9/10
Excellent
based on 587 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Peter S.
    Peter S.
    • 14 reviews
    9.5/10

    Lovely food, attentive but not intrusive waiting staff - an unbeatable combination. Despite there being a table of 10 people, service did not suffer at all and there was the added entertainment of the woman making and cutting the pasta with only a pizza cutter!

  2. Cristi B.
    Cristi B.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Great portions, incredible authentic food. Loved it. Definately reccomend the porcini tartufo pasta, polpette della nonna and the tiramisù

  3. Michal T.
    Michal T.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Great home-made pasta, nice vine, reasonable prices, very good service by Johanna. We sincerely recommend Pasta e Vino Osteria at Transtevere.

  4. Jennifer B.
    Jennifer B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Christmas Day in Rome. We had a lovely meal full of flavour in this happy friendly Trastevere restaurant. The house made pasta and sauce menu made us happy. As well as the warm welcome. Locals and tourists alike. Thank you also to the service from Johanna and Mikele plus one other who's name we didn't get.

  5. Donna S.
    Donna S.
    • one review
    10/10

    We were a table for two, for starters we ordered the Rosemary Focaccia bread, main course were fresh fettuccine zucchini carbonara and a beef lasagne, for drinks, a 1 litre bottle of still water and one glass of Prosecco and finally for dessert one serving of Tiramisu. Here's the verdict: Rosemary Focaccia- Crispy on the outside, soft and warm on the inside. Drizzled with oil and garnished with fresh rosemary this does not dissapoint. Couple it with your own mix of olive oil, balsamic vinegar and pepper . This makes for a great dipping for the bread. It might not be for everyone but we liked it. Zuchinni Carbonara Fettuccine (this was recommended to us as we did not want the bacon in the carbonara) religious reasons for my beautiful companion. I shed a tear for the bacon. Just so you know! it's similar to the cacio de pepe but with added egg with more of the yolk flavour to it. Its almost like the salted egg yolk flavour minus the salt. The sauce was thick was absorbed well into the fresh pasta. Shaved zuchinni strips enveloped between the strands of pasta, it was enjoyable. Beef Lasagne - if you are a small eater, beware! This one packs a punch. I was full halfway through as we had some bread. It had chunks of beef in it too which I personally loved. It was not too overpowering in terms of the combination of flavours of the sauce and the beef and cheese. To me it was perfectly balanced. Hearty and fulfilling. Tiramisu - I don't really like tiramisu. But truth be told, I came here just for this. Blame all the praises everyone made of it from other reviews. The tiramisu did not dissapoint. It's not what I was used to back home in Malaysia. It made what I have been having from numerous places back home a sham. Shame on them! The cream was divine, all the flavours of the Tiramisu, the chocolate and cocoa with the soaked fingers dancing around in your palate. We loved it! 5 stars! The service - very good. Cheerful and courteous. The manager was very observant of his tables and we had a lovely Christmas eve dinner. Thank you all very much!

  6. Freddy M.
    Freddy M.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Amazing atmosphere and good authentic food

  7. Giancarlo p.
    Giancarlo p.
    • 47 reviews
    10/10

    Super.molto bene

  8. Matthew G.
    Matthew G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our experience was phenomenal. We were seated at the time of our reservation, the server was great at recommending wine and food and we were attended to during the entire meal. Or wine was delicious and the lasagna was tasty. The staff was easy going and enjoyable to interact with. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

  9. Yigael  Y.
    Yigael Y.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very good lunch, fine cuisine very tasteful, good portions, good atmosphere and service most recommended.

  10. Shannon D.
    Shannon D.
    • one review
    8/10

    Cute restaurant! The service was great, we had a good bottle of wine that was well recommended by the server and the pasta was delicious! Also neat to see the lady making the pasta at the front of the restaurant. Overall, very happy with the meal and service! A solid stop!

  11. Mark S.
    Mark S.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food and service.

  12. Eric H.
    Eric H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The meal was excellent and service very good given how busy the place was. Staff were friendly and helpful although we did have to wait a short while for our reserved table. The wait was made easier by a small complimentary Prosecco! The menu was varied and provided something for everyone.

  13. Lori A.
    Lori A.
    • 2 reviews
    2.5/10

    The entire experience was disappointing. We were rushed through our meal and the pasta was cold and bland. I ordered a bottle of wine from the menu and was “sold” another one for double the price. I complained but it didn’t matter. This was the only bad dining experience we had in Rome. So many great restaurants stay away from this one.

  14. Ricardo T.
    Ricardo T.
    • 45 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food, service and mood!

  15. Andreas H.
    Andreas H.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    A must go to at Trastevere with perfect pasta and very attentive service, a perfect evening!

  16. Joe D.
    Joe D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great little restaurant. Staff was extra friendly and very attentive. Food was excellent. Pasta maker in the window was a great touch. Trasteverta is a wonderful place to visit and eat great food.

