Register my restaurant
Help
What
Where

Seafood Good for groups

Reviews - Melbas Asian Seafood

9.1/10
64
15 Beach Road, 4217 Surfers Paradise (QLD)See map

Average price A$35

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts
This restaurant is following the relevant safety practices*:
Contactless, digital or single use menus
Extra cleaning services implemented at the tables, toilets and kitchen
Government training by staff completed
Guest spacing 1,5m
*This information is declared by the restaurant
See more information

Reviews

9.1/10
Excellent64 reviews
8.8/10

Food

9.8/10

Service

9.1/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Deb B.

    November 14, 202128 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent service. Fabulous fresh seafood!

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Beb, we appreciated your great comment. Please come again.

  • Zarina T.

    November 13, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent! Really enjoyed our meal. We ordered corn and crab soup, salt pepper white bait, roast duck, lobster in cheese sauce and garlic scallops. It was all delicious. We will definitely be back!

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Zarina, it was our great pleasure to be of service to you and your family. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Angie C.

    October 28, 20215 reviews

    10/10

    Great service and good food.

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Angie, we appreciate your great comment. Please come again.

  • Misty K.
    Misty K.

    October 24, 20211 review

    8.5/10

    Lovely meals and great service

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Misty, your comment is of great value to our improvement. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Luke B.

    October 16, 20211 review

    10/10

    Extremely friendly and attentive staff. The restaurant is also very clean with a welcoming atmosphere.

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Luke, we appreciate your comment. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Karen L.

    October 2, 20211 review

    9/10

    We had Lamb chop "pi feng tang", Peking duck, BBQ pork with tofu hotpot, Deep fried Lemon sole fish and golden fried rice for dinner. All dishes were tasty.

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Karen, we appreciate your comment. Please come again.

  • Joyce L.

    September 29, 202118 reviews

    8/10

    Great service and nice restaurant. Good are all nice on the expansive side at full price

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Joyce, we appreciate your comment. We take it seriously to review our products with the kitchen team. Please come again.

  • Samantha S.

    September 24, 20217 reviews

    10/10

    Melbas was great! I lived in Hong Kong for 40 Years and the food plus service was as close as you could get to authenticity.. please go and support your local community! BYO Wine is offered at $8.

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Samantha, we appreciate your great comment. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Sue H.

    July 14, 20215 reviews

    7/10

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

  • Mike B.

    May 28, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    Excellent seafood,, extensive menu, will be back for more ????…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Mike, we appreciate your comment. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Daniel L.
    Daniel L.

    April 4, 20211 review

    10/10

    Staff were beautifully accommodating. Food was delicious. Great experience, will go again! Apparently I need extra characters so I'll recommend the golden fried rice.

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Daniel, it was our great pleasure to read your comment. It is our mission to provide the best food and service to all our patrons. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Jennifer B.
    Jennifer B.

    December 12, 202023 reviews

    8.5/10

    We booked for 6pm on a rainy Saturday night, so the restaurant was not busy. Staff were friendly & attentive. Food was freshly cooked. We really enjoyed the salt & pepper prawns!

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Jennifer, we appreciate you comment. It was our pleasure to serving you. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Michelle M.

    December 4, 20201 review

    9.5/10

    Easily on par with Chinatown restaurants in Sydney and Melbourne. Beautiful food, friendly staffs x.

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

  • Richard F.

    November 11, 202033 reviews

    9.5/10

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Richard, thank you for your comments. There will be more signage on Beach Road soon. Please come again.

  • Nuong D.

    November 6, 20205 reviews

    8/10

    Lovely Chinese

  • Paula Wu

    November 5, 202026 reviews

    8/10

    Food was reasonable, typical cantonese style. The best thing was the variety of dishes that are available in small portions. This allows us to have a number of dishes.

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Paula, thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again.

  • Pauline S

    November 4, 202060 reviews

    10/10

    Really impressed with the level of service and the quality of the food with Melbas. Five stars Asian food. Highly recommended

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Pauline, we appreciate your great comment. It was our pleasure to see satisfied customers. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Rachel H.

    November 1, 202031 reviews

    10/10

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Rachel, we appreciate your great comment. We strive to provide consistent quality food and service as our mission. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Benny Tu

    October 24, 20201 review

    9/10

    Ordered duck and king prawns. Good serving sizes, food tasted pretty good. Owners seemed like genuine people.

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Hi Benny, we appreciate your comments. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Nobuko T.

    October 23, 20206 reviews

    10/10

    Dim sim was so yummy!

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    It was our pleasure to serve your family. Dim Sims will be freshly cooked for your every visit. Hope to see you soon.

  • Kellie M.

    October 22, 202020 reviews

    9/10

    Beautiful fresh made food

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Thank you for your comment. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Vicki M.

    October 3, 20203 reviews

    10/10

    Great service and food. Very hospitable and patient with the toddler and baby making a bit of mess!

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Thank you for your great comment. We are glad to see customers' satisfaction on our food and service. Please come again.

  • Angela D.
    Angela D.

    July 10, 20201 review

    10/10

    Food was excellent! Authentic and good portion size. Good value for money. Best service we have had in a long time. Best Chinese on the Gold Coast!

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    We appreciate your great comment. It is our mission to provide quality food and service to every diner. Please come again.

  • Krystal L.

    June 6, 20201 review

    10/10
  • Gerry G.

    March 8, 20206 reviews

    10/10

    Great food and great service.

  • A A.

    October 28, 2019268 reviews

    9/10

    Staff are friendly, foods are delicious

  • John C.

    August 30, 201917 reviews

    9/10

    This place deserves bettwr review. Goood food

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Dear John, thank you for your comment. We strive to provide the best quality of food and service.

  • A A.

    August 27, 2019265 reviews

    5.8/10

    Average meal. Overpriced and although service was good and the place was pretty much empty it was ok

  • A A.

    August 26, 2019261 reviews

    4.8/10

    Food was really average especially the dim sums were so bad that I just left over. However service was good

  • Jes Shern T.

    August 12, 20192 reviews

    10/10

    Coming from an Asian, this place is as authentic as it gets. Wonderful service and great tasting food. Owners are great! Big portions too, could not finish it!

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    We are grateful that you enjoy our food and service. Hope to see you again soon.

  • A A.

    August 2, 2019276 reviews

    7.5/10

    Great food. Decor is a little dated.

  • A A.

    August 2, 2019240 reviews

    6.3/10

    Yum Cha was OK but lack of variety !

  • A A.

    July 5, 2019285 reviews

    8/10

    Melba is definitely one of the most authentic Chinese restaurants in Queensland, if not in Australia!

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Thank you so much for your comment. We strive to provide all guests with quality food and service.

  • A A.

    June 24, 2019286 reviews

    9.5/10

    friendly staff / owners great location.

  • A A.

    June 7, 2019267 reviews

    8/10

    Average Chinese restaurant

  • A A.

    May 13, 2019263 reviews

    10/10

    I used 30% off promotion. All meals were absolutely delicious, specially home made dumplings. The staff was so friendly and polite. This is best Chinese restaurant in town. I will definitely go back.

  • A A.

    April 30, 2019284 reviews

    6.8/10

    The food was really good! the restaurant try to sell good one. But, We ordered what we want to have. Any orders what we did were delicious! We got 30% discount from the fork. That was big deal!

  • Michael G.

    April 26, 201914 reviews

    7.5/10

    Nice Chinese Food

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Thank you for your comment. We strive to improve ourselves to provide quality food and service.

  • A A.

    April 14, 2019294 reviews

    8.5/10

    Nice atmosphere. Good quality food and great service.

  • Kerry K.

    April 8, 20193 reviews

    10/10

    Beautiful food great service would recommend this restaurant to others.

    Melbas Asian Seafood (Owner)

    Dear Kerry, we love to see you enjoy your meal here. Cheers.

Tripadvisor reviews

15 Tripadvisor Reviews

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership

© 2021 La Fourchette SAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation