Back

Reviews Povo

8.4/10

Very good

based on 1725 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Michael N.
    Michael N.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Food - Poor value for money, meagre portions and nothing to tell your friends about Location - 'Pink Street' - Trendy tourist trappings Fado Performance - Fair - 4 Euro per person added to bill - entire audience were tourists Overall - Not an authentic experience for me and certainly not the real Lisbon I know, so a miss not a hit

  2. Christian A.
    Christian A.
    • one review
    7/10

    I came here because of an online blog, it was rated as one of the top ten in Lisbon. I liked the exterior of the restaurant in the picture, so I went. First of all, their website is a disaster and it’s a nightmare trying to contact them. I tried emailing, I paid international fees to try and call them, I left a message, I even stopped by during the day to try and make a reservation. They were, of course, closed and never did I receive a reply via email nor phone. Their website says reservations are possible online but I never succeeded. Their website also says one MUST be there at 20h for fado, I got there at 20h, no other guests were there, and it actually started at 21h. Of course my reservation was not in their system, despite my efforts and they were full, but because I was a party of one, they were able to fit me in at the bar, which was nice. In the end, I made a reservation through the Fork via their recommendation. Now, the experience... The mood is nice, the prices are high for what one receives. The portions are small and in the end, the food is just OK, compared to what one can find in Lisbonne. The servers were frequently talking to their colleagues, standing around, or on their phones, but very helpful and attentive once I called for their attention. If you come here, it’s for the music. I’m not a fado expert, but the woman who sang had an incredible singing voice. For this reason mostly, it was a very enjoyable experience. Otherwise, it was like a glorified bar with typical food and great music.

  3. Valentina P.
    Valentina P.
    • 3 reviews
    3.5/10

    The menu that is in the fork it is not the same as the one that is in the restaurant. I wanted the setubal friend codfish and was not present, the same for the chocolate cake with green tea ice cream. I didn't like the actual menu of the restaurant. They have to include the plates that they took away. The only positive fact was the fado: amazing.

  4. Debra Jan B.
    Debra Jan B.
    • one review
    7/10

    The fado singer was great and that’s why we came. But the food was disappointing. We had soup, salad, and shrimp. All were bland. Service was fine.

  5. Laurent t.
    Laurent t.
    • 29 reviews
    6.5/10

    Music was too loud and food was so so but service was good

  6. Stessie P.
    Stessie P.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    We spent a very good time at this Fado ! The singer was amazing (Sonia Soprano) and the food was excellent ! Really nice. We were looking for a good typical cosy Fado and were not disappointed.

  7. Nicolas R.
    Nicolas R.
    • one review
    4/10

    DISAPPOINTING. "Povo" means "people" refering to the Portuguese people. But the food of this restaurant is not copious as the real Portuguese people's food. Moreover, for the concert of Fado, we have to pay 4 euros more per person. So, at the end of the day, it's VERY EXPENSIVE for the offer. There are other restaurants which offer a tasty portuguese food (with copious portions) and concert of Fado for a correct price (like "Retiro Dos Sentidos" no Bairro Alto).

  8. Maike B.
    Maike B.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    First of all, the food was pricy but good. Service was one of the worst I ever experienced. "Live Fado from 8:30 - 10:30" is a joke. The fado players played 3 songs, then disappeared for 45min only to return for their next 3 songs and leave again. All this for 4€ extra per person for "live fado". We can't recommend this place.

  9. Tavia P.
    Tavia P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Friendly and helpful staffs who speaks fluent english, is a great help to foreigners like us who can’t speak their native language. Love the ambience and great place to be introduce the art of Fado to foreigners.

  10. Deanna d.
    Deanna d.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great fado music by young up-and-comers, great food, too. We had the mussels. Outstanding! Felt like a local scene with fewer tourists. We’d go back!

  11. Julio L.
    Julio L.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    The food quality is excellent and it’s very special to have the Fado experience during your meal. Very recommended! The service is very nice and prices are reasonable. A very unique place that I would visit every time I visit Lisbon...

  12. Joanna M.
    Joanna M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    This restaurant was a great find. The food was good, not great (for Lisbon), but the intimate setting made up for it. Fado performance was amazing however. Really enjoyed it over all.

  13. Nicola T.
    Nicola T.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    We went to Povo in order to listen to some Fado in a a friendly atmosphere (and without fixed menu...). I liked much the fact that Fado is given in small "bits", 2/3 songs and then a pause for eating or ordering. The food is good and prices are reasonable. Thumbs up!

  14. Glenn C.
    Glenn C.
    • one review
    7/10

    Staff is welcoming and attentive to a packed house except for one angry kid waiter with tattoos on his arm. He was rude to me while I was waiting to be seated outside (told me to get out of the way because apparently he needed to get some trays behind me, proceeded to be rude to other tables, and when he got to our table rushed us to order and then wouldn't let us order our dinner with an angry flippant "NO" (I guess they don't take orders when Fado is playing) but a simple professional explanation would suffice. Got angry to the point the Manager had to send him home. If they don't fire this kid, which they should, be prepared to be disrespected for wasting your tatooed kid waiter's time time.

  15. Margaret P.
    Margaret P.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Small restaurant with authentic Fado musicians and a male singer. Excellent Tapa . Service was great . Gabby very friendly . Very nice experience.

