Register my restaurant
Help


British Design

Reviews - Norton Park

7.3/10
165
Sutton Scotney, SO21 3NB Winchester
British
Average price £29

Norton Park

Find a table

Book for free

🔥 Already 27 bookings today

Reviews

7.3/10
165 reviews
7.5/10

Food

7.3/10

Service

7/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Fair value for money
Moderate waiting time
Quiet
  • Roxanne H.1 review

    March 24, 2024

    4.5/10

    Afternoon tea was not the same menu as advertised on the website. Service took over 25 mins to originally get the tea stand and another 45 mins to get a sandwich corrected. Manager was helpful and apologetic. Scenery was beautiful.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Anne G.1 review

    February 24, 2024

    10/10

    The food was absolutely amazing the service was great staff friendly and helpful will definitely be back

  • Kerry M.1 review

    January 7, 2024

    8.5/10

    Celebrated my partners birthday, enjoyed our meals and at the end the restaurant gave my partner a birthday platter with chocolates and two glasses of prosecco which was a lovely touch.

  • Justin B.1 review

    December 21, 2023

    9.5/10

    Delicious food, nothing to fault, will be back.

  • Liza F.1 review

    October 14, 2023

    6.5/10

    Food was not of great quality. I certainly expected more. Opted for the parsnip wellington, everything just tasted overwhelmingly of curry powder. The fillet steak was not a great quality cut if meat either and had rather a lot of fat running through it.

  • Baz P.1 review

    October 3, 2023

    5/10

    Tea was cold and had to go and get my own sugar. Had to wait another 30 minutes for our sandwiches and cakes. By then we had finished our cold tea so had to eat the food with the tap water provided. Also booked it on line and pay at the hotel. The online price was £4 a head cheaper.

  • Nicole T.1 review

    June 12, 2023

    6/10

    From the minute we arrived the front of house was on the phone, no eye contact no smiles and as she put down the phone she walked into the office, once spoke too was helpful. The staff seemed under pressure. 3 couples complained about their food not arriving on time and having to wait even before we were seated. Once seated the food and cakes was nice but we had to ask for plates and also no one came round to check on us. I went to the bar to pay my bill. Tables left Uncleaned and if I’m honest when you have staff complaining the price of the bar drinks its disappointing. Shame at the setting and the decor was lovely.

  • Nicola H.1 review

    June 9, 2023

    2/10

    Not explaination about paying Food apoling and very over priced Waited for 20 mins and the had to ask hi ow we pay Not asked if we wanted coffee. General

  • Craig G.1 review

    June 3, 2023

    10/10

    The restaurant and food is amazing great atmosphere and service was great

  • Charlotte M.1 review

    May 19, 2023

    4.5/10

    Unfortunately this restaurant is clearly a bit of a mess. Incorrect food, poor quality. Manager listened to feedback, but really, it is such a shame as the team seem keen and enthusiastic.

  • Stephen M.2 reviews

    May 15, 2023

    5/10

    The staff were friendly and welcoming. However, The restaurant menu was limited and I was unable to select from the lounge menu. The wait for my main course was unacceptable and the steak was not cooked as requested.

  • shirley f.3 reviews

    April 27, 2023

    6/10

    hotel good staff excellent food terrible nowhere near 4 star if you want people to return you need a good food shakeup we visit a lot of 4 star hotels maybe you need to visit and revalue what customers expect

  • shirley f.3 reviews

    April 28, 2023

    6.5/10

    The staff were very attentive and we had excellent service .However we felt the food was just ok and very overpriced.Didnt live up to expectations

  • Anna J.1 review

    April 27, 2023

    10/10

    Pleasant place to have a afternoon tea. Great staff a d service. Lovely selection of cakes. Truly stuffed after the whole 3 tier. The glass of fizz finished it off nicely.

  • Clare Y.1 review

    April 21, 2023

    4.5/10

    The food was undercooked (raw chips and anaemic fatty steak) and poor quality (apple compote was like baby food apple puree). Same price as the Ivy in Winchester but a world apart in quality. Very disappointing given high prices.

  • Gwen E.1 review

    April 18, 2023

    6/10

    The hotel was extremely busy and both kitchen and waiting staff under pressure which resulted in an average eating experience. One starter of meatballs was served cold and one main of fillet steak was sent back as cold, we had to fetch our own water, no samphire on my main was served rocket instead. Nothing to drastic but all added up to a disappointment.

