars was exactly what we wanted when we were looking for a perfect French bistro experience. The food was stellar and the service was beyond wonderful. For four people who love good food and good wine, we could not have left happier.

  13. Jeffry K.
    Jeffry K.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Very friendly English speaking staff. Comfortable not over crowded.

  14. Mary S.
    Mary S.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a lovely evening. Food, service, ambiance was terrific. Can’t think of anything they could have done better to make us feel more welcome.

  15. Stacey Z.
    Stacey Z.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved everything about it! Food,service, ambiance. Thank you! Definitely go!

  16. Rex D.
    Rex D.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    An excellent find. A small menu of innovative and very well prepared food, plus a well chosen and well priced wine list. Enthusiastic and efficient staff too. Tourists are made welcome, and there are plenty of them. We will certainly return.

  17. Mattia S.
    Mattia S.
    • 4 reviews
    7.5/10

    Nice Place just near the Tour Eiffel. Very nice people and they speak english. The only little flow the amount of food was less than we expected. Anyway the dinner was eccellent.

  18. Caterina J.
    Caterina J.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Le Café de Mars is the kind of place you hope to find when in Paris. It was filled with locals, an accordeon player and a violinist and the food was amazing! We had the dorade with fennel which was the star and the bacon burger and soup which were also very good. This place gets packed fast so make sure you have a reservation!

  19. Victor  P.
    Victor P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely the best meal we had in Paris!

  20. Andrew b.
    Andrew b.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    x

  21. Maryna O.
    Maryna O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very nice place with a good wine selection and the menu had nice appetizers. We had a glass of champagne and a glass of sparkling wine. Both very nice. I was not too hungry - had a cold beet and apricot soup- very nice. It was not sweet. Pretty much beet gazpacho. My husband had fish as a main plate. It was quite yummy.

  22. Tracey B.
    Tracey B.
    • one review
    10/10

    My husband and I stopped in here on our last night in Paris and it was our best meal of the trip. We got the melon and cucumber salad to start and it was amazing. The entrees were great as well, we only wish they were a little bigger. We got the flank steak and the vegetarian meal— tomato’s, bulgar wheat, broccoli and white bean hummus. We tried to split them but basically fought over both of them. For dessert we got the goat cheesecake and chocolate cake (which is actually more of a brownie). We enjoyed both, but the salad and entrees were the clear highlights of the night. The atmosphere was lovely. The staff was very nice and were perfectly fine with speaking English with us.

  23. Marden P.
    Marden P.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Service seamless Lovely dinner

  24. Marius P.
    Marius P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Simply great food, great people!

  25. Terrell S.
    Terrell S.
    • one review
    10/10

    10, except not enough knowledge about gluten

  26. Grace C.
    Grace C.
    • one review
    10/10

    My favorite cafe in Paris! Love their food, love their service!!

  27. Mary  M.
    Mary M.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Great food and service.

  28. Debbie W.
    Debbie W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely love every single dish at this restaurant we went Saturday night. They are closed Sunday and Monday. We couldn’t wait to go back again on Tuesday night. Food is so fresh. Excellent flavors. Really great food. You can tell they put a lot of love and thought into their food. The salmon with Indonesian flavor was outstanding. The sugar snap peas were perfect with the dish. My husband loved his drunken dragon steak with pickled shitakemmushrooms. He ordered it both nights because it was so delicous. I helped him finish it and I agree it was delicious. Yummy. We are here another 10 days and I know we will go back at least one more time. A Paris favorite.

  29. Oren Z.
    Oren Z.
    • one review
    3/10

    The food is not bad at all. unfortunately all the main dishes served partially warm not even warm or hot as they should. In addition the owner or the shift manager there was hugging with a cat which was a disturbing sight as a customer seeing this when serving me food....overall i was really disappointed as i looked forward for the food there.

  30. SARAH D.
    SARAH D.
    • one review
    9/10

    Expected more from the food in terms of flavours. Otherwise excellent service and atmosphere.

  31. Steve T.
    Steve T.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    A wonderful cafe with excellent food and a lovely atmosphere.

  32. Louise F.
    Louise F.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Cafe de Mars was a superb experience. Our family of 6 each ordered an appetizer, entree and dessert. Every single dish was fabulous. The servers were so friendly and attentive and made our evening fun and special. We would happily return on our next visit to Paris!

  33. Alana b.
    Alana b.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious meal & attentive staff. Would definitely recommend to visitors to Paris, but recommend you ask to not be seated at the tables in the front window. When people sit at the bar you will be trapped. Ask for a table along the side or back instead.

  34. Dang Nhu Thuong P.
    Dang Nhu Thuong P.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    The food was very good, 9/10. Very friendly service. Restaurant was nice and cozy. The experience was greatly enhanced by the live jazz music (every Saturday 12-3pm.

  35. Kay C.
    Kay C.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Well prepared food, charming and attentive service. Intimate and friendly. I would return!

  36. Audrey  C.
    Audrey C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    "Excellent" ....no need to say more. Visiting from the US.

  37. Josh P.
    Josh P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Hard to find a place open at 10 PM! Waitress was great, very attentive and informative. Menu is limited made to order so they do sell out of items. We were quite happy with everything!

  38. Nancy S.
    Nancy S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious asparagus open sandwich! Can’t go wrong w grilled lemon. The service was superb! Merci beaucoup!

  39. Jacob H.
    Jacob H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service, simple menu, accommodating to our lack of French.

  40. Giuseppina S.
    Giuseppina S.
    • one review
    6/10

    I think we learned our lesson about trying non-authentic French food while in Paris. No thanks. I came with high hopes that the Californian proprietor would infuse the cuisine with a bit of a Californian touch, not instead completely miss the mark on basic American menu items. My husband got the burger on special, and when asked by the server how he wanted it cooked, I replied “on point,” knowing that in France, “on point” means “well done” but is viewed by the French to be what Americans consider “medium rare” (which is how my husband likes it - slightly pink in the middle). Well, I believe they noticed we were Americans and thought we were ignorant to the French interpretation of “on point,” and his burger was totally over cooked and grey. The server was lovely, but clearly wanting to create as an American/non French of a dining experience as she could, as if that is what we would prefer while visiting France? For the next few days, we will stick to only truly authentic French dining experiences.