Back

Reviews Le Coq Rico

8.8/10

Fabulous

based on 1378 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Allison S.
    Allison S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Everything from start to finish was pleasurable. A nice surprise with a champagne toast accompanied by a traditional terrine; following, the meal ended with a digestive. J'ai adoré la poire, vraiment sympa et lisse. "Le poulet de Bresse" can only be described as flavorful and full of life, with distinguishing textures, gently unfolding as each element moves in motion together, Crispy in its entry yet full of succulent moisture underneath, luscious and delicate.. resting beautifully on the palate. It felt like silk as it was sliding down the back of my throat. Furthermore, a unique twist is gained from the generous heavy weight serving of the subtle taste of truffles, not only seductive to the eye, but gracefully balancing this charming bird as it melts in your mouth from the moment it touches your lips, leaving you with the yearning desire for more. Service was wonderful and the atmosphere was very enjoyable. This experience was “The Top” for me. Super Happy, Can’t wait for NY.

  2. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    9/10

    The food was absolutely fabulous and the staff were very attentive. A nice and charming location lovely character period properties and quiet being off the main drag. Yet close to the Moulin Rouge a short walk only 800m away. I believe 84 Euros is a considerable amount of money to pay for a whole chicken. The wine menu was extortionate given we were in the land of surrounded by vineyards and other restaurants that were much cheaper for their wine.

  3. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Everything was great at Le Coq Rico. The food was really delish and the service was great. The only comment that isn't a 5 star review is that for the "mood", being seated in the back room at a farmhouse style table with several other diners, I thought the ambiance was a little quiet. Overall, great dinner all around.

  4. Sara G.
    Sara G.
    • 33 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food, well cooked and well presented. Great service and quiet atmosphere. Very calm. Car service.

  5. Sandra S.
    Sandra S.
    • 10 reviews
    9/10

    Great Food!

  6. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    10/10

    Incredibly delicious! Wonderful ambience! Highly recommend!!

  7. - -.
    - -.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely excellent food, and, for the quality, the price was absolutely great. The chicken was absolutely fantastic (as you can imagine) and the sides were both very good.

  8. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    10/10

    The plat du jour special at lunch is both wonderful and truly a bargain. A different dish for each day of the week (ex week-ends) and they are delicious. The wine list is fairly priced and there is house wine for 5 Euros per glass. The deserts were out of this world good. At our table, we had Isle Flottante (the best we have ever had and we have lived and vacationed in France for 16 years!), chocolate sorbet - really nice, and and orange mousse glace that was also very good.

  9. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    10/10

    My 2nd visit with different friends and it was superb all the way. Thank you merci, will definitely return when next in Paris.

  10. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent level of service and congeniality. Foie gras starter was out of this world. Whole bresse chicken too big for two diners, but was very good. No room for dessert.

  11. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    9/10

    The food was very good and the service was also very good. I had booked it about a month ago, but then we were called on the last day that we will have to be seated at the bar tables which is directly at the open kitchen. Initially we were a bit skeptical but then we do really care more about the food and the reviews were very good so we just went for it... but to be honest the experience was very good sitting in front looking at the Chef's cooking in front of you so it was like a nice cookery show for the entire duration of our meal... and my wife she loves cookery shows so was a good experience with that too. I would definitely recommend visiting this place, but make sure you make your reservations well in advance as you may not get a table on a busy evening.

  12. Bente A.
    Bente A.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Cozy, great service and wonderful food! We had a great time.

  13. Kevin D.
    Kevin D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great restaurant, friendly service, perfect evening out in Paris with the family!

  14. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    10/10

    The service was very accommodating for our large party. We enjoyed the food as well as the atmosphere of the restaurant .

  15. Marco l.
    Marco l.
    • 9 reviews
    8/10

    Delicious chicken/ Loved the pates as well - enjoyed sitting at the bar and watching the food being prepared Great place to eat

  16. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    10/10

    Nice and comfortable

  17. Lisa R.
    Lisa R.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    We went for lunch and it was perfect. He was very happy you could have the famous chicken for just one person. I had a nice salad with chicken oysters! My husband had just arrived so he was totally jet lagged, and I think his eyes were bigger than his stomach - great tasting roasted chicken and he LOVED the macaroni and cheese. I liked the side of chanterelles and the amazing dessert. I noticed our neighbors really seemed to enjoy their meal as well. Very pleasant and not crowded and noisy with tourists visiting Sacre Coeur

  18. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    9/10

    The restaurant was beautiful, the staff was friendly and helpful and the food was great. It was a meal that was family friendly - my wife and I and our two sons (ages 10 and 8) enjoyed the family style servings and the food was very good. The options are limited, so we did not invite our friends who were vegetarian - but that was something that we knew all along...it is a small menu but I believe that allows the restaurant to excel at delivering a great meal.

