Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Insider Good for groups

Reviews - Malt Dining

9.2/10
112
28 Market St, 4000 Brisbane (QLD)See map

Average price A$65

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

9.2/10
Excellent113 reviews
9/10

Food

9.4/10

Service

9.2/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Fair value for money
Very short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Wendy D.
    Wendy D.

    September 24, 202235 reviews

    10/10

    We went to Malt for my partner’s birthday and had the set menu with the pairing wines. We loved all the dishes in the menu, very delicious!

  • Afrah P.
    Afrah P.

    August 18, 20221 review

    10/10

    I was called by the staff at Malt Dining right after booking online from the Fork to be informed that they actually have a function on & we’ll be seated at the bar. It was a bit disappointing however we were pleasantly surprised by the ambience at the bar area and beautiful high seating. The full menu was still on offer and the staff were spectacular. Pumpkin was to die for, so was the sourdough! Definitely will be back again :)

  • Jay C.
    Jay C.

    June 24, 202236 reviews

    8/10

    The restaurant was very nice, although it wasn't quite the fine dining experience that was indicated. The Korean pork belly was perhaps a little too fatty, but the Japanese pumpkin was fantastic.

  • Wendy D.
    Wendy D.

    June 4, 202235 reviews

    10/10

    We went to Malt for a birthday celebration. We had the 8-course set menu and everything on the menu was delicious. We were very impressed with the consistency of all the dishes on the menu. It was a very memorable evening. Highly recommended it!

  • Helen D.
    Helen D.

    March 5, 202210 reviews

    6.5/10

    I eat out a fair bit and am quite a good home chef, so take that into account if you read my review. I ordered the smoked ham dish for starters, the quail for main and the white chocolate torte for dessert. The smoked ham dish lacked smokiness and was generally unimpressive. It constituted several slices folded on a plate. There was a lot of ham but only three 2cm pieces of sauteed pineapple. The Quail was so thickly coated in the crust. The seasoning was salty and not flavoursome with no identifiable aromatics. There was barely any leek puree, perhaps a small smear on the plate under the quail. The pecans offered a nice bit of crunch and light sweetness. The quail was dry, but not tough. There were four small pieces of peach. The peaches I suspect were not ripe as they were tough to cut. I finished the dish because I don't like wasting food, but I could have stopped 1/3 way through the first quail piece and ordered something else. The torte was not aesthetically inviting. Despite the 'crust' looking burnt, it didn't taste burnt. It was moist, the strawberries were a nice aesthetic tough, but tarte. The almonds added some crunch, but this was generally a basic standard dish. I should have ordered a side of vegetables. This would have helped support the lack of vegetable accompaniment, however, the wait staff member said the main was a large dish, so no need. Wait staff however were great, attentive and engaging. I didn't mention I was dissatisfied with anything because I would have felt terrible providing this feedback. I won't be going here to eat again. Location is great and inside has a higher end bistro feel. Glad I visited Malt, but I won't be returning.

  • Andrew J.

    November 26, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    Delicious 6 course tasting menu. Every dish a winner! Great service. Awesome spot.

  • Nick s.
    Nick s.

    September 24, 20217 reviews

    10/10

    Fantastic. The degustation with wine pairings was well worth it. The food was beautiful. The service though made the night, best table for our anniversary, and the waiter was very engaging, professional and knowledgeable. We'll definitely be back

  • Danielle L.
    Danielle L.

    August 21, 202117 reviews

    10/10

    The vibe of the restaurant was lovely - a good atmosphere with old building and modern furnishings. Service was excellent. The only thing we didn't like was the lengthy explanation of what was on our plate! The food was amazing though.

  • Andrew B.

    August 14, 202115 reviews

    10/10

    This was one of the best dining experiences we have had in a long time. Beautiful food, fantastic wine, and friendly and very efficient service. We will definitely be back and will strongly recommend Malt to our friends. The Trout Sashimi was incredible as was the pork and the beef brisket my wife ordered. I really could not recommend this restaurant any more highly.

  • Kylie F.

    March 20, 20211 review

    10/10

    Outstanding in every way! Highly recommend! Dining - 2 couples. Staff very attentive. The flavours of the food was incredible. Ambience is 10/10.

