Register my restaurant
Help
What
Where
Salle principale - Le Sergent Recruteur, Paris
Salle privative - Le Sergent Recruteur, Paris
Entrée du restaurant - Le Sergent Recruteur, Paris

INSIDERFrench

Reviews - Le Sergent Recruteur

9.4/10
483
41 Rue Saint-Louis en l'Île, 75004 ParisSee map

Average price €130

Menu €108

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Already 4 bookings today 🔥

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Already 4 bookings today 🔥
Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

9.4/10
Excellent484 reviews
9.4/10

Food

9.6/10

Service

9.3/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Very short waiting time
Quiet
Who can leave a review and how do we calculate ratings?
  • Fiona Ma
    Fiona Ma

    January 17, 20232 reviews

    6/10

    Service is good, but food is average as a Michelin star restaurant,

  • Ben S.
    Ben S.

    January 12, 20231 review

    9.5/10

    Great food, attentive service, however slightly too attentive as occasionally the plates were cleared whilst I was still chewing the last mouthful, which meant I couldn’t really respond when asked how was the dish.

  • Pat R.
    Pat R.

    January 6, 20235 reviews

    9.5/10

    Excellent and original cuisine, perfect service in a very well restored ancient building in one of the prettiedt areas of Paris. Worth its Michelin star!

  • Jan Hu
    Jan Hu

    November 10, 20221 review

    10/10

    Very delicious food and amazing service

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • chris c.
    chris c.

    October 19, 20222 reviews

    9.5/10

    Wonderful ambience and food

  • J S.
    J S.

    October 18, 20226 reviews

    10/10

    Beautifully executed seasonal cuisine. Seamless service.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Olivier d.
    Olivier d.

    October 13, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Restaurant agréable Menu original Personnel attentif Salle moderne et agréable

  • Julia Wu
    Julia Wu

    September 7, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    This restaurant has excellent service with good quality food. Would definitely go again.

  • Alex P.
    Alex P.

    July 28, 20225 reviews

    8.5/10

    Fantastic lunch menu! Foie gras is delightfully prepared and the rabbit is delicious. The lunch would have been more enjoyable had the desert been more balanced rather than so overwhelmingly sweet.

  • Collins B.
    Collins B.

    July 23, 20222 reviews

    9/10

    Great meal and impeccable service. A few dishes were a little less flavorful than anticipated, but this is a great spot to try and seems to be a little less packed than some of the other fine dining options in Paris.

  • David O.
    David O.

    July 19, 202224 reviews

    6/10

    Do not think it is serving of a Michelin star. The service I think has become quite a custom to tourists. For the most part they ignored a gluten-free diet of one of us.

  • Marco R.
    Marco R.

    July 12, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Not only the best meal we had in Paris- likely one of the best meals we have ever had. Combines the creativity and execution of a 3 Michelin star restaurant with the friendliness of a neighborhood joint. Truly superb!

  • Ronald R.
    Ronald R.

    June 8, 202217 reviews

    10/10

    Superb food and service!

  • David K.
    David K.

    June 1, 2022150 reviews

    8/10

    Tres bonne cuisine avec chef inspiré

  • Elisabeth K.
    Elisabeth K.

    May 5, 20224 reviews

    10/10

    Fabulous food in a beautiful setting. Everything here has been carefully planned and well thought out.

  • Carlisle W.

    January 4, 20221 review

    9/10

    It was my first time in Paris and I could not have imagined a better restaurant to go to my first night. The service was incredible and all of the waiters were so friendly and charming. The food was also incredible - not heavy at all but still so tasteful and delightful. The chef was friendly and even came over so we could thank him. He makes wonderful dishes. The ambience of the restaurant could be better - I think some dimmer lighting and some light music in the background could make it even better than it already was.

    Le Sergent Recruteur (Owner)

    Dear Carlisle, Many thanks for your kind comment. you will listen to music next time as it should have been when you came to visit us :) Take care and see you soon

  • Barry M.