  • Louise G.1 review

    April 1, 2023

    5.5/10

    The staff were very polite, we waited 20 mins for an order to be taken and 3 of the wines we chose from the wine list were not in stock. Food ok, small portions for the price. Breakfast food lovely but terrible coffee from the machine.

  • Helen A.1 review

    March 25, 2023

    8/10

    We could not fault the food or attentive/friendly staff. The decor was lovely too. Sadly the Saturday night was extremely busy for them and we sadly had to cancel our dessert after waiting half an hour after ordering it (we had to wait 15 mins to get the menu for dessert). It was just the two of us wanting a quiet meal and we were placed next to a large party who were extremely noisy and even stood around our table greeting new arrivals for ages whilst chatting to each other. This is not the restaurants fault, but the guests themselves and their insensitivity to other diners (we were not the only ones). Perhaps a more intimate area could be given to those diners wanting a more relaxed intimate feel? This was our first weekend away in 3 years after my partner having had a long illness, and we didnt want to make a fuss. This was the only thing that let it down. As I said the staff did as much as they were ale to do in the circumstances. and were lovely.

  • Clare S.1 review

    March 22, 2023

    8/10

    Very polite and pleasant waiters. Ambience was nice. Food good........................................................................

  • William M.1 review

    March 6, 2023

    7/10

    We dined at the restaurant for 3 nights. Sunday being the first night was a little chaotic. We were served soup with no spoons, my hot meal was served on a cold plate and we were not offered the dessert menu. The next two nights were better for service. The food overall was good but not value for money and some portions were small. Hot food needs HOT plates.

  • Hailey G.1 review

    March 3, 2023

    4/10

    Food wasn't great and was very overpriced for what we had. Staff and service was good

  • Julie M.4 reviews

    February 26, 2023

    10/10

    We loved the treat of having a meal in the hotel restaurant. It was hard to choose just one thing from the menu, and we enjoyed every morsel.

  • Carla A.1 review

    February 25, 2023

    3/10

    Food disappointing and had to ask 5 times for water before finally getting after starting main meals, my chicken was cold and pink had to send back, but then my husband had eaten his food before I got mine back, on a smaller plate with smaller portion and the same chicken which was so tough was hard to cut, husbands food was lukewarm but to no honest we had Waited so long over all we gave up. Never asked if wanted another drink very poor

  • Michelle B.1 review

    February 19, 2023

    5.5/10

    The restaurant and bar staff let this stay down, we had to wait 20 minutes before someone came to the table, we were not offered water like other tables.. The ran out of rose wine. Asked for ice for my wine and the ice was already melting as it was put into my glass. We were going to ordered cheese and biscuits but overheard the table close to us say that the portion size was half the size of the one they had the previous night. Staff had no direction and seemed to not know what they were supposed to do. When we went to the bar i overheard a conversation of the bar staff that was inappropriate, my husband asked for a toothpick but was advised that due to health and safety he could not have one.

  • Marcus D.1 review

    February 18, 2023

    5.5/10

    The staff at the restaurant in the hotel were very good. Service was quick and attentive even though it was very busy. However, the price to quality/quantity of the food was very poor indeed. Sandwiches from the bar at £8 each were below even the cheapest package sandwiches and ordered chips did not materialise...resulting in a complaint and removal from bill. The evening meal was adequate but for the price definitely not worth it. The wine we sent back as it was off and the £20 pork belly came with barely a handful of accompaniments (so much so that we had to order additional food). Overall not a great dining experience. Again, staff very good and reception no problems with amending the bill as appropriate based on our experience. They do have you as a captive audience at this hotel as miles from anywhere so be ready.

  • Kikinga S.1 review

    February 17, 2023

    4.5/10

    Me and my friend were really disappointed. Firstly we ordered a bottle of Chardonnay, waitress brought us already opened bottle ????, said enjoy and left... We asked for the new one of course and ice in the bottle tube as was missing at first. Food was average. Starters were okay but we didn't enjoy main at all. My friend has a chicken and fries. Meat was dry and fries undercooked. My pork belly was okay but vegetables dry and burned. Overall we won't go there anymore

  • Linda F.1 review

    February 13, 2023

    7/10

    I booked the hotel restaurant out of convenience as we were staying there. I had also visited the hotel before and had a reasonable experience in the restaurant but felt that the food on this occasion was unexciting and overpriced. Aside from the food, the restaurant is clean, tidy and a nice place to spend the evening and the young waiting staff are polite and efficient.

  • Victoria G.1 review

    February 15, 2023

    10/10

    Really lovely atmosphere, the food was great, the serving size was just right. The servers was kind and quick without being overbearing. Would recommend

  • Maggie B.1 review

    February 16, 2023

    6/10

    Great little restaurant with limited menu and great ambience, food was cooked well, portions average. I think there have been an influx of new staff in training when we visited, I was told they ran out of mustard, had to ask for everything ie vinegar and ketchup. Flat coke and lemonade. Personally for £30 a main I would have expected more than reconstituted chips and a leaf of lettuce on the side.

  • Sara D.1 review

    February 14, 2023

    7.5/10

    Staff very friendly, food and wine pretty good though not a huge choice. The restaurant itself was a bit functional but we had a pleasant evening.

  • scott n.2 reviews

    February 7, 2023

    10/10

    There was a mix up in the bookings and the hotel was actually shut to the general public for a 150 person conference/event. The booking shouldn't of been accepted as we were informed upon arrival. The Norton Hotels Food & Beverage's Manager, Manfred and his staff did us proud. Our Afternoon Tea was served to us in The Manor House, in a beautiful room with just my Wife and myself. With a wonderful view of the glorious surroundings. Well done Norton Park, Sutton Scotney, Winchester.

  • Sharon W.3 reviews

    February 5, 2023

    8/10

    The food was delicious, however service was far too quick & out meal arrived within a few minutes , barely time to heat anything let alone cook from scratch & meant we had eaten with 15 mins of arriving, when we normally like our meal to be the main part of our evening. The portions were quite small, fine for me, but hubby could have eaten more. But the restaurant is lovely & the staff were very friendly & accomidating.

  • Caroline C.1 review

    January 31, 2023

    10/10

    A wonderful stay...the only thing I would say is the spa area is a bit tired....treatments and rooms ok but sauna had areas where boards were down or half down and the steam room had black between the tiles and looked a bit grubby all round

  • Lynn C.1 review

    February 1, 2023

    9.5/10

    The restaurant was warm and welcoming and the staff were all professional and attentive. We had three courses and all were excellent. I would recommend a meal here for a special occasion or just to eat in a really lovely setting.

  • Caroline E.1 review

    January 28, 2023

    6.5/10

    Food was great, service unfortunately was slow, with us being forgotten about, food coming before drinks arrived. No ice bucket for wine… real shame! In the last hour hour we had a young gentleman take over “Ben’ who was fantastic and couldn’t have done enough which helped our mood towards our evening.

  • Angela L.2 reviews

    January 12, 2023

    10/10

    The afternoon tea was brilliant and just what you could have hoped for … service was brilliant and it was a warm pleasant experience I will definitely be back

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Margaret H.1 review

    January 8, 2023

    7/10

    The food we had was good however the menu was extremely limited and nothing like the menu on the website. We ended up having the same things on both nights of our stay s so little choice.

  • Darren N.1 review

    December 30, 2022

    4/10

    Really disappointed, no bar food available after 4pm as “Chef decided to stop service” the whole hotel felt like it was run by skeleton agency staff with no management around. The whole evening menu was canned in the restaurant so the £28 each towards the menu was sacked off for a 3 option only Menu that was unimaginative and mostly pre-plated as if it was a large function. In truth it felt like an attempt to put something on without the requisite staff or food available. Would have been better to let us know in advance and offer an alternative date than deliver such a poor experience. Felt very sorry for the few staff that appeared to be permanent members.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Peter P.1 review

    December 19, 2022

    6.5/10

    One of the dishes was of good quality but a very small portion for the price. It was tasty and well presented. The other dish was not of the quality expected. The food also came so quickly that the way it was prepared is questionable, especially for the price paid. The restaurant advertising portrays an image that the product did not live up to. I appreciate the hotel was quiet and there are economic factors at play presently but this can be managed by adapting the menu to ensure good economics whilst maintaining quality. We chose not to eat in the Hotel again.

  • Spencer D.1 review

    December 19, 2022

    5.5/10

    Food was OK, Clearly a bit of frozen fish and my wife who had the Pork Belly dish said the portion was too small. It did look like a baby portion. Good breakfast tho

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

33 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.