    Malt Dining (Owner)

    Thanks so much for your feedback, Kylie! Hope to see you guys in the near future, all the best. The Malt Team :)

  • Craig R.

    December 12, 20201 review

    7/10

    Ordered the 6 course tasting menu and the meal was very good. However we felt a little rushed. with each course and when we asked for coffee the waitress said ‘you are already over rime and we need the table’. Coffees would have taken 10mins to serve, and it was not obvious that anyone was waiting for our table.... killed what would have orherwise been a very pleasant night.

  • Elana W.
    Elana W.

    November 27, 202082 reviews

    8/10

    Menu was quite different to previous visits but interesting. Food was enjoyable and tasty. Coffee was luke warm but they made fresh ones and we weren’t charged so we were pleased with that. Overall a very enjoyable dining experience.

  • Richard R.
    Richard R.

    November 17, 20208 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent food in a tasteful inner city location. Not cheap but worth it.

  • Jessica H.
    Jessica H.

    November 13, 20205 reviews

    10/10

    Amazing food and amazing service. Our server Amy was excellent knew her stuff and was all round lovely and bubbly she made the experience 5 star! We recommend the pea wontons not to be missed! Thank you Malt for a nice evening.

  • Joseph H.
    Joseph H.

    February 26, 202043 reviews

    7.5/10

    Nice atmosphere on a quiet Wednesday evening. Ordered the lamb ribs, Japanese pumpkin and the broccoli. Everything was seasoned very well and flavoursome.

  • Richard H.
    Richard H.

    February 7, 202016 reviews

    8.5/10

    Really nice and different menu and was certainly well priced too. Service was very pleasant, decor is rather eclectic and had a nice bar downstairs.

  • Jessie ji
    Jessie ji

    February 5, 202013 reviews

    10/10

    The food is amazing. We recommend the set menu if you are hungry, as the size is large. The service is very good.

  • Angel N.

    February 4, 20205 reviews

    9.5/10

    Lovely service, and exquisite food! Definitely recommend this hidden gem for date night.

  • Shayne D.
    Shayne D.

    February 4, 20207 reviews

    10/10

    Great welcome and service and a lovely outlook, didn't feel like we were in the middle of the city. Meals had great flavours. We will definitely be back.

  • Ann D.

    February 1, 20201 review

    10/10

    Excellent food with good size servings which can also be ordered as a share plate option The staff were friendly and maintained a high level of service throughout the meal. Definitely worth a revisit.

  • Dan T.

    January 31, 20204 reviews

    10/10

    The flavours of the meal were amazing. Great space with loads of character. It’s always a great place to eat and once again I wasn’t disappointed. I will definitely be back.

  • Lisa B
    Lisa B

    January 25, 202051 reviews

    7/10

    Good friendly staff

  • Elise A.

    January 23, 20203 reviews

    9.5/10

    We really enjoyed our dining experience at Malt. Staff were incredibly welcoming, accomodating and good humoured. We opted to have the sharing menu with dessert. We received more than ample food so felt this was incredible value and gave us the opportunity to taste some things we may not have gravitated to on first perusal of the menu. Flavours in each dish were fantastic but even better, the series of dishes the chef choose for us complemented each other well. We really enjoyed the way asian flavours eg sambal, miso etc were utilised. The Golden Syrup Leche Flan and the dessert special, Szechuan Amaretto Goat's curd, were both winners - intense flavours, interesting textures. Thanks again Malt for hosting us - we will most certainly return plus pass on our recommendation to friends/family.

  • Hao L.
    Hao L.

    January 23, 20207 reviews

    8.5/10

    The staff were friendly and good service. Foods were good portion, value for money but food were a bit too salty. Food didn't need to wait for long. Good atmosphere.

  • Amy L.

    January 23, 20203 reviews

    8/10

    Nice food, a bit too salty.

  • Samuel O.

    January 21, 202010 reviews

    10/10

    Lovely place and the pumpkin dish was delicious as well as the desserts. We tried them all!

  • Dom WQ

    January 20, 20203 reviews

    7.5/10

    We came here for lunch and ordered the Angus steak and potatoes. The sauce on the steak was on point and the flavour of the Angus was very nice, however one of the steaks was very tough to the point where you could not swallow some of the meat. Maybe this piece was not cut against the grain. I would also recommend the provision of steak knives as the tougher steak took more effort to cut and we ended up being sweaty from the meal. It may be a good idea to turn down the aircon a few degrees on hotter day since they don't close the doors to the outside (It was a top of 31 degrees today). I must commend the head chef though, because every time I've eaten here the flavours of the meals always work really well together and are perfectly seasoned. In the past when we've eaten here the dinner waitstaff was more attentive and gave us better service. Not sure if it was because this waitress was in training or not.

  • Kristen N.

    January 17, 20207 reviews

    10/10

    The food was delicious and I liked the share plate concept as we got to try a few different things. I was also impressed with the service especially when they found out it was my friend’s birthday and they gave her a card signed by all the staff and lit a candle in her dessert. It made the evening special for her!

  • Dan C.

    January 17, 20202 reviews

    7.5/10

    Great service

  • Avathar V.

    January 17, 202020 reviews

    9/10

    The service was amazing!! Food was delicious with lots of flavours and suited perfectly for our dietary requirements. We started with Entree’ - Scallion Crab on Corn tostados with kimchi and stuffs - Such a delicious start for our dinner - So much flavours and amazing textures!! Lamb ribs - The best Lamb ribs we have ever tried with an amazing sauce and greens - great balance. XO noodles with king prawns - The prawns itself was so perfectly cooked but the noodles was a bit too citrusy and we didn’t really feel the kick of XO flavour. Finished with a beautiful dessert - Torta Caprese - Great textures with well balanced chocolate flavour with Peach gelato, Chocolate crackle and peach sauce - perfect way to end the dinner!!! Definitely recommend this place and can’t wait to be back and try new dishes!!!

  • Angela M.
    Angela M.

    January 16, 20205 reviews

    10/10

    Amazing service in a beautiful venue. We ordered the set menu, over 8 dishes and everything was absolutely amazing. Great cocktail menu and wine list. Super friendly and professional service.

  • Tania G.

    January 13, 202017 reviews

    9.5/10

    Right from the start this promised to be an enjoyable dining experience. The wait staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the menu with just the right service to ensure an uninterrupted experience. We all chose the ocean trout which was exquisite. Beautifully cooked with tantalising flavours from a range of root vegetables. We will be back!

  • Fiona M.
    Fiona M.

    January 11, 2020139 reviews

    9/10

    Beautiful historical restaurant located in the heart of the city. Innovative menu and everything we shared was delicious. The service was outstanding.

  • Tom N.

    January 10, 20203 reviews

    10/10

    Great service, good quality food, great ambient atmosphere, we started with crab entree, mains were ribs, quail and broccoli and finished with pandan dessert! Of course some dishes were more preferred than others, my favourite was the karaage quail!, keep up the good work guys we will be back!!

  • Soyoung K.

    January 9, 20209 reviews

    10/10

    Really yummy flavor some dishes and we love the idea of sharing plates in restaurants for more options! Staff were super friendly and attentive! Will be back!

  • Maciej D.

    January 9, 20205 reviews

    9.5/10

    Intense flavours, food a bit heavy but maybe we just over indulged!

  • Alice Y.
    Alice Y.

    January 8, 202012 reviews

    10/10

    Delicious food service and great atmosphere. Everthing was high quality and we were very satisfied with. I’d love to visit the place again. You can go with your friends, family, partner or whosoever you wish to.

  • Joanne K
    Joanne K

    December 20, 201919 reviews

    10/10

    Gorgeous brick and wood restaurant with very generous serves, charming attentive and knowledgeable staff, nice wine by the glass and under $200 all up for two: will definitely be back, highly recommended

  • A A.

    October 31, 2019278 reviews

    4.3/10

    Food was not great and the service was average

  • Kirsty B.
    Kirsty B.

    July 26, 201916 reviews

    7.8/10

    A great place in the city to visit - cool bar and good service. Food was good but some dishes a bit too much going on and flavours not blending.

Tripadvisor reviews

403 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation