Back

Reviews Mater Terrae

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 207 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Fay H.
    Fay H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Mind blowing vegetarian cuisine! The best in Rome for sure. Excellent wait staff, beautiful dining setting and a fantastic chef. Truly was gastronomical perfection.

  2. Michael T.
    Michael T.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful in making recommendations for the wine snd after dinner grappa. The dining room is very elegant, killer views.

  3. Alexander C.
    Alexander C.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had An amazing time! Food was wonderful.

  4. Xavier c.
    Xavier c.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Wonderfull intimate roof top with good food enjoyed sitting , delicately on the top of the world .

  5. XIUYAN H.
    XIUYAN H.
    • one review
    9/10

    It was perfect. Very very good view. and professional serving ( the recommended wine is just what I want !) Dont hesitate togo to this restaurant , really good experinece

  6. Lexi G.
    Lexi G.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Gorgeous views & great food. Lovely atmosphere!

  7. Nisha S.
    Nisha S.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    Loved the concept and was excited to try this place. I’ve been to Joia, so I had high expectations. I tried the 5 course tasting menu and I have to say I was underwhelmed. There were a couple of good dishes, but some how they didn’t all come together. There is a lot that can be done with vegetables and somehow they weren’t shining.

  8. Sim C.
    Sim C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Mater Terrae is amazing! The food is delicious, the view is amazing from the rooftop terrace and the staff are very knowledgeable and accommodating. They were very attentive about my food allergy. We enjoyed the tasting menu, it was AMAZING! We definitely would recommend Mater Terrae.

  9. Uli F.
    Uli F.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    If I should give 1 to 10 points, I would choose 12. it was fantastic, excellent food, very friendly staff and an overwhelming view. Thank you so much!

  10. Jean Guillaume B.
    Jean Guillaume B.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Ex-ce-llent !

  11. Grace  b.
    Grace b.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Beautiful scenery! Staff where very attentive and friendly, definitely worth the price although there are cheaper options in Rome, the quality of the food and location are unbeatable

  12. M. Marie-Therese Maurice M.
    M. Marie-Therese Maurice M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food was absolutely delicious! We had the tasting menus and we’re not disappointed with all the flavors and variety of thoughtfully and beautifully prepared and presented dishes. The organic wine was also amazing. This restaurant boasts an incredible view over the city rooftops. The service was very polite and friendly but they could have been a bit more attentive and quick. We waited for almost half an hour to be served our aperitivo and the place wasn’t full. But I’ll be going back, for sure. I’m always on the lookout for restaurants that pride themselves on ethical and environmental values.

  13. Concetta g.
    Concetta g.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Ottima cucina

  14. Cláudia G.
    Cláudia G.
    • 61 reviews
    10/10

    Superb service, excellent food and a view to die for! One of the best rooftops of Rome!

  15. Robert W.
    Robert W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    One of the best reasons to come to Rome. Vegetarian food of the very highest standard served in a lovely room by the very best staff.

  16. Sathiya S.
    Sathiya S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was exquisite! Never have we tried such beautiful vegetarian food! Compliments to the chef. The staff were attentive. Thank you. Definitely our highlight of our trip to Roma

  17. Alitza T.
    Alitza T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Romantic and surreal setting... so close to the church tower one feels to reach out and touch it. The terraces of the restaurant are charming, elegant, intimate. The personnel is professional, attentive, yet kind. The dinner was delicious. Perfect for couples and small group of friends. A little gem in grand Roma. We will definitely return and recommend to our friends.

  18. Karen A.
    Karen A.
    • one review
    10/10

    The quality of the food was excellent and the menu really interesting ... first time to each such a wonderful vegetarian menu

  19. David P.
    David P.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Imaginative beautiful food. Service a bit green but friendly. Memorable meal.

  20. Julie d.
    Julie d.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Nice place for a cocktail. Nice quaint rooftop. It the portions are small. So if you are hungry, this may not be the place for you.. it’s pretty and romantic.

  21. Todd H.
    Todd H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    One of the most beautiful dining experiences I have ever had.

  22. Nunzia C.
    Nunzia C.
    • 40 reviews
    10/10

    Atmosfera magica per un posto incantevole con una cucina superba.

  23. Betsy G.
    Betsy G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Hard to find. Otherwise exceptional.

  24. Eric R.
    Eric R.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    This restaurant takes vegetarian cuisine to a new level. Fresh ingredients combined with creativity makes for a great experience. All this plus some of the best views of Rome from atop the Hotel Raphael. Wow.

  25. Mike M.
    Mike M.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    The food and venue are superb! The service was terrible. We waited 1 hour for an appetizer. Finally the server told us the ticket was loss and asked what our original order was. At the end of the meal, they compted the bottled water. We did, however meet a very kind, accommodating server named Javier. We will request him in the future.

  26. Sheila A.
    Sheila A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and wine with a wonderful view!

  27. Kirsty H.
    Kirsty H.
    • one review
    6/10

    Very disappointed that we booked this restaurant to have dinner on the terrace and specifically requested a table with the view only to be told when we arrived table service was an inside service. Food was lovely, not amazing as you would expect. Excellent service and wine.

  28. Alice H.
    Alice H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing views, delicious food and brilliant service. Book a table at sunset for the best views!

  29. Koray K.
    Koray K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Everything wonderwull????

  30. Alessandro C.
    Alessandro C.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    4 ore per mangiare..

  31. Ioanna L.
    Ioanna L.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    The restaurant was empty when we got there, so the feel of the place was rather cold. The terrace looked beautiful and the view magnificent - probably better to visit in warmer weather and sit outside. The service was good and professional. The food was fresh and interesting, nothing really exciting or exceptional but interesting.

  32. Karl S.
    Karl S.
    • one review
    9/10

    Views are spectacular. One side you have the Vatican other side the Pantheon and Coliseum. Elegant vegetarian but don't let that stop you! Even my committed carnivore husband loved it. What a perfect evening. 5 star service. Great wine selection. Highly recommend.

  33. Jean-paul N.
    Jean-paul N.
    • 12 reviews
    8/10

    Very nice place and food! But i really disliked the fact that they treated us (mostly the hostess) as "less important" because we were younger people..

  34. Ekaterina Y.
    Ekaterina Y.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    All was good! And the view from the restaurant area. And the kitchen. And service. The only thing, I did not see that this restaurant is vegetarian))

  35. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Overall our dinner on the terrace was lovely. There were a couple of unexpected issues, a price on the bill that was addressed but would have been missed without diligence on my part and, oddly, an inability for a fine dining restaurant to make whipped cream for the dopio con panna that was ordered. What was delivered was a build-your-own cappuccino with insufficient foam and grounds in the cup. Portions are very small, except for the fondue, which was a bowl of Parmesan soup with 6 small pieces of delicious vegetables, completely out of balance for the giant portion of fondue. The scenery is beautiful and the staff are very friendly once you can prove that you have a reservation.

  36. Stéphanie S.
    Stéphanie S.
    • 139 reviews
    8.5/10

    Nice place, Wonderful view .... but the cooking is not very inventive and "tremendous" compared to other places ( which are cheaper for the same quality)

  37. Andriy M.
    Andriy M.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent Italian meals made vegan. Quite pricey considering the products used are not very expensive. Still, a good place to try if you want vegan fine dining in Rome. The service and atmosphere was at a very high level.

  38. Jonathan S.
    Jonathan S.
    • 7 reviews
    4.5/10

    The rooftop experience was sublime, but the food was pretentious and unexceptional. The waitstaff seemed overtaxed and service dragged out an uneventful meal to an unnecessarily late conclusion -- so much so that it wasn't worth ordering dessert. Be prepared to spend on average €20 per course.... Or approximately €60 pp excluding wine. Italian food can easily go vegetarian... It was not worth the trip to have pretentious vegetarian food that is an unexceptional rendition of Italian favorites.