Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Reviews - Peel Alehouse

8.8/10
354
8 Guava Way, 6210 Halls HeadSee map

Average price A$23 Accepts Yums

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Already 6 bookings today 🔥

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Already 6 bookings today 🔥
Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

8.8/10
Fabulous355 reviews
8.8/10

Food

8.8/10

Service

8.8/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Robert P.
    Robert P.

    September 25, 202228 reviews

    6/10

    Lunch today. This is our second visit to this pub. Our visit in April was excellent. Great food & good service. Today not so good. Service virtually non existent. Staff could not find our reservation. She had to call her manager. We told table 3, no menus provided. We asked for our entree that we were sharing to be served first & then the other meals. All meals came out all together. In this regard we felt rushed. We shared an entree - satay chicken skewers with slaw. Chicken was tender & tasty. Slaw was a bit bland. Satay sauce also bland. Mains - my sweetheart had the entree size of Prawn & Chorizo. Delicious. I had the Barramundi fish & chip. Fish was tasty but nothing special. The batter was a little dry. Generous portion.. A bit hit & miss in general.

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Robert, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on you recent experience with us. Apologies there was an issue with your booking. Your comments have been communicated to the staff and kitchen. With your valued feedback we will endeavor to improve for your next visit. We hope to see you again soon, Team Peel

  • Christopher H.
    Christopher H.

    September 24, 202213 reviews

    9/10

    Great food and great service . Love the ocean parmi , it delicious ????

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Christopher, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon, Team Peel

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    September 22, 202271 reviews

    10/10

    as usual the best great food service was brilliant

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Thank you Duncan, great to see you keep coming back and still enjoying. See you again soon, Team Peel

  • Chris w.
    Chris w.

    September 10, 20223 reviews

    10/10

    Fun menu, great staff!

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hi Chris Thank you for your review. It is great to know you enjoyed your experience here. See you again soon, Team Peel

  • Andy M.
    Andy M.

    September 7, 20221 review

    4.5/10

    It is seriously annoying there are NO menus on tables anymore, You have to use the digital Phone App which took 5 of us half an hour to work out. And then they have a cheek to ask for a Tip! Aren't Tips supposed to be for SERVICE ?

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hi Andy, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is disappointing to here you were not happy with our menu system. We do keep some hard copies of the menu available if you prefer you can request these for your next visit. Hope to see you again soon, Team Peel

  • Anita L.
    Anita L.

    September 4, 20221 review

    10/10

    Great food and service Thank you

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Anita, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your experience with as. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Team Peel

  • Jessica S.
    Jessica S.

    September 1, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    I love the Peel Ale House for family meals. They have something for everyone and the staff are really friendly. Only disappointment on this occasion was that one of our ordered desserts was forgotten - turned out it had been left in the air fryer. They were super apologetic once we asked about it. Have since returned for another table of six :)

  • Karen M.
    Karen M.

    August 31, 20221 review

    8.5/10

    Food was very slow coming out and was maybe about 20 minutes between first person at our table getting their meal and last person getting theirs. Table wasn’t cleared promptly. Staff were friendly and sang happy birthday when bringing cake to us.

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Karen, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is a shame to hear you had to wait a while for the full table to be served but we are happy to know the staff were friendly when looking after you. We hope to have the opportunity to improve your experience during your next visit, Team Peel

  • Shirley F.
    Shirley F.

    August 27, 20222 reviews

    8.5/10

    We had a really great night, they had DJ Bingo which was a lot of fun. The fire was going so it was lovely and warm too. We met some others there that we knew, so that was even nicer.

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hi Shirley, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the DJ bingo event. We are hosting a Friends Quiz night soon, keep a look out for information on our socials. See you again soon, Team Peel

  • Chris w.
    Chris w.

    August 23, 20223 reviews

    10/10

    Great staff!

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    August 23, 202271 reviews

    8/10

    cannot fault the peel ale house food and service always good

  • Sharon D.
    Sharon D.

    August 13, 20221 review

    10/10

    First time I have been there, & I really enjoyed it &will definitely be back. From the service, to the food & the atmosphere was cosy, warm & inviting.. It was a very wet & rainy night & the heating of fireplace was alight. It also entertain the children that were there also. I would definitely recommend this place.. ????????????????????

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hi Sharon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great to know you enjoyed your experience with us and your feedback is greatly appreciated. See you again soon, Team Peel

  • Doug M.
    Doug M.

    August 11, 202217 reviews

    3/10

    The standards at the Peel Alehouse have been consistently dropping over time, being regular patrons for steak night we have been getting more and more disappointed. Last night we ordered the top shelf steaks and although ordered medium they came out medium rare. when we raised this with a waitress to her credit offered to get new steaks, unfortunately we where on a time frame that wouldn't allow this, she then offered us a free drink which we also had to decline due to time, she then said i will be back shortly with some vouchers. She continued on her journey and never came back to us at all. I think we will give another venue a go for a while and hopefully they regain the high standards they previously had.

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    August 9, 202271 reviews

    10/10

    if you after a good feed and a place with atmosphere the the peel is the place to go

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Thanks again Duncan. You are our biggest fan and we love it! See you again soon, Team Peel

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    July 23, 202271 reviews

    9.5/10

    brilliant as usual .

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Always a pleasure to see your feedback Duncan. Thank you for being such a loyal customer. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Team Peel

  • Anne W.
    Anne W.

    July 16, 20221 review

    7.5/10

    The meal was lovely and the venue ideal for families. Unfortunately our experience was marred by one employee named Sarah. Very unpleasant and rude from the start. Tried to bring out 2 meals that had already been served to us and when we told her we already had them was insistent that we had ordered wrong, turns out they were for someone else and threw us a curt sorry as she stomped past our table. Then she snatched a container of pencils from a 18mth old, glared at him, muttered something and put them out of his reach, all very unnecessary. It's a family friendly establishment, hence the kids playground. But she didn't make us feel like the young kids were welcome. On the other hand ,the rest of the team were lovely, friendly and helpful.

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Anne, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback it is greatly appreciated. Your comments in regards to our staff member, Sarah, will be address with her personally and we apologise for your unpleasant experience. It is great to know the rest of the team made your experience better, thank you. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Team Peel

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    July 13, 202271 reviews

    10/10

    food and service was superb

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hi Duncan, thank you for joining us every week. It is wonderful to know we are keeping you happy and returning to dine with us. See you again soon,

  • Annie H.
    Annie H.

    July 9, 202232 reviews

    7.5/10

    Was good , apart from the QR ordering system that was pushed on us. We said we wanted to pay cash so they did accommodate us and let us order at the counter. Good size portions and great value wine .

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Annie Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad to hear that you were accommodated in your request to pay cash and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Team Peel

  • Zoe B.
    Zoe B.

    June 19, 202211 reviews

    8.5/10

    I had the thyme lemon chicken & it was absolutely amazing. Huge serving. Will definitely be back

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Zoe, thank you so much for your review and taking the time to give us feedback on your experience here. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Team Peel

  • Julie T.
    Julie T.

    June 16, 20221 review

    4/10

    You need to use the app to order your meal and that makes it hard for people who are not tech savvy. The steak was full of grizzles n meat was bland.

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    June 15, 202271 reviews

    10/10

    food and service great as usual . bar staff friendly . and a big mention for Mary what a sweet heart great personality

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hi Duncan, Mary will love to hear this, she is a highly valued member of the team here. See you again soon, Team Peel.

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    June 2, 202271 reviews

    10/10

    Service/food/as usual first class

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Thank you Duncan. Always a pleasure having you and your guests dine with us.

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    May 21, 202271 reviews

    10/10

    Just brilliant food .service

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Always a pleasure having you Duncan.

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    May 20, 202271 reviews

    10/10

    Great food as usual .bangers and mash the best

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Thank you Duncan. See you again soon.

  • Yvonne W.
    Yvonne W.

    May 13, 20221 review

    7.5/10

    Our food was very nice, reserved tables don’t have names on them no one available to direct me to my booked table, not enough staff! Also the food for six people was on one table no. 2 meals were brought out promptly, the other 4 came about 15 later, a bit disappointed, the staff were very friendly!

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Yvonne, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your meals and that our staff were friendly. Thank you for your comments in regards to the delay between guests receiving their meals. We have passed your feedback to our staff and kitchen and hope to improve our practices for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Team Peel.

  • Rob K.
    Rob K.

    May 9, 20229 reviews

    10/10

    Friendly helpful staff, great choice of seating options. Good menu, steak cooked to perfection, and a very tasty risotto. Cashing in some yums made for a very inexpensive lunch. Cheers.

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Rob, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your lunch and will pass your comments on to our staff and chefs. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Team Peel.

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    May 5, 202271 reviews

    10/10

    We will always go back to the peel as the food and service is always 100%

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    You are our biggest fan Duncan. So glad you are enjoying yourself here at Peel. See you again soon.

  • Pauline W.
    Pauline W.

    May 5, 20221 review

    8.5/10

    Great venue, only issue we had was the me&u orders arrived a good 15 minutes before everyone else’s so that meal was finished before the other meals arrived on the table. Otherwise awesome.

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Pauline, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to our venue. Thank you for your comments in regards to the Me&U system, management are currently working with staff to improve our processes to ensure customers do not experience any delays in the future. See you again soon, Team Peel

  • Robert P.
    Robert P.

    April 20, 202228 reviews

    9.5/10

    Lunch today. Quaint pub with welcoming & friendly staff. Great menu choices & reasonable prices. We shared an entree - pork belly & scallops with sticky apple cider. Absolutely delicious. I had the lamb shank which was flavoursome. Lamb was very tender. Scrumptious dish. My sweetheart had the Crispy skin salmon which was cooked to perfection. Delicious. We will definitely return.

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Robert, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us. Your compliments have been passed onto our staff and chefs. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Team Peel

  • Robert G.

    April 17, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Very tasty meal, large serve and pleasant surrounds. staff extremely helpful. Cold beer. a repeat of previous experience and will be back again

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Robert Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon, Team Peel

  • Shaun G.

    April 17, 20221 review

    10/10

    Great portion size. Left satisfied. All food was tasty and cooked well. Kids meals came out quickly and plenty on plate. Playground for kids kept them entertained pre and post meal. Would go again.

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Shaun Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience and that the kids enjoyed the playground. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Team Peel.

  • John V.
    John V.

    April 14, 20223 reviews

    3.5/10

    We have gone to Peel Alehouse on their cheap steak night on many many occasions and last night was the worst ever. There were four of us and we all had grissely steaks, which were difficult to eat. The salad and chips were the usual high standard. We had to order on a new App me&u which one of the girls helped us with but we were charged $1.42 for the privilege. We tried to order at counter (as normal) but this was not allowed. We will not be back.

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    April 14, 202271 reviews

    10/10

    Food/service/and prices are great .

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Duncan Thank you for taking the time to leave another review. We are so happy you enjoy your visits with us. See you again soon, Team Peel

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    April 7, 202271 reviews

    10/10

    The food is amazing the service is great love the place

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hi Duncan, thanks for you review. we loving seeing you guy's every week happy with your experience at the peel.

  • Zoe C.

    February 27, 20221 review

    8.5/10

    Good food, nice atmosphere. Steak delicious and young kids happy with playground. Service was polite and friendly, didn’t have to wait too long.

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hello Zeo, thank you for your great review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again soon, Team Peel

  • NICOLE T.
    NICOLE T.

    February 14, 202210 reviews

    7.5/10

    The duck was nice. Just to much hosin sauce.

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hi Nicole, thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed the duck. I will pass your suggestion for less sauce on to our chefs so we can improve for your next visit. Look forward to seeing you again soon, Team Peel

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    February 8, 202271 reviews

    10/10

    Great meal as usual love the service from Mary what a asset

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Thank you for your review Duncan. Always a pleasure to have you dine with us. I will pass on your compliments to Mary. Kind regards, Team Peel

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    February 3, 202271 reviews

    10/10

    Brilliant food

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hi Duncan, thanks for you review. we are glad that you find our food brilliant. Team Peel.

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    January 27, 202271 reviews

    10/10

    Super food as usual

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hi Duncan, thanks for you review. we love to see you guy's week in and week out enjoy your food. Team Peel

  • Duncan F.
    Duncan F.

    January 23, 202271 reviews

    10/10

    Never ever let's us down the food was superb

    Peel Alehouse (Owner)

    Hi Duncan, thanks for you review. was great to see you guy's again this week. Team Peel

Tripadvisor reviews

155 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation