Back

Reviews - Nagomi Japanese Kitchen

9.3/10

Excellent

based on 234 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Chris P.
    Chris P.
    • one review
    9/10

    I do not like using plastic chopsticks, authentic wooden chopsticks would make the dining experience better, especially for a restaurant of Nagomi’s standard.

  2. Chilla b.
    Chilla b.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was delicious with a variety of vegetarian options. The service was impeccable: as you would expect from attentive polite Japanese people. A lovely little local Japanese restaurant committed to excellence

  3. Tony D.
    Tony D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic food, service and wine. All enjoyed the experience....................................................................

  4. Enoch H.
    Enoch H.
    • one review
    9/10

    Friendly service and really good food. The quality of the food was excellent and the service was attentive and efficient We had a good time and would definitely like to return again.

  5. Mark G.
    Mark G.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent food and service, good spacing of tables

  6. James C.
    James C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic food, friendly staff, authentic Japanese cuisine in a cosy atmosphere. We would definately recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for an enjoyable meal.

  7. Gary M.
    Gary M.
    • one review
    10/10

    The service was great, the staff prompt and polite. The food was amazing, all 3 courses. We will definitely go back. Good to find a fantastic Japanese restaurant.

  8. Sheryl N.
    Sheryl N.
    • one review
    10/10

    This place is fabulous. My family of 4 really enjoyed their meals and experience. We had the 5 course set menu. It was a great way to taste food we wouldn't normally order. Loved the hot pot with waygu beef. I highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely eat there again. Sheryl

  9. S G.
    S G.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    We went to this restaurant with excitement last night as there had been so many positive things said about this place. It turned out that people weren’t critical enough and it wouldn’t help this place to move forward and it would be lucky if they wouldn’t move backwards. Their manager didn’t bother and care about your customers’ dining experience and food quality at all, even though you complained, complained and complained to their two staff members. My friend said I should only gave one star to this place, but I would still give two stars as there were dishes which should still had merits in them. The overall experience was completely ruined after having two raw oysters on our sushi platter with my friend. The oysters were not fresh at all and tasted fishy, bitter and even slightly stinky. By the time we noticed, it was too late to spit them out. I was then concerned for last night what if I got food poisoning. It was just intolerable to have stale oysters on a sushi platter that was worth 36 dollars at such a premium place, and the price we paid were enough to buy good and fresh 1.5 dozens of oysters on the market. The Aburi sushi was also a shock as how a Japanese restaurant could possibly overcooked rice or just added too much water into the rice during cooking. As a result, the rice grains in the sushi were glued together and were quite chewy and the texture were close to glutinous rice ball without good acidity in it. The rice grains in the sushi should have been just stuck together but still be distinguishable as individual grains and you can feel the little bounce between your teeth when you chew through the rice. Btw, they also burnt the rice in the aburi sushi (see photo for the black rice grains). I did enjoy the other components on the sushi platter (salmon, salmon belly, yellow fin tuna and scallops), although their varieties were less than Wasai in Chinatown. Their kingfish cheek was also delicious and full of umami and the meat was just tender and soaked in the delicious sweet soy sauce. Beef tataki (tenderloin) was definitely a star as the meat was tender infused with earthy (and grassy) aromas and tastes. The pickled onions in Beef tataki were impressively prepared as it smoothed out the pungency of red onions but it somehow helped to balance out the richness of a beef dish and made the dish more palatable. Their chawanmushi was such a classic Japanese dish that you could taste the egg, mirin, dashi and seafood - complex flavors in one tiny pot. Tempura (veggies and prawns) was nothing special but also nothing wrong with it. I will still come back to this restaurant to try their other dishes but definitely not their sushi and oysters in particular. This place does have some interesting elements (e.g.: homestyle Japanese dishes, contemporary Japanese dishes) that will bring me back. I probably will be able to have a full review of their dishes at some point in the future.

  10. Stephen H.
    Stephen H.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food was outstanding and the staff were very good. Will definitely go back an d recommend to go there. Best value Japanese in Adelaide

  11. Kate G.
    Kate G.
    • one review
    10/10

    We spent our first wedding anniversary here and it was just amazing. We chose the 5 courses, beautiful presentation and was very happy with the service

  12. Deane B.
    Deane B.
    • one review
    10/10

    We enjoyed a lovely dinner at Nagomi on Saturday evening. All the dishes we ordered were lovely and the tuna carpaccio is excellent. Their wine list is good too and the staff are polite and attentive. Recommended.

  13. Raymond H.
    Raymond H.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Good food and service.

  14. Sharifah M.
    Sharifah M.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Nice food and service. Will come again

  15. Nina D.
    Nina D.
    • one review
    10/10

    The traditional Kaiseki dinner menu made us feel like we were back in Japan. Each course was beautifully prepared and presented on pretty crockery. The entree had exquisite flavours and the Sashimi was melt in your mouth. The Steamed egg dish was light and silky, hotpot fun (I have to buy a Campmaster cooker) and the dessert the perfect way to finish this celebration of Japanese cuisine. I feel like I've done some type of body temple healing and will dream of Miyajima Island and the deer.

  16. Sue A.
    Sue A.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    This was a real surprise. The food was amazing. Service good, staff helpful and friendly. Nice wine list choices and we will definitely come again.

  17. John h.
    John h.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    As always. Excellent

  18. Athony B.
    Athony B.
    • one review
    10/10

    T Nagomi is an Adelaide secret. Quite simply excellent food served by friendly helpful Staff. We keep going back and the friends we introduce to it keep going back.

  19. Ryan G.
    Ryan G.
    • 3 reviews
    6.5/10

    Food was a bit average and overpriced. Restaurant was nice, but nothing special.

  20. Melanie T.
    Melanie T.
    • 29 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic food

  21. Mark G.
    Mark G.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food as service. Good wine list.

  22. Kathryn C.
    Kathryn C.
    • 8 reviews
    9.5/10

    Food was really delicious and came out quick. The staff was friendly.

  23. J E.
    J E.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff were professional and kind, nothing too much trouble. All the meals were beautiful! Favorites were the sashimi and eggplant dishes.

  24. Carol L.
    Carol L.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a very enjoyable meal at Nagomi Japanese Kitchen this evening. The staff were most welcoming & the food was delicious! The atmosphere of the restaurant was relaxed . Staff were helpful with choice of menu dishes. The Citrus Sorbet to finish off meal was perfect. We will definitely return ????

  25. William C.
    William C.
    • 38 reviews
    10/10

    Very nice Atmosphere and the food was valuable for the price u pay????

  26. Kim F.
    Kim F.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We took our son here for his 10th birthday and enjoyed the service and the food was delicious. The presentation of the sushi and sashimi boat was fantastic. We will be back for sure!

  27. Sara S.
    Sara S.
    • one review
    9/10

    The food was wonderful, so fresh and amazing flavors. I particularly recommend the eggplant entree. The service was spot on and catered for the vegetarian and gluten free needs of our group. I would definitely visit here again.

  28. John h.
    John h.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Always great!

  29. Stephen g.
    Stephen g.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly well come Food was serve very quickly Food was excellent It was an enjoyable experience I definitely will have to come back and sample the other dishes

  30. Wenting X.
    Wenting X.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    I’ve been to this restaurant many times. The quality of food and service is always excellent. I catches you with friends, and we were there from open to close. Really enjoyed everything there.

  31. John h.
    John h.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    As always, excellent!

  32. John M.
    John M.
    • one review
    9/10

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Our table was pretty 'pokey' and felt like we were in the middle of the service highway. Food was excellent, although the service was fairly slow, even when there weren't many customers.

  33. Mark G.
    Mark G.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent as always. The food is always fresh and of the best quality , the preparation superb, attentive and efficient service, and a good wine list. Highly recommended.

  34. John h.
    John h.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Always great

  35. John h.
    John h.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Love this restaurant - always try to have dinner here when I’m in town!

  36. Robert F.
    Robert F.
    • one review
    10/10

    the food at this small Japanese restaurant was delicious and very comparable to the excellent foot we enjoyed in Japan. My son was very impressed with the sake "paddle" of 3 small samples.

  37. Vincent N.
    Vincent N.
    • 17 reviews
    10/10

    Great restaurant with quality Japanese food

  38. Fadia D.
    Fadia D.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Food was delicious and service was excellent.

  39. Sarah P.
    Sarah P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We had a delicious meal; the sashimi was fresh and crisp, the miso tasty and the kyoza mouth burning and delicious. Excellent fast service and welcoming staff.

  40. Lorraine L.
    Lorraine L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great restaurant to go with kids. We love their fresh and delicious sashimi and sushi, very yummy food! Staffs are friendly and welcoming. Also easy to get a parking lot at the front.