Back

Reviews Le Coq Rico

8.8/10

Fabulous

based on 1378 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. James B.
    James B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Truly outstanding. We had the poulet de bresse with Mac and cheese and mushrooms with a bottle of Sancerre. The food (a whole chicken for my wife and me) was obviously more than we “needed” but it was mouth watering. Total tab before tip was €200.

  2. Neill W.
    Neill W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The food are good and delicious , especially the chicken.

  3. John R.
    John R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Phenomenal food - incredibly flavorful and beautifully presented - bravo to the entire team!

  4. Jim S.
    Jim S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Completely enjoyed it. Loved the atmosphere. Probably the best chicken in Paris. Very friendly, and they have an English menu. Not a touristy place like most of Montmartre.

  5. Rosa Maria l.
    Rosa Maria l.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Beautiful restaurant with delicious food and service. A bit of Paris without being touristy. We enjoyed a Delicious lunch of rotisserie chicken. Also an excellent selection of wines. Good value. We will return on our next visit to Paris.

  6. Alfred N.
    Alfred N.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    sat at bar counter. space a bit tight

  7. Carol W.
    Carol W.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Magnificent

  8. Tom D.
    Tom D.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Made a reservation for our last night in Paris. The food was incredible from the Westermann's terrine to the roasted duck. My fiancée and I demolished that roasted duck. Service on the other hand left a lot to be desired. It seems that our waitress walked out after taking our drink orders and never came back for the rest of the dinner service. That left the busboy scrambling to fill in with another waiter. This seemed odd and confusing. Was she left go? Did she leave because of something? Multiple times both of our glasses were empty for a number of minutes. No one came out to ask how the food tasted. A couple next to us got up and grabbed a bottle of wine from the chilling station to pour their own glasses of wine. And to top it off this was quite early in the evening around 8pm when the restaurant was still not that busy. Like I said, food was incredible but I wouldn't go back for the lackluster service.

  9. Natalia R.
    Natalia R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great! Especially nice to sit near the open kitchen and talk to the staff while dining.

  10. Jamie L.
    Jamie L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent welcome friendly staff very clean place. The food was delicious and the whole thing was great value. We had the lunch of the day and they also offered several options for one of our party who is vegetarian. Would recommend wholeheartedly.

  11. Dennis L.
    Dennis L.
    • one review
    10/10

    A special family meal. Will be back next time in Paris...

  12. Andrea L.
    Andrea L.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    The chicken dish was disappointing as the chicken was tough. The soup was delicious. The tables are very close together.

  13. Mark A.
    Mark A.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    This is a restaurant for chicken, and you sneak in some duck, squab or other poultry. It delivers with outstanding fresh asparagus sides and soup, an excellent pure bred bird and nice collection of wines at whatever price point you want to push. We were seated early which was a plus, lost track of our dessert order so comped the Ilse F'lottant (which was plenty for 4). The extended family has no been to paris I think 4 times and NY 1 time with excellent meals on each. Plan ahead.

  14. Natasha A.
    Natasha A.
    • one review
    5/10

    We had made a reservation weeks ago for our visit from Seattle. I had eaten at the restaurant last summer and loved it and it was our big dinner for our trip this time. We were seated in the back at a communal table. I asked if we could sit out front and was told no. It was not festive or lively. Our food took almost an hour to arrive. The gentleman next to us sat after us was served and ate his meal well before we were served. I had to ask twice where our food was. The sever at first seemed annoyed and threw a second basket of bread down after asking where our meal was and said, “I haven’t forgotten about you”. I had waited awhile to even ask her. Then when we still didn’t have our food 15 minutes after that, I asked someone else and then our food came out a few minutes later. At the end of the meal the server did apologize and offered to buy us dessert but we just wanted to leave because the whole experience was so disappointing after expecting it to be the highlight of our week.

  15. Lisa R.
    Lisa R.
    • one review
    9/10

    One of our best meals in Paris. We had lunch along with some nice glasses of wine. Order the duck and the risotto!

  16. GYUHYUK S.
    GYUHYUK S.
    • one review
    10/10

    굿

  17. Danielle C.
    Danielle C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing. !!

  18. Michael A.
    Michael A.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great meal, great service, the chicken was delicious my wife adored the macaroni and cheese

  19. Sofià M.
    Sofià M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing. Clean. Friendly. Kind. Delicious. Helpful.

