Back

Reviews Republic Norwood

8.1/10

Very good

based on 50 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Caz B.
    Caz B.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Food average place too busy and noisy food overpriced for what it was

  2. Susan B.
    Susan B.
    • 7 reviews
    7/10

    The staff weren't particularly aware of customer needs and we either had no service or multiple people trying to serve us. The menu had changed and the food was well presented and tasty. For a pub that advertises cocktails and specialty beers on tap these are not well advertised in the resturant. Nice cocktails .

  3. Elle C.
    Elle C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Welcoming & friendly staff. Efficient service. Nicely presented interior spaces. Atmosphere good but generally a bit loud, however, it was a busy night. Excellent food.

  4. Deborah W.
    Deborah W.
    • one review
    4/10

    Two things we wanted to order off the menu were not available. This was at 7:30pm and the restaurant was not full. I ordered "spicy squid" and got deep fried calamari. I did not want deep fried calamari. We spent over $200 including food and drink and will not be rushing back. It is very noisy even in the restaurant so would not call it intimate dining. The staff were lovely.

  5. Pauline D.
    Pauline D.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Really nice pub and restaurant. Very modern and light. Super welcoming and friendly staff. Great food! Only 1 small criticisim - the fire was on & it wasn't a cold day so the room was too hot!

  6. Peter W.
    Peter W.
    • one review
    10/10

    decided to support our local despite the virus pandemic. Great night, great food, attentive service. Appropriate social distancing in the dining area. Thanks!

  7. Robyn C.
    Robyn C.
    • one review
    9/10

    We had a really enjoyable night. The atmosphere was very pleasant, the service excellent, the staff very friendly. The meals were very large, maybe they could be a little smaller.

  8. Chloe L.
    Chloe L.
    • 23 reviews
    10/10

    Always a good time here when we visit!

  9. Kenneth W.
    Kenneth W.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Overpriced cold Rump steak for lunch. Despite advising the duty manager, didn't get better. Apparently, the meat was temperature tested and found to be within the expected range. The steak was taken back to be heated and brought back overcooked and burnt. :( Least to say my colleagues and I were not very impressed!

  10. Chris B.
    Chris B.
    • one review
    3/10

    We were really disappointed this trip to the Republic. The kitchen staff were having loud conversations and swearing inappropriately when we arrived. Despite it being a quiet Wednesday night there was only one staff member serving and she was so busy that she was abrupt every interaction - when asked for more water, to place our order and to get the bill. Food quality was variable - the burger patty was burnt and the whole burger dry. It’s a shame the smells from the kitchen pervaded the dining room. We haven’t been for a while and we’re not going to rush back.

  11. Jen c.
    Jen c.
    • 4 reviews
    7/10

    Lovely restaurant area and great food but spoilt by the loud noise from the bar area . Could hardly hear each other speak .

  12. Trish B.
    Trish B.
    • 15 reviews
    8/10

    Had lunch on Sunday afternoon. Great to gave live music playing in the background. Typical pub meal. Price comparable to other hotels in the area

  13. Christine H.
    Christine H.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    I enjoyed the fact that the tables were nicely spaced so that you had some privacy even though you were in a large dining area. Also, I liked the way the tables were set with the fresh flowers an added touch.

  14. Michelle F.
    Michelle F.
    • 11 reviews
    7.25/10

    All the food we ordered was well presented and good value. Great wine list. We were seated on a table underneath a broken light resulting in it being very dark at the table. Despite bringing this to the servers attention all we got was a shoulder shrug and we were left to eat our meal in darkness. No offer to relocate to a different table.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    10/10

    Thank you for another excellent visit to your establishment - it’s a great place to meet with friends! Also, thank you to your fantastic staff, both front and back of house.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    6.75/10

    The service was slow which is unusual. We didn’t get given a specials menu and had to ask for wine and cocktail menus. The food was very tasty, cooked well and came out quickly. Nice cocktails

  17. Robyn G.
    Robyn G.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great service and wonderful food

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    8/10

    Very enjoyable meal with friends.

  19. Carolyn r.
    Carolyn r.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    great food great place to eat

  20. Paul M.
    Paul M.
    • 6 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great attentive service & well cooked steak!

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9/10

    Restaurant is very noisy . .

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 302 reviews
    8.5/10

    Really friendly and helpful staff