  19. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    10/10

    Chicken was amazing. Kids were so excited to go and we ate every bit up. Best chicken ever - going to have to visit the one in NY to see if it can live up to the Paris original.

  20. - -.
    - -.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Everything we ordered was delicious! The most outstanding dish for me was the whole duck we ordered. The duck meat was succulent and flavorful, the best duck I ever had!

  21. - -.
    - -.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The best meal we have had in Paris. Two things stood out, the pouched egg with bernaise sauce and the mac and cheese side dish. The chicken was very flavorful and had a nice crispy skin but a little dry. Lovely attentive service. We will come back!

  22. Richard R.
    Richard R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Spent a great birthday here. Staff was great as was the food and other guest around us. Best meal so far in Paris

  23. Paul M.
    Paul M.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Attentive and polive service. Roast chicken prepared perfectly along with crispy fries and salad.

  24. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    10/10

    To be clear, the waiting time for the table (at lunch, 12:30) was essentially zero. The waiting time for the chicken to roast was about 45 minutes, which you have to be aware of before you order (better, before you book). Don't fill up on heavy starters or bread! Two hearty eaters can finish the Bresse chicken, but likely not the sides. But, very tender, flavorful bird. Definitely recommended.

  25. Stephanie Wong S.
    Stephanie Wong S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Chicken was perfect

  26. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Love both the Paris and New York restaurant.

  27. Richard Y.
    Richard Y.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Restaurant said because we booked online, we could only be seated at the bar or the communal table. No idea of this restriction when we booked thru TripAdvisor

  28. Aaron L.
    Aaron L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great place I would highly recommend.

  29. Roslyn B.
    Roslyn B.
    • one review
    10/10

    The service was wonderful! The food divine! What a spot!

  30. Debbie T.
    Debbie T.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Waaw, so glad I've found this restaurant and have booked it on Easter. We ate each an entree with eggs, and that was so good. Then a main: "Cou-Nu des Landes" chicken crusted with hazelnuts & almonds, white asparagus & beans fricassee, so tasty. My friend had the chicken and crayfish vol-au-vent, also good with a rich crayfish taste. This accompanied by a bottle of Riesling mmm. The desert was also to die for, especially with the Grand Marnier. The service is excellent, really friendly waiters. 10/10 !

  31. Ryan C.
    Ryan C.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent meal

  32. Richard F.
    Richard F.
    • 10 reviews
    2.5/10

    Ultimate arrogance. Arrived ten minutes early after booking weeks in advance. We were greeted by the host - expediter and offered a table at the counter. We are over 70 years old and don't sit at counters with high bar stools. Plenty of tables were there. He indicated if we wanted a table we had to be finished in 1.5 hours. We can do that. We had planned on ordering a whole chicken to try. When I tried to place the order we were told it would take too long. We ordered two quarters which appeared in ten minutes along with the salad course apparently prepared that afternoon. These people are just plain rude and will not ever get my business here or in New York where they plan to open.

  33. Onno N.
    Onno N.
    • one review
    4/10

    Chicken was very dry and tasteless, all dishes were very salted and pre cooked. Overall disappointed! There are much more better restaurants in Paris.

  34. Patrick P.
    Patrick P.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    interesting restaurant if you like chicken or duck

  35. Richard O.
    Richard O.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent

  36. Ellen G.
    Ellen G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The food was absolutely fabulous. You wonder how something so simple like roast chicken could be so good. And literally the best mac 'n cheese (technically au gratin, it is Paris) I've ever had. Other than a slight mix up with the bill the service was very good and very friendly.

  37. Diana F.
    Diana F.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    We were seated in the back room at the end of a long banquet table with others we didn't know seated right next to us. Ours was really a small table attached to the larger one. The table kept rocking even though the server tried to fix it twice. It was very annoying. Otherwise, the food was good---especially the French fries and the sauce for the chicken. The service was friendly and good, but I woulld never return if I had to sit at that table again.

  38. Michael S.
    Michael S.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great dinner experience and all entrees were great.

  39. Catherine D.
    Catherine D.
    • 14 reviews
    9.5/10

    Overall great experience and the Breese chicken was devine!

  40. Alastair Q.
    Alastair Q.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Very good - as expected the chicken was was super quality and the starters and desserts were of the standard you would expect in a top class restaurant so definitely would go again!!