  20. Janellsa L.
    Janellsa L.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    One of the best food in Paris which is practicing a ethical and love in chicken farming. A Food selectively picked with heart and passion. A must visit if you will be in Paris!

  21. George H.
    George H.
    • 48 reviews
    10/10

    If you’re in the mood for comfort food, and in particular chicken, don’t miss this friendly and helpful restaurant.

  22. Alana H.
    Alana H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely tasty food, nice interactions with staff and most importantly great value

  23. Joann T.
    Joann T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    My rotisserie chicken was excellent and my husband, sister and brother in law loved the duck (canetton) to share. Ile flottant was huge and to die for! Nice touch is that restaurant offers a parking attendant on the very steep rue Lepic. Would return...Bravo encore chef Westermann! We've been at Le Coq Rico four times in NYC but this was our first visit to Montmartre location.

  24. Jose C.
    Jose C.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    In spite of having made a reservation I got the worst place in the restaurant. On a corner facing the grill and next to the fridge door! Really unbelievable! The maitre promised to change after the aperitif, but he ignore the situation afterwards... Full of oriental tourists probably because of some internet strategy but really disappointing. I do not think the chicken was as exceptional as they claim to be.

  25. Andreas S.
    Andreas S.
    • one review
    10/10

    We loved it, wonderfull

  26. Deborah h.
    Deborah h.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    I love every thing about Le Coq Rico: its location in Montmartre, the delicious chickens, the friendly but professional service. I try to get there every time I am in Paris.

  27. Ken n.
    Ken n.
    • one review
    10/10

    The chicken Bresse was excellent. Expensive, but we brought home enough for a second meal. Excellent house wine and house desert. Spent 2+ hours just enjoying the meal and the restaurant.

  28. Vincent B.
    Vincent B.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    We had a table for two at Le Coq Rico and were seated by the kitchen, giving us a full view of the kitchen staff, which was amazing. At first we weren’t sure how this would work out for us considering my partner is 7 months pregnant and sitting on a high chair by the bar didn’t seem to be the best option. We were proven wrong within minutes: the chairs are extremely comfortable and the view of the kitchen provided plenty of conversation fodder for our meal. The kicker however was the food: everything we tried was simply fantastic, delicious and reflects, as I call it, the pleasure of simple things made well. The « œuf meurette », the « cream of poultry », the chicken, the sorbets and ice creams we had for dessert were all stellar and I would go back in a heartbeat . Special mention for the staff as everyone really took care of us and looked after us the entire evening . Simply love this place, highly recommend it.

  29. Dennis M.
    Dennis M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Le Coq Rico I would say has the one of the best chicken dishes served. in Paris We tried a whole guinea hen which was roasted to perfection. Their side dishes complemented the chicken and I cannot say enough about the chicken which I savored to the last bone!

  30. Alison L.
    Alison L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food and atmosphere. Love the family style dining and how they are able to transform simple ingredients into sensational dishes. Would definitely come back!

  31. Zachary S.
    Zachary S.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    After considerable research we made a point of going here because of the methodology in preparing the Bresse chicken. It was cooked perfectly. The salad and sides were very nicely done also. Pricey but if you want the best chicken you can possibly get it is worth it. The problem now is every time I have roast chicken I am going to hold it against this as the gold standard. If I had an average chicken to compare side by side I would say your run of the mill bird would be very bland and a lot dryer. The homemade Jus had a deep rich complex flavor and was sublime. I could have had a wine glass full.

  32. Leonard B.
    Leonard B.
    • 40 reviews
    10/10

    Super bonne volaille, service nickel !

  33. Antoine g.
    Antoine g.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    cuisine de volaille experte!

  34. John M.
    John M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great, inventive courses. Pleasant and outstanding service.

  35. Avi S.
    Avi S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing place, everything was perfect! From the doorman to the waiters . Thanks.

  36. Eva B.
    Eva B.
    • 27 reviews
    9.5/10

    Tres bon let's, qualite excellente, belle pesentation dans in endroir ou on n'attend pas cette qualite.

  37. Naomi T.
    Naomi T.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    We had a nice time with good food! Thank you

  38. Aaron R.
    Aaron R.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious duck and excellent wine. Service was wonderful. Highly recommend. Plus they have an amazing lunch special, plat du jour 15 euros.

  39. Laura b.
    Laura b.
    • one review
    10/10

    We love this resturant. The food is always excellent and the service is friendly. We return on every Paris trip.

  40. Debbi D.
    Debbi D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great inventive food. Worth the trip!