Back

Reviews Outback Jacks Canberra City

7.8/10

based on 64 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Paul C.
    Paul C.
    • one review
    5/10

    Poor quality meals for the price you pay. Sloppy presentation and untidy and smelly surrounds. Staff are friendly and try their best but the place looks tired and so was the food. Won’t be returning.

  2. Neil B.
    Neil B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The service is easily the best that we have experienced in the 3 years we have lived in Canberra. The staff go above and beyond to satisfy us every visit. Food is always very good to excellent and I intend to keep trying various menu items because there are so many that appeal to me. Definitely will keep returning often.

  3. Amber C.
    Amber C.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    A bit old and worn furniture. A bit cold and a draft inside. but the server was lovely and food was yummy

  4. Daniel P.
    Daniel P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was great (better than an expensive steak house we ate at the night before) and a lot of it! Staff were friendly and welcoming. I will definitely be returning next time in Canberra. Highly recommend.

  5. Taleina H.
    Taleina H.
    • one review
    7/10

    Loved our servers and the atmosphere of the place. However, quality of the food did not reflect the price we paid. Our steaks were bland and for extra $8 we had toppings on them however, the prawn topping I ordered was so tiny.

  6. Lyn t.
    Lyn t.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    All was good just seated too close to front door and was cold

  7. Ryan G.
    Ryan G.
    • one review
    9/10

    We had a great time. The team there were absolutely amazing great customer service Great food definitely worth it. I would recommend this to my friends and family

  8. Kathy M.
    Kathy M.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Friendly service, but the food was disappointing. Many options weren't available to order at the time, steaks were under cooked, ordered a burger and didn't get the right ingredients, vegetables weren't fresh (from frozen packet) and chips were over cooked, not fresh either (from a frozen packet). Overall disappointing.

  9. Cecilia  B.
    Cecilia B.
    • 17 reviews
    9/10

    The salad was terrific! Nice, succulent grilled chicken, fantastic dried cocktail tomatoes, and tasty feta! The BBQ prawns were not well-done, they looked a bit translucent and I couldn’t really taste the bush pepper that I anticipated tasting because there wasn’t much on the prawns. Overall I recommend this restaurant to anyone in and out of Australia.

  10. Alex M.
    Alex M.
    • 17 reviews
    8/10

    Great service, huge portion. Very welcoming atmosphere and had a great time. Would definitely recommend if you enjoy your pub / sports bar type food.

  11. Alex M.
    Alex M.
    • 17 reviews
    8/10

    Big pub style meals. Good value for money. Great place for a mates day out.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    8.5/10

    Had a fabulous grilled barramundi wrap at lunch. It was very quiet at 1 pm but service was prompt and courteous.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8.5/10

    Consistently good service. Big serving size.

  14. Elena X.
    Elena X.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    The portions were well sized, steak was cooked perfect, service was excellent and accommodating. Would definitely return.

  15. Elena X.
    Elena X.
    • 8 reviews
    7.75/10

    Food was very delicious. Portions were very satisfying. Staff was very accommodating. Would return.

  16. Pip N.
    Pip N.
    • 6 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great service...food quantities were MASSIVE! Burger for both child and husband great. Don’t order the wings & ribs deal unless you have a very big appetite or haven’t eaten for 2 days..although they were good!! Salad had some old bits in it and a bit too much dressing for my liking, steamed vegetables came our still frozen the first time (don’t recommend them at all).

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    7.25/10

    Enjoyed the fish burger and wings. Restaurant was very quiet during the afternoon.

  18. Diana C.
    Diana C.
    • 62 reviews
    9/10

    Huge serving sizes and friendly service.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    7.25/10

    The long opening hours make this restaurant convenient for early pre-theatre dinner.

  20. Cecilia  B.
    Cecilia B.
    • 17 reviews
    9.5/10

    A very pleasant experience dining at Outback Jacks. The chook wings with hot sauce is unforgettable as well as bushranger salad basket. Plus it's in the centre of the city, near all shops and plazas.

    Outback Jacks Canberra City

    Hi Cecilia, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is appreciated. Looking forward to see you back soon.

  21. Henna C.
    Henna C.
    • 91 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great food and excellent service.

    Outback Jacks Canberra City

    Hi Henna, Thank you for your feedback. Hope to see you back soon.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    7.75/10

    Excellent service

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8.25/10

    It is a pretty good place....

