Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Portuguese

Reviews - o Americano

9.1/10
95
Rua da Carreira, 120, 9000-042 FunchalSee map

Average price €10

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

9.1/10
Excellent95 reviews
9.2/10

Food

9.3/10

Service

8.8/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Excellent value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Catarina F.
    Catarina F.

    September 22, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    I enjoy it!

  • Jamie C.
    Jamie C.

    September 16, 20223 reviews

    9.5/10

    Great food and friendly helpful staff. The waiters were very amusing with a great sense of humour. Wine was lovely and reasonably priced and dishes were all superb especially the garlic prawns and the pigs cheeks.

  • James R.
    James R.

    September 13, 20222 reviews

    9.5/10

    This small restaurant was exceptional value for the food we ate. The pork cheeks and sweet potato with local bead to soak up the delicious gravy were great. The service was friendly and attentive with excellent advice not to order too much! Highly recommended.

  • Jamie C.
    Jamie C.

    September 8, 20223 reviews

    9.5/10

    The staff were very friendly and helpful in recommending dishes. They had a great sense of humour so we could have a bit of banter and a laugh with them. Food was lovely so will be coming back again.

  • David O.
    David O.

    September 3, 20225 reviews

    8.5/10

    To be fair, this restaurant is more of a cafe and wine bar, with tables outside to eat. If you're looking for what may be considered a proper restaurant, you may be disappointed. But the staff are friendly and helpful, the food is good, the prices reasonable. It's tapas style eating, but the portions are on the large side, so don't order more than three dishes between two (two dishes may well suffice). All said, I shouldn't advise anyone not to go.

  • Steve K.
    Steve K.

    July 14, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    We booked this restaurant having come across reviews on Tripadvisor. As a number had said, it is a little gem. There is limited seating inside and around 12 tables outside & tucked away in a pedestrian street in the Old Town. We ordered 4 dishes between us, 3 from the recommendation board + 1 from the main menu. These were more than enough as portion sizes are decent. All the dishes were delightful, with lovely tastes that lingered on the pallete. Service was good & understated. Definitely worth a visit if in the area.

  • Hazel H.
    Hazel H.

    June 24, 202215 reviews

    8/10

    Tapas with a twist! Freshly cooked dishes, served hot. Beautifully presented and very reasonable prices. Sat outside, watching the world go by, locals and tourists, along a pretty street in Old Funchal. Wonderful experience.

  • Klaus H.
    Klaus H.

    June 20, 20226 reviews

    9.5/10

    Enjoyed a nice evening with good food and drinks! Recommendation!

  • Joe B.
    Joe B.

    June 2, 20227 reviews

    7.5/10

    Mainly a tapas restaurant with a variable selection

  • Karen D.
    Karen D.

    May 3, 20222 reviews

    8.5/10

    Lovely little restaurant. Does Tapas which was not as expected but excellent when arrived and very good value for money. Highly recommend it for a an off the cuff meal rather than fine dinning which many others offer but don’t deliver for the price

  • Claire D.
    Claire D.

    May 2, 20222 reviews

    8/10

    Food was ok. Service and waiter was so nice and funny!

  • Jonas B.

    April 9, 20223 reviews

    7/10

    Gjorde två besök på o Americano under vår vistelse i Funchal. Lite blandat omdöme. Några maträtter var väldigt bra tillagade andra mindre bra. Ost och charkbricka bra, Black pig bra, Chorizo bra. Musslor, nja, pommes, nja, grön sparris nja. Goda viner, men saknade vinlista och priser på varje enskilt vin. Det var lite mer på chans, vill ni ha torrt eller sött rödvin var frågan vi fick.

  • Tex T.

    March 9, 20221 review

    10/10

    Lovely little resturant with an interesting history and great food. The "Americano" part is historically based. Look the photo inside and the clock hanging to the right of the photo. We had lovely food. Tuna and pork with garlic bread, sweet potato and a lovely white wine. Do not miss out on this little pearl.

  • Marina Odette P.
    Marina Odette P.

    February 22, 20223 reviews

    10/10

    Very nice food -well made and very tasty. We would enjoy to come back.

  • Luís G.
    Luís G.

    December 30, 20218 reviews

    7/10

    Food was ok, average at best. The location and service are good which is what attracts tourists I assume.

  • Steve G.

    October 13, 20211 review

    10/10

    Fabulous. Immediately re booked for another evening at this great little tapas bar. Friendly atmosphere and great food make for a relaxed and fun experience.

  • Grant P.
    Grant P.

    September 28, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Very happy with our visit to Americano, great small menu with real fresh food. A real treat and we will return when we visit Funchal again.

  • Jens S.

    September 21, 20214 reviews

    6.5/10

    Fettig öliges Essen. Lieblos präsentiert. Unaufmerksamer Service.

  • David M.

    September 11, 20213 reviews

    10/10

    We enjoyed the tapas style ( although larger portions than the Spanish tapas we have had). We were able to enjoy a variety of different tastes. An very pleasant visit.

  • Judith M.

    September 7, 20214 reviews

    10/10

    Lovely tapas. We rather overdid the quantities though!! On a lovely little street full of restaurants. The quality of the food and drink was excellent

  • Oliver F.

    August 2, 20211 review

    10/10

    Fabulous restaurant…Some of the best food in Funchal and excellent service - lovely seafood and tapas. highly recommend to anyone near the Old Town!

  • Tina B.

    July 22, 20211 review

    10/10

    This little restaurant was a great find! We spotted it when we walked passed after eating at a different restaurant and the food the customers were eating looked fab! We booked a table and even the little touch of my name, handwritten with little drawings around it to reserve the table was so cute! The waiter very friendly and helpful, he suggested we try 4 dishes between us to start with, we had tuna, avocado with shrimps, Portuguese sausage and cottage cheese/tomato salad. All delicious! The mojitos here are the tastiest I have had in the two weeks we have been in Madeira. We will go back as have our eye on other dishes to try.

  • Carol-Anne B.

    July 9, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    Food was great. Everything I wanted and more. I would go back and have the same meal again. Great value for money. Great service and house wine that was good value for money.

  • Christina B.
    Christina B.

    June 7, 202111 reviews

    8/10

    Good but not great. Large portions (too large for 'tapas'?) and sometimes lacking in seasoning. Otherwise a positive experience, with friendly service and an inviting choice of dishes.

  • Zach A.

    December 12, 20201 review

    10/10

    Amazing service, food and atmosphere. We ate here on our last night on the island and wish very much that we had discovered it earlier. Couldn’t recommend this amazing restaurant anymore!

  • EDITA B.

    December 2, 20201 review

    10/10

    Cute and cozy place, very good and reasonably priced food. Local specialities, nice terrace. Thanks for the great finish to our trip at Madeira!

  • Emma G.

    October 26, 20201 review

    7.5/10

    The staff at this restaurant were really lovely and welcoming, even making a little personalised reservation card for our table upon arrival. A nice touch. More importantly our waitress was really knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the food which I always think is a good sign of things to come (and the food certainly didn’t disappoint!). We had a selection of Portuguese nibbles which were really well cooked and delicious. Although these are definitely larger than just ‘nibbles’ - three dishes was more than enough to fill up two of us. All in all, O Americano is a great choice if your in the mood for something traditional. This was tasty, well-cooked, rustic food served in a lovely relaxed atmosphere and excellent value for money.

Tripadvisor reviews

181 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation