Register my restaurant
Help


Mediterranean

Reviews - Penelope's

9.1/10
266
Russell Street, WC2B London
Mediterranean
Average price £35

Get up to 30% off

Conditions may apply

Penelope's

Find a table

Book for free

🔥 Already 5 bookings today

Reviews

9.1/10
Excellent266 reviews
9.1/10

Food

9/10

Service

9.2/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Myra T.21 reviews

    July 6, 2024

    9/10

    Food is delicious. And it is a good fusion dinning experience. Expected a bigger portion for the main course . The cheesecake is a nice mix of baklava and cheesecake. Surprisingly, the dessert is even bigger than the main course!

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Myra, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and our fusion dining concept. We appreciate your feedback regarding the portion sizes. We are constantly striving to improve and will certainly take your comments into consideration. We hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable meal! Best, Penelope's Team

  • Michelle A.1 review

    June 27, 2024

    4.5/10

    I thought the menu was very disappointing

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Michelle, We're sorry to hear that you did not like our food menu. However, thank you for the 10/10 regarding our staff service. We appreciate your feedback! Best, Penelope's Team

  • Jessica B.1 review

    June 18, 2024

    9/10

    Nice place, good service but a bit pricey

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Jessica, Thank you very much for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and our service. We strive to offer a great experience and appreciate your input on the pricing. We look forward to welcoming you back at Penelope's! Best, Penelope's Team

  • Vasile P.12 reviews

    June 13, 2024

    8/10

    Went for a date. They were really welcoming and offered us a glass of Prosecco on the house. The ambience was nice but quite empty for a Thursday evening considering the size of the restaurant. Food was good, recommend the octopus paella.

    review_preview

    See photo

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Vasile, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your date night. It's wonderful to know that you liked the ambience and enjoyed our cuisine. We do our best to create a pleasant dining atmosphere, even on quieter evenings. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we hope to see you again soon! Best, Penelope's Team

  • Tom E.3 reviews

    June 12, 2024

    9.5/10

    Food was excellent, we had a number of small plates with large plates too. Service was fantastic. It’s quite dark in the restaurant itself, but has a nice vibe

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Tom, Thank you for letting us know how we did. We are very happy to hear that you had a good experience. Thank you for the compliments regarding our service and ambience vibes. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best, Penelope's Team

  • Louise B.21 reviews

    June 7, 2024

    7/10

    This is a very expensive restaurant. The small plates are really small, and even the big plates are pretty small, which is fine in principle if the food is excellent but I’m afraid some of it was not. We ordered several dishes but the monkfish and the prawns were not fresh and they were overcooked. The prawns were soft, with no bite whatsoever - the head just fell off, which is always a bad sign. And the monkfish had the texture of cotton wool. On the plus side the bread and humus was very nice. The white wine was not cold enough, we had to have ice in it. The service was pretty good, but it’s very dark in the restaurant and the music is too loud. I was with my extended family and it felt like we couldn’t really hear each other properly. We did ask for the music to be turned down and they did slightly turn it down but it was still too loud. I would not return or recommend - there are many restaurants nearby that charge half the price for better food.

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Louise, Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize that your recent experience with us did not meet your expectations. Regarding the portion sizes and pricing, we regularly compare our prices with other restaurants in the area to ensure they align with current offerings. We're sorry to hear that you found some of our dishes not up to standard. We will certainly share your feedback with the team. We're glad you enjoyed the bread and hummus, as well as the service. We understand that the lighting and music volume affected your dining experience. We do advertise that we host DJs and create a party ambiance on weekends on all our platforms, but we apologize if this was not clear. We'll work on making this information more prominent. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve. We hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the future. Best, Penelope's

  • Brian K.

    Brian K.16 reviews

    June 4, 2024

    10/10

    Beautiful setting, easy-to-access location and delicious food. They even serve me complimentary wine. The only thing Im unhappy is the portion. My grilled monkfish which tasted perfectly fine yet it's only one bite and costs 15 pounds. Same with the paella which the portion is quite small.

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Brian, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful setting, convenient location, and delicious food. We apologize that the portion sizes did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is invaluable, and we'll certainly take it into consideration as we strive to improve our offerings. We hope to see you again soon. Best, Penelope's Team

  • Katy J.1 review

    May 28, 2024

    10/10

    Incredible food and very attentive service! Would highly recommend!

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Andrew F.

    Andrew F.1 review

    May 25, 2024

    5.5/10

    The octopus chewed like it has been sat there for a few weeks. I was disappointed.