  16. Susan M.
    Susan M.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Some tables are much better than others. The 4 of us were stuffed in a corner. They don’t serve in order of service. We were a half hour with nothing on the table. 3 tables seated after us had service. We did have a reservation. The Fado was excellent. Sitting at the bar might be better.

  17. Alicia K.
    Alicia K.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    The food in the restaurant is good, just a bit expensive, but good. The fado is really nice. But the really negative point is that we booked before to be sure we would have a table, and yes we got a table but a really bad one and in a corner with no place and where we couldn’t see the fado.

  18. Tatiana L.
    Tatiana L.
    • 2 reviews
    4.5/10

    Nothing to add

  19. Richard P.
    Richard P.
    • 3 reviews
    6/10

    Great Fado! (Paulo Rocha - amazing!). However, we were very disappointed with the food quality. Sorry to say, I would not return.

  20. Shai F.
    Shai F.
    • one review
    10/10

    An intimic portoguese experience. Good music, food, wine and atmosphire. Small place with great spirit. A place that you want to find as a tourist.

  21. Paula F.
    Paula F.
    • one review
    9/10

    Cosy restaurant with an interesting tapas menu. We visited primarily to listen to some Fado and were not disappointed. Staff were very friendly and accommodating and for quite a tourist attraction the prices were reasonable. Would recommend.

  22. Dan O.
    Dan O.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great place for Fado music. Especially if you don’t want to start late in the evening.

  23. Stewart L.
    Stewart L.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Nice atmosphere it was disappointing that we waited 35 minutes at our table before someone came to take our order. No one apologized or anything. Waiter took our order, (tapas) but dishes were missing. Ordered a beer and it took 20 minutes before it came. When the bill came I didn’t want to leave cash on the table so I brought it to our waiter and he was at the computer, clearly saw I was there with money didn’t look up did nothing so I just left it and walked away. So disappointing because the atmosphere was nice and the food was good but the service was god awful.

  24. Maria A.
    Maria A.
    • one review
    6/10

    Servive was slow and the singer in the show that night looked bored during the show, not paying so much attention and efforts to connect with the public.

  25. Robin L.
    Robin L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Awesome atmosphere and the live Falda was fantastic. It was amazing to experience a tiny bit of Portuguese culture with these excellent artists

  26. Sinikka K.
    Sinikka K.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    The Gambas and Pica-pao were very tasty, but were better still if not only luke warm. The French fries were cold, hard and dry. The white wine from Alentejo was delicious.

  27. Thomas L.
    Thomas L.
    • one review
    8/10

    Very pleasant restaurant. The food is really distinguishing, and tasty. Very nice ambience, we really liked the Fado performers. However, be careful on some of your service employee, not always comprehensive. And please, be very careful on the bill, there was mistakes...

  28. Shar S.
    Shar S.
    • one review
    9/10

    Loved Povo on the famous pink Street! Small, but perfect in size for the performance, which we loved.

  29. Rahul G.
    Rahul G.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Wonderful place in Bairro Alto with a beautiful view . Food choices are delectable and the restaurant is buzzing after 8 . Reservations are highly recommended

  30. Alessio A.
    Alessio A.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    lugar agredavel, boa energia

  31. Michaela B.
    Michaela B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Was my second time in O Povo and was even better then the first time! Place is just perfect because is so small and intimate, gives the right atmosphere! Thank you, see you soon again.

  32. Hugo R.
    Hugo R.
    • 5 reviews
    7.5/10

    The frustrating part was the table we were assign to, we barely could see the fado (the main reason we went to Povo). Also we were told that we should leave our table at 22h because they had other reservations which was not exactly a nice welcome.

  33. Melody Y.
    Melody Y.
    • one review
    9/10

    The Fado performance was really nice, plus the food is not that expensive, so I think it is worth it overall.

  34. Gary F.
    Gary F.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Very nice fado restaurant. The food was good. Small portions but it was enough. The service was good. The Fado singer came twice from 8:30 to 10 PM. Great music. The small venue was perfect for the ambiance. I strongly recommend this place.

  35. Caroline m.
    Caroline m.
    • one review
    5/10

    We were a large party of 12 but had booked in advance. Unfortunately they struggled to fit us in and it was very cramped. Our orders didn’t arrive together and some of the items were not cooked well. It’s a shame as gas the potential to be good

  36. Daryl F.
    Daryl F.
    • 6 reviews
    9/10

    Good prices for food, alcohol, and fado (no extra charge).

  37. Lana J.
    Lana J.
    • 15 reviews
    8/10

    Nice place, a little expensive

  38. Stephen D.
    Stephen D.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Good relaxed place to have a lite bite and listen to some Fado

  39. Mary P.
    Mary P.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was a wonderful experience at your restaurant. The fado was fabulous and very exciting for me to be there. My daughter also enjoyed it as a totally new experience. Your personnel were so nice and pleasant and made it a perfect evening for us on our first visit to Lisbon. We plan to return.

  40. Belia S.
    Belia S.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Delicious wines and food (we had superb choco frito, pica pau, mackerel & a cheese platter), great fado performance. Intimate atmosphere, good service. Recommendable!