  17. Tim B.
    Tim B.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    After all the reviews (both good and not so good) we decided to book this restaurant months in advance of our trip. From the minute we arrived it seemed like the stars were not aligned in our favour. First they couldn't find our reservation and after fumbling about looking for the manager, they said they had a table for us. What they didn't tell us, was that it was as far away from "mama at the window" as they could put us. Yes, there was a piano playing in the front area but we were seated in an area that was obviously an addition to the original building. We were unfortunate enough to be seated right next to a party of about 12 people and even though they were loud, the manager was even louder. He obviously loved the sound of his own voice. My pasta dish was excellent but my partners lamb dish (the most expensive meal on the menu) left a lot to be desired. Yes it was flavoursome but she had to fight to find any meat on what looked like a bowl of bones in gravy. The prosecco was good but quite expensive. I did bring my concerns to the attention of the manager when we left approx 1 hour later and he acknowledged the fact that they messed up the reservation but still defended his position saying he had the reservation mm his phone and that the man on the door should have asked him! (Perhaps he should have relayed the booking infornation to the front of house and not pass the blame onto someone else) He didn't listen to anything else I said and proceeded to discount the meal by €5. I didn't expect a discount nor did I want it. An apology for his attitude would have been more than enough. If you want a quiet evening out with your partner then I wouldn't recommend this restaurant as there are many more locally serving great food in a much nicer setting with a much better atmosphere. The waiting staff were courteous and helpful and very efficient and deserved a manager who wasn't so in love with himself.

  18. Lisa D.
    Lisa D.
    • one review
    10/10

    We loved that there was a woman standing right behind our table making fresh pasta. We started with a large platter of antipasto that was as delicious as it was beautiful. Moved on to pasta with pomodoro sauce that was excellent. Would definitely eat here again.

  19. Susanna S.
    Susanna S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Little restaurant with a cozy atmosphere. There was live piano music and a lady preparing past manually so we could see the process. Espetacular food and great service! Love it!

  20. RICHARD P.
    RICHARD P.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome! Hidden gym.

  21. Tahsin N.
    Tahsin N.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Loved the food, atmosphere, and service at this restaurant. Andrea, Ornella, and the rest of the staff were very friendly and playful. There was a piano player that added to the mood. Pasta and vegetables were very fresh. Highly recommend.

  22. Yih Ling C.
    Yih Ling C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved the fettuccine carbonara, so creamy, cheesy and lots of bacon!

  23. Serena l.
    Serena l.
    • 19 reviews
    10/10

    Troppo buono

  24. Olga B.
    Olga B.
    • one review
    10/10

    All is perfect,very delisious,very fast and friendly

  25. Michelle P.
    Michelle P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    One of our best meals in Rome. The gnocchi with pesto was out of this world!

  26. Daniel A.
    Daniel A.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    Overall a really good option in the Travestere. The dishes were all great, tasty and as authentic as you can get for booking via the Fork. Mostly tourists of course as it is one of few that allows reservation in advance. Would dine here again!

  27. Cheryl M.
    Cheryl M.
    • one review
    4/10

    Basic tourist trap

  28. Don W.
    Don W.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great service. Great food. Great price. 10/10

  29. Sara E.
    Sara E.
    • one review
    10/10

    We made a reservation for a Saturday night. As soon as we got there, the staff were attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. Our servers, Allesandra and Giovanna, were excellent. The pasta was absolutely delicious, as well as the bread and tiramisu. There was a woman making pasta in the main room which added to the ambiance. It was a great place for a date.

  30. Kristof F.
    Kristof F.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Loved it! This restaurant really does their utmost to please their guests. Standing outside the restaurant is a thing in Rome, but here they serve their divine wine while you are waiting. Then there is a live piano player entertaining both the guests inside and the ones still waiting to be seated. The staff is very attentive, you will get your drinks and appetizers in no time. They have fresh home-made pasta, you can choose your own type and sauce for it. Always try something from the day's specials! We had roman style artichokes and fettuccine with truffles and some traditional gnocchi. Don't even need to mention how gorgeous everything tasted! I could write odes about the experience I had here, but you should rather try it yourself! 5-star recommendation!

  31. Josephine C.
    Josephine C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The service was very good. The staff are very friendly. Would recommend this resto to any one.

  32. Justinas M.
    Justinas M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    A really nice place to visit with your family or best friends! Fresh pasta, very nice meatballs and a good selection of vines. They had wines from Veneto and i give them kudos for this! Mocarela and tomatoes are so fresh as well! Live piano is like a cherry on the cake!

  33. Katherine R.
    Katherine R.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely atmosphere with live music and delicious food and wine.

  34. Tiffany J.
    Tiffany J.
    • one review
    10/10

    From the moment we walked up to the entrance to the moment we left, the staff and whole dining experience was absolutely phenomenal. For a Saturday night, the wait for a table wasn’t all too bad- especially when they gave us small sips of Prosecco to enjoy while waiting. Our server was attentive and always around but we never felt rushed or like she was sharking the table. My mom and i started with focaccia and polpette smothered in the best tomato I’ve ever had!!! (I’d suggest sharing those things as an appetizer for a party of 3 or more, it was a decent amount). Their special was a fettuccine with mushrooms and black truffle- get it!!! I repeat- get the special! Momma had pasta amatriciana and boy was that spectacular as well. Their Chianti by the glass was also such a solid red wine option- and that’s coming from a picky wine drinker. Finishing off, we shared a tiramisu- probably the best I’ve ever had. EVER.

  35. Joni Q.
    Joni Q.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Came here for lunch. Both pasta and service were really good. Made reservations but it wasn't too busy when we got there.

  36. Rick C.
    Rick C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Paulo was fantastic. Food was phenomenal. Highly recommend.

  37. Ville E.
    Ville E.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food was excellent but service was is too much rush and we got a feeling that they want us quickly out. Also the place is too packed.

  38. Pasi H.
    Pasi H.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent food & good service. Thanks Paolo.

  39. Christine  H.
    Christine H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The welcome drinks for both the children and ourselves were a nice touch and the kids were invited to make some pasta! Delicious food and good service. Would recommend an early booking for families - lovely spot.

  40. Yvonne C.
    Yvonne C.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant was so delicious! And very reasonably priced. We would eat here again! Thank you