Register my restaurant
Help


British Terrace

Reviews - Manor Restaurant at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

8.1/10
93
Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon, CV37 7HP Stratford-upon-Avon
British
Average price £33

Manor Restaurant at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.1/10
Very good93 reviews
8/10

Food

8.9/10

Service

7.7/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Jane T.1 review

    June 23, 2024

    9.5/10

    Good vegetarian options and lovely friendly staff. The decor is a bit dated but that’s just a personal opinion. Would eat there again ;-)

  • Jane S.1 review

    June 14, 2024

    9.5/10

    Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff

  • Duncan W.1 review

    February 29, 2024

    10/10

    Excellent food, I mean really fantastic. Service was very efficient, helpful and welcoming. A memorable experience.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Kay H.2 reviews

    October 21, 2023

    8/10

    we were staying at the hotel and was having spa treatments - Already had a bad experience with Spa ! We had booked a dinner for 8pm We actually went down earlier , they said we can eat earlier. There was only 2 people in the restaurant but the waiting staff took as the seat directly next to the couple. We asked to move and and was seated else -where. That was the only issue we had , both had the steak , portions were a fair size , food was nice and wine lovely. The menu maybe a little pricey but we enjoyed the food.

  • Helena M.1 review

    July 15, 2023

    9.5/10

    We had a lovely afternoon tea! Food was delicious really good quality! Staff were very helpful and friendly- the restaurant was comfortable. The only negative I’d have to say was £60 for 2 people for afternoon tea was expensive without wine compared to other venues! However it was my partners birthday which staff recognised and presented him with a happy birthday desert which made the meal! We are getting married at the venue in 2025 and can’t wait as the staff were so lovely today! Thankyou!

  • Juliet H.1 review

    July 12, 2023

    3.5/10

    The breakfast was very disappointing. The cooked breakfast was unappetising and I was unable to eat it.

  • Sandra H.1 review

    June 22, 2023

    6/10

    We dined in manor restaurant. The food was very poor value. Lacked seasoning and finesse. Seemed like it had been cooked a while mass production style.

  • Neil V.1 review

    May 26, 2023

    10/10

    Overall an excellent meal. Tasty and served well. Not rushed. Had a baby with us which was no trouble for the restaurant. Had a lovely time and would recommend

  • David S.1 review

    May 20, 2023

    8/10

    Although the ambiance is "large hotel," the staff were extremely pleasant and attentive throughout the meal. They were knowledgeable and helpful about the menu and gave advice when asked.

  • Janice H.9 reviews

    May 13, 2023

    7.5/10

    The food was a little overpriced for what it was, but of a good standardised as was the service - a bottle off wine started at £30 upwards which was a shame

  • Paul K.1 review

    April 27, 2023

    4.5/10

    Steak at 34 pounds and 3 extra for a sauce is just a joke. Rib eye was bland and the chef would need to take a lesson in actually putting red wine into the supposed jus. Chicken dish was good, chips were just ok….a lot of work to be done at this restaurant if I were to return.

  • Bernard T.2 reviews

    April 23, 2023

    6/10

    Certainly not 4 star standard. My wife’s ravioli was thick and hard and had to go back. The rest was ok but nothing special.

  • Frances B.1 review

    April 22, 2023

    8.5/10

    Great service and good food! Staff were really attentive and friendly throughout our stay. The food was good too with a wide menu to choose from for both dinner and breakfast. Great facilities too - pool, sauna, steam room, spa treatments all onsite and well maintained.

  • Laura K.1 review

    April 8, 2023

    10/10

    We could not have asked for better service. Lots of staff and all super friendly at dinner and breakfast. We had a lovely meal, all three courses delicious, cheese board was to die for. Thank you!

  • MARK W.1 review

    April 7, 2023

    3.5/10

    Tried to keep it simple , ordered two burgers with added bacon and cheese. One came without cheese. What was strange the plates and chips holders were very hot but the food cold. Sent it back and walked out.

