Back

Reviews - Puerta del Mar

9/10

Excellent

based on 1243 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Herycel C.
    Herycel C.
    • 69 reviews
    10/10

    Muy rico todo!!!

  2. Valentina Z.
    Valentina Z.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Food was great and we finally got to taste the famous paella Valenciana for an excellent ratio quality-price. Definitely an experience to repeat!

  3. Stefano B.
    Stefano B.
    • 33 reviews
    9.5/10

    Paella divina, sangria spettacolare, Jorge y los demás super attenti e professionali

  4. Adel H.
    Adel H.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    It is a tourist trap. The food lacked taste and flavor. It was very difficult to change anything. Their service was unfriendly and very commercial.

  5. Артем З.
    Артем З.
    • 4 reviews
    5.5/10

    Poor service, mediocre food

  6. Miquel M.
    Miquel M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Perfecto.

  7. Dory G.
    Dory G.
    • 62 reviews
    9/10

    Como siempre muy bien !

  8. Sylvia K.
    Sylvia K.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This restaurant was recommended to us by our local guide and we were happy to trek our way back here after a 10km hike! The food was exquisite and the serving staff was amazing and attentive. We both ordered ‘menus’ starting w/ the mussels and forest mushroom appetizers, then graduating to mellow seafood rice and duck confit. It was an explosion of flavors and really big portions. To top it off our menu came w/ a desssert which we assumed was a standard flan or ice cream but instead we were offered full slices of whatever cakes and pies they had on their dessert menu. We helped ourself to banana foster and cheesecake, sooooooo delicious!! Do NOT hesitate and make a reservation for lunch or dinner TODAY!!!

  9. Sue H.
    Sue H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent food. Very helpful staff Israel suggested wine and the cod both of which were excellent. the bread basket is varied and very tasty. Thoroughly recommend

  10. Cedric R.
    Cedric R.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    Food was average ok. Not the best we have eaten in Spain. Price / Quality is not really good value. The attention form the service was ok, but also not great. Think the place has not reason to be better, the house seems to be full most of the time. Would I go again? Probably not. Dishes eaten: Salad with fish, octopus and shrimps; Turbot whole; cordon bleu; cannelloni; desert.

  11. Giancarlo D.
    Giancarlo D.
    • 34 reviews
    10/10

    Aspettative confermate

  12. Janet b.
    Janet b.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    The best meal of our week in Spain. Loved the seafood fideua, asparagus appetizer, and flan dessert. Service was friendly, caring, and efficicient, We hope to come back and we most highly recommend.

  13. Miguel c.
    Miguel c.
    • 4 reviews
    2/10

    Mala comida, mal servicio... Sucio...

  14. Richard H.
    Richard H.
    • one review
    2/10

    Upon arrival we were greeted well by the waitress and soon took our drinks order. Not long after we received our drinks, all well at this point. Once we had received our food this is when everything went downhill. Cold food for three out of the four main meals. As we didn't finish the meals they asked why and did apologise. About 15 minutes later they came back to the table with another apology and offered us a free glass of wine and some croquettes. They had redeemed themselves at this point. From then on we were then ignored by all the staff and even though over tables were offered desserts they didn't once come over to us. Maybe they have a problem with English guests as everyone else in the restaurant were Spanish. Certainly wouldn't go again.

  15. Laura K.
    Laura K.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food very good overall, seafood starters were excellent, being quite different from anything we have had anywhere else. Service was very good, staff all well trained and Joan was especially welcoming and helpful.

  16. Shepherd A.
    Shepherd A.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    We had service problems this time but I think we were unlucky. The food is very good.

  17. Christine W.
    Christine W.
    • 7 reviews
    6.5/10

    Good selection of seafood in a pleasant environment but service was rather brusque and hurried and lacked charm, which was disappointing. Would visit again because of the quality of the fish.

  18. Chris  F.
    Chris F.
    • one review
    8/10

    One paella was expertly prepared the second (Valencian) was a tad on the salty side. Desserts were tasty.

  19. Ken J.
    Ken J.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Very nice decor. Efficient and friendly service. We chose dishes from the menu listing, which offers plenty of choices. Good quality food and drink. Relaxing atmosphere.

  20. Catalin P.
    Catalin P.
    • one review
    10/10

    We were 2 families with 2 little children :). Everything was great, the service and the food. They have a nice kids menu on which the children can draw to get them busy for a while.

  21. Guillaume  .
    Guillaume .
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The restaurant is beautiful with plants and nice design, the food was amazing (we had the Valencian paella and it was delicious!) and the service was good! They even serve a free sample of local sweet wine (Mistela) which was a very nice way to end a great meal! 10/10 would come back if we come back to Valencia!

  22. Patricia B.
    Patricia B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Fantastic food. For mains we both had sea bass which was beautifully cooked. There is a huge selection of deserts from a trolley. Waitresses were polite and efficient. I would highly recommend this place.

  23. Deena D.
    Deena D.
    • one review
    5/10

    We ordered the seafood paella for two. The food tasted good. The portion was really tiny with not so much seafood on it at all. We left feeling hungry which was a shame given the price we paid

  24. Blair I.
    Blair I.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really great food and welcoming staff. Best seafood we had in our 5 day trip to valencia. Really reccomens the seafood paella the prawns and muscles were very good.

  25. Jose Miguel G.
    Jose Miguel G.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Un restaurante de 10. Nos recibieron con unos entrantes (diferentes panes, allioli, tomate, papas caseras y aceitunas) a los que invitaba la casa. La paella buenísima y cada plato que veías pasar daban ganas de pedirlo. Seguro que volvemos.

  26. Gaetano C.
    Gaetano C.
    • one review
    2.5/10

    Pre cooked tasteless food, chaotic service. Very tourist place.

  27. Amir H.
    Amir H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent restaurant with courteous and attentive wait staff. Probably the best meal that we had during our stay in Valencia.

  28. Alexander  K.
    Alexander K.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant was great. The dishes were awesome, particularly the tuna tartar- the fish was super fresh. Service was great, we enjoyed our dinner experience.

  29. Christopher F.
    Christopher F.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Very mediocre. I had the mussels which were bland and flavorless. The potato bravas were bland and not that good. I would stay away.

  30. JUNE D.
    JUNE D.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    The duck cannelloni was super.

  31. Arantxa V.
    Arantxa V.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Excelente comida y postres exquisitos.

  32. Tania D.
    Tania D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Everything was great, the paella, the sangria, the dessert and the staff! Highly recommended.

  33. Jay w.
    Jay w.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was outstanding along with the preparation. The tuna was cooked to perfection. The other members of our party had the cod and it was also outstanding. The deserts were fantastic, especially the carrot cake and lemon cake. Our servers, Maria Jose and Israel were excellent, very helpful and attentive.

  34. Alejandro G.
    Alejandro G.
    • 91 reviews
    8.5/10

    Genial menú! Repetiremos.

  35. Jochen W.
    Jochen W.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Exzellent good and great Service. Very fresh Seafood Paella. Just one very small hint/advise for the Service Crew: Clean the table of Bread crumbs in between the courses, this would Even upgrade the Service.

  36. Guy L.
    Guy L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and service.

  37. Johann C.
    Johann C.
    • one review
    8/10

    Nice starters and good atmosphere. Mains need to be a bit more tasty!

  38. Loretta L.
    Loretta L.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Cheerful staff, nice setting, professional services. Excellent food - especially the squid ink paella with red prawns... you can’t miss that one!!

  39. Rhodri  E.
    Rhodri E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Neither my partner nor I profess to be food connoisseurs, but we know what we like and the seafood paella we had this evening was probably the best we’ve tasted. The staff picked up that it was my partners birthday and surprised her with a rendition of ‘Happy Birthday ‘, while presenting her with a complimentary chocolate mousse complete with a firework candle. Fantastic! Absolutely recommend this restaurant.

  40. Eleonora C.
    Eleonora C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Ottimo cibo