  24. Emily-Rose C.
    Emily-Rose C.
    • 8 reviews
    8.5/10

    Staff were good and helpful throughout the night. Players were nice and big. Food took longer than expected and Ribs were too fatty and not enough sauce. Wings were tasty. It was a nice night out but I probably wouldn’t go again based purely on the quality of food.

    Outback Jacks Canberra City

    Hi Emily, Thank you for your review.We apologise that you had an issue with quality of the ribs.We have talked to the kitchen team and passed them your feedback.They will ensure all fat is trimmed properly before cooking and glaze is put in generous amounts.We would definately want to see you again.Please contact us on canberra@outbackjacks.com.au to discuss this, so that we can make it up to you. Thanks and Happy Holidays.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8.25/10

    Good food, friendly staff

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 246 reviews
    5.25/10

    Service was good but the food quality was below average. The sauce on the pork ribs tasted like something out of a tin while the steak wasn't cooked as rare medium and was rather medium well done. The salad was drenched with vinegar

    Outback Jacks Canberra City

    Hi, Thank you for your review.We apologize that the food was not as per your wish.We would have happily cooked you another steak or not charge you full for your meal had you raised the issue during your meal or while paying.However,we did not get any complaints for ribs and salad the entire night.Our salad just contains gluten free italian dressing which does contain vinegar which might not have suited your taste pallet because we don't over use it and can give it on side or not at all based on customer's request and ribs contain a bourbon glaze and barbeque glaze which are made in-house again.We would like to make it up to you on your next visit.Please get in touch via e-mail at canberra@outbackjacks.com.au to discuss further. Sincerely, The Management

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great fresh food well prepared

  28. Dan N.
    Dan N.
    • 15 reviews
    6.25/10

    Eating early affected the atmosphere as the restaurant was virtually empty. It has a large capacity so it was very empty, however it was Monday! Staff were helpful, friendly and attentive if not conversant with the food and drink on offer - had to refer my questions to more experienced colleagues or admitted they didn’t know the answer. Food was fine, steak cooked exactly as ordered and very quickly too. Speed was impressive. I would return now, knowing what is on offer and speed of service.

  29. Andrew H.
    Andrew H.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    Nice casual diner

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    2/10

    Ribs were over cooked and tasted chemically. Chefs were on their phones the whole time For a Friday night we expected it to be busy there was only 5 other people there.

  31. Boon N.
    Boon N.
    • 6 reviews
    5.25/10

    I ordered a Spicy Chook Burger and a Lemonade. Here is the summary of the two items that I have had. The lemonade could be tasted with massive dilution from water. The Spicy Chook Burger came with generous size of burger and wedges. The buns were over toasted to the extent that they cut my gum, the Chicken patty had no tenderness at all, it was awfully tough and dried and hard like a rock. No water, no other other sauces to make the hardened buns and patty for eating. The couple who sat next to me barely touched their two burgers kinda explained me. I was using my $20 Dimmi voucher so it could also be the reason why I received a subpar meal. If this is how you treat a customer who uses a Dimmi voucher, this will definitely be my only and last visit. :)

  32. Helen W.
    Helen W.
    • one review
    7.25/10

    Would have been happier except i ordered a salad and asked for the dressing on the side as i knew my son probably wouldnt like it. I was told that was dlfine but then the orfer came and i was told sorry i accidentally put the dressing on the salad and on the side. My son didnt like the dressing as thought, so the whole meal got left as ot was all over the top. I ended up wasting $25 on his meal.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    6/10

    Great for Kids, they had a play area to keep them occupied

  34. Diana C.
    Diana C.
    • 62 reviews
    8/10

    Service here is consistent and very friendly.

  35. Diana C.
    Diana C.
    • 62 reviews
    8.5/10

    I had a voucher so it was super cheap. Very friendly service!

  36. Diana C.
    Diana C.
    • 62 reviews
    8.25/10

    It was only less than $30/p because I had a voucher. Casual dining.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    7.25/10

    Good service but food was a bit slow to arrive.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    6.5/10

    wasn't too bad but not that great either

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 302 reviews
    6.75/10

    The restaurant was noisy with an open kitchen. It was difficult to have a relaxing conversation - so better to go with a party.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    5.75/10

    Average at best