  • Kristina S.2 reviews

    March 25, 2023

    9/10

    We had a set meal as part of our spa package. The menu is quite different to the standard restaurant menu. The food was of a high standard and delicious. The service at the evening meal was very good too. The cocktails were also very good.

  • DUANE W.2 reviews

    March 24, 2023

    8.5/10

    Alveston manor Hotel, 3 course meal from a new menu was lovley tonight. Staff are excellent. There is a new menu which was brilliant. We had a 3 course meal.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Louise H.1 review

    March 20, 2023

    5.5/10

    Booked as treat for mom with night away Restaurant empty except us and another couple. Sat by window of conservatory part, window ledge full of carafes filled with mix matched shoved in flowers..no arrangement..top of radiator at the side of us filthy on top as if something spilt and not cleaned up. Prawn and crayfish starter extremely bland and flavourless over powered by sour dough bread. Main course chicken was however delicious . Didn't make it on to desert as too full. Restaurant itself in keeping with exterior of hotel, old world, but no atmosphere. It was cold and unfortunately not the ambience expected.

  • Lindsay K.1 review

    March 17, 2023

    7/10

    Staff very good. Restaurant area very nice. Only negative a bit “pricey”.

  • ELAINE R.1 review

    March 19, 2023

    10/10

    We were really impressed with the service, the quality of the food was excellent, very good value for money. Would definitely recommend this restaurant

  • Mandy M.1 review

    March 2, 2023

    4.5/10

    The staff were very good but the restaurant had no atmosphere about it unfortunately and wasn't helped by my food being nearly cold. Craig in the Bar was very funny and looked after us.

  • Francesca C.1 review

    March 3, 2023

    10/10

    What a beautiful afternoon tea.. A surpirse lunch for our 98 year old grandma.. Lots of choice and a beautiful setting. The waiting staff were wonderful and clearly happy. Atentive but not too much and it was peaceful so we were able to indulge in conversation. I would absolutely go again. The best cheese sandwich I've ever had and warm scones to top it off.. Just perfect

    Manor Restaurant at Macdonald Alveston Manor HotelOwner

    Dear Francesca Copley , Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review. We are looking forward to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Alina Stancut F&B Manager

  • Catherine O.1 review

    February 28, 2023

    3.5/10

    No vegan options and the vegetarian main was so bad I had to send it back. Breakfast, however, was delicious with good vegan option. Staff all friendly.

  • Mark A.1 review

    February 25, 2023

    9.5/10

    Three frequently pernickety diners were very happy with their food and wine - and the service! Everything from the reservation to paying the bill went smoothly.

  • Emma K.1 review

    February 13, 2023

    5.5/10

    Food was disappointing and over priced for what it was. Has potential, but needs improvement. Front of house lady was very rude, however the waitress was overly helpful and very polite.

  • Karen H.1 review

    February 5, 2023

    7/10

    Our afternoon tea was brought out to us with no explanation of what was included, we later saw other guests receiving an introduction to their afternoon tea delights. We had to ask twice for a jug of water and then when we changed our choice of hot drink we weren't given a clean cup to accompany it. I think the inconsistency we received was due to different staff, some were clearly better than others. The food itself was nice but I would say average, certainly not the worst or the best I have ever had. I think the only thing that justified the £30 each was the prime location in Stratford. I think I'll be trying somewhere else next time.

  • Trevor H.1 review

    January 14, 2023

    9/10

    We enjoyed our evening meal. We did not think it was right to have all those big supplements underneath a lot of the items after quoting what a two course and three course would cost. We understand that a certain meal would bring about a supplement but not as many as you had on your menu. £10 extra for cheese and biscuits for example is not on. My husbands lamb meal was very nice as was my sea bass, but did not warrant the large supplements addes.

  • DUANE W.2 reviews

    January 4, 2023

    9/10

    Love the hotel and the restaurant. It was my wife's birthday and did a cake for her which was a nice touch. Food was very good. I use to work there 46 years ago. It was my first job at 16 and I loved it there. My only criticism is that waiters and assistant restaurant staff should wear ties with there shirts and not open neck. Just summit I was taught working in hotels. Smart look. I am and will be visiting again.