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Andrew, We're truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with the octopus dish. This is certainly not the standard we aim for, and we apologize for the let-down. Your feedback is invaluable, and we'll address this promptly to ensure it doesn't happen again. We hope you'll give us another chance to provide a better dining experience in the future. Best, Penelope's Team

  • Joani S.5 reviews

    May 17, 2024

    10/10

    Excellent location for pre theatre, service was just right and the menu was refreshingly different. Would definitely go again.

    review_preview

    See photo

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Joani, Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our location for your pre-theatre dinner and that the service was good. We're glad you found our menu refreshingly different! We can't wait to welcome you back again soon. Best, Penelope's Team

  • Pat A.30 reviews

    May 7, 2024

    10/10

    Always consist and the food is great as always Thank you Paulo/Fez/Lorena and all team

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Pat, Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our consistent great food. Paulo, Fez, Lorena, and the entire team appreciate your recognition. We look forward to serving you again soon! Best, Penelope's Team

  • Bethany C.1 review

    April 26, 2024

    10/10

    Great staff, great food, great place. Lovely welcome drink of prosecco too.

  • Oleksandra M.4 reviews

    April 26, 2024

    10/10

    I celebrated my birthday here. The food was delicious, the service was on the high level.I would definitely recommend this restaurant!

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Oleksandra, Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the delicious food and high-level service. Your recommendation means a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best, Penelope's Team

  • Beverley V.1 review

    April 13, 2024

    10/10

    We absolutely had an amazing evening at Penelope’s the staff who greeted us were very warm & friendly the food & drink & service excellent . The DJ was outstanding !yes it was loud but we went to have fun ,this is not a place for a romantic dinner! I would recommend this restaurant if you want to have the best night with friends!

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Beverley, Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience at Penelope's! We're thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing evening with us. Our team takes great pride in delivering warm, friendly service and ensuring our guests have a memorable time. We're delighted that you enjoyed the food, drinks, and service, as well as the outstanding music from our DJ. We completely agree that Penelope's is the perfect spot for a lively night out with friends. We look forward to welcoming you back for more unforgettable moments! Best, Penelope's Team

  • Ellen H.9 reviews

    April 19, 2024

    7/10

    The waitress told us that it was sharing plates but the small plates were so small you couldn’t share them. The food also comes out as it is cooked so we had random plates by themselves. The baklava cheesecake was delicious. I do think it was overpriced and so wouldn’t go again.

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Ellen, Thank you for sharing your experience at Penelope's. We apologize if our sharing plates concept didn't meet your expectations in terms of portion size and coordination of dishes. Dishes are served as soon as prepared and designed for a sharing concept. We continuously strive to provide a unique dining experience, and your feedback helps us improve. Regarding pricing, we aim to offer competitive prices that align with other establishments in the Covent Garden area. However, we understand your concerns and will take them into consideration as we review our offerings. We hope you'll reconsider and give us another chance to provide you with a more satisfying experience in the future. Best, Penelope's Team

  • Christina M.4 reviews

    March 30, 2024

    10/10

    The food this season was lovely, the staff just amazing and ambience great!

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Christina, Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how we did, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Penelope's. We look forward to seeing you again soon for more celebrations! Best, Penelope's Team

  • Ingvar K.4 reviews

    March 23, 2024

    9/10

    A very good restaurant with a nice atmosphere and solid food quality.

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Ingvar, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are happy to hear we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best, Penelope's Team

  • Angela F.4 reviews

    March 21, 2024

    10/10

    Fantastic place

  • Praveen G.5 reviews

    March 5, 2024

    9/10

    Good food and nice ambience. The restaurant didn't have our booking but were accommodating once I showed them on my phone. Was disappointed to see the service charge calculated from the full food price and then the discount applied on the underlying amount. It is already an expensive meal.

  • Paul B.1 review

    March 8, 2024

    10/10

    Lovely food and location

    Penelope'sOwner

    Thank you very much Paul, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Michelle Lu85 reviews

    December 7, 2023

    8.5/10

    Felt like it could verge on a club with a dancefloor and music, but did enjoy the vibe, very buzzy. Food was good nothing noteworthy

  • Ali S.1 review

    February 23, 2024

    10/10

    Amazing birthday experience for my husband’s 60th. The staff were so attentive and generous by offering us a complimentary glass of champagne and some chocolate truffles. The service was fantastic. Our waiter was so friendly and the Friday night DJ played great tunes. So glad we chose Penelope’s for the birthday celebration as they made it feel very special.

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Ali, Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how we did. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Penelope's. We look forward to welcoming you again soon for more celebrations! Best, Penelope's

  • Irem T.1 review

    February 12, 2024

    3/10

    It was a very bad experience. My sister and I had octopus paella and cod fish for dinner. We got food poisoning from the meals and spent the next day vomiting in the hotel.

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Irem, We're deeply concerned to learn about your experience after dining with us. The health and safety of our guests are our utmost priorities, and we take reports like this very seriously. If you would be willing to share more details about your visit, we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to investigate further. Please feel free to reach out to us directly via email so we can address your concerns personally. Kind regards, Penelope's

  • Karen M.1 review

    February 15, 2024

    10/10

    Amazing food, service and ambiance!

  • Amin g.9 reviews

    February 13, 2024

    9/10

    We had a great time, The food was tasty and excellent.

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Amin, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we look forward to seeing you again! Best, Penelope's

  • Kate E.

    Kate E.1 review

    February 10, 2024

    10/10

    What an amazing evening! Food absolutely sublime and what an experience. It’s a must book restaurant in London!!

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Kate, We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Penelope's, thank you for letting us how we did. See you again soon! Best, Penelope's

  • Erika C.2 reviews

    February 2, 2024

    8/10

    The waiters and waitresses were great . They made sure that we were looked after . Food is pretty good , might not be great for seafood but meat dishes were lovely .

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear Erika, thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the overall dining experience. We understand that everyone has different expectations and we hope we can welcome you back and exceed your expectations. Jon your next visit. Best, Penelopes

  • Angela F.4 reviews

    January 31, 2024

    10/10

    Fabulous

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Carole D.1 review

    January 25, 2024

    10/10

    We had a really lovely evening prior to going to the theatre. The service was excellent and the food was delicious, very fresh and hot. I can not fault this lovely restaurant

  • Kateryna M.2 reviews

    December 22, 2023

    9/10

    In general, we've had a very good impression of the restaurant. Great location, beautiful interiors, interesting food menu - a Spanish-Israeli fusion. The server that attended was very attentive. One thing that downgraded the overall rating for us was a big delay with the dessert, up to a point that we were running late already for our theatre performance. It should be mentioned that they offered an extra dessert as a compensation. If asked, I would return to Penelope's again.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Bent S.6 reviews

    December 28, 2023

    8.5/10

    Dining at Penelope is a very LOUD experience including a live DJ (which we could have been without). The place is quite new, and the staff clearly need some training - but they really try. The food though is incredible - we tried four of the five small servings, and they made us smile, despite the loud music.

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and letting us know how we did. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your experience overall.. We hope to see you again soon. Best, Penelope's

  • Lesley M.1 review

    December 30, 2023

    9.5/10

    Our pre-theatre dinner at Penelope's was surprisingly good. The free welcome glass of Prosecco was a lovely surprise. There was a decent amount of choice on the pre-theatre menu so we chose from that rather than the a la carte and everything was very tasty. The service was friendly and efficient. When I sat down I was a little worried about the volume of the background music but it was actually fine. Recommended.

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We're happy you enjoyed your experience at our venue! Best, Penelope's

  • Rupert P.2 reviews

    December 22, 2023

    9/10

    Food was excellent although scallops could have done with an accompaniment or side dish as it was literally just 4 scallops. Cheesecake was incredible though and massive. Big enough to share for 2.

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear guest, We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Penelope's. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. Best, Penelope's.

  • JEAN R.1 review

    December 22, 2023

    10/10

    Went for a night out with family. We had such a wonderful time. The food served in the restaurant was great with Raj who was at hand to make our experience memorable, and an ambience to match. Then can the music and saxophonist that got us dancing. We ended our night at the rooftop bar which was equally unmatched. Wonderful experience that kick started the festive season for us. I would definitely go again.

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear guest, Reviews like yours give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care. We are very happy to hear you had a great experience at Penelope's. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Penelope's.

  • Gagan S.1 review

    December 22, 2023

    10/10

    It was a beautiful Friday Date night for us! The saxophonist and dj were 10/10. Highly recommended along with the food and roof top terrace ♥️

    Penelope'sOwner

    Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Penelope's. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best, Penelope's Team

  • Nirbhai C.8 reviews

    December 21, 2023

    10/10

    Perfect for post theatre meal with family. The restaurant is across the road from Theatre Royal Drury Lane. The cuisine is unique with a fusion of Israeli-spanish cuisine, which is unconventional but worked well. The baklava cheesecake was certainly a highlight of the dinner.

    review_preview

    See 6 photos

  • Anita B.2 reviews

    December 19, 2023

    10/10

    Beautiful dining expérience. Attentive and friendly staff. The food was out of this world. Perfectly prepared, cooked and served. Each plate was a work of art! The Ox cheek was outstanding. Also the octopus paella and the cheesecake dessert. You might think you know cheesecake but I guarantee you haven't had one this delicious. We will definitely return.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Mark H.1 review

    December 16, 2023

    10/10

    Great food/atmosphere/music

  • Vasena K.1 review

    December 8, 2023

    6/10

    First time coming to treat a friend for their birthday. The ambience was ok but it got quite busy and noisy. A lot was going on around us and we were served by 4-5 different waiters so it felt less personal. The food portions were just right… but that’s only because we had 3 courses from the pre-theatre set menu. If we just went for 2 courses we would’ve left still hungry. The aubergine starter was cold and not as tasty. Pork belly starter was nice. The chicken shawarma was slightly undercooked and pink for my friend so she didn’t eat all of it. My cod main was very nice and I think the best was the baklava cheesecake and banana cake. Service was a bit rocky, on and off, slow at times. It’s also too busy around but the lighting and decor is nice. Overall I felt a little let down after all the raving reviews. Cocktails at £16 each I think is extortionate. Satisfactory overall but won’t be back in a hurry.

  • BEVERLY J.1 review

    December 11, 2023

    10/10

    Pre theatre. Exceeded our expectations. Great flavours and amazing service. We'll be back.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

74 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.