Register my restaurant
Help


INSIDERToscano Traditional

Reviews - Mugolone

8.8/10
590
Via dei Pellegrini, 8, 53100 Siena
Toscano
Average price €70

Mugolone

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.8/10
Fabulous590 reviews
8.7/10

Food

9/10

Service

8.9/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Stephen B.1 review

    May 21, 2024

    10/10

    A great experience in every way. Friendly, attentive service, outstanding food and a wonderful atmosphere. As much a gallery as a restaurant, lots to enjoy

  • John A.3 reviews

    May 18, 2024

    9.5/10

    We felt very cared for and the ingredients felt so fresh. Highlight was the fresh truffle sliced over my wife’s pasta. I loved my boar parpadelle too

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Koen P.1 review

    May 19, 2024

    4.5/10

    Food is without inspiration prepared. Top expensive for the quality you get.

  • Johannes H.2 reviews

    April 19, 2024

    4.5/10

    Wine prices are very fair

  • Olivier V.1 review

    April 16, 2024

    2.5/10

    Bad food and rude staff. Don’t know what else to give it. Find somewhere else these people prey on 1 and done tourists

  • Simon H.2 reviews

    April 4, 2024

    8.5/10

    Lovely welcome, we were booked quite late for lunch so it was quiet in the restaurant which suited us. Food was good, honest fayre and we would recommend this restaurant.

  • Luisa M.

    Luisa M.1 review

    April 1, 2024

    6.5/10

    Unfortunately lovely service and pro but the food ideas were good but not very freshly delivered - shame as we were looking forward for this and liked the menu options sophisticated - maybe just a bad day during Easter holiday time, thanks best luisa

  • Adrian F.1 review

    March 15, 2024

    10/10

    What an amazing experience. Great food, amazing service and a wonderful wine list. The sommelier really knows his stuff, explaining everything about your wine choices. Yes, I can’t wait to comeback!!

  • Sankar P.4 reviews

    February 17, 2024

    10/10

    Excellent ambience n good food quality ! Staff are always supportive

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Toni B.1 review

    December 31, 2023

    9/10

    Beautiful spot. Fantastic service. Food was really good. I ordered the pork ribs - delicious but a bit overdone so slightly dry. That’s the only reason I only gave 4 stars. Otherwise really loved everything. Highly recommend.

  • Stephaney P.1 review

    November 21, 2023

    10/10

    Amazing food and service. The saffron risotto and duck were delicious. May be the best risotto I've ever had.

  • Sam Na

    Sam Na2 reviews

    November 5, 2023

    9/10

    We tried the Viaggio in Toscana prix fixe menu. Without being too specific (I don’t want to ruin the surprise for future diners), portions are more than enough for my wife and I. In fact, we were unable to finish our meat dish even though it was good. The staff were very helpful and professional. They gave us a booklet that explains the history and vision of the restaurant which was very interesting. Coming from the US, the meal was a fantastic value and we were able to take our time without feeling rushed to finish fast.

  • Manuel I.1 review

    November 4, 2023

    10/10

    Extremely attentive and friendly staff, delicious food, lovely atmosphere. Perfect place for an amazing dinner

  • Álvaro N.1 review

    October 21, 2023

    10/10

    Went there with a friend and we both tried the Tuscan expedition 7 course menu, and maybe the first course was a bit lacking (a carrot soufflé with mayonnaise) but from then on it only went upwards (and it escalated quickly!). The Foie Grasse with Figs other worldly, not to mention the Risotto that came afterwards... And being both wine lovers but not to knowledgeable about Italian wines, the sommelier was able to recommend us a perfect match (without going into extreme prices) following indications of our preferred. The service was as you could expect from a Micheline guide featured restaurant and the staff even tried accommodating us through the use of Spanish (our Italian is quite lacking) Overall it was a great experience, worth the visit if you're anywhere near Siena.

  • Dallas S.1 review

    September 6, 2023

    10/10

    We were well taken care of from the moment we arrived. We were seated and asked for a different location and the staff was very accommodating. The sommelier was spot on with the wine paring for our prix fixe menu. Every dish was a delight to look at, taste, and explore the flavors. We would highly recommend this restaurant. The online booking was easy, and we will definitely come back again on our next visit.

  • Lee Anne S.1 review

    October 10, 2023

    5/10

    So disappointed. Made reservation months ago to share with friends when visiting Siena. Was so embarrassed after talking up the restaurant. We were the second guests at the restaurant at 19:00. After 90+ minutes we’d only been served one course while others near us had been served three. And they didn’t even correctly serve what we ordered. When I mentioned how slow the service was, Luca said “It’s fine dining”. Unacceptable!!! Over the course of our 3 week visit to Italy we’ve eaten in multiple Michelin starred restaurants. So many way’s unacceptable.

  • Neil W.14 reviews

    October 3, 2023

    4/10

    A disappointing evening overall. Started well with friendly welcome and reasonable initial service, however as the night went on it became more disappointing and frustrating. We went for the taster menu with wine pairing (3 wines) The good points 1. The first three courses were excellent albeit served slowly 2. Good location and ambience The bad points 1. Main course over cooked 2. The deserts were disappointing to say the least 3. No information as to why the wine was paired with the food 4. Tables left uncleared despite diners having left a considerable period of time before 5. Staff going for visible smoking breaks close to the restaurant 6. Painfully slow service. Two and half hours for 3 courses with the deserts only brought when we wanted to leave and pay 7. Waiter not interested when we mentioned the problems with no thanks for us visiting the restaurant 8. Very expensive A very disappointing evening at was meant to be the highlight of our stay in Siena. A long way from a Michelin restaurant with many better places close by. Not recommended

  • Maria P.2 reviews

    October 7, 2023

    9.5/10

    Excellent meal and service last night! One of our best meals since serving in Italy a week ago. The risotto tasted fantastic and it was also beautiful. Service was impeccable. Highly recommend,

  • Vane C.1 review

    September 27, 2023

    7/10

    The food was excellent, but small portions and over priced for comparable restaurants in Siena. Atmosphere was very stuffy.

  • Beverlee R.9 reviews

    September 21, 2023

    10/10

    We returned to Mugolone because in the past it was a great experience. This time did not disappoint. We started with the very unusual Caesar salad and poche egg with peas and truffle. A hit all the way. We got the pigeon which was succulent. The pasta was perfectly cooked and tasty.

    review_preview

    See 5 photos

  • Fiona W.2 reviews

    September 15, 2023

    9.5/10

    We had an outstanding meal at Mugolone. The food was innovative, beautifully presented and tasted heavenly. The service was wonderful- only let down slightly by the sommelier being so busy we were somewhat delayed in ordering our wine.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Ramon V.10 reviews

    September 13, 2023

    10/10

    Food was really very good, and with truffles some of the dishes, unforgettable. And the personnel were so professional and kind at the same time. A place to repeat if we come back to Toscana

  • Sabrina B.1 review

    September 13, 2023

    10/10

    We enjoyed every bite of our appetizer, primo and secundo courses. The seasonings of these familiar and common Italian dishes were uncommonly complex and delicious. Each mouthful was an explosion of flavor. Highly recommend.

  • Roger C.1 review

    September 1, 2023

    10/10

    Our last night in Siena was at the Mugolone restaurant where we were also celebrating our daughter's 24th birthday. The whole evening was first class. The food was delicious from beginning to end. There is a lovely warm atmosphere, the staff are very friendly and welcoming with no pretensions for such a high-end establishment. The sommelier recommended sublime wines that were not expensive. The service was excellent all evening and Marco must get special mention for all his hard work and perfect timing throughout the meal. Highly recommended.

  • Vanessa H.1 review

    August 27, 2023

    10/10

    The service was phenomenal and made our dinner special. The food was excellent. Absolutely delicious pasta, bison, and some of the best chicken I have had! Beautiful ambience and appreciated the multicultural feeling of the restaurant - Italian, Spanish, French, and English spoken at the tables around us and by our waiter to make each table feel at home. A wonderful evening!