  • Chloe B.1 review

    December 28, 2022

    10/10

    Absolutely amazing. The service from our waitress Elena was absolutely amazing and she was so helpful. The food itself was too incredible for words - the best food I have ever tasted. 10/10.

  • Jill L.1 review

    January 2, 2023

    10/10

    We enjoyed an excellent meal, one if the best meals we’ve had in a long time. Great value too. The service was excellent too. We were given a chocolate decorated plate because it was our wedding anniversary .

  • Victoria P.1 review

    December 19, 2022

    10/10

    The restaurant and staff were lovely - the food was excellent and the waitress super lovely (especially with our 5 year old daughter). Quality experience all round

  • John P.1 review

    December 4, 2022

    10/10

    The food was first class and the service was excellent, if we didn't live so far away we would visit the restaurant on a regular basis. We occasionally visit the RSC to see one of their productions and this was the case, we will certainly consider it again next time we are in Stratford upon Avon. Many thanks to all concerned.

  • Andreea P.1 review

    November 24, 2022

    9/10

    The staff provided excellent service! Very happy ,Elena and her colleague were absolutely amazing !!! The food was tasty and the food portions generous

  • Denise W.1 review

    November 10, 2022

    3/10

    We ordered a rib eye and peppercorn sauce. The river eye arrived and the rest of the veg but no sauce. We then called over the waiter and asked where the sauce was and he said he would go and check. We waited again and called over someone to chase the sauce as the dinner was getting cold. The waiter finally arrived with a pot of sauce and when my partner poured it onto his steak it was brown gravely. No cream, no brandy and no peppercorns. We called the waiter back over and she took the plate away and then came back and said the chef said that was peppercorn sauce which was really insulting. and incredibly rude. It wasn’t. I have been coming to MacDonalds for over 30 years and I have never had something like this happen before. Mistakes happen I get that but for the chef to be so rude about it was unforgivable. We left the restaurant. We paid for my meal and drinks but frankly as it was my birthday I expected more. Regards Denise Walker

  • Stephen P.1 review

    November 5, 2022

    5.5/10

    The menu is over priced with even more ridiculously overpriced supplements, The gener decor is dated and very tatty, not reflective of the prices charged, there was even food on the wall next to our table. Very disappointing for what purports to be a 4* Hotel

  • Sally C.1 review

    October 30, 2022

    5/10

    The hotel itself is very charming and the staff were helpful and courteous. The evening menu however was very disappointing. There was a set menu for £32.50 consisting of 3 courses, each course with about 6 choices. The mains, a veggie choice, fish and braised steak included. However if you wanted steak (which there were 2 choices of) there was a £10 supplement and the lamb a £20 supplement so a £32.50 meal was now £52.50 meal per person! I felt that there was not enough choice for mains anyway overall and the supplement just added insult to injury. We dined in town at the miller and Carter and with drinks and coffees it cost £75 a much nicer option. I also feel that the waiting staff being that bit younger at Alveston could do with a bit more training. The young man serving us came to clear our plates whilst I was still eating which in fairness he could have taken my partners but he offered to rake my plate whilst I was still using it and when I reminded him of that, he looked blankly at me so he obviously didn't see any reason why he shouldn't clear it.

  • Lindsey H.1 review

    April 1, 2022

    5/10

    The food was overpriced cheap food. The steak was awful. I’ve had better in weatherspoons. As for ambience. There was none. I felt like I was in a canteen.

  • Robert i.

    Robert i.1 review

    January 5, 2022

    10/10

    The food was excellent as was the service, restaurant staff kind and attentive made a memorable birthday for my wife

  • Doreen D.1 review

    August 8, 2021

    9/10

    Beautiful venue and excellent food - lacking a little atmosphere

  • Paul H.3 reviews

    July 18, 2021

    9.5/10

    Very pleasant evening in comfortable surroundings. Attentive and friendly service. Reasonably extensive menu, given covid situation Excellent, good quality meal

Tripadvisor reviews

31 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.