    December 29, 20211 review

    10/10

    2nd time there and I loved it all over again

    Le Sergent Recruteur (Owner)

    Dear Barry, thanks for coming again! Hope you enjoyed Paris

  • Judith F.

    December 23, 20211 review

    10/10

    The dining experience here was exceptional. Flavourful journeys in each dish. Loved it.

    Le Sergent Recruteur (Owner)

    Dear Judith, nice to read you had great time at our place. Hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again. Take care

  • Philip H.

    October 29, 20211 review

    5/10

    Goodish but not up to Michelin standard. Beef was very tough. Only three tables in basement meant no atmosphere. Overall disappointing, especially at those prices.

    Le Sergent Recruteur (Owner)

    Dear Sir, thanks for your comment. You had diner in the exposed stone walls lounge; capacity 12 people. The restaurant was full this evening wich means a lively atmosphere! .The Michelin Guide just awarded us with 1* for the third year, let's go celebrate:) Take care

  • Barbara m.

    October 19, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    Staff attentive and nice but the creations coming out of the kitchen were outstanding!

    Le Sergent Recruteur (Owner)

    Dear Barbara, We are delighted you had such a nice experience at our place. See you soon!

  • Steve L.

    September 28, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent little high end restaurant. It is NOT the Le Sergent Recruteur of the last decade, which was a throwback to the early 19th century recruiting efforts of Napoleon's Army of the Republic. It is a modern, high price, high quality, high service restaurant.

    Le Sergent Recruteur (Owner)

    Dear Steve, you are right, the restaurant is absolutely different and we are delighted you enjoyed so much! Hope you had a great time in Paris too. Take care

  • Lisa L.

    September 4, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    The service was amazing and made me feel welcome (in English) an important feature when dining alone. The food was spectacular, I had the lunch menu with sardines and then salmon. If you're on a budget, beware the €11 bottle of water. Would definitely eat here again!

  • Sebastian D.

    July 15, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    We have been there as a start into our vacation. The welcome was very warm, our wardrobe was taken care of as a matter of course and we were given a very nice table. We chose the Seasons menu with the wine pairing. The food was excellent, putting the main ingredient into the focus, well balanced regional and seasonal flavours with some nice surprises from outside Europe. The service was very attentive and courteous throughout the evening. The dishes and the very well matching wines were presented to us in English as a matter of course. Further questions were gladly answered. A few small confusions with the pre-dessert, which was offered to us 2x, were charmingly solved. Overall, we had a great evening and would be more than happy to visit Le Sergent Recruteur again.

    Le Sergent Recruteur (Owner)

    Dear Sebastian, and we will be delighted to welcome you again! Take care

  • A.P. K.
    A.P. K.

    July 3, 202127 reviews

    6/10

    The starter looked beautiful but was somewhat "heavy" while the taste was not exciting, rather blunt (Artichoke caviar, coriander and radish with a lemon and sesame cream). The main course (Salmon marinated with berries) was good. The waiters worked hard but could not give enough attention to the guests. You constantly had the idea they were understaffed.

    Le Sergent Recruteur (Owner)

    Hello, the stuff is now fully here. We payed high attention to COVID measures and followed scrupulously the full isolation when we had a doubt. They did their best to pay attention to our customers at that time. They are now all back for your great pleasure. Take care

  • Paris.Dejeuner D.
    Paris.Dejeuner D.

    June 29, 202112 reviews

    10/10

    Exceptional creative chef

  • Chris H.
    Chris H.

    August 28, 20202 reviews

    8/10

    Good food. Rather disappointed that we ordered with wine pairing but did not have any of the wines described to us or even named on any course - I’d expect that for 150 euro per head. Perhaps they were missing just one more set of hands to help that night. Otherwise it was pleasant

  • Pedro B.

    August 22, 20202 reviews

    6/10

    Good setting, but food quality below expectations, and dissapointing for the very high price. Wine pairings were anything but imaginative or ambitious, mid-range wines that were quite unexciting. It is difficult to understand why this restaurant was given a star.

  • Amber R.
    Amber R.

    July 18, 20202 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent food, service, and atmosphere.

