Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - Linden Restaurant at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa

7.2/10
57
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, GU15 2BG Camberley
British
Average price £30

Linden Restaurant at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa

Find a table

Book for free

🔥 Already 17 bookings today

Reviews

7.2/10
57 reviews
7.3/10

Food

8/10

Service

6/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Poor value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Claire D.3 reviews

    February 11, 2024

    6.5/10

    Waiting staff were very nice and very helpful, but food choice was poor and no Sunday lunch menu. When we arrived we were the only ones in the large, rather tired restaurant. While we were there two other couples arrived, but it was still largely empty.

  • Rachel G.1 review

    October 6, 2023

    8/10

    Small restaurant attached to the hotel. A little pricy but we had money off via our hotel deal. Food and service was okay.

  • Laura W.1 review

    April 14, 2023

    5/10

    Not worth it for the price of the food… felt like they were ok and simple meals and the dessert felt microwaved. Was ok to eat but the prices were way too high for the actual quality of the food.

  • Ed C.2 reviews

    April 12, 2023

    10/10

    I have always liked the Linden Restaurant, at which I have dined a number of times over the years, and this experience did not disappoint. Lovely food, stylishly presented, and warm and welcoming service in a beautiful building. I would highly recommend.

  • Vincy D.2 reviews

    March 26, 2023

    10/10

    Wonderful afternoon tea, food was delicious and staff were all exceptional. Lovely hotel inside and out.

  • Graham C.1 review

    March 19, 2023

    10/10

    I booked the afternoon tea for Mother's Day and we really enjoyed it. A nice glass of fizz to start, plenty of cakes and sandwiches and very friendly staff. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Keith H.1 review

    February 25, 2023

    8/10

    We all had a great time and as it was my Mum's 80th Birthday, the Staff really looked after her !!

  • Daniel T.1 review

    February 14, 2023

    5/10

    Fairly poor experience overall. I booked a 5 course valentines package and when we got there no one knew what it was despite my email confirmation saying it. I also added a request for a nice table as we were returning as we got married there and I am positive this message wasn’t passed on by Fork. Food was ok overall but not reflective of £100 meal. Could very easily have got better in a restaurant but went here for the experience that just didn’t deliver

  • Krista-Louise P.1 review

    February 13, 2023

    8/10

    Staff are so friendly and welcoming, they really do care and cater for the heart of the customer. I really cannot fault the staff at Frimley Hall Hotel, as for the afternoon tea! WOW! really lovely and great value for money (£20pp offer at the time). Would certainly come back for another afternoon tea outing and would certainly recommend.

  • Dave M.1 review

    February 4, 2023

    10/10

    A great birthday afternoon tea. Would recommend to friends and family. Cakes and sandwiches were great and the staff were friendly and bought enough tea.

  • Liz B.1 review

    January 13, 2023

    6/10

    There was a lot of food on the menu un available. I ordered three lots of calamari which totalled £21 so not cheap for 12 absolutely tiny calamari’s.

  • Ian W.1 review

    January 7, 2023

    7/10

    The food was great, the staff were lovely but it felt a little bit unorganised. The lighting in the restaurant could be lowered a little and maybe remind the staff that what is being shouted in the kitchen can be heard from most of the nearby tables.

  • Angie M.3 reviews

    January 10, 2023

    7/10

    This was the second time my colleague and I have met here for a working lunch. The staff are young and enthusiastic but service was very slow today. The food was excellent but we were the only people eating from the main menu, which was such a shame.

  • David T.1 review

    December 31, 2022

    10/10

    the staff were so friendly and inviting, you just want to stay forever. the food was lovely and we had afternoon tea which was good too the room was a good size and nice and warm

  • Hannah A.1 review

    January 1, 2023

    6.5/10

    The presentation of the food was really nice. They gave us a generous portion of cakes. We actually offered the cakes to a family sitting near by, as there was too much to get through. The atmosphere of the Gold room was nice. The staff are very pleasant and accommodating.

  • Richard W.1 review

    December 30, 2022

    5.5/10

    I returned here after staying many years ago. The hotel is now a bit tired and is in great need of a refresh. The service was very good, but let down by sub-standard food. The evening meal was acceptable, but breakfast was absolutely shocking. It was a buffet style and EVERYTHING was cold, some items hadn’t been brought out, 30 minutes after starting, and there was a very limited choice. The breakfast area was small and some people had to wait for tables to be cleared.

  • Sue E.1 review

    December 29, 2022

    9/10

    I was very grateful for the manager ensuring my GF meals were completely GF checking with me each course. Thank you!

  • Kim M.1 review

    December 28, 2022

    5/10

    The restaurant was homely and had a nice vibe however the food really let it down. A lot of things were missing from menu and in fact the whole hotel due to suppliers which I understand but no attempt to make up for the lack of limes? I ordered the Caesar salad with pale rubber chicken and lack of sauce made it extremely dry - best thing were the fries. My husband ordered the flat iron steak which was overpriced and basic. Disappointing meal and disappointing stay at hotel.

