Back

Reviews - Oost Afrikaanse Restaurant Asmara

9.4/10

Excellent

based on 403 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Vivian V.
    Vivian V.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant was a great find. The staff were friendly and super welcoming. The food was delicious and I really liked the East-African atmosphere. We’ll definitely go again!

    Oost Afrikaanse Restaurant Asmara

    Bedankt 🙏🙏

  2. Clarisse L.
    Clarisse L.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    Au top !

  3. Alexander K.
    Alexander K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Discovered the restaurant by chance and are happy we did! The personel is attentive and friendly and the food was delicious. It was an interessting experience, since you get to eat with you hands! We took the mixed platter to get a taste of everything, can only recommend.

    Oost Afrikaanse Restaurant Asmara

    Bedankt 🙏

  4. Karine b.
    Karine b.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Everything amazing! I really like the african food.

    Oost Afrikaanse Restaurant Asmara

    Bedankt 😍

  5. Wesa G.
    Wesa G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely stunning, lovely food and service. Madga is a delight . My first time ever and i shall return. ????

    Oost Afrikaanse Restaurant Asmara

    Bedankt 😍

  6. Alexander L.
    Alexander L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Attentive and very kind staff. Even gave us an extra portion after accidentally ordering the wrong dish free of charge!

    Oost Afrikaanse Restaurant Asmara

    Bedankt..

  7. Hilbert v.
    Hilbert v.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food in a great environment! Will for sure go back!!

    Oost Afrikaanse Restaurant Asmara

    bedankt..

  8. Mavoungou L.
    Mavoungou L.
    • one review
    9/10

    It was a good discovery for us. The food is really tasty lot of flavors and spices !the decoration and style is beautiful. I will of course recommend this restaurants for evasion. Thank you for the warm welcome.

    Oost Afrikaanse Restaurant Asmara

    Dankjewel..

  9. Fons R.
    Fons R.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious Ethiopian food. We had a single large plate for the 3 of us with a mix of all delicious food on it. Completed with some Ethiopian beers.

    Oost Afrikaanse Restaurant Asmara

    Bedankt..

  10. Samrudh V.
    Samrudh V.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Food was really flavorful and the ambience inside was quite promising. We would come back for sure when our tastebuds crave for flavors.

    Oost Afrikaanse Restaurant Asmara

    bedankt en tot snel..

  11. Antonio P.
    Antonio P.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Expect great tiramisu, because Asmara was also known as Piccola Roma.

    Oost Afrikaanse Restaurant Asmara

    Thanks a lot..🙏

  12. Teo T.
    Teo T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very friendly, great suggestions to select best variety from the menu. Perfect evening, quiet dinner. Background music could be a bit louder :)

  13. Michael R.
    Michael R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    It was an entirely new experience for us concerning African food, we really liked the style of not using forks and plates at all. It's a nice opportunity for expending time together with family or friends

  14. Alessandro P.
    Alessandro P.
    • one review
    10/10

    I have been there with a friend of mine. very cozy, delicious dinner and top service! highly recommended. I will return for sure in the shortest time to try something else

  15. Nick S.
    Nick S.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic (and unique) food and great people! Cannot wait to return!

  16. Maurizio M.
    Maurizio M.
    • 33 reviews
    9.5/10

    Finally quite a different dinner, Asmara is a sweet alternative

  17. Inge S.
    Inge S.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    De

  18. Shelley S.
    Shelley S.
    • one review
    10/10

    First time Oost Afrikaans. We enjoyed the diversity and flavors. Also very friendly service. We will go back soon.

  19. L. L.
    L. L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very nice experience, good food and attentive and very kind waitress; I commented we were celebrating my son's birthday, and he was surprised with tiramisu and candle

  20. Mich M.
    Mich M.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Simply marvelous :-)

  21. Rocco v.
    Rocco v.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was just perfect, the host is lovely and authentic. I left with a smile on my face :)

  22. Mila K.
    Mila K.
    • one review
    8/10

    something new and good

  23. Helene C.
    Helene C.
    • 12 reviews
    9.5/10

    The diner was very nice. It is not the first time that we ate east African food and we must say that the dishes were very tasty. Spicy as we like it, not too much but you can feel it. A very good point is that everything is homemade and the injera is traditionally made (with teff flour so gluten free), which is rare nowadays. You can also taste different beers coming from east Africa . The owner is very welcoming and the service was very good. The dishes are so good that I would recommend to increase the portion a little especially the ayeb which is the perfect match for spices! Other than that, we warmly recommend that restaurant :)

  24. Fernando I.
    Fernando I.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. Great food and atmosphere in the restaurant - lovely lighting conditions, furniture, and wall decorations. The only minor point for improvement I have is to use a prettier basin and jar for the hand washing. This is a small detail though. Thanks a lot! Totally recommend.

  25. Sancho A.
    Sancho A.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    The stuff was super friendly and they give you suggestions/answer to your questions regarding main dishes. Moreover, the cuisine was really good. These 2 things, together with the atmosphere of the restaurant makes an unforgettable night. If you are thinking of trying African cuisine...Do not hesitate and go Asmara, you'll enjoy it for sure (it's always nice to et with your hands).

  26. Henk K.
    Henk K.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Personally, I like to eat without utensils. Because I wasn’t expecting it, this added to the unexpected pleasure as was I back in the Sudan more than 10 years ago. With my gluten diffiency I felt at ease, since this was cared for as natural. An experience not to miss.

  27. Coert N.
    Coert N.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Really nice experience. Felt like in Ethiopia

  28. Beza T.
    Beza T.
    • one review
    8/10

    Good location close to the center. Nice atmosphere. Friendly staff. Food was reasonable. The coffee tasted great but unfortunately comes in a tiny cup (at least smaller than Ethiopian traditional ones but still worth trying).

  29. Robel K.
    Robel K.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Bkedamnet selamta ketsile ab tkalkum zeleni reitoy kigeltselkum tbsi fresh entetgebrwo malet zhalefe tsaeda megbi beliena ab natkum ms arkey kebdna hmak weilna bzkone akebablan akerarbaen btaemi tsubuk

  30. Konstantinos D.
    Konstantinos D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food and very nice atmosphere. A unique restaurant where you feel a warm welcome and you eat with your hands (no forks or spoons needed)! I will definitely go back and highly recommend it.

  31. Koen W.
    Koen W.
    • 22 reviews
    9/10

    Of you want something different than this is a great place! Experience the typical food from Eastern Africa combined with a real African beer! Big pancakes with a variety of flavours to wat with tour hands; Lovely!!!

  32. Pei Yi S.
    Pei Yi S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The restaurant is very cozy and lovely. The service was excellent and the food was delicious! A great experience in general and would definitely like to visit again.

  33. milion t.
    milion t.
    • one review
    10/10

    lekker .

  34. Rosine Y.
    Rosine Y.
    • one review
    10/10

    The place is nice with the music playing giving a nice atmosphere. The service was very good and we really appreciated the food

  35. Noud v.
    Noud v.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Lovely evening! Fresh and good food, subtle decoration,nice music. The service by the hostess/owner was wonderful!! Nice way to get to know tge East African cuisine as well. We'll definately come back

  36. Bep K.
    Bep K.
    • 7 reviews
    8/10

    Verrassend manier van eten

  37. Leon
    Leon
    • one review
    10/10

    0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000