  • Martine d.
    Martine d.

    June 30, 202011 reviews

    9/10

    menu decouverte au top !

  • Paul H.

    March 7, 20202 reviews

    10/10

    Great service and amazing food, highly recommended

  • Thierry M.

    February 7, 202014 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent restaurant qui mérite son étoile

  • John C.

    January 25, 20201 review

    10/10

    An absolute pleasure from start to finish, food, service and conviviality all superb. Sublime in terms of dish preparation and flavour, I have no better words to describe a fabulous evening, worth every penny, and a definite return

  • Alexander L.

    January 4, 20201 review

    10/10

    I see the stars very soon ⭐️, better than a lot of Michelin star restaurants I was across the Europe, very very nice ???????? go back again for Sure....

  • Naushadalli S.

    December 21, 20192 reviews

    8/10

    The foods were actually delicious, but the problem is it the portions are just way too big. Half the amount and the meal would have been much more pleasurable. It might seem counterintuitive, especially in this “supersize me” era, but the slab of foie gras and the piece of sweet bread were both excessively big. Of course, it’s up to the consumer to leave it on the plate, and we did leave some behind, but it was nonetheless excessive to the point of turning an excellent dish into just very good. The same can also be said for the chef’s signature crab appetizer. Again, it is delicious, but the portion is way too much for an individual to consume. I understand that the chef aspires for a Michelin star, and having eaten at many of these, including a number of 3-starred ones,my advice to the chef would be to reduce his plate sizes.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

    Le Sergent Recruteur (Owner)

    Dear Sir, Thanks for your comment. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at the Sergent Recruteur. Regarding the amount of each meal, the Chef and the intire team is highly focused on reduce as much as they can the food waste rate. We can ensure you that more than 95% of the plates come back empty in the kitchen after our clients enjoyes their meal. So we can conclude every day that the amount is well calculated. Please let us know next time that you'd rather eating really small portions. We wish you a very happy year end. Alain Pegouret and his team

  • Tarek L.
    Tarek L.

    November 16, 201929 reviews

    8.5/10

    Very nice place will definitely go back

    Le Sergent Recruteur (Owner)

    And we will welcome you with great pleasure!

  • Dirk R.

    October 18, 20191 review

    10/10

    Superb experience

  • - -

    September 25, 201915 reviews

    8/10

    Great food lovely flavors well executed

  • Barbara R.

    July 23, 201917 reviews

    10/10

    O M G! This was a terrific dining experience! The restaurant is air-conditioned, I had champagne which was delicious and my husband had a beer before dinner. We were given an amuse Bouche with our drinks, and then another one just for the heck of it! Everything was absolutely delicious. The staff was super kind! I was practicing my French and my husband doesn’t speak French so they spoke English with him and spoke French slowly with me! Our lunch starters and main dishes were fantastic! I told the sommelier, a very nice woman, that I would like a glass of dry white wine. She brought me one of the best glasses of wine I’ve ever had! I highly recommend this restaurant!

    Le Sergent Recruteur (Owner)

    Dear Barbara, We are glad you spent such a nice time with us ! We try to keep the reputation of the French Cuisine as best as we can... We wish you nice stay in Paris Alain Pégouret and the Sergent Recruteur team

  • Jenny g.
    Jenny g.

    July 5, 20197 reviews

    9.5/10

    At first I slightly struggled to find a dish to order but eventually decided on the tuna and it was amazing. Beautifully presented on the plate. Every detail of the meal was beyond our wildest dreams. Can’t recommend it highly enough

    Le Sergent Recruteur (Owner)

    Dear Jenny, We are pleased to read those nice details. The marinated skipjack tuna inspired the Chef soo much (since it's not such a common dish) that we are happy to read you appreciated it. We look forward to welcome you again The Sergent Recruteur team

  • Diane T.

    June 4, 201923 reviews

    10/10

    Superbe food

    Le Sergent Recruteur (Owner)

    Bonjour Diane, Nous l’aimons comme ça ! A bientôt. Alain Pégouret

Tripadvisor reviews

116 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.