  • Lorraine M.1 review

    November 25, 2022

    4.5/10

    What a massive disappointment. The hotel is just gorgeous. Atmospheric, charming, cosy, historic even. The restaurant is more like a works canteen. No ambiance, noisy, sparse and young, inexperienced waiting staff with little or no direction. Even when the more experienced staff did help out, unfortunately they proceeded to make mistakes! Our meal was a catalogue of errors….so much so we started to think we were being filmed for a prank! On top of that, as things got worse and worse, we were the ones left feeling like we were being awkward (like asking for the wine that had been brought to the table….to actually be opened! (Cork, not screw) That happened twice! The waitress did open the first bottle, but sadly had brought the wrong wine, even the wrong colour, red not white. Waitress took order for steaks cooked rare, medium rare and medium when apparently when they were served we were told they can only be done rare or well. To add the waitress turned up at the table saying “flat iron steak?” We asked how it was cooked and she said “I don’t know, probably well done?” Although no one had asked for well, it was actually a rare one. No clue. The restaurant has no softening. From the minute you walk in it’s just so noisy with clanking cutlery and chatter. There is no character or charm and was such a disappointment. The head waiter/maitre de who sat us informed us that if we had the steak that sauces such as blue cheese we’re extra cost but mustard and ketchup are free…….we had a meal for 4 at £300 (with wine) so I should think so! Our pre dinner drinks arrived after or starters so we sent those back. There’s also no space in there. The chairs are very big which means the poor waiting staff must squeeze between and even ask you to move in or bump into you every time they pass. The entire experience was uncomfortable and disappointing in every way….sadly.

  • Graham C.1 review

    November 15, 2022

    5/10

    We had lunch and dinner here. At lunch time and in the evening the restaurant was cold. From a reduced menu (no fish or pork) due to supply issues we chose the steak. The steak and vegetables were very well cooked and good quality but all served up luke warm on a cold plate.

  • WENDY F.1 review

    November 6, 2022

    9.5/10

    The hotel has great staff and Ben was particularly friendly and helpful. The service was great and there was very good food. Nice pool too. Lovely sauna and steam room.

  • Sarah J.1 review

    November 2, 2022

    3.5/10

    I was really disappointed. Very poor value for the money - £41 for a one course meal - fish & side of fries with 1 glass of wine. The food was pub standard if that. The restaurant was scruffy with stained chairs and furniture that has seen better days. The waitress directed me to a table that was in between 2 other couples, which as I was on my own made me feel more self conscious. There lots of free tables in the restaurant but I suppose they wanted to bunch us all up for some reason. I wouldn't go back there again, very poor indeed.

  • Michelle J.1 review

    October 22, 2022

    7/10

    The restaurant is pretty standard for a hotel (lovely tableware, looks nice, but slightly lacking in atmosphere as I'd imagine it's mostly hotel guests. We were the last people in there at 10). The waitstaff was friendly and attentive. The only major issue was the portion sizes - especially the appetizers - and especially for the cost. There were 5 of us and we ordered croquettes and calamari. We got 2 small croquettes for £9 and 4 good sized calamari rings for £9. If the menu specified how few there were, we could've planned appropriately - just seemed like a joke when 2 little balls show up for 5 people! It was all very tasty, though, and they did bring us an extra calamari ring and an extra pitta bread for the mezze which was much appreciated. Again, can't fault the service or the food, but the portions need a good looking at!

  • Robyn H.1 review

    September 30, 2022

    2.5/10

    All I can say is, I wish I went to Nandos! We ordered a Chicken Caesar and a Steak, the chicken was prep cooked and heated so had a very rubbery taste. The steak was anemic and completely flavourless - least to say it pained us to spend £110 on this meal.

  • Tara F.1 review

    September 18, 2022

    10/10

    Took my friend for afternoon tea for her birthday. We chose this venue as its half way between our houses, we both traveled to here. We had a lovely lunch, they even changed the sandwiches slightly to what we preferred. Lovely chilled environment.

  • Shaz S34 reviews

    January 20, 2022

    4/10

    Went for lunch and was told by the waitress that the restaurant is closed, finally after a lot of back and forth she came back to say yes you could dine in the restaurant but only order from the bar menu, which is quite limited especially when you are looking forward to a proper lunch. So ended up having a mediocre egg sandwich which was mostly Mayo. The waitress was quite offhand ish and dismissive. The entire place smells old, and was fairly empty, the chairs are worn and look dirty and shabby. Not impressed at all!!Really pretty grounds though. But that’s it’s only saving grace.

  • Kath R.2 reviews

    January 27, 2020

    9.8/10

    Good service and food.

Tripadvisor reviews

60 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.