  • Jo S.1 review

    August 5, 2023

    10/10

    The food was amazing and the service was beyond excellent

  • Chris M.3 reviews

    July 29, 2023

    10/10

    Highly recommend. The food and service were excellent and the signature tortelli was particularly delicious.

  • Andrew W.

    Andrew W.1 review

    July 16, 2023

    10/10

    Lovely respite from the florentine heat. English menu which we appreciated

  • Debbie P.1 review

    July 8, 2023

    10/10

    We enjoyed the tasting menu. A great experience!

  • Matt S.1 review

    July 9, 2023

    5.5/10

    A real disappointment. The food was poor. Ceviche was ok, steak tartare was bland, pasta dish was under salted and bland, pork was over-cooked and dry. Service was not very attentive. They forgot to serve the wine and I had to go to the front desk to ask for the bull after waiting 20 minutes for any waiting staff to appear.

  • Geoff P.1 review

    July 1, 2023

    9/10

    The egg dish was superb, & is highly recommended.

  • Tony F.1 review

    July 1, 2023

    10/10

    Mugolone is truly an exceptional modern Italian restaurant. The chef’s creativity — often based on, or with hints of, regional cuisine was special. The staff were also incredibly friendly and helpful. From the first steps into the restaurant until you leave they made you feel happy to be there. I had the 7 course chef’s tasting menu and it was wonderful and every dish was surprising. I will come back to Mugolone every time I visit Siena, and I’m sorry this was my first visit.

  • Myrna Φ.1 review

    June 3, 2023

    10/10

    Great experience, the food was delicious, the staff kind and helpful. Nice ambiance, with excellent music choises at an agreeable volume. Overall a beautiful dinner.

  • Hugh S.

    Hugh S.14 reviews

    April 30, 2023

    10/10

    Fantastic food, excellent service, great location in Siena, and not expensive. Grazie!

  • Youlia S.

    Youlia S.1 review

    April 5, 2023

    10/10

    Extraordinary restaurant with interesting tastes, excellent service and unusual experience

  • Hangcheol C.

    Hangcheol C.1 review

    February 19, 2023

    10/10

    Awesome

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Charles L.2 reviews

    February 14, 2023

    9.5/10

    An excellent Valentine's evening with a creative, intriguing and wonderful meal. The restaurant was full, everyone of all ages having a wonderful evening, attentive but not intrusive service, very friendly and helpful staff who took pride in their work and the food and wine they served. An interesting selection of dishes served in unusual ways making for a perfect evening, we left very happy and will return again.

  • Michelle O.3 reviews

    October 23, 2022

    7.5/10

    Dinner was ok. Maybe our expectations were too high. But, we had a great meal there last year and they are mentioned by Michelin. And, when you factor in the cost, nearly $300 for three, pretty disappointing. First, the portions on some courses were too big. It’s not pleasant to be over-full with more courses to come. The risotto was just too much as was the pasta course ( on the vegetarian menu). Seasoning was good on most dishes. However, my husband’s lamb was over cooked and the accompanying beans were undercooked. The pigeon was undercooked. The two dessert courses were incorrect. Either the menus were printed wrong or we were served desserts from the opposite menu. As for the dessert with the apples, ice cream, and the bun with chestnut cream, it was awful. Way, way too big of a portion. Apples were so sour and unpleasant. The bun was dry and filled with a chestnut filling that was flavorless and grainy. Did someone actually taste this before putting it on the menu? By this point, we’re out of water and wine and just wanted to leave. 2 1/2 hours for dinner is a bit too long for three people. I did try to mention the concerns but the language gap was too big.

    review_preview

    See 6 photos

  • Juan y.1 review

    September 13, 2022

    9.5/10

    Great service. Excelent food quality and presentation in a very nice location in Siena

  • Matteo G.3 reviews

    September 11, 2022

    10/10

    A truly memorable dining experience with a welcoming and charismatic staff. Was recommended a delicious and very affordable wine as well. We will be back!

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

948 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.