Back

Reviews - Old Wild West

7.7/10

based on 111 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Alisen P.
    Alisen P.
    • one review
    8/10

    Staff are super lovley Food was delicious Only complaint was my steak was slightly undercooked but besides that beautiful food decent sized portions Yummy cocktails ????

  2. Massimiliano L.
    Massimiliano L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Good service and food . Happy hour summer gold and cocktails are phenomenal. Will be back

  3. Abby W.
    Abby W.
    • one review
    5/10

    The wait time was way too long, brought out only 1 child's meal my other child had to wait 15 minutes longer? Too many chips on the meal, otherwise food ok.

  4. Gina H.
    Gina H.
    • one review
    9/10

    Good place for kids. The saddles & cowboy hats were a big hit. We all enjoyed our meals. Super friendly service ~ the guys running the place were so nice and made our night great. We will definitely return

  5. Marcus P.
    Marcus P.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    The food was great and service was also. Loved the look and feel of the Old West Saloon style scene. Good work!

  6. Rebecca F.
    Rebecca F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Situated in the quiet corner of Hillary’s boat harbour, this restaurant was a very pleasant experience! The wait staff were attentive, polite & the food was delicious! Drinks also were priced well. We really enjoyed our dining experience today and will most definitely be back, Thank you!

  7. Ron V.
    Ron V.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Perfectly cooked fillet steak, helpful and polite staff, interesting decor/setting (wild west), gluten free friendly. Had a steak this time but want to go back and try one of the delicious looking burgers.

  8. Therese F.
    Therese F.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Disappointed in the Steak and Value for money was not good, Sauces came out after steak was brought out, My sauce was cold and didn't taste or look like pepper sauce. came out in a blob It was my sons 30th birthday and he wanted to have a good steak on his day. Everyone there was disappointed in their meal ,and said wont be coming back. Service was good though .Was so looking forward to this night, Sorry Old wild West..

  9. Danielle M.
    Danielle M.
    • one review
    9/10

    We loved it there, however, there wasn't anything that stood out about some of the food we got. The tomahawk steak had quite big pieces of fat on it. The calamari and cheesy garlic was really oily too. The chicken burger was nice but nothing stood out about it. Could taste the honey mustard sauce. Doesn't mean we won't dine here again. We'll try some thing else on the menu next time.

  10. Randy M.
    Randy M.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    I have been there before and everything was outstanding. The food this time was disappointing. My family only had the cheaper items like the pizza and burgers where previously we had the steaks which are their speciality and outstanding. The burgers lacked taste and the buns were not fresh. The pizza had sugar on it to give it a Hawaiian taste. Sorry, I love the look of this place but it was not up to the usual food standard.

  11. Tanya G.
    Tanya G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was delicious, staff attentive. Good atmosphere

  12. Julia L.
    Julia L.
    • one review
    7/10

    Cocktail which I ordered was too icy, food was nice but the chips were cold and the pizza wasn’t hot and when we got there we said we had booking but they asked us again if we had booking.

  13. Dawn S.
    Dawn S.
    • one review
    7/10

    We choose to come here for something different for my sons birthday, staff lovely, the steaks were great but the burgers just looked like store bought or freezer cheap ones, I would expect them to be chef made and tasty. The sides of chips were tiny and cold. The starters of onion rings, cheese garlic bread were also very poor quality. The mozzarella sticks were ok. My review on food alone would be 4/10

  14. Wen L.
    Wen L.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    location at hillarys is nice with lots of places to walk around and things to do before or after dinner. food was good with lots of variety. service was prompt and friendly

  15. Chloe B.
    Chloe B.
    • one review
    5/10

    Had terrible service, never got offered water for the table. Had to wait ages to get served. Once our drink was finished, no one served us to get anymore. Once we finally got our mains, asked for another round of drinks. They never came. They need to hire more staff. So disappointed.

  16. Gwen B.
    Gwen B.
    • one review
    5/10

    We were mainly ignored. Brought the children’s meals 15 minutes before the adults (piping hot chips). Twice I got up to find wait staff. We were waiting so long after our meals to have the table cleared and to order desserts that I got up again to ask for assistance and after waiting for about 15 minutes, we just left. Just seemed badly organised, as it wasn’t that busy. Really want to support local businesses but service like this is really discouraging.

  17. Margherita D.
    Margherita D.
    • one review
    9/10

    Good food great service with Max

  18. Julie S.
    Julie S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We had 6 friends over for dinner, there were plenty of tables and chairs at ground and upper level. Great decoration of the cowboys, mining tunnel, horse carriages, national bank display. Nice food, 5 of us ate all the food, one couldn't eat all as she was already full. Great lovely staffs, they were attentive and polite. We are all Deaf people, they seem to know how to handle deafies. Well done!

  19. Nola b.
    Nola b.
    • one review
    10/10

    As a smallish group who catch up on a regular basis, we often come to Hillary's and this may be a regular eating / meeting place for us. There is so much of interest to look at in there too. Oh, and todays special was Ribs, they were delicious.

  20. Suná B.
    Suná B.
    • one review
    9/10

    We were not advised at what time the kitchen closes and therefore were told 10 min before closing time by the waitress that we are too late to order dessert. That was very disappointing as we dined out for my birthday.

  21. Nikki L.
    Nikki L.
    • one review
    8/10

    Good food with the Wild West atmosphere Our order came out quite quick the portion sizes were filling Good night out for a group of people and as it was little quiet we had no problems hearing each other

  22. Dylan M.
    Dylan M.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Pretty basic food for the price you pay, no real unique flavours they just bang some ingredients on a plate and charge you ~$25/dish. They will not last long very underwhelming. Good service though just need a full revamp of their food quality

  23. Karen J.
    Karen J.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great restaurant, friendly staff, and good food. Had to wait a while before we received our drinks, perhaps have an extra member of staff to help? Other than that, everything was great and we could come again.

  24. Voula K.
    Voula K.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    The restaurant is in a great location, the staff were fantastic and very helpful, however a couple of our group were dissatisfied with their meals, which is disappointing as we found the prices a tad high for our all our meals....

  25. Elaine S.
    Elaine S.
    • one review
    10/10

    We regularly go to Steak Night on Tuesday's. The steaks are wonderful and the staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommend going here

  26. Jenny O.
    Jenny O.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great atmosphere and staff are all polite and on the ball. Just disappointed in the quality of the food. Last time we went there in July the food was fresher and nicer so I’m not sure what they’ve changed or why they changed it.

  27. Kirsty M.
    Kirsty M.
    • one review
    2/10

    We booked ahead of time and noted that we had a pram we arrived on time and was told that our seats were upstairs which wasn’t suitable for us. Luckily they were able to find us a table on the ground floor. The waiter seemed very under qualified bumping into my chair a numerous amount of times and didn’t seem like he wanted to be there, just felt rushed. Food came out my partner and I both ordered the grilled platter and it lacked sauce, wedges were too soft when they should be crispy.. overall the food was not tasty and my partner was very disappointed as it was his 1st Father’s Day.

  28. Peta S.
    Peta S.
    • one review
    6/10

    We had nearly finished our meals by the time we got our drinks after asking for them 4 times. The service was terrible. Definitely won’t be recommending.

  29. Natasha L.
    Natasha L.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    We enjoyed our meal, there was a lovely atmosphere and e waitress was very attentive.

  30. Nyree M.
    Nyree M.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Food was good. Staff were friendly

  31. Steph B.
    Steph B.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    The food was great. However service was lacking. We found the staff to be inattentive and forgetful with things we had ordered. Hopefully this was just a once off as it wasnt overly busy.

  32. Greg S.
    Greg S.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Great atmosphere and good food

  33. Patricia P.
    Patricia P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really enjoyed our meal. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely go again. Loved the atmosphere. Children's meal was good with ice cream included.

  34. Lois R.
    Lois R.
    • 29 reviews
    9/10

    Staff were so lovely and welcoming, the food was so yummy and reasonable prices! Only downfall was not many people in there so a bit too quiet but a great venue!

  35. Jodie T.
    Jodie T.
    • one review
    2/10

    Wasn’t busy at all, still waited ages to be served. Had to ask someone to finally take our food order and dessert order. Cocktails are a lot smaller in size to previous times we have been there.

  36. Tina B.
    Tina B.
    • one review
    6/10

    Lovely place, food was average and nice but the service was lacking. They are friendly enough but had to ask to order drinks, food and to clear our table. Staff need service training.

  37. Philip W.
    Philip W.
    • one review
    6/10

    The service was slow although it was not very busy. The food was very average and my burger had a Meat paddy that was tough like a leather boot. The mocktail was undrinkable.. it was so sweet as if they’d just mixed together three different types of cordial over ice. I had to water it down 75%. It’s a shame as the menu was different from my last visit a few months ago and a few favourite items are missing. On our last visit they stuffed up a drink order and a meal order. Unfortunately I don’t think I’ll be going back.

  38. Fab m.
    Fab m.
    • 18 reviews
    7/10

    Service was great. Food was expensive and small servings. macaroni and cheese was warm. Chicken burger was very small. Chips were old. Caeasar wrap was toasted with lettuce inside so it was soggy and shrivelled up. Fish and chips was small serving and tasteless. Onion rings were good. Drinks- good range. We would go back for the décor and atmosphere but not for the food.

  39. Tracey B.
    Tracey B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great family restaurant with a good variety on the menu. Excellent service and reasonably priced. The steak was perfectly cooked and the Brie sauce was delicious! The kids loved the mocktails. The desserts were fun and tasty.

  40. Graeme W.
    Graeme W.
    • one review
    6/10

    Food was good but not great. Discount burger special really had nothing in it but meat. Service was attentive but using the ordering device was slow and unprofessional imo. Accents were hard to understand with the background music. Theme restaurant